Beefeater

Click here if this is your business
Beefeater
★★★☆☆
2.5
35.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Beefeater - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Beefeater

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Welwyn garden city. very poor hotel attached restaurant ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mikeyranson on 21/02/2024

I stayed in the WGC premier for three nights which had a beefeater restaurant attached to it. I was working in the area on 12 hour shifts and being told, last orders for food was 9pm. Our shift finished at 8pm, arrived in hotel at 8.20pm, quick shower and in the restaurant for 8.45. One bar staff, long queue of people waiting then a voice from down the kitchen end stating "no more orders for the kitchen" There was six of us there with more on the way. We made our feelings known so they called another staff member to the bar to take our orders. Then told, no burgers, no fries along with a couple of other items. They also could not offer till receipts so that we can claim back our expenses. Update on this at the end. Cut a long story short, the last order went through past 9pm. when the food arrived, all of us being disappointed what was on the plates. Extremely small portions, One quipped, "we didnt order kids meals". The breakfasts were as bad of not worse. Three breakfasts over three mornings, plates cold, food cold, not just us but other guests were also waiting for various foods to be brought out as they dont believe in having trays full during the busy period. One coffee machine which was very slow dispensing drinks, queues forming for that, machine runs out of beans so staff have to go looking elsewhere for new bean bags, no spoons, solid butter, just some little knickly bits. Breakfast this morning, last morning, thank god, i had my breakfast in two halves due to no bacon and mushrooms available. Like they bring out a dozen pieces of bacon at a time. The plates stacked skyhigh where the top plates keep getting added to and not being heated. They just kept adding the stack. I have done hotels for many years and so far, this attached restaurant has been one of the worst i have used. By the way, we travelled to other restaurants outside the area for evening meals for the remaining two nights. I saw the staff on the second evening to get a receipt for the nioght before. Unable to get one as i should have gotten one at the time. Didnt listen to why i was asking the following night. i normally start losing my rag at this point but i was tired, full and just wanted a shower. Beefeater, if you read these reviews, you owe me a receipt for £21.00.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ Very Good Staff ”

★★★★★

written by Oldchef49 on 26/07/2023

Visit to Beefeater Southcote Lane, Reading. On way home to Warwick after X Rays.1pm pub very busy and seated in bar area , she was very able and welcoming throughout our Lunch .Fish & chips And open sandwich all excellent plus a pudding for £11!. Hold on to her Beefeater.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“What a Joke”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Alsancak27 on 21/07/2022

Not been to a Beefeater for some time, forgot my reward card and was told that it could be added online - wrong. Doesn't want to know. Tried to open "my account" - useless. Phoned Beefeater HQ for support, to be told (by an answer phone) that they no longer take calls about the reward card, that I should go online where everything can be sorted out - wrong. So I have an account I can't get in to, and no-one who can provide support. Poor job Beefeater, will be thinking twice about returning to any Beefeater. Plenty more restaurants about. Take note.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Really appalling service at the Downshire Arms”

★☆☆☆☆

written by helenbird77 on 28/02/2022

I booked a 70th surprise party and on the day, 1 hour prior to our arrival, the manager called to cancel the table and move us to a different venue since six of his staff had tested positive for covid (yet the restaurant was still open and serving food) . Had I of been more savvy I would have understood the politics behind why they had cancelled us. The restaurant manager, told me it was because six staff all had covid and couldn’t provide service to our party since along with acting as an independent restaurant they had to serve 70 people from their hotel as their restaurant was still open. After pressing he told me we could attend if I really insisted but he wouldn’t recommend it due to being a 70th birthday celebration (and being vulnerable in his mind) he would not attend in such a situation and they had to serve a hotel full of people ahead of us and only himself a kitchen manager and 2x 18 year old on staff so couldn’t serve us. He was incredibly sarcastic throughout his supposed apology. Had it or not been so close to my guests arriving I would’ve looked for someone else to go. I honestly had no choice. I spoke to him at 4pm and my table was booked for 5pm, He must have known earlier in the day that he would have to cancel the table and that could’ve given me enough time to make alternative plans. The table had been booked for two weeks. Having had face to face confirmation twice on 16th February and on 23rd February. I also received email confirmation of the table on 21st February and a reminder of the table the day before (25th February). He strongly recommended with his staff suffering from Covid he would suggest we go elsewhere since we were a 70th birthday party (and vulnerable). How could your restaurant remein open since six of your staff had tested positive. Previously my parents had been regulars of this establishment and have supported this restaurant weekly throughout COVID whilst they were open. My parents and I will never visit this restaurant again based on this experience and I strongly will recommend to others to avoid it. If you have a special occasion do not rely on this restaurant and venue. They will not be able to cater for you. Please put your trust elsewhere. I wish I had moved to just a takeaway from a local reputable place instead of trusting the beefeater establishment. In the future i’d never go there again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“excellemt”

★★★★★

written by 367Lowe on 22/07/2019

excellent meal we had yesterday at the bull Swanley, excellent service from our waitress beginning with the letter Y and ending in a would certainly recommend this restaurant to family and friends

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“disrespect of trans customer”

★★★☆☆

written by AndreaLouiseSayer on 19/06/2019

iI am a transgender m-f customer and was asked by a waiter( I was with my male friend) was the food ok boys. I said I am not a boy. The waiter said sorry sir . I said it is not sir it is madam. He said sorry madam. I feel beefeater staff needto do equality and diversity training . I am above average female trans in look and height and appearance-full makeup own long hair etc.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“a fantastic experience”

★★★★★

written by jayew on 11/03/2019

visited beefeater at yeadon stoops a fantastic meal. their beef, chicken dinner was really tastie as were the burgers and the kids meals. the starters and the desserts where great. we were served by a man who could not do enough for us. the chef was also fantastic. we will definitely visit again in the near future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Really Not Good”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 14/11/2018

Beefeater St Ann Way, Gloucester We were staying opposite in the hotel which is affiliated to this chain of Beefeater. After a long day we decided this would be the easy option. Looking back on it being left standing at an empty desk to be seated should of sounded alarm bells but we where patient and after a long wait we were seated and placed our drinks order, 15 minutes went by and our food order was taken. After waiting ages for our drinks our starters arrived. My son ordered the Chicken meat balls which were awful, they were so over cooked they would have been more suited to conkers. Finally our drinks arrived .... The main meals were also so over cooked the meat kebabs were welded to there skewers and this was followed by a cold apple crumble to finish. When we went to pay the bill we told the waiter about how overcooked our meals were and his reply was "we have had a lot of complaints about the meat tonight and I imagine the skewers will not be on the menu much longer" I find it really sad these are the standards Beefeater work to and unfortunately we will not be visiting again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Sunday lunch with family”

★★★★★

written by on 12/06/2018

My sister and I took our 'old Auntie' to the The Fountain Beefeater, Staines. Our waitress was exceptional. Brilliant Customer Service and did not rush us and helped with decisions, particularly for our Auntie. The meal was delicious and good value for money - you always know what you are getting at a Beefeater which is why we chose it. The children's meal our Auntie chose was still a bit big for her, but she managed to down some ice cream as a dessert.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Birthday celebration”

★★☆☆☆

written by 02083390165 on 29/04/2018

I booked a table near a window also ideal for our group to meet and hear each other,As we are all over 70! This was booked a month before as one party member was 90,we were told there would be balloons etc to make my friends birthday extra special. We arrived on time to find our table occupied,no festive balloons. The booking was on their computer but nothing had been done,so eventually the manager went to a local shop to buy the balloons!and found another table he did not bother to apologise to us in fact kept out of sight despite us asking to see him. We waited ages for the food,which was hot and tasty,but the outing was ruined by lack of care for their customers on what should have been a special occasion. We could not recommended this restaurant to anyone wanting to celebrate a special event,we are not inclined to have our monthly meetings at this restaurant again,such a shame after going there for many years. Also the fried onions to go with sausage/mash had to be cooked after food was served!they said they were cooking still and when we were half way thru our meal the onions arrived but sliced and deep fried in batter yuck,horrible taste and all oily. This all happened at the fountain,Twickennham

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Had meal there last nite £12for two 1steak inedible ...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by anton1942 on 23/06/2017

Had meal there last nite £12for two 1steak inedible two glasses of wiine has Same price as meal complained and received £6 back for a poor meal will not return again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“cambridge travellers rest”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ainsley8 on 31/08/2016

roast dinner was awful, roast potatoes were oily and slimy , not crisp and dry. meat was not sliced, but looked like chunks of meat you put on a skewer and were chewy and tasteless, will never return.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Good value food v slow poor service so disappointing!”

★★★☆☆

written by Salazar1966 on 07/09/2015

The Bull in Swanley is ideally located. The food is good value with plenty of choice to suit all ages. The restaurant has plenty of space so seating is comfortably spaced and the decor is tasteful. Booking on line helps to secure table. Atmosphere good and relaxing. Great for last minute decisions to eat out. Parking is plentiful. Desserts are wonderful! Locally people eat at the Bull but I can confirm that the service lets it all down. Very slow with senior staff being very low profile and little urgency. We popped in a couple of weeks ago to have a quick mid week meal rather than cook and after two hours we choose to pay at the till as we didn't want to waste our hole evening having an unplanned meal. Tonight we arrived early with restaurant half full, a second waitress finally served our main course we waited and waited for the dessert menu but decided it would take too long so asked if we could pay at the till. Even when we politely explained twice to the senior staff member at the till she completely ignored our comment showing her lack of training and professionalism. We will probably try other local places for a while similar to increasing numbers of other locals. I have written in as I feel it is such a shame that the staff seem to have limited understanding how important good service is to customers. The Bull is renowned for slow service so please put it right as locally it was great to see a beefeater coming to Swanley. With increased speed of service I would definitely recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Cross hands Cheltenham”

★☆☆☆☆

written by petergilger on 09/05/2015

We normally eat at Harvester but decided to eat at Beefeater Cross Hands Cheltenham what a mistake . My wife was told we could only be severed in the bar area no one came to take our Order even though the restaurant was only half full on placing order at the bar the bar man advised me to collect my own drinks from the bar and made me pay for every thing prior to being served when I order green tea I expected it to be served on a clean tea pot noir was brown with tea stain and when I complained your staff were ignorant and said all tea pots are brown stained and reluctantly changed it. We have now been waiting 40 minutes for our food and it has just been slapped on our table with out cutlery and serviette what a rubbish place never go here it's rotten and the staff

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“What a dissapointment”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mooptions on 09/01/2015

After many enjoyable visits to Beefeater Tamworth we attended an 18th birthday party for my Grandson at Beefeater Longford Cannock. APPALLING!!! POOR SERVICE, MISERABLE FACESS FROM STAFF. LONG WAITS TO EVEN ORDER LET ALONE GET FOOD. You don't deserve jobs waiting staff! The only good thing is the food was as good as always . But we won't come back to Longford. SHAME ON YOU for spoiling a young mans birthday. Mo Felton.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“birthday dinner disappointment”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Curran462 on 08/08/2014

Five adults and one infant booked at the Miller's barn Nottingham last week .Two of the steaks were very tough and one was uneatable. Two puddings were also uneatable.The Apple and gooseberry crumble was almost raw and sour .We were all disappointed and will not return.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful, overpriced food with abismal service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by GarySu on 07/07/2014

I've eaten in Weston super mare, Bristol centre and Taunton restaurants and have found the food to be overpriced, the staff to be almost Harry Houdini like in their ability to disappear after seating you and never to reappear, even if you paid for refillable drinks and chips. I would recommend that anybody who enjoys food and service avoid this place like the plague.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disgruntled customer at milngavie”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Hazb0203 on 11/05/2014

Myself and family recently had an overnight stay at the premier inn, we included breakfast as a package we were extremely disappointed with the service we received 1had to ask about porridge 2 had to ask about costa coffee 3 continental breakfast had no cheese or cold meat therefore it really can't be called "continental", I was eventually offered grated cheese which I never actually received 4 my husband had the English breakfast but had to approach the staff to ask about his breakfast and the children's breakfast We weren't the only customers complaining one couple weren't impressed by the" continental" another asked for coffee and was told "you help yourself I'm not your wife,get her to serve you" So overall I can't say it was a pleasant experience

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“halal food”

★☆☆☆☆

written by grantman on 08/05/2014

after reading that beefeater serves halal food without this info appearing on menus,i find this very offensive and will not be using beefeater again untill this is done an informed choice is a must for me and I hope many other concerned people although I have enjoyed my previous visits to beefeater I now feel that I must down rate my view

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No eggs”

★★☆☆☆

written by 412Levesque on 23/03/2014

Visited milngavie beefeater ordered gammon steak with fried egg however I was informed they had no eggs someone needs to take a good look at this business this branch is going down hill fast

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview