Carphone Warehouse

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
13% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Carphone Warehouse - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Carphone Warehouse

Carphone Warehouse
Carphone Warehouse
Carphone Warehouse
Carphone Warehouse
Carphone Warehouse

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“increase prices for s22 3 times in 1 week but over 100...”

written by 226McPherson on 13/10/2022

increase prices for s22 3 times in 1 week but over 100 each time , always on the run up to christmas, the sooner they go under the better for everone. what a mess

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BE AWARE”

written by Adam2788 on 28/06/2022

BE AWARE!! I ordered playstation 4 from them and after transferring money to their account, he asked me to transfer more money for goods insurance. When I refused to send more money he just canceled my order and refused to refund my money back

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“HORRIBLE SERVICE”

written by 275Collins on 04/08/2021

VERY TERRIBLE SERVICE!!! I WISH THERE IS 0 STAR :( 1. INCORRECT DELIVERY INFORMATION My friend and I ordered iPhone 12 on Wed (21 Jul 2021) - it said 1-day DELIVERY but till now nothing. 2. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I chose the collect at store method - But when I try to chase the customer service: (1) All phone numbers cannot reach and (2) chat service requires me tons of questions about my identity while I only need to know WHEN THE PHONE IS ARRIVE at THE STORE so I can go and collect (Why it needs identity: Passport, ID, first-line billing, etc). Until now, No info on when I will receive the phone. This is unacceptable service. 3. IDENTITY-CHECK - Checking delivery status but require: Passport, ID and first name, first-line address are all stupid and illegal. - When checking the delivery status at STORE: The customer service insists to look into your bank card and CVV in your bank card. This is ridiculous and illegal PLEASE DO NOT ORDER HERE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting. Traded in a phone for a £100 bonus + £45...”

written by JonathanWT on 23/02/2021

Disgusting. Traded in a phone for a £100 bonus + £45 for the phone it self. Got an email they would only offer £10!!! The email came conveniently after the 14 days cooling off period. So couldn't even cancel contract out of disgust!!!!. to top it all off the £100 extra bonus was refused as the phone had to be sent within 7 working days from receipt of the new phone... Ok carphone warehouse brain boxes how can i send the phone within 7 days when i didnt recieve the box to send it back until 9 days after recieviing the new phone. That makes no difference in the carphone warehouse world apparently. Dudes we are in a pandemic royal mail doesnt know of your ridiculous unethical practices or they may have helped me out complete joke of a company

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Amateur company”

written by mitchellbrickwork on 31/03/2020

Terrible service. Ordered an upgrade from what I thought was a reputable company. From start to finish it was very amateurish! Once my upgrade was finalised and they had taken my money, my SIM got cancelled and I had no network to make or receive phone calls! Tried to get it sorted out with them but had no responses to emails and forget about calling them! My new phone came with a new SIM (I was feeling very hopeful) put the new SIM in the new phone......nothing!! The reason my phone is so important is because I run a business which relies very heavily on contact. I have now lost 2 potentially large contracts at an already difficult time because I haven't been able to keep in touch via phone. It is now 6 days later and still no network coverage, I have a new SIM being delivered which I hope will work and fix this terrible service I have received! Stay well away if you want reliability!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Flouting Consumer Law”

written by jimbonico on 26/02/2020

Purchased a Huawei Mate 20 Lite from CPW in Feb last year, and it developed a problem with the screen. I called in to the store it was purchased from in December, only to be told it would take 3 weeks for a repair - this would be problematic for me, as I need internet access 24/7. I quoted the Consumer Rights Act to them, which states that if a repair would cause significant inconvenience to me, then I have a right to a replacement phone or a refund. This has been overlooked by the company, one agent even going as far to claim that their company policy is 'company law', and that it supersedes my consumer rights. Have been told that my only option is to go through an online money claim, which I may get my money back, but not guaranteed. Have sent 2 letters to head office, both of which have gone un-responded to. Also sent several emails, which appear to go to CS agents who don't know how to read back through a conversation as I keep getting asked the same things over and over, mainly which bank my DD goes from, despite my informing them several times that it isn't a contract phone - seems reference numbers count for nothing with these people. Avoid like the plague, because you'd be expected to go without for a few weeks or be out of pocket when you need to buy a new phone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid, shocking, never buy a phone from here ”

written by Atticus415 on 21/01/2020

Would never buy a phone from these again, shocking customer experience, never answer the phone when need them, Don't explain things to you correctly when you take a phone out or have a repair, honestly never take a phone out with these, I'm stuck paying for a phone that only 2 months old that doesn't work due to the staff not explaining things, shocking

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs, buy anywhere but here”

written by molynda on 22/10/2019

Took a contract out on new Note 10 plus, over 6 weeks ago. Firstly they didn't deliver next day to store as promised, then when it was delivered to store they didn't notify me. Took 5 days instead of 1 day and many calls on my part to find out where the phone was. Useless, part 1. Part of reason for taking the contract with carphone warehouse was the promise of £280 trade in for my Note 8. I sent my Note 8 to them by special delivery as they supply only a cheap jiffy, offering no protection at all. 10 days later I get a call from a stranger to advise a phone has been delivered to their house and my number was on the side, luckily they were honest and called me to collect it from their house. No message inside, complete denial from carphone warehouse that they received it, even though it had a carphone warehouse barcode label on the back and I had successful tracking message to them (luckily I sent recorded). Useless, part 2. Eventually after much arguing they owned up to a mistake and asked me to send again and they would honour the £280 trade in price offer that had now expired. Foolishly, I sent it again and I receive a message today, nearly two weeks on, offering £35. Useless, part 3. It's been a long time since I bought from carphone warehouse, so long that I'd forgotten how totally useless they are, in every aspect of the service they offer. I honestly can't think of many worse experiences with any company, ever. I've requested my Note 8 trade in be returned, hopefully they haven't damaged it. I will never use them again, under any circumstances and I suggest you don't either.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor, poor poor.”

written by 162Houston on 12/04/2019

Phone only intermittently worked after having it for 5 weeks. They wouldn't replace it because it was over 4 weeks old. They wanted me to send it away for 2 weeks for repair. Bad attitude from shop and head office. Bought a new phone elsewhere because I don't want any more to do with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Zero customer service”

written by Taylor-Alt313 on 18/12/2018

Very bad customer service. Great while they sell you something then they don't want to know when there is a problem. Avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Ending your contract”

written by Dawn78 on 07/08/2018

Beware this company has 0 custumer service. I ended an old contract which actually ran out then began a new one, I continued to be charged for both contracts. I went to a carphone warehouse shop where I was informed you couldn't end a contract over the phone which is where the problem lay but they couldn't help me as I had sorted it over the phone. I rang the number they gave me to be told it had to be investigated. Two days later I received a phonecall to say it had been resolved and I owe nothing. Less than a week after this I receive a letter charging me twice the monthly fee and late charges! I never renewed this contract but apparently you have to end it! The shop says not over the phone, customer service says only over the phone. Too top it all the new phone I am also paying for is of extremely poor quality and has had to be sent back to be fixed. So I am paying for two contracts and have a basic phone to show for it. As a customer of over 20 years once I am free if ever of this contract will never go with this company again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Selling Poor Products”

written by ulIngram247 on 26/07/2018

A sales person at Carphone Warehouse shop in Dunstable advised me that Huawei P8 Lite 2017 mobile phone is as good as, if not better, than the Samsung Galaxy J5 2017 mobile phone. As they did not have the Samsung device at the shop I decided to purchase the Huawei phone at £129.99 from Carphone Warehouse. This proved to be the wrong move. Four days after purchase the phone dropped on soil (without any bits of stones in the soil) and the screen top left corner shattered. Few days later the screen shattered almost all over without the slightest pressure on it and on its own accord. To cap it all, few days later the whole frame of the telephone became warped, i.e. it was no longer flat. The phone proved to be made of poor quality material and it was no match to the Samsung Galaxy J5 which it was compared to initially. So far Carphone Warehouse people have insisted on repairing it by replacing the screen for £80 and without any suggestion as to how they are going to repair the frame! Carphone Warehouse are accepting no responsibility for the poor quality product they sold to me, though They took the money quick enough!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete waste of time trying to upgrade”

written by AMERIFIELD on 04/05/2018

I was due an upgrade at midnight on May 3rd 2018 so visited the store on the evening of the 2nd. Firstly told by staff they could not process my upgrade as I was too early. Seems crazy that their systems are happy to turn away a repeat customer for the sake of a few hours. They did obviously want to keep me around to discuss the deals and offers I could "come back for tomorrow" and after being asked how much data I use on average each month (10gb+ being my answer), the staff then did their all to convince me I would be best with their sim only deal which comes with a free iPhone 6 (old tech) and 4gb of data, customer service at it's finest. Not happy with this I went home and took up an online offer which included the data I needed and a much better handset. Order confirmed and an email explaining I can pick up the handset in store on the 4th. So travelled again to store only to be told now that my order was not ready and should arrive "some time next week". Needless to say I demanded that they cancel the order and will never be using CPW again, all faith lost in their abilities.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not trade in with these!”

written by SalmaSkinner on 14/02/2018

DO NOT TRADE IN WITH THESE I SENT MY PHONE IN AND 10 DAYS LATER I STILL HAVE NOT RECIEVED PAYMENT - STATES 3 WROKING DAYS I RANG 4 DAYS LATER TO BE TOLD THE PAYMENT WOULD BE SENT AND IN MY BANK IN 3 DAYS, ANOTHER 3 DAYS LATER STILL NO PAYMENT I RANG AGAIN TO BE TOLD NO PAYMENT HAS BEEN SENT AND IT WOULD BE ANOTHER 3 DAYS. I ASKED FOR A MANAGER TO CALL BACK BOTH TIMES STILL NO CALL BACK!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“TOTAL RUBBISH and NON EXISTENT CUSTOMER SERVICE”

written by Archie55 on 09/02/2018

WEB SITE ORDER I ordered on line a data sim on 24-01-18 and received an order acknowledgement with expected delivery 04-02-18 (my request). The acknowledgement stated if there was a problem they would get in touch by email or phone. on the 26-01-18 I decided to take a contract telephone out with them so I phoned an explained I had an order already in the system. No problem I was told, "we can do the credit check for both over the telephone". This was successful and I paid the initial payment. I requested the phone be delivered on 05-02-18. The 4th arrives I phoned to say I was still waiting for the despatch email. After 40 minutes and 4 different customer service reps. I was eventually told that the order had been cancelled by their fraud department. They could / would not tell me why! but I was then told by a very obnoxious individual who constantly talk over me, that I had to take ID to the local Carphone Warehouse store but I would not be able to have the current deal I signed up for which expired on 31-01-18 and in any case the online deals are not available instore! I asked where was the local store and I was given my home address. (My nearest store is over 30 miles round trip). I was then also told that the account is locked and I would not be able to purchase anything in the local store! They refunded what I had paid. I asked to speak to a Manager to make a complaint and had to request a call back within 48 hours. Needless to say no call back ever received!! ALL IN ALL the customer service is non existing and at best appalling. I would advise you take your custom elsewhere and DEFINITLEY NOT to CARPHONE WAREHOUSE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Just don't even go there!”

written by Saraw380 on 06/02/2018

I asked for an upgrade but they started a new contract with the provider, then tried to say it was my fault. I ended up paying £200 a month for a number i couldn't even use as the provider said it was inactive. if you call CFW you're put through to S/Afria and they just don't want to know. Ended up taking the phone into the CFW shop and starting a claim through the Small Claims Court for a refund. Beware, i was told by Vodapone that CFW Agents get paid extra for starting new contracts and don't like doing upgrades. i wish i know this before i rang them! WARNING TO EVERYONE, CARPHONE WAREHOUSE ARE A NIGHTMARE!!!!.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Customer service”

written by Chrisaugusti on 06/02/2018

Bought a new Samsung a3 after two months i was getting issues on moisture at us b port also a size home app would not close.When I went to the shop the agent instead off offering good customer service ie we can do this or that for you he does not.it can take 2weeks to fix her a old phone ie does not even help you or show you how to use the replacement phone here the phone get out the door basically called there South African customer service to log a complaint sorry our systems are all down customer service is a joke on thanks for the 300 pounds buying your phone now you can ---- off

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“SHOCKING CUSTOMER SERVICE”

written by on 24/01/2018

I have been given the run around by all staff since purchasing the phone and trying to get an exchange due to a fault. The customer service representative did not do what they agreed on the phone when they said an exchange was valid and justified. Do not use this company!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“promotion not honoured”

written by wcCollins238 on 19/01/2018

I purchased a note 8 in December when they offered a free vr headset worth £119. Twice staff have told me it will be dispatched by their warehouse 14 days from purchase. No headset has arrived or been sent. Disability means I have no speech, CW staff hung up when my wife telephoned for help, I have sent numerous emails over a 2 week period and the response is always allow 3 days for a response. I would advise not buying from this company. I'll give 1 star as the note 8 is actually a great phone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“EVEN ONE STAR IS WASTED ON CARPHONE WAREHOUSE!”

written by NotAHappyChrista on 16/01/2018

Sold me two faulty Microsoft phones, they knew had issues, refuse to even look at them, sent me from one shop to the next, NO ONE IS DOING ANYTHING TO FIX OR EVEN LOOK AT THE PROBLEM! Online complaints get no responds,calling in is a waste of time, no manager ever calls back, keep being told to wait 48 hours for a callback which never happens, even got a parking ticket in their own camera monitored car park when they took 2 hours upgrading my sim card! One shop even told me to go to Argos to buy the phone i wanted at half the price, which was a lie! When i went back the carphone warehouse shop was shut early. Disgustingly, rude staff, no manners, only good for conning you out of money!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by AM1308 on 3rd October 2014 Report this content
I signed up for a 24 month contract on O2 through Carphone Warehouse. Sim didn't activate after 24 hours so I rang O2 and I don't exist. After a very lengthy wait got through to Carphone warehouse and they have no details of my contract. They told me to go back to the shop with the phone and they would have to put it back through the til and re register me. Does this mean, if I don't do this, I have a 'free' phone and no contract? A wee bit dishonest but wanted to check if this has happened to anyone else and if, months down the line they caught up with them? Ta!

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by sandrad3 on 6th June 2014 Report this content
I have been locked in a contract I did not ask for. They keep fobbing me off. I have complained but no result. What do I do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Cyberraver Written on: 22/07/2014
Cancel the direct debit, and then phone customer services.
overview