Lucky Rentals - www.luckyrentals.co.nz Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.0 / 5
60% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Lucky Rentals - www.luckyrentals.co.nz - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“WORST RENTAL EVER”

Written on: 25/03/2020 by Davemj99 (1 review written)

Where do I start? Worst customer experience in ANY field, not just rentals, I have had. - Meant to pick up our campervan at 8am, wasn’t ready until 4pm (previous customer was still using until 12pm, then central locking needed fixing- which then didn’t work for the whole trip). - Terrible customer service, staff ignoring us when we came back to pick up the van, not shown around and if my partner hadn’t checked the cooker (wasn’t working and needed replacing) we would’ve left with no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst car rental I have ever experienced”

Written on: 20/02/2020 by AndyVR (1 review written)

This is the most unprofessional car rental company I have ever worked with. It all started when I wanted to pick up the car. The car was supposed to be ready at 11am and I got the keys at 2pm. Later, I had an issue with a flat battery on the road and called the road assistance. They told me that I was only responsible for the payment if there was no technical issue. The mechanic that came to see my car said that it was an old battery and things like that could happen but there was no evidence… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling Customer service and a car to match!”

Written on: 10/01/2020

Your safety is more important than a cheap rental! We rented an 8-seater car from Lucky Rentals Christchurch in Dec 2019 and informed them 6+ months in advance of our travel/arrival time. The car was not ready when we arrived, we got the keys almost 2 hours after the appointed time. The staff were most unapologetic, ducking behind the one-way glass in the office and avoiding me each time they saw me approach the counter to enquire about the status. When we got the car, it was filthy inside and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“Enabled the trip of a lifetime”

Written on: 08/01/2019 by twarren93 (1 review written)

We rented a camper out of Christchurch for a 2 week road trip around the South Island of NZ and had the best holiday of our lives. When we arrived at the depot and checked in we were told they didn’t have many of the vehicle we had booked left, as such they were offering us a free upgrade to their top spec camper - a Lucky Rambler. We were stoked by this as it meant we were self contained (had shower and toilet) and we could freedom camp. Unfortunately the vehicle wasn’t ready yet and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Came over to NZ in 2017 on a tight budget for a few...”

Written on: 27/05/2018 by Gustafson371 (1 review written)

Came over to NZ in 2017 on a tight budget for a few weeks holiday. Wanting to hire a larger vehicle we went for a people carrier. Lucky was by far the best price, however, being ex-rental and reading some bad reviews we braced ourselves. The Lucky Coach was by far much better than we expected. High mileage of course but clean and tidy and never missed a beat the whole time we were in New Zealand. The staff although young were polite and professional and kept waiting to a minimum. For the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE”

Written on: 20/02/2018 by Av2104 (1 review written)

My Uncle rented a car through Lucky and it was not a fun experience and I was a little embarrassed having my visitor from overseas coming into Christchurch and experiencing their awful customer service. We waited for over two hours, were completely ignored at the service desk, watched a staff member throw a tantrum, and watched another two couples who said they had been told to come back twice that day as their campers weren't ready. We even offered to help them as we just wanted to pick up a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

1St2Thebar's Response to Av2104's Review

Written on: 20/02/2018

Consumer friendly - thanks for sharing.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST RENTAL EXPERIENCE EVER ”

Written on: 25/11/2017 by 346Beach (1 review written)

Worst rental van ever! Vehicle was in very bad condition: only 3 gears, interior smelled bad and was extremely filthy (seats and curtains completely stained and graisy, bed sheets full of holes, kitchen and fridge so filthy we did not even dare to use it), back door did not open, glove box fell out when opened, ... Just a disgrace to rent such a vehicle for this price. Rental price for 2 weeks is almost half of selling price of vehicle in itself. In short, lucky rentals NEVER AGAIN !!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic price and service. Would book again.”

Written on: 22/06/2017 by CassidyEdwards (1 review written)

I don't normally write reviews but having been scared to death by other reviews I thought I should. We are currently backpacking for 1 year and decided to book lucky as it was by far the cheapest quote we found. We were in new Zealand for 7 weeks so a rental was our best option. A few weeks after booking the lucky rookie we had a look at some reviews and were absolutely horrified we were pretty close to cancelling our booking. I'm so glad we didn't. Yes it was old and a bit rough around the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“You not welcome in New Zealand!”

Written on: 02/05/2017 by Cora75 (1 review written)

Pictures by a third party in the net are lies they show a nice car, if they show the rubbish and smelly cars they use you would not rent it no matter how cheap it is. Uruguayan girl who charge me monies in lucky rentals state I'm not welcome in New Zealand she wanted to charge me a kids seat that they not supply. If they pick you up after hours it is an extra charge. They gave me an invoice without any information it was until I enter an office to speak to a manager that he issued me a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“2003 is not a newer car”

Written on: 27/04/2017 by Joyful-traveler (1 review written)

Waited 50 minutes at the Auckland airport for our ride to pick us up a deplorable 2003, cheep car. Called 3 times and each time was told they'd be there in 15 minutes. Yes, the car drove but it was very smelly, the passenger window wouldn't unroll, the trunk seal was loose & broken. My husband & I both decided the car was lacking shocks. The car basically was not at all what we had envisioned. Lesson learned, rent from the airport not this discount place… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst rental experience, vehicle is a dump, horrible staff”

Written on: 16/04/2017 by Aileen234 (1 review written)

Firstly our mini camper, along with 6 other groups was not available on the pick up day. They then told us to stay in the hostel down the road and refused to pay for accommodation for the night. Upon organising our own airbnb at our expense, we were not able to collect the camper until 5pm the next day, losing 2 days of our south island trip. The car was in terrible condition, felt dirty and smelled bad. Not sure if they even cleaned it from previous users. The amount of dinging and screeching… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst rental company I ever came across”

Written on: 09/03/2017 by JadenCarter392 (1 review written)

They rented me a campervan that was booked well in advance, still we had to wait all morning. Early on in our trip I realised that there might be something wrong with the front suspension. I had this checked out by an AA Auto centre who confirmed that both the front and rear shocks as well as the front sway bar link rods has to be replaced. I see this as putting our lives at risk and then they have the audacity to insist on car insurance. This company is an embarrassment for New Zealand… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“IF you are Lucky”

Written on: 11/01/2017 by Trevino129 (1 review written)

Obviously, Lucky Rental is a very budget option. However, the expectations are that it stills delivers on the very core service of the rental company i.e. you get the car that drives safely and lasts you a trip. Well... Where do I start? 1. We had to wait 4.5 hours for our pick up. NOBODY apologises. ever. The first day of the trip was ruined for the whole group. After pressing the issue, we got one day reimbursed BUT the rest of the group still lost the money and the day trip as they were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst rental of my life”

Written on: 24/08/2016 by Miya441 (1 review written)

Tl;dr : avoid at all cost Worst rental company ever. Scheme people of off their deposit money for no reason at all. They justify it by a very high quote made by their mechanics ($2400 out of $2500 for a destroyed light!). Total rip off, beware and stay away! I found other people complaining about their behaviour and we are preparing legal action. Some had purchased the most expensive insurance and the company found ways to still charge thousands of dollars of repairs, using loopholes they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good car for a good priece”

Written on: 16/05/2016 by Dulceg216 (1 review written)

we had the largest campervan.only 11l on 100km :O. And the staff was very friendly and helpful. You could see that it was not very new, but everything worked alright and we did not had any problems with the car. we just was not that happy that we had to refill the gas, because they do not provide full gas bottles. But beside that it was a great bargain and we enjoyed our month here in New Zealand. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“worth what you pay for”

Written on: 26/04/2016 by Argusie (1 review written)

If you are looking for Lucky van it means that you are on a budget. If you really look for budget camper I would recommend Lucky. Van are basic, but work fine. Note that Lucky have 2 types of Toyota Hiace, older and a little bit newer, try to ask enquire for the new ones. Our camper was 16 years old and was actually the oldest car we ever drove but it was ok and comfy enough. The second battery is for internal light and fridge only, you will not get 240V if you are not connected to the external… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“cheap rental van”

Written on: 22/04/2016 by ReeseCarroll116 (1 review written)

cheap rental van that gets the job done we took it all the way up to the cape and back and it went fine. wasw ok on peterol as well… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Total confusion”

Written on: 05/04/2016 by First2 (2 reviews written)

Booked our rental campervan but had to wait ages, got offered a car for a while but what use was that. When we got the van it was easier to point out undamaged bodywork as that took less time. Seats torn and not very clean. Chopping board we were given was a health hazard. Could go on and on. Cheap, yes, knew it would be an older vehicle, but not in such a bad condition… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“affordable car hire”

Written on: 27/03/2016 by krystal54235 (1 review written)

great for what we needed. comfortable enough. just a lot of squeaks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“We decided to choose Lucky Rookie, and we are happy...”

Written on: 22/03/2016 by KristopherJohnston (1 review written)

We decided to choose Lucky Rookie, and we are happy about our choice, after all. Car, even if it was quite old (97-99 Toyota Estima), was really ok, not deamon of speed, but managed all those crazy New Zealand hills and mountains :) And using (at least for us) a bit less fuel than descripted - that was a nice surprise. I believe this was good value for its price (lowest we found) for New Zealand campervans. Interior, exactly as in description, required cooking staff delivered. Everything had… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview