Woodwards Gripe Water Reviews

★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
72% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Woodwards Gripe Water - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Woodwards Gripe Water

Woodwards Gripe Water
Woodwards Gripe Water

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“ Is Gripe water Safe for Babies?”

Written on: 16/11/2020 by Aspeng370 (1 review written)

Gripe water is a liquid supplement of sodium bicarbonate and herbs like fennel, ginger, chamomile, dill, lemon balm or peppermint, depending on the formula Gripe water can provide natural relief for baby from gas and tummy troubles . it eases gas pains and other stomach problems.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware ingredients”

Written on: 03/09/2019 by Clarkzy1991 (1 review written)

I bought this for my great-grand child, assuming it was the same as the produce I used in the 1960's for my own children. I seemed to think that the early product was based on fennel, a harmless ingredient and good for digestive disturbances. I was shocked to read of the three e-numbers that are now in it, it is misleading to say that each chemical has been passed as safe for humans, no-one has done the research on the multiple chemical mixes that everyone ingests. Why would any responsible manufacturer sell a product for babies that includes such harmful substances.? There are many beneficial and harmless remedies for babies colic etc, it just needs a bit of research to find them.

Camilawitz's Comment

Written on: 26/03/2022

If you are trying to catch your cheating spouse in the act, I strongly recommend you contact this awesome hacker that helped me monitor my husband's phone. I got virtually every information my hubby has been hiding over the months easily right in my own phone, the spy app diverted all his text messages, Whatsapp, multimedia sent through the phone, social networks on his phone, phone calls and deleted messages. He could not believe his eyes when he saw the evidence because he had no idea he was hacked. he can also  improve dept on credit cards ..contact medialord via  whatsapp or text him on(517) 234-3214      if you have similar issue, his services are very affordable and reliable.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“USE IT ONLY IF IT'S REALLY IN NEED”

Written on: 23/02/2013 by VICPENKETH (1 review written)

PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT, MAY BE ONCE OR TWICE IF YOU ARE DESPARATE. I USED IT FEW TIMSE DURING FEW DAYS AND MY BABY (2 MONTHS OLD) COULD NOT FALL ASLEEP FOR 5 DAYS DURING THE DAY TIME AND IN ORDER TO MAKE HER ASLEEP AT NIGHT WE MADE HER CRY SO MUCH SO SHE WOULD BECOME TIRED. EVERY TIME SHE BURPED AFTER THIS WATER SHE WAS IN PAIN AND CRIED. ** I WOULD NEVER USE THIS PRODUCT EVER AGAIN!

Carmen74's Response to VICPENKETH's Review

Written on: 20/03/2013

making your child cry so much just to get her to sleep? Your baby would have fallen asleep on her own eventually, just because she disrupted your routine due to having this product doesnt mean that you then needed to inflict more discomfort and stress on her.

Reply to this comment

Vicpenketh's reply to Carmen74's Comment

Written on: 21/03/2013

The baby could not fall asleep day time, she only wanted us to carry her all day long, constant burps after giving gripe water gave her pain and kept her awake. It contains preservatives which makes a child hyperactive. Please see contents on the pack and check website. By the evening we were all exhausted we just sat down and the baby started hysterically crying, only after she could fall asleep. To give this product once or twice was ok for my baby but not more.

Reply to this comment

Maureeng7's reply to Carmen74's Comment

Written on: 02/03/2016

I absolutely agree.

Reply to this comment

Maureeng7's Response to VICPENKETH's Review

Written on: 02/03/2016

Why on earth would you make your baby cry so much so she would become tired and sleep at night?????. Nothing to do with Woodwards Gripe Water, more like child abuse. !!!!!!!

Reply to this comment

Haensel's Response to VICPENKETH's Review

Written on: 27/05/2014

Sounds like your baby had colic, pure and simple. Different remedies work for different babies, and unfortunately sometimes none of them work, but it is unlikely a product given for colic has caused the colic-this is hardly a chicken and egg scenario is it?

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 5 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY THIS FOR YOUR CHILD!!”

Written on: 01/01/2012 by HHaddow990 (1 review written)

DO NOT BUY THIS FOR YOUR CHILD!! If you have a baby who is suffering from gripe or colic (excessive wind) do not give him or her Woodward's Gripe Water as it contains E215 http://www.ukfoodguide.net/e215.htm, E217 http://www.ukfoodguide.net/e217.htm & E 219 http://www.ukfoodguide.net/e219.htm all of these are not recommended for consumption by children, are banned in France and Australia and E219 has been linked to hyperactivity in infants and children

Guest's Response to HHaddow990's Review

Written on: 21/01/2012

my frist baby girl used minifom in norway it did't work.later i start useing woodwards is work best, is nice for baby with colice -gas.now i have my second baby boy he has colic too.midwife told us to use minifom again i try for one week it did't no affect as well, but i have to use woodwards for him, he is weeks old i think it will work as well. .don't let people deceive you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Absolutely fantastic stuff. A good old fashioned...”

Written on: 28/03/2011 by Fair and square (1 review written)

Absolutely fantastic stuff. A good old fashioned remedy! It should be called magic water! It works so fast as well :-) there honestly isn't anything I didn't like about the product. I would have no hesitation in recommending this product to family and friends. I don't like to use many medicines but this felt less chemically than the other products out there. Don't take these reviews as gospel anyway. Just try it! You won't be disappointed I promise!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“My daughter has struggled bringing up her wind from...”

Written on: 18/02/2010 by DonnaMay (1 review written)

My daughter has struggled bringing up her wind from day one.i used infacol from 2 weeks but once Connie turned 1 month i went to Gripe water....it's the best thing i could've done. She is no longer in pain and is a much happier baby! I also used this product with my first daughter. Would definately recommend to any mother.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant product, alleviates trapped wind and colic -...”

Written on: 15/11/2009

Brilliant product, alleviates trapped wind and colic - my 1 month old baby girl has just started on this stuff and its the best stuff i've ever found, she is very colicky and suffers with trapped wind a lot... this stuff is a lifesaver

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“My slightly pre-term baby was very uncomfortable...”

Written on: 30/04/2009 by CornyO (26 reviews written)

My slightly pre-term baby was very uncomfortable during and after feeding. She is bottle-fed on Cow & Gate Nutriprem2 as recommended by the SCBU in the hospital. This product contains all sorts, far too long to list here, but includes Prebiotic Fibres, which I believe may cause excess gas and irritation in the (very young and underdeveloped) stomach. This, together with the air bubbles present in warm milk and the intake of air at the start of almost every feed, causes considerable discomfort to many babies, including mine. Someone suggested Gripe Water to us, which we tried. What a difference! The Woodward's Gripe Water purchased in the local supermarket does not contain alcohol or sugar, only Dill Seed Oil and Sodium Hydrogen Carbonate. This reduces bubbles in the stomach and at the same time reduces excess acid, caused by the stomach reacting to excess gas. It also contains E215, E217 & E219. (Sodium ethyl p-hydroxybenzoate , Sodium propyl p-hydroxybenzoate and Sodium methyl p-hydroxybenzoate).
My child burps beautifully halfway through, and after feeding! And the amount of gas at the other end has been reduced by about 70%! She is so much happier now and goes to sleep very easily after every feed. What a difference. The only minus point, I would say, is that 5ml (or 10ml for bigger babies) would be extremely difficult to administer, especially to a hungry or very full baby (before or after the feed). I therefore add 5ml to every milk bottle, which seems to work fine as long as she finishes the bottle. It says on the bottle you can administer it during or after the feed. Perhaps not perfect but it all ends up in the same place anyway. Hence not a perfect 10.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Woodwards Gripe Water is safe and has been used for...”

Written on: 01/07/2008

Woodwards Gripe Water is safe and has been used for ages. It is available in Indian Grocery stores for about 3.49 USD. It has 1g sugar but is alcohol free

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very effective, but I can't find it anywhere to...”

Written on: 27/03/2008

Very effective, but I can't find it anywhere to purchase it. I can't find it anywhere. Zellers, Walmart, etc., used to sell it. Now, I haven't been able to purchase it for some time.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“I can't continue using it because of all the...”

Written on: 22/03/2008

I can't continue using it because of all the preservatives. They should make it natural otherwise it is not safe!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I would like to know why Morrison's in Gibraltar is...”

Written on: 11/01/2008

I would like to know why Morrison's in Gibraltar is telling its customers that this product has been removed from the shelves and is no longer being produced because there is a query whether it is unsafe for babies?
Are you still producing the product for export?
Other Chemists in Gibraltar no longer sell this product and obviously I am concerned.
This product has been used by passed down generations of mums and I am quite puzzled since it is sugar and alcohol free.

Lesleys's Comment

Written on: 31/01/2008

I was advised that it had been a certain batch of gripe water that had been removed due to bacterial contamination, but it is back on the shelves on chemists and supermarkets in Scotland. You can also check the batch numbers that had been removed online to check your batch is safe.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Is a life saver. Wish I had known about 10 years ago,...”

Written on: 08/01/2008

Is a life saver. Wish I had known about 10 years ago, with my first daughter. Very effective. My 4 months old daughter has had pretty bad gas, whenever I give it to her, it takes only a couple of minutes for it to work.. This stuff is awesome.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't give bad products out.”

Written on: 13/12/2007 by ysgshsjsjjj (1 review written)

Don't give bad products out.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Having 2 babies with an appetite of a sumo wrestler,...”

Written on: 26/04/2006 by helenshields (2 reviews written)

Having 2 babies with an appetite of a sumo wrestler, it is not surprising that both have suffered from griping pains and trapped wind.

By putting 2.5ml of Woodwards gripe water into each bottle, it alleviated the trapped wind, and helped them to settle down after each feed.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“My son is now 3 months old and he experiences griping...”

Written on: 03/03/2006 by jimmbeam72 (1 review written)

My son is now 3 months old and he experiences griping pains a lot of the time, as he gulps the milk down like there's no tomorrow! Woodwards gripe water is excellent, and it offers very fast relief for the baby and ourselves! Highly recommended and good value for money. The only minus point I have is that the bottle has to be thrown away after two weeks, which is a waste if the bottle is three quarters full!
I guess that's why it only cost's £1.50 or so.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Woodwards Gripe Water is an excellent remedy for...”

Written on: 07/04/2005 by lambertn (1 review written)

Woodwards Gripe Water is an excellent remedy for cranky colic babies!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Woodwards Gripe Water: This product is a 10+++++. I...”

Written on: 01/12/2004 by Babycakes (1 review written)

Woodwards Gripe Water: This product is a 10+++++. I give it to all my friends as babyshower gifts. This is something that every mother should have regardless of the child's age.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview