Gala Tent Ltd www.galatent.co.uk Reviews

★★★★★
4.6 / 5
91% of users recommend this
  • Easy to erect?

  • Durability

  • Comfort

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Gala Tent Ltd www.galatent.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Gala Tent Ltd www.galatent.co.uk

Gala Tent Ltd www.galatent.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID GALATENT buy elsewhere ”

written by Adamantz88 on 25/12/2022

After speaking to Galatent about my planned use for the marquee before our order, I was sold the dream, the PVC tent would be fine for long term use and they only get condensation issues with the PE tents, after hearing this, I placed my order for a 4x6m PVC marquee. This was the start of the first problem, delivery, I was told a date it would be delivered as the roof was out of stock, that date came and passed with no contact from galatent to explain what was going on. Several days after the supposed delivery date, I called up to chase galatent for an answer, only to be told it's another 2 weeks wait...... Customer service lacking to say the least.Anyway, onto the next issue I had,I was surprised by the quality of the framework, it's seemed well made and rigid, however, I still had to make yet another call to have one of the fittings replaced due to a damaged nut welded on, again pushing back my event as I had to wait another 3days for this to be delivered!Finally, the tent is up, used to store 2 cars inside during winter, now starts my biggest problem with this tent. Condensation.The cars inside are as wet as they would be left uncovered on the drive, the condensation is ridiculous. Yet another call to Galatent, who said 'that's very odd' and suggested to open the front for air flow, the tent has had the front opened since I built it as I'm quite aware how condensation forms, I even opened up the very top of the end panels for direct breeze into the roof space,and yet there is still condensation!!!!!!Overall I will say the material PVC is good quality, but that's it. If i could return this tent I would. I would get exactly the same performance from a Clarke pop-up garage which is less than half the price. Very disappointed, especially as I was told how good it would be, compared to how bad it actually is, using a squeegee to dry the inside of the roof is now a daily task, followed by drying the cars. Absolute waste of money and time.If your looking to use a galatent for car storage, do yourself a favour, and buy elsewhere.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“was good, now pretty poor”

written by steve-evans on 23/08/2021

Was good and now in my experience pretty poor. Several months to complete an order. Problems with the staff returning calls. Debates over whether we had received a product when it was still sat in their store rooms. Final straw was receiving a product which looked used and grubby when it is apparently new. Even fellow exhibitors think it looks dreadful

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY FROM GALA TENT”

written by LEW1111 on 14/06/2021

DO NOT BUY FROM GALA. I purchased a gazebo last year and on inspection noticed damage in the canopy and reported this immediately to Gala requesting a replacement. I was pushed down a warranty claim route, despite never having used the product, which was then rejected on the basis that I had allegedly caused the damage upon opening. This is totally untrue, the packaging was opened as clearly instructed and I have the box to evidence. To reject a claim and blame a customer without looking to discuss or seek further clarity is appalling. Despite repeatedly e-mailing Gala refuting their allegations and seeking a replacement, I have had no option but to seek LEGAL ADVICE and make a FORMAL WRITTEN COMPLAINT. GALA have since been independently reported to TRADING STANDARDS for RESTRICTING my CONSUMER RIGHTS and have yet to respond to my letter or replace the faulty goods and I retain a substandard product I cannot use despite having paid for last year. DO NOT BUY from GALA! If there is an issue post sale it is clear as a customer you are not valued, your rights are not complied with and you are not treated fairly!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Check the weight before you purchase”

written by SelectedAutos on 02/09/2020

Check the weight of the gazebo before you purchase it! I purchased the 6x3 (like my old gazebo) Pro 50 for work but the thing is ridiculously heavy! The product itself looks decent, but I haven't been able to use it as I can't get it onto my van. When it arrived the box for the frame was ripped and being dragged by the courier, at this point I should have known this wasn't going to work. But with the weather due to be poor I wanted to check it out before loading onto my van, so I erected it, tried the canopy then collapsed it once satisfied it was in decent condition. I then put it into the carrier bag and tried to load it into my van. It was too long to fit into the back of my van, so I purchased roof bars and tried to lift the colossal thing onto the roof of my van, well I'm not a weight lifter so couldn't get over my head. After a week of trying to make this work short of buying a new larger van I contacted Gala Tents customer services to try and exchange it for a lighter one, but the response was that its been used to cannot be exchanged. I said USED?? I've erected it to inspect it and collapsed it, that's hardly used! The woman then said she would speak to the boss and call me back, well I never got a call back, so 6 days later I rang them again, spoke to who I believe is the same woman, explained everything again to which she said it cannot be returned as it has been used. I then even suggested I exchange the frame for a lighter one with no refund for the difference, to which she put me on hold for 10 minutes then cut me off. So I rang again and spoke to another lady, but again the response was the same. I don't believe distance sales exist to this company, so now I have an £850 gazebo just sitting in my garage, earning me zero money, thanks Gala Tents! Oh and the carrier bag zip is broken, which they asked me to send photographs of.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Perhaps the most disappointing purchase for 2019”

written by CaitlinAshby447 on 31/01/2020

I purchased 2 sets of 2 PVC side panels with windows during the November Black Friday week. These were purchased as a gift, and given 2/01/20 to my 70 year old carpenter father. The panels went up very easily on a mild 14 degrees wind still day in a sheltered area, the following morning I noticed a huge slit from the corner to the side in one of the window sections. Keeping in mind my father is a very skilled man - they had not been incorrectly installed or damaged by any nearby objects. On closer inspection & less than 24 hours installed the crease pattern on the material was still visible from the way they had been folded and packed. It seemed obvious what had happened – the slit had run the length of one of these creases in the clear window material and split. The window blinds were down so it wasn’t immediately obvious until you walked around the outside and even then it was tough to spot given the transparency of the material. For all we knew it arrived this way and Dad just failed to notice when putting them up. I told him not to worry and I would contact the company, the sales person who had called me at the point of purchase had been very helpful, so I was confident we’d reach a solution. I emailed the company who responded very quickly to my explanation and photograph. They immediately prompted me to go through their website and access “My Warranties”. That sounded very promising, but unfortunately this is where the positive news ends. Not only did this process not work and cause me to go back and forth for 2 days with access issues (that were never actually resolved) but they had already decided from 1 photograph and no further dialogue with me not to entertain the idea of any defective issues but instead chalk it up to damage/misuse, they told me the warranty wouldn’t therefore cover it. In a blunt and unhelpful way, to them that was the end of the matter. Not only was I not getting a replacement panel, I wasn’t being offered any type of service – no customer retention discount on a second purchase to replace it, no advice or products made available to try and repair the damage / stop it getting worse, and definitely no consideration given that their product was flawed in some way as to split so easily – or - potentially have even arrived damaged in the first place. I was not given their complaints procedure, and my request that this issue be escalate to a manager was ignored. Because I was out the 30 day return window, they were under no obligation to do anything. Even if they had they been gracious enough to extend that period (like many Black Friday / Pre Christmas purchases do) they were still not going to help as it’d been opened and ‘used’. They wouldn’t accept that it could have arrived damaged as this was not reported on accepting delivery from the driver… which is another story… On delivery the driver found no one in so instead left it with someone we didn’t know and sent a text with a random house name. No street or number included. I had to drive around the village that night searching for a house with this name on it in the dark in late November. I hadn’t had the opportunity to inspect it on delivery, but this is hardly the point. The manner in which I have been dealt with is very disappointing, I would not recommend dealing with their customer service (oxymoron) and given that the item either arrived damaged or was simply defective to split so easily in under 24 hours, their products are not much better than their support. I tried to tell customer services that I had asked about their returns policy given the circumstances of my purchase when their sales rep called me. The agent repeated their 30 day rule and sent me a full recording of my call with their sales rep so I could hear it all again for myself – at no point had I been informed or consented for the call to be recorded or retained, but I guess that’s a different issue! This was not a cheap purchase, even at a discount it was over £100.

Purplecarrot's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2021

Oh how I wish I had seen this before my faulty product arrived. Looks like I'm going to have a right battle to get anything done with a broken heavy duty all weather gazebo.
Customer service after sale a big fat zero so far, and a third of my order hasn't even arrived yet, over a month later than promised

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“1st buy = nothing but aggro trying too get a part replaced”

written by Carpman2019 on 13/07/2019

"Re-advised my review from 4 stars down to 3 stars....... And ONLY JUST made 3 stars too..... Should really be 2 starts....... 1st ever dealings / purchase with Gala tents..........Sadly i am unable to give more than 3 stars in my 1st ever dealings with Gala tents............I purchased a 4m x 10m Gala Tent Marquee Pro Original (PE).......... Purchase via the website was painless and very smooth no issues there, nice and simple............. My delivery was made on time too..........However the Fedex delivery driver ( not TNT ) was somewhat less than professional........., informing me that i have a lot of items on board his van expressing his displeasure with attitude.I checked the correct items had been delivered also checking the items packing for damage.......... ( It would seem the white van man virus is infectious even to Fedex )....... Two of my items had massive damage to the packing to which i checked deeper. VERY luckily this was on the outer boxes, where the purchased items where inside other boxes (thank god).......... The other packing damage had not reached into the purchased items either.As you would imagine at the 1st opportunity we erected the marquee to check for pre-use damage and build / finish quality........... We were pleased to find the items ALL in good condition other than the odd miss weave in the canopy fabric which is not an issue, and a few nasty burrs on the ends of the tubing frame I removed with a file.Why 3 to 4 stars i hear you thinking......... Because i undertook a live chat to resolve an issue with some of the wing nuts be poorly threaded and not usable thus asked for replacements........ To which I was told they would be sent 1st class.......... I now found myself live chatting again 5 days later asking where they are,........ I also had live chat issues where I was asking questions over and over and not getting a reply, extremely frustrating.........My overall 1st ever experience with Gola Tents has been a little disappointing with regards the lack of live chat response and the now long delay to replace items not fit for purpose...............PLEASE NOTE: - The delivery driver and Fedex are NOTHING to do with Gola Tents this is totally out of Gola Tents control was the shipments leave the stores...........1st ever purchase with Gola Tents I give a score of 70% out of 100% ........ We are now in to the 6th day and still i do not have the wing nuts replaced that where U/S in my order........ even tho i have been told two times..... they are sent......... I do not believe them....... What a joke how many live chats does it take to get some wing nuts replaced. UTTER rubbish service........ And to put the icing on the cake you get pushed from one live chat to another with NO Resolution to your problems.........My 1st ever purchase from these people has been nothing but aggro trying too get a part replaced....... over a week."

Purplecarrot's Response to Carpman2019's Review

Written on: 11/04/2021

I'm starting to see a recurring theme with gala tent after sale service. Seems like it's all good when selling but as soon as there is the smallest issue it is not their fault, and out of warranty, or replacement coming...but never does etc etc. I have a bad feeling about the next few months trying to get my money back

Reply to this comment

Carpman2019's reply to Purplecarrot's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2021

Basically I think their TOSSER'S.......

Reply to this comment

Carpman2019's reply to Purplecarrot's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2021

Basically I think their TOSSER'S.......

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Customer Service one of the worst I have ever dealt with”

written by 426Evans on 17/05/2019

If you are contacted to make an advance order dont do it and pay a deposit unless you get everything in writing as they wont give agreed refund when they make a mess up and refuse to give you copies of the sales call managers wont speak to you despite numourous polite requests .shame such bad customer service as there products are really good old gazebo still going after 11 years .

Carpman2019's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2021

Basically I think their TOSSER'S now !!!!! I'd rather buy fron China

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent customer service.”

written by billywilliam on 18/07/2018

I have a Gala gazeebo and have ordered various accessories. Due to a mistake on my behalf, I needed to return an item. All I can say is that the manner in which my transaction was carried out was faultless. Dealt with in a prompt and helpful manner at all stages. Excellent customer service all round. Many thanks to the team.

Purplecarrot's Response to billywilliam's Review

Written on: 11/04/2021

I'm sorry but I don't believe you are real. Please tell us what the issue was and how you got such excellent customer service. Was there a specific person you dealt with that the rat of us could use as this certainly isn't the case anymore

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great service, great price.”

written by georgeewoodley on 14/05/2018

I needed some spare parts for my tent. I rang gala who were extremely helpful and even organised a bill on an email for me. I ended up getting spare tent ends for a fiver (Gala getting rid of old stock) and a pole and some feet. Delivery was very quick - thank you.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Easy to use”

written by AgustinKenny36 on 13/05/2018

Great Product, A bit on the heavy side, But that makes it sturdy when up. but it is quite easy to erect. Thanks Gala

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor stitching on side wall panels”

written by darren19661970 on 17/05/2017

I bought 3 x pro 50 6x3 pop up marquees in December (approx £2000), i purchased them at this time as there was some percentage off, i don't remember quite how much but it did save me a bit of money. I took them out of the box for the first time in April at Stafford bike show my first event of the season, there were 5 faults with them, the roof seemed to be double stitched on one seam, 2 x spring loaded pins did not work properly & 2 side walls were coming apart at the Velcro seams as the stitching was extremely poor. My wife and I are really careful when taking the sides off as the marquees as they are so expensive to buy but the stitching just fell away I contacted gala tent with my issues and they said send us some pictures and they would sort it out for me, i was still trading a week later at a show in Peterborough so what ever they were going to do would have to wait until the week after that. At Peterborough it rained so the sidewall bottoms got a bit muddy, when i got back Gala contacted me saying they would replace the panels and provide new plastic pins that I had to fit myself? which i did at great length, the panels came and off i went to my next show, after my 3rd event i noticed another 2 panels gave way at the Velcro stitching and there was obviously a problem here so i contacted Gala again, same scenario with the pictures however this time the said they would not replace them but repair them which i said was unacceptable, i explained to them that i had honestly only used them 3 times but they stated that the panels i had sent back previously had been so heavily used and they had to through them away, wow i was astounded to say the least, (the panels had a bit of mud on them from my 2nd show) they said all what was on offer is a repair which they said would take 3 weeks to complete, i even sent them pictures of other panels that still had the creases in them from the brand new plastic bags just to prove i had only used them 3 times, no joy, I had previously purchased 3 x 6x4.5 pro 50,s which did last about 4 years to be honest however after this experience i told them that don't want anything from them ever again and i am certainly not a liar

Purplecarrot's Response to darren19661970's Review

Written on: 11/04/2021

How do they get away with this?
I'm starting to look through all the reviews and it seems like the only real ones are all bad, and a computer, company staff maybe, have written all the non specific "gala great" good ones

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Faulty infrared heaters”

written by Dampdog on 19/12/2016

We recently purchased 4 x Infrared heaters part No 07273 for fitting in a farm shop.We have installed hundreds of infrared heaters with never a problem but 2 x bulbs in these heaters went dead after 1 weeks use. One bulb was replaced but this died the next day. Gala tent will not offer a warranty on these bulbs as they say they were either knocked in the post or we damaged them. BUYER BEWARE cheap rubbish and poor customer services

Galatents's Response to Dampdog's Review

Written on: 15/02/2017

We are sorry to hear that you have had 2 bulbs that have stopped working, this is very unusual. Due to the fact that bulbs are fragile items they are not covered under the warranty, however we do protect your bulbs for 48 hours after delivery so if they are damaged in transit we can send a replacement. We have offered a discount from any replacement bulbs you require as a goodwill gesture and this offer remains open should you need this, Kind Regards Gala Tent

Reply to this comment

Dampdog's reply to Galatents's Comment

Written on: 15/02/2017

We had 3 x bulbs blow.2 x within a week,1 x replacement within a day.
They were packaged very well by gala tent and handled with extreme care by me as I know they are fragile and the glass should not be touched.
If they weren't damaged in transit and not damaged by me why did they blow ? The replacements from another company are working well so I assume the originals were faulty. To have 3 x bulbs blow like this shows they were of faulty manufacture and should have been replaced under the sale of goods act.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Excellent Quality and Value. Excellent customer service”

written by RoadrunnerW12 on 21/09/2016

Ordered tent online. Gala dispatched correctly. Carrier bungled delivery. Gala customer service did an excellent job of sorting the problem. Thank you. The tent is a well built, well designed and robust item. It is modular so further sections can be added at a later date. The website explains this well and also gives a helpful listing of useful accessories. No complaints or niggles. A really good company to deal with. Nice one, Gala

Purplecarrot's Response to RoadrunnerW12's Review

Written on: 11/04/2021

Another company written review?
Damn how did I not spot all these fakes before

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“All in all great company ”

written by ztFox141 on 21/08/2016

I purchased a gala shade pro 40 compact for my craft stall I was very happy with my purchase the fast and friendly advice I received helped me to choose just what I needed.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“Impressive service from livechat”

written by on 13/07/2016

I needed to order parts for my Gala tent. I was assisted by a lady from LiveChat. I was very impressed with the services I received from her. She was helpful, prompt and professional in her approach. Thank you for employing her, she makes your Gala Tent company very proud.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Faulty Gala Tent Pro 40 Compact Gazebo but no refund”

written by johnrtaylor on 12/05/2016

I purchased a Gala Tent Pro 40 Compact on the 18th April 2016, It has been used twice and it has some very serious problems. One of the issues is the end caps in the trusses, one is incorrect and at least 3 others are damaged, this has caused rubbing damage on the canopy creating a hole. One of the metal feet has come off, improperly welded. The construction and strength of the frame is poor. Gala tent have collected the gazebo, but they say everything is my fault and refuse to issue a refund. If it hadn't of been damaged I could have returned it for a refund as it was within the first 30 days , so it doesn't make sense for me to damage it!! Please avoid this company as there customer service is diabolical, and they will do anything to avoid giving a refund.

Galatents's Response to johnrtaylor's Review

Written on: 10/08/2016

Customer service response:
He reported issues with his goods so we collected the goods to inspect as we were concerned. The frame had been used for an event and had been damaged, despite this we wanted to help. We have offered him a free of charge repair which was refused, we also offered a replacement frame and canopy free of charge which was also refused. We offered to exchange this for a different frame and this was also refused. We have since arranged a full refund for him to resolve this. Keeping a high standard of customer service is very important to us and we believe we have done everything we can to help, but were faced with an unreasonable response to every option.

Reply to this comment

Johnrtaylor's reply to Galatents's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2016

The goods were faulty but gala tent refused to accept it, good are meant to be used and still work afterwards. The only reason they were forced into a refund is because they were in breach of trading standards regulations with regard to mis-selling. Gala Tent seem to have a complete lack of consumer law. If you are in this situation with them go and see citizens advice. It took nearly 3 months to get a refund, awful and rude customer service who like to call there customers liars.

Reply to this comment

Purplecarrot's Response to johnrtaylor's Review

Written on: 11/04/2021

Oh I am so getting a sinking feeling about my chances of anything good happening with my faulty gazebo

Reply to this comment

Penren's Response to johnrtaylor's Review

Written on: 18/08/2016

Judging by gala tents response it seems to me they have done everything to resolve your issue It seems you may be one of those people who just loves to complain, and most probably complains about everything, I have been a customer of gala tent for many years and have been extremely happy with their products and service.

Reply to this comment

Johnrtaylor's reply to Penren's Comment

Written on: 18/08/2016

I was a very happy customer of Gala Tent for 5 years. In that time I didn't have any issues. It was only on the last purchase that I had cause to complain, I tried to escalate my complaint to the MD, but received no response. He only responds when bad reviews are left!! If you believe I complain about everything, please find an other review where I have left a company a bad response. This is the first bad review I have left for a company. I even said they have given a refund, but it did take nearly 3 months.

Reply to this comment

Purplecarrot's reply to Penren's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2021

Penren, are you sure you are not an employee of gala tents? You certainly "speak thier language" when leaving a comment, and don't actually respond to what johnrtaylor has said

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 6 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor service”

written by JHubbucks on 04/03/2016

Living in Northern Ireland, part of the UK and twice now Gala Tent have refused to deliver to Belfast saying I must purchase from the Irish company & pay in Euros. Why would I want to pay in Euros when I live in the UK & secondly they advertise that they can deliver to N. Ireland. I think trading standards need to hear about incorrect advertising!

Galatents's Response to JHubbucks's Review

Written on: 08/08/2016

Gala Tent do have a Irish distributor and its actually cheaper to buy from the warehouse as the shipping can be really exspensive for some of our marquees and heavy duty gazebos. Try getting a quote and if your not happy then come back to us.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Faulty side panel”

written by Cassidyt134 on 08/01/2016

Fantastic company to deal with. No problems whatsoever. In fact our problem wasn't a problem after all. Dealt with quickly and professionally. Would not hesitate to recommend Gala to family and friends.5 star

Purplecarrot's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2021

Please let me know how the process worked for you as I'm finding it a. Difficult to believe your experience as b. I am unable to illict the same type of response

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“After sales”

written by on 06/01/2016

We purchased a marquee in October and first tried it in December as we were having Xmas dinner in it, in developed a couple of leaks on Xmas eve morning and we were purchasing some bulbs for the patio heaters and mentioned it and they saved our Xmas, they gave us two new side bits and some spray to put on, we were very grateful, it saved the day, this happened at 11 am and they were closing at 12... It made our Xmas, it was warmer in the marquee and all 16 of had the best dinner ever, we weren't all squashed in the house, it was great at new year for the party of 40 we had...we have always purchased our things from here, they are great people,very friendly, very helpful and great at communication if something is out of stock...I would highly recommend this company to anyone....thank you once again for saving the day.....hope you and your company have a really good year this year.....many thanks.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent Service”

written by pfitzy on 14/12/2015

The service we received from your company was absolutely without fault, we have 16 members of family coming for early Christmas dinner on the 19th and we could not get our extra table and chairs which were stranded in the floods in the Lake district, I rang your company on Friday afternoon and ordered 6 Retro chairs and event table, on the 12th Dec.we had an email on the Saturday to say it was at the local depot, and the table and chairs were delivered Mon morning as promised. Well impressed thank you.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by jasminesdelights on 22nd July 2014 Report this content
I want to buy a Gala Tent for use at craft fairs. It will only be used a minimum of once a month, but I don't know if I should just go for the basic pro-mx or spend the extra and get the pro-40. Does anyone have any recommendations? They would be appreciated! Thank you.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview