Maplin Electronics Reviews - www.maplin.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
28% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Maplin Electronics www.maplin.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Maplin Electronics www.maplin.co.uk

Maplin Electronics www.maplin.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“So poor”

Written on: 27/01/2018 by simonsmall (1 review written)

Completely mis-sold item in wolverhampton store.rude staff. Special mention to the person I dealt with who was useless and the so called manager Who when asked about return policy said... no comnent! Dont think maplins will be around much longer with this inconpetance.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Refused to exchange defective product Maplin Llandudno ”

Written on: 11/11/2017 by markcf77 (1 review written)

After yesterday purchasing rechargable batteries and charger. I unpacked the product and placed 4 of the AA batteries on charge ..9hours later still no lights to say it had been charged or any light telling me it needed charging. I took the product with yesterdays recipt back to Maplin Llandudno where I spoke to the store manager. He tested all 8 batteries 7 showed charge 1 did not . He said the 4 that were on charge were charged. I was trying to explain to him that as 3 of the others that were not on charge seemed to have power that the 4 that were on charge may have also had power before I purchased them.It stands to reason that it's quite possible as 3 of the others were fully charged which I had not put on charge! I asked for an exchange which he refused as when he tested it the light briefly came on. I explained that it was not coming on when I switched it on and it seems to be intermitant. Still he refused with a cocky attitude also adding ''well I can't sell it now can I ? ''You have opened the box'' Those were the exact words..yet this is a sealed plastic package ...just how the hell does he expect me to check the product is working without taking it out of the package!!??? Does he think I am Derren Brown ... To sum up I will not be using the store , I will be making as many aware of this terrible service as possible. I mentioned this to my partner who is manager of one of the high street store and she was shocked and agreed I was totaly within my rights to have an exchange product. Of course this is Maplin Llandudno so your rights don't seem to be of importance here!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away if you want to avoid daylight robbery and danger”

Written on: 21/09/2017 by Santiagojf379 (1 review written)

DONT BUY FROM MAPLIN IF YOU WISH TO KEEP YOUR ARMS AND LEGS HANDS AND FACE IN ONE PIECE Absolutely appalling company... so I buy a phantom 4 pro drone new and take home. Turn on at home and controller starts to seriously over heat. So hot that basically can not hold the controller. And is buzzing like a battery ready to vent/explode. These are lipo batteries and any issue with these can be very serious. So I call the store in sittingbourne the next morning to tell them and they never called back so next day I call back. To be told try to fly it and see if helps. So following these instructions I did and screen started to render and go green on controller. Next day I take it back to store to be told they do not exchange or refund and have to send it off to head office. Even though my product was faulty from the word go. Un happy but no choice I send back via store to head office. 11 days later my drone is returned to sittingbourne store telling me there is no fault even though dji told me should get no hotter then 40c. This controller gets between 44-50 c with a lipo battery installed. If this battery was to vent out and swell would blow a hole in me or my family's body's. Maybe even death but maplin don't care as long as they are ok.... they refuse to exchange for a working product or refund. So now I'm forced to take legal action rather then have a product that works correct I paid £1700 for. Think about my experience and do you really want to buy from a company that basically sells you a 1700 pound paper weight and don't care if serious injury comes to you as long as they sell you something.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unable to complete order twice!”

Written on: 30/04/2017 by CarinaCruz (1 review written)

I attempted to order Van Damme speaker cable online. Paid using paypal & received a confirmation informing me the cable had been dispatched, then received a second email that same day informing me I had cancelled the order (which I had not) I waited a couple of days to see if my paypal account had been refunded which it hadn't so presumed it was a system gliche & would receive my order. After two weeks the order hadn't arrived so I contacted Maplin via the Paypal resolution centre. I received an apology and confirmation that my goods had definately been dispatched this time priority mail so should receive them the next working day. Great I thought, but oh no I then received another email that same day once again informing me that the customer (me) had cancelled the order (which I had not). On complaining to Paypal I did receive a refund but I wonder if Maplin ever manage to get goods out to customers. I for one will not be using them again & judging by other reviewers comments I am far from alone.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“3.5 mm stereo cable”

Written on: 15/04/2017 by dissapointed678 (1 review written)

needed a cable today. searched website. sixteen of items in your catalogue which are purported to be in stock items were out of stock in all of the six stores in south Yorkshire . shall not waste my time in future trawling through your website for items that are clearly not stock items held in store.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless”

Written on: 15/02/2017 by Andew (1 review written)

I recently purchased a CCTV system from Maplin which clearly stated that it contained everything you need to get it up and running. I started to install the system, downloaded the app and started viewing the ouput but then found out that the only way to configure the system is through a compatible TV. This was not mentioned anywhere on their site. Maplin customer service was absolutely useless providing a series of what appeared to be automated responses. My advice is to avoid Maplin altogether!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Faulty product which Maplin says isnt faulty.”

Written on: 31/01/2017 by Brian4564 (1 review written)

Purchased an E Tape from Maplin. After replacing original batteries on 2 seperate occasions with maplin batteries the E tape stopped working for only one day and part of the next day. I use the E Tape in connection with my work so is used throughout the day. I spoke to the manufactures who stated that the batteries should last longer than a day and a bite and it is probably faulty. I returned it to Maplin who evidently tested the item and returned it to with no fault found. The item only lasted for a short period of time on 2 separate occasions and with the batteries costing approx £8 for two very expensive to run. I am not prepared to return the item back to them again for testing and they are refusing to refund the item. The item is clearly faulty. And the testing of the item by Maplin is in adequate and a total waist of time. Will never purchase an electronic item from them in the future if they can not test there products correctly.Completely incompetent. I will stick with Amazon in the future as far better customer service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Xmas tree solar lights”

Written on: 28/12/2016 by HayleeThornton (1 review written)

Bought seven of these Christmas tree solar lights worked on the first night for an hour they have not worked since I know we have not had many sunny days but all my other garden solar lights have worked what a waste of good money they were amazing when they worked I look like putting them out in summer and taking them in in winter if they are meant for Christmas why don't they make to to charge better .

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Refunded no problem”

Written on: 14/09/2016 by Delaney156 (1 review written)

I had an issue with some cctv cameras that just weren't up for the job that I needed them for. After three weeks of having them set up I decided to return them. There was no problem in exchanging them for something different. The guys there are polite and know their stuff. They may not be cheapest but paying that little bit extra sure does give you the flexibility of knowing that you can return an item if it doesn't work for you. Five stars from me. Definetely be getting my stuff from maplins again.

Sue7777's Comment

Written on: 06/02/2017

Absolute rubbish I had a similar experience and their policy is unused and unopened items only can be returned . Or faulty items which they will prove if their is a fault with

Reply to this comment

Sue7777's Comment

Written on: 06/02/2017

Absolute rubbish I had a similar experience and their policy is unused and unopened items only can be returned . Or faulty items which they will prove if their is a fault with

Reply to this comment

Sue7777's Comment

Written on: 06/02/2017

Absolute rubbish I had a similar experience and their policy is unused and unopened items only can be returned . Or faulty items which they will prove if their is a fault with

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Lack of interest from staff”

Written on: 27/06/2016 by FrankCC (1 review written)

Croydon branch. Wanted to ask about external drives. Might as well have been invisible. When I did speak to one of the assistants he gave me some advice on the product range which contradicted what was on the website, as well as being patronising. A very good advertisement for one of their competitors.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Written on: 18/05/2016

.....SPEAKING TO CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY CUT THE PHONE ON ME.... I bought a small Hercules DJ controller from maplin, spoke to a couple of Djs, and was told to get a better one, i had used the controller a few times for personal use, and i took it back to maplin, that i need to return it (since I would be upgrading and was still under the 30 day money back guarantee, I was given a full refund, and added the money to what i had on me and bought a bigger one( Pioneer) that was recommended by a member of staff in Maplin the same day. I spoke to DJs that i know, and they told me it was an entry level controller, i used it twice to see if it was worth an upgrade, still under the 30 day money back guarantee, i took it back to maplin, asked if they had what i needed and they didn't so i asked for a refund. The store the manager told me I could not get a full refund, reason being that, it was 'used twice' and offered me 75% of the retail price or go and sell it myself. Hence I went to the other Maplin branch at Junction 1. On getting there, the manager(at Junction 1) was waiting for me at the door, to tell me that he got a call from the other manager (at Reagent St.) that they should not collect the controller from me unless, I accepted his condition(that is,collect the 75%of the retail price or take the controller back and sell it somewhere else). I also asked the Manger(at Junction1) for the reason given to him, he said he was not told a reason. I was then charged 25% of the retail price and this affects my satisfactory right.It is not stated in Your Terms and Conditions, neither was it stated in your return and refund policy as at 14/05/2016 (2:00 pm), that I will be charged 25% of the retail price because the item was used. I called customer service and was told they could not do anything that the manager had made his decision, and it cannot be changed. i also sent an email of which they replied with ''We aim to respond to all emails within 24 hours. However in the vast majority of cases customers will receive a reply well within this time frame.'' Still waiting on their reply after 24 hours. The next day i call customer care to speak to someone in higher authority, they said asked for my details... and told me to wait, and they did not forward my call to any one but rather cut the phone on me, called again, they asked for my name, and cut the phone on me. The only charge found was in section 6.3 of returns under your terms and conditions, which does not apply to my case. Please I need the reason for this 25% charge to be expressly explained.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“maplin chatham”

Written on: 27/04/2016 by oluja178 (3 reviews written)

good customer service

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Voucher ”

Written on: 30/01/2016 by Tonykrohn (1 review written)

Received a £10 of next purchase voucher for online and in store purchase website wouldn't except code got no help from customer service so will never shop with them again and it's more expensive than most other places stay clear of them

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Written on: 26/01/2016 by 1970Archer (1 review written)

Customer service in store is absolutely appalling, i was made to feel as if i was lying about a faulty product. The staff do not seem to know the store procedures, and when they did eventually agree to a refund that in itself took over 10 minutes. Stay away from Maplins, Oxford

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“expensive and fairly limited,prices of cables are a...”

Written on: 20/01/2016

expensive and fairly limited,prices of cables are a rip off,buy much cheaper on e-bay

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Maplin the electronics "specialist"?”

Written on: 04/11/2015 by AriSpears76 (1 review written)

Had reason to visit the Merry Hill centre store in Dudley today looking for a couple of semicionductors. Was approached by a staff member who didnt seem to understand anything at all about electronics and confirmed it as fact by pointing out the case style number (t0-220) as being the part number I needed. 10 points, I already told him the case style yet he hadnt a clue what the part was let alone its number or what it did. He ended up monkeying about on the computer typing in "to-220" and getting a colleague to drag him out the klartz. They didnt have what I needed nor could they use their own catalogues.... Duh! What a woeful example of a "specialist". Lets hope theyre trained better at Boeing or Airbus eh? Maplins used to have a wide variety of electronic components in store, now they just concentrate on selling chinese plastic trash. Theyre pointless, I wont even think of using them again, they have no clue. Very very poor.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Worst customer service”

Written on: 13/10/2015 by Joi81 (1 review written)

I bought and aerial extention cable and cable pins and paid £12.99 for next day delivery. This did not happen. The company they use UK mail lied that they attempted a delivery and couldn't get anyone to sign. Who would pay 12.99 for nothing...seriously I am appalled that they would believe UK mail over myself and they even refused to refund me my money for the inconvenience. I will never buy from them ever again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service”

Written on: 02/09/2015 by Brewer255 (1 review written)

Had to return a hard drive tech item as I didn't make it clear it was for a desktop. Served by the person I dealt with in Tunbridge Wells who couldn't have been more helpful in not only exchanging it but transferring the hard drive for me, saved me hours, a credit to Maplin, thanks 

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Faulty item returned without any hassle at all”

Written on: 26/07/2015 by Sparks1986 (1 review written)

Had a great experience with Maplin at Canary Wharf London. I bought a printer from this store recently and had researched a lot into it to try to get the best printer for my needs. As I was buying the printer I was asked a few time from the staff if I would like any help which was fine. Unfortunately I can't say the printer (Brother) was any good and when I got home I was sad to see it couldn't print properly and really didn't perform to the standard I had hoped. I assume it was faulty as it just seemed reluctant to work properly. I blame Brother printers for this entirely. I was nervous about returning the item to Maplin as I had actually never bought anything from Maplin before, never mind return something. I was pleasantly surprised however when I went into my local store at Canary Wharf on Sunday 26th July. The checkout lady I think was foreign and perhaps struggled to understand me, but a lady who I assume to be the manager quickly rushed over and politely asked the relevant questions and simply took my receipt and instructed the checkout lady to refund my purchase. I don't normally write reviews but I felt really pleased with the entire process and as I mentioned before, I had been worrying about it. However true to their word Maplin offered a 'no quibble' refund, as they said they would on their website. Great service. Thanks,

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Managed to resolve issue”

Written on: 30/05/2015 by Valtrader (1 review written)

I had an issue getting my product delivered, after speaking with Maplin support for some time via email they managed to resolve it for me.
I can give Maplin customer service a +1 I'm very pleased with the outcome.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview