Motorpoint Reviews - www.motorpoint.co.uk

★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
88% of users recommend this
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Motorpoint www.motorpoint.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Motorpoint www.motorpoint.co.uk

Motorpoint www.motorpoint.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★★☆☆☆

“Poor customer service”

Written on: 15/08/2017 by Fox249 (1 review written)

Having purchased 2 cars from motorpoint in the past it was time to make a change. I visited them on a sunday (very busy) and as usual was greeted with a keen salesman. I new the car i wanted ,he was very good but could not give me finance proposals until I paid £300 then i had to sit and wait to see a financial bod (only 2 in -with 15 salesmen !) a flash guy with a very expensive watch came over to talk to me he couldnt give me a quote but said i would hear by e mail on monday but gave me an… Read Full Review

Motorpoint's Comment

Written on: 15/08/2017

Hi there, thank you for your comments. I'm really disappointed to read about the problems you've experienced. Motorpoint always strive to ensure that we provide the best possible customer service we can, should you wish to contact me would be more than happy to discuss this further with you.

Thanks again,
Rachael

Reply to this comment

Buyerbeware123's Comment

Written on: 15/02/2018

Have you always wanted to own a car that's been commercially used by possibly hundreds of drivers? Google Used car scandal.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“No after care service”

Written on: 13/03/2017 by cjohnao (1 review written)

Purchased car over year ago and found out it should of been serviced at 9k and I purchased it with 10700 miles. Also discs worn they should never been in this state at with the mileage it has on now only 13k Said I should said something before how would I know this? 2 garages one being Stoneacres where it had its MOT said they were in a terrible state and dangerous… Read Full Review

Motorpoint's Response to cjohnao's Review

Written on: 15/03/2017

Thank you for your review, as per our recent contact we have confirmed that your age of vehicle wouldn't of required a service at 9,000 miles.
The issue you have raised has been addressed fully
Please accept our sincesrest apologies for any problems you may have incurred
Many thanks, Rachael

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Totally dishonest ”

Written on: 10/02/2017 by Totallydecieved (1 review written)

I bought a car from the Widnes branch and had it delivered to the Chingford office, on inspection I had noticed a few marks on the door, writing in fact which I pointed out and also some scuffs on the front wing. They pointed out that the scuffs were within accepted norms but they would remove the other marks. I recieved a call from the sales executive I was dealing with where I confirmed I would go ahead with the purchase, he was keen for me to take out the Williams cover but I had said that… Read Full Review

Motorpoint's Response to Totallydecieved's Review

Written on: 14/02/2017

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry to hear about the problems you've had during your experience with Motorpoint. Please feel free to contact ourselves regarding this.
Many thanks, Rachael

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Wrong spare key issued on a brand new car”

Written on: 27/01/2017

I was issued the wrong spare key for my Nissan juke when purchased new from motorpoint Derby. When I reported it they said there is nothing they could do even though it was their mistake because I did not report it straight away. Very poor customer service from a loyal customer who has spent over 40k over the last 2 years. … Read Full Review

Motorpoint's Comment

Written on: 30/01/2017

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of the problem you've found with the spare key. I am sorry to read that you've encountered a problem.
If you'd like to contact myself, i'd be more than happy to go through this with you
Kind regards, Rachael

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“customer services ”

Written on: 03/05/2016 by aldo771 (1 review written)

Just bought a car two weeks ago had some small issues with got no help what so ever from customer service staff a shocking and quite ignorant would not recommend… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to aldo771's Review

Written on: 04/05/2016

I am very sorry to hear that your experience with our customer care team has not been a positive one. I would like to expect that if a small issue was causing you issues that this would be resolved easily. If you would like to contact any Motorpoint number and ask for Neil from Customer Care, I'd be happy to investigate the matter in order to try reach a more favourable conclusion.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Car Sold with Major Fault”

Written on: 18/02/2016 by howardh (3 reviews written)

Bought a one year old Qashqai from Motorpoint Burnley. Service was friendly and efficient and not at all pushy. The car looked to be a good deal, but it turned out that the Nissan Connect system (which controls radio, sat nav, phone and lots more) just didn't work. It is under warranty so I have booked it in to a Nissan dealer to fix, but nothing was said about this during the sale. Not sure if this was done deliberately or incompetently but either way I wasn't happy at all. If Nissan can fix… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to howardh's Review

Written on: 19/02/2016

I am sorry to hear you've had an issue with your vehicle, I'd like to offer my assistance if you do not already have a member of our team looking after you. If you can call any Motorpoint number and ask to speak with Neil from Customer Care I will happily do all I can to help.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Overall was a disappointing experience!”

Written on: 15/07/2015

I have just purchased a car from Motorpoint in Newport. This was my first BIG purchase and my first new car in 7 years so needless to say I was excited! We originally went in just to compare 2 cars as we knew they had them on site, and decided we'd like to test drive the one just to get a feel of whether it was the right engine etc we were looking for. Now, at first glance you think, oh! this is great, I can have a look around the various cars and have a look inside at my own leisure with no… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 20/07/2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent purchase on Review Centre. I'm very sorry to hear of these issues, if this has yet to be resolved pelase contact Customer Care and ask for Jacob.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Not happy with the car not all as it was advertised ”

Written on: 29/05/2015 by Ruizsv110 (1 review written)

Went to collect our new car from Motorpoint. After getting home issues have a risen. The car was not Valeted seats were stained and smelt of cigarettes and smoke stains. My son suffers from asthma and had to pull over on the way home to use inhaler after the smoke was still strong smelling. I have paid £80 out of my own pocket to get it professionally Valeted roof to floor. Car was advertised with 9000 miles and after getting the car there was more than 10000 on the clock. I had paid the… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 02/06/2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Motorpoint. I am aware you have spoken to the General Manager at our Newport site and that this is currently being dealt with. If we could be of futher assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Be aware of possible extra charges and low part exchange”

Written on: 15/11/2014 by IsisBateman (1 review written)

Without prejudice - Look out for extra charges if the car you want is transferred from another motorpoint garage, and also theres a preparation fee. Also we were offered a poor price for part exchange on a perfectly good car. We checked the part exhange price in other companies and they were more favourable. Can only speak for our car. The car we wanted to buy was in good condition and good to buy if not for the extra costs added on as we said above. The sales men and women seemed fine… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 17/11/2014

I am sorry that you think that the price offered for your part exchange was too low. We have a specific way of valuing vehicles and depending on who else you had a quote from valuing your part exchange to be more, this may be the reason that ours seemed low in comparison. I'd be happy to investigate and provide a more in depth explanation, you just need to contact Motorpoint and ask for Neil in customer care.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Do your research before you buy. Be very careful.”

Written on: 06/11/2014

I called to make an enquiry on a car whilst the salesperson was polite I was extremely disappointed in the price they quoted me for my part exchange. They were £1200 less than any other dealer and on top of that they had additional charges on top of a purchase price. For example, I called a local branch so they wanted to charge me £99 to bring a car to that dealership for me to view which I felt was a liberty let alone the £99 valet charge. I thought a dealer would clean a car before you… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Mislead, Unhelpful, Poor after service”

Written on: 20/10/2014 by Alessandra1990 (1 review written)

Upon searching a car that I was extremely interested in purchasing, I made the drive up to Motorpoint Burnley on sunday 19th October 2014. Greeted well at the door by a sales agent who was a lovely and really helpful chap, all seemed to be fine and it was progressing relatively smoothly. Then when we got to the nitty gritty, I was dissapointed with the valuation of my car for part exchange. My car is a 57 plate Seat Ibiza with 55k miles, roughly valued at 3100 by Auto-trader, Motorpoint said… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Cheap cars but they'll rip you off with finance + extras”

Written on: 16/09/2014 by DanaBradshaw107 (1 review written)

The cars you can buy from Motorpoint are priced reasonably and from my experience do represent value for money. Unfortunately they use their low prices to lure through the front door and make money off you. The extended guarantees they sell are worse than useless and also comparatively very expensive compared to other providers. The extended guarantee I was sold cost £299 for an extra years guarantee but only provided cover for £1000 worth of repairs. Also should you sell the car or it be… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 19/09/2014

Thank you for sharing your Motorpoint experience on Review Centre. The products we offer may differ greatly to similar products also available. Cheaper products may be available but are not comparable with our GAP product which has an independent 5 star De Facto rating. Our Extended Guarantee does have a limit per claim but I would point out that it actually allows unlimited claims. We have developed these products to provide both value for money and peace of mind to our customers and we offer all customers the option to purchase these products but they are just that, options. We do hope you will continue to use Motorpoint for your next car. Thankyou again for your feedback.

Reply to this comment

Crazyaboutcars's Comment

Written on: 22/09/2014

I'd like to point out this isn't true. If you go to the De Facto website you will see the Motorpoint product actually has a 3 star rating and is inferior to more competitively priced products.

You're much better off buying the GAP insurance and extended guarantee separately

Reply to this comment

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 24/09/2014

The product you have located on the Defaqto website is a product we do not use, yes we have had this prepared for launch but we will not use this unless it is 5 stars. We currently utilise "car care plan" to supply our GAP policies and as you can see they are 5 star. As I mentioned in the previous post we only offer products which offer value for money and peace of mind.

Reply to this comment

Section75's Comment

Written on: 29/09/2014

DanaBradshaw107 still right as I checked and was only 100 pound for 3 years.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 4 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Audi TT - Are you sure this car was checked!!”

Written on: 01/09/2014 by Cupra1974 (1 review written)

Had a shocking experience with Motorpoint. Over the phone sales staff were fine. At the point where I went to purchase the car and the drive home from Birmingham to London it all went wrong. No care was taken with the so called valet of the vehicle. There was wax spilt in the boot interior which is still there and won't come off. Tyres are cut in so many places, parts of tyre wall missing. They have tried to hide scratches which now after a decent wash have now all come to light, on the… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to Cupra1974's Review

Written on: 02/09/2014

Thank you for writing a detailed review on the review centre. I am sorry to hear you've had so many problems, what you describe is not how you should have been dealt with. I'd like to investigate this case for you if you're able to contact me to discuss your experience I will be able to look into this for you. Call any Motorpoint number and ask to speak to Neil in aftersales.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Motorpoint Burnley - tNot happy”

Written on: 23/08/2014 by 464Mueller (1 review written)

Salesperson was quite off-hand and we felt that our time spent there was rushed. The figures quoted were substantially higher than our budget and the Manager's response was "Look for a cheaper car". My husband returned the day after and again the experience was not good. We bought the same car from another local garage at a price well within our budget. Not a happy experience at Motorpoint… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 28/08/2014

Thank you for writing a review on the review centre. Please allow me to apologise that you were mistreated on site. I'd like to discuss the circumstances regarding your experience, if you're able to contact Motorpoint and ask for Neil in the aftersales team, it would be nice to receive a call from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Bad selling techniques”

Written on: 05/08/2014 by MarcosJackson47 (1 review written)

Firstly, when agreeing to purchase the car with finance (over the telephone) I was not given the correct total cost of the deal. The operative forgot to mention the first payment of 1x monthly amount plus a £195 fee to the lender. This could have been resolved if she had just been able to tell me the total cost of purchase. Instead, I had use a calculator to get this number and I got it wrong because she told the incorrect number of payments (missed telling about the first payment). When I… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Exploit the naive”

Written on: 27/07/2014 by AntwanGordon298 (1 review written)

Liked; Very nice salesperson, cheap no haggle prices Disliked ; pre delivery fee paid however car seemed untouched, and still not very well cleaned. The boomerang finance means you are literally paying twice for the car, business manager was pushy and just repeated what the salesman had explained again without revealing APR rate. GAP Insurance is a whopping £299!! it can be bought online for under £100 and is also Defacto 5 rated!!! The finance and add ons are great products that can be… Read Full Review

Billyblack's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2014

Ye dont be fooled this is how they make there money

Reply to this comment

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 01/08/2014

Thank you for writing a review on the review centre. I am sorry that certain aspects of our service are not agreeable with you, we have worked hard to ensure that the majority of our processes suit our customers. I am also sorry that there’s appears to be areas which have not convinced you to our dedication to our customers. I'd very much like to speak to you directly so we can discuss what went wrong in hopes of helping you reach a more favourable end to your experience. Please ask to speak to Neil in Aftersales.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“APPALLING AFTER SALES SERVICE”

Written on: 15/07/2014 by John1966 (1 review written)

Purchased car ( Audi A3) from Glasgow branch late April. Advised during sale that the spare key, drivers log book and drivers handbook were not available but would be sent to me within 28 days. Despite numerous phone calls made to Motorpoint to chase things along, I STILL haven't received my log book or drivers book. Keep getting fobbed off with the same old excuse that it will be delivered as soon as. It's now middle of July and still nothing has been delivered.! Really beginning to loose my… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to John1966's Review

Written on: 16/07/2014

Thank you for writing a review on the review centre. I'd like to assist with your complaint, as you may have seen from the previous complaints, I deal with all of the review centre complaints. I require your details in order to provide you with clear information as to the reason for the delay and also to allow me to get the issue resolved quicker if possible. If you can call the aftersales team and ask to speak to Neil, I will do my best to assist you.

Reply to this comment

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to John1966's Review

Written on: 18/07/2014

Thank you for contacting me regarding your outstanding issues, I hope you're happy with the plan in place to resolve the missing items and you have my contact details in case any new developments arise that will need my attention.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Will never recommend!”

Written on: 14/07/2014 by Angrycustomer1111 (1 review written)

Started as a good deal! Had so many issues when we went to collect at Peterborough from Chelmsford! When speaking to someone and advised to take it to my local vauxhall dealer, after the problem being diagnosed I was then told to take it back to Peterborough for it to be looked at and sorted at no cost! Drove it all the way back for them to say we don't actually do the work on site!! A day wasted and a money loss from work and the problem wasn't sorted! Even though if was assured it would be… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Sale ended before it could start!”

Written on: 27/06/2014 by Deon344 (1 review written)

I was looking for a smart car for over a week, I had arranged to drive 50 miles to view one at a private garage but at the last minute Motorpoint put 5 or 6 smart cars on Autotrader at the price I wanted to pay and with the alloy wheels that I wanted. I called the number straight away and spoke to a sales advisor who said he didn't have any information on the car until it was delivered to the Peterborough site. He did assure me it would have 2 keys and will have been serviced and just to wait 3… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 27/06/2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review to the review centre. I'd like to investigate this for you and find out why this had occured. If you'd like to contact Neil in aftersales I'd be happy to investigate this for you. Please reference this comment when you call.

Reply to this comment

Jadeywadey1's Comment

Written on: 27/06/2014

I am at work currently but would appreciate if you could investigate this and let me know why this occurred, I made a mistake it was not advertised for the Peterborough site it was the Derby site. Its a white 62 plate smart car with alloy wheels, up now for 5299, but up yesterday for 4999. Would appreciate an explanation, thanks

Reply to this comment

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 27/06/2014

Thank you for contacting me back regarding this. I have investigated the issue, we have 2 sets of these in stock, the option without alloys which are £4999 and the option with which are £5299. Both options have not had a price change historically as these are tracked for reference. If you have any information which would confirm we had these listed incorrectly we would certainly be interested in obtaining this but these cars are all currently listed correctly. We recommend tracking the stock number which is a 6 digit number to ensure the vehicle you're specifically enquiring about is always the same vehicle and cannot be easily confused with a similar car.

Reply to this comment

Billyblack's Comment

Written on: 29/06/2014

Mate do you complain about this to your local petrol station when you drive past one day n you think ive got enuff till tomorrow you go the next day its gone up 2p ...Get a life

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 4 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“take it of leave it”

Written on: 02/06/2014 by matthewtaylor (1 review written)

Dealt with motorpoint in birmingham who were great and decided to take advantage of purchasing a vehicle from another one of there locations. Having driven to glasgow to hand over £17,207 to purchase the car we found the car to be in less than perfect condition it also had more than 1000 miles on the clock more than 2301 miles advertised. If we were buying a car with 50000 miles on the clock 1000 wouldnt make a difference however when buying a nearly new car it makes a big difference with… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to matthewtaylor's Review

Written on: 10/06/2014

Thank you for writing a review on the review centre. Please accept my apologies if this is how you've been treated whilst on our site. We certainly do not want to give this impression and we will launch an investigation into the circumstances surrounding this case. If there are any other issues outstanding or would like to speak to us for any reason, please call the aftersales team and ask to speak to Neil

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview