Kombo Beach Hotel, Banjul Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
85% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Kombo Beach Hotel, Banjul - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Kombo Beach Hotel, Banjul

Kombo Beach Hotel, Banjul

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“We have spent two good holidays at Kombo Beach Hotel...”

Written on: 07/11/2008

We have spent two good holidays at Kombo Beach Hotel and all the staff were great really friendly, nothing is to much trouble to them. Rooms are really clean and looked after well… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Overall Kombo Beach is a great hotel, one of the...”

Written on: 08/03/2009 by Sarahj100 (1 review written)

Overall Kombo Beach is a great hotel, one of the better ones, good value for B & B and breakfast was great. Eating and drinking there afterwards very expensive though. Outside of the hotel is a mixed bag, a very poor country with what seemed like hundreds of people constantly approaching you for something, trying to get you to come to their shops, bars, restaurants, buy juice, taxi rides, be their official guides etc. We saw the real Gambia though, took some supplies to some schools, and rice… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“It was the best holiday ive ever had. It was just me...”

Written on: 18/01/2009 by stef44 (1 review written)

It was the best holiday ive ever had. It was just me and my friend, both 20 and girls. you will hear watch out while your there be carefull, but we had no problems. yea you get the guys wanting to talk to you, but their just being friendly nothing rude just all want to make you have a wonderful holiday. I wouldnt stay anywhere else but the Kombo Beach Hotel, always something to do,yummy food wonderful staff. i can not say enough how much i love it there, it wont be for everyone but a great… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“If you want relaxation this is the place, the Kombo...”

Written on: 26/10/2008 by Km Coleman (1 review written)

If you want relaxation this is the place, the Kombo Beach Hotel, spa, pool beach all fantastic. There are sellers on the beach but this is policed they are under control and there are not many of them, be careful of the horses cantering along the beach front… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't expect to leave the hotel and go for a walk or...”

Written on: 30/09/2008 by shirley parke (1 review written)

Don't expect to leave the hotel and go for a walk or select any other means of transport other than the green taxis parked outside. It was much better to walk up the road and get one with a yellow stripe which was much cheaper or get a bush taxi much cheaper still. You just need to be firm with them, they are only trying to make a living in the holiday season. If you had guests they had to be signed in by a certain time and signed out by a certain time through another gate. This was more akin… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I absolutely loved the Kombo Beach Hotel and would...”

Written on: 23/08/2008

I absolutely loved the Kombo Beach Hotel and would recommend it to anyone. All of the Staff were extremely friendly and the food had lots of variety… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Being only 18 and going away for Christmas and new...”

Written on: 18/08/2008 by ChanBow (1 review written)

Being only 18 and going away for Christmas and new year with the family and to Gambia I was wary... I thought I'd much prefer somewhere I actually knew like Spain... But I can honestly say I'm soooo glad I went!! It's a beautiful country with so many plus points. I and my younger sister have made good friends with the hotel staff and can not wait to return!! I was surprised at how many people return year after year but I can see why... I met some young girls who I became friendly with.. this I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“With 12 years of visiting the Gambia, I should think...”

Written on: 09/08/2008 by Jeannie Jev (1 review written)

With 12 years of visiting the Gambia, I should think that tells you something?. You will either love it or you'll hate it!!!. We love it!! We help a few families, giving what we can, when we can. We have built a Nursery School, and we send boxes of items out, (That's getting very expensive though so might have to stop doing that). We started off with the Hotels, some are better than others, you get what you pay for. We personally like the Kololi area, because we can go out to 'The Strip' at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

399013_Candg's Response to Jeannie Jev's Review

Written on: 07/09/2008

I found this review unhelpful because...as a review of the Kombo Beach its hard to find one relevant comment! What's the Hotel like? The pool? The Service? The hotel food? This is a general review of The Gambia holiday area

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“This is about my 6th time to The Kombo Beach and 9th...”

Written on: 29/07/2008

This is about my 6th time to The Kombo Beach and 9th time to the Gambia. The hotel is improving all the time with the introduction of TVs and fridges in rooms. This time I went on business for my charity, Northampton Trustee Fund. There was significant rainfall followed by hot sunshine. The rain was early this year.

Everything was good - if a little expensive due to the poor exchange rate. A beer in the hotel was 55 Delasis a bottle, 30 Delasis in the supermarket next door and 20 Delasis away… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Where do I start... you have to sign for your pool...”

Written on: 30/04/2008 by Kici (1 review written)

Where do I start... you have to sign for your pool towels which are disgusting, they have holes in them, bath towels in rooms are not always available. Air conditioning is so old that it makes a racket that keeps you up all night, bath tiles need re grouting, absolutely everything in the hotel is priced up. Are we the only people who found Kombo Beach awful?
We would have rather paid a bit more and stayed at the Kariba which is a beautiful hotel and staff are far more attentive than at the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

399013_Candg's Response to Kici's Review

Written on: 07/09/2008

I found this review helpful because...Nice to read something about the hotel, hopefully it was just end of season tiredness and will be looking good by the time I go in November

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent hotel and accommodation lots to do day and...”

Written on: 23/04/2008

Excellent hotel and accommodation lots to do day and night - the tours are excellent value for money and the guides are really helpful. The Bumsters are a nuisance approaching you all the time be polite but firm this does help.
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Th holiday (Gambia Experience) was very well organised...”

Written on: 18/03/2008 by grub (1 review written)

Th holiday (Gambia Experience) was very well organised with transport ready from the airport. I had never been to Gambia before and was shocked by the amount of persistent begging that you are faced with as soon as you reach the baggage hall. Men will literally take your bagagge without permission, then demand payment. Not a good introduction to the country. All before you leave the airport.
The transport to the hotel was efficient, with drinks supplied by Gambia Experience for the trip. On… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“Feb 2008. Just returned from 14 nights. The hotel is...”

Written on: 01/03/2008 by gav1943in (1 review written)

Feb 2008. Just returned from 14 nights. The hotel is as good as we could have hoped for. But after holidays in Kenya and Goa the food and drink prices came as a bit of a shock!. These are reflected in local bars and restaurants who seem to use the hotel as a benchmark for their prices. Anywhere away from the Kotu area was much cheaper. Same rule seemed to apply to taxis we found it difficult to get a yellow bush taxi outside the gate. The bumsters are an absolute pain in the butt and despite us… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

G Dean's Response to gav1943in's Review

Written on: 08/03/2009

I agree with this review because...I stayed there and he is right

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“having recently returned from a 14 night holiday at...”

Written on: 27/01/2008 by fishingfan (1 review written)

having recently returned from a 14 night holiday at the Kombo beach hotel to the wonderful british weather i wish we were back out there. My wife and i have now been to the Gambia 4 times in the last five years and this was our third stay at the Kombo beach hotel. As always our stay at this hotel was superb, the staff always make you feel very welcome the hotel is clean and has a good variety of nice food. We stay b+b as we like to visit local restaurants in Kotu and senagambia. This was the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We were advised to go B&B because there were so many...”

Written on: 04/05/2007 by jbherbert (2 reviews written)

We were advised to go B&B because there were so many good restaurants within walking distance and this is true. Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Overall, we were very pleased with our last minute...”

Written on: 20/11/2006 by CallieCat (1 review written)

Overall, we were very pleased with our last minute (booked 36 hours before leaving) holiday.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment at the moment, but it was not disruptive or obtrusive, though you should expect to find piles of floor tiles, new air conditioning units and bits of wood stored in corridors. There are four blocks of accommodation situated one behind the other, blocks 2 & 3 seemed the best located - we were in block 4. No problem with this, but it seems to be the last to be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Kombo Beach Hotel is excellent value for money and...”

Written on: 26/08/2006 by ejk666 (1 review written)

Kombo Beach Hotel is excellent value for money and it's somewhere different to the obvious holiday destinations of Spain and Greece etc. The hotel more than met our expectations and the hardest decision you make in the morning is beach or pool! Lots of day trips to go on and you can hire bikes from the hotel to cycle around if you fancy. Our only gripe was the locals - they are very friendly but you do get fed up of having to talk to everyone you meet! Just remember if you can't be bothered… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This was our second trip to the Kombo Beach Hotel in...”

Written on: 03/08/2006 by sandhy (1 review written)

This was our second trip to the Kombo Beach Hotel in the Gambia. The first was great (1st trip was with the Gambia Experience - their rep was fabulous). The second trip was even better, as we knew what we were doing. Good thing too, as the First Choice rep was a right grump. Had full board first time, but having B&B was better for us this time, as we tried local restaurants etc., and we met more people that way. Tourists/reviewers whining about the beach sellers should chill out - all these… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dornado's Response to sandhy's Review

Written on: 31/08/2006

Could not agree more. Chill out. These people are friendly and are only trying to make a living. They are happy to talk to you and tell you of their culture. Most of the people who complain about the bumsters probably do not even talk to their neighbours at home.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ted7781's Response to sandhy's Review

Written on: 13/12/2006

Hi. I feel much better having read your review about the Kombo Beach Hotel. This will be our first time in the Gambia. We are going for the New Year. Maybe we will see you there.
<br>
<br>Regards
<br> Graham and Teresa

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Barryclem's Response to sandhy's Review

Written on: 13/12/2006

Hi Sandhy, my wife and I are also going to the Kombo Beach for Christmas, never been to the Gambia before so your remarks were greatly recieved. Hope to see you there, all the best Barry and Jenny Clements

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★☆

“Maybe Half Board would be the best way to go, but I...”

Written on: 10/05/2006 by barry1494 (2 reviews written)

Maybe Half Board would be the best way to go, but I would not like to have to feed a family for two weeks, as I feel the Kombo Beach hotel in the Gambia needs to have a reality check on their pricing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Just retuened from Kombo Beach - having stayed there...”

Written on: 20/04/2006 by ajb1 (5 reviews written)

Just retuened from Kombo Beach - having stayed there now 4 times. This is an excellent all rounder and should not be overlooked. But please, please, please get out of the hotel to meet the locals. Far too many (understandably) took the travel companies tours when they could have had the personal service of the local official guides who are in uniforms right outside the hotel gate. Use them and your money supports the economy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview