Boreham House - Chelmsford Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
30% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Location

  • Venue

  • Food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Boreham House - Chelmsford - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Boreham House - Chelmsford

Boreham House - Chelmsford

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Worst attitude of staff”

Written on: 10/11/2019 by h1tesh (1 review written)

We recently had a wedding at boreham house and they were ok before we confirmed the booking but once deposit was paid. Then they pointed out lot of rules not explained before and they were very very rude. Any thing and every thing had an issue with the rude staff. They just didn't make it pleasant for the wedding party. But if you agreed with them they were all smiles. I think that the owner herself is the rudest. Make sure you iron out everything you need before signing the contract… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible ”

Written on: 10/12/2017

I went there for a family Christmas party on the 2nd December and when we all turned up to the entrance there was no power, no one told us what was going on we weren’t given a welcome drink when we arrived which we got told in the package was going to happen. The power was out for at least an hour and no member of staff told us any information about it, we didn’t eat our mains until about 10:30pm which made the night run later than we wanted it to, I thought that we could have at least had… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible ”

Written on: 10/12/2017 by Disappointed.1997 (1 review written)

Went to a Christmas event last week was terrible staff service was dreadful was given no information regarding power cut the only good thing about the evening was the DJ… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“saturday 2nd December ”

Written on: 10/12/2017 by 497Medina (1 review written)

I would like to shear not only my one and only experience but I'm sure a good few peoples to at boreham house on Saturday 2nd December . Arrived at 7.15 to a pitch dark car park . I mentioned it to staff at the front door he just said got no electric. We went in to the hall which was lit by emergency lighting . Understandable . But unfortunately at that moment no announcement . after being there just under two hours an announcement . We eventually got our main course by 10.30 . I asked who… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't arrive hungry... ”

Written on: 08/12/2017 by DestineyFox470 (1 review written)

Well. Where do I begin. I attended this venue as one of their Christmas party events. When we arrived there was a power cut. Fair enough, these things happen, and we were told that it would be sorted within 15 minutes. We were left to go to our table without welcome drinks, I had seen some being drunk however. With no sign of the food we just kept drinking. I wanted to ask a member of staff for our welcome drinks but they seemed to be hiding in the kitchen. When I did find someone she said she… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid!!!!”

Written on: 08/12/2017 by NatalieAnne (1 review written)

We attended Boreham house for a Christmas party! We arrived to chaos, there was a power cut (apparently a frequent event) no staff to explain, no welcome drinks and left to find the rest of our parry in the dark. Food was eventually served! This was horrible but we were all so hungry that we ate it! Terrible mistake as I was very ill following eating dinner and the had to leave early! Such a disappointment as was a rare night out for myself and hubby and was so looking forward to it!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Truly awful experience ”

Written on: 08/12/2017 by Chalklands (1 review written)

We had booked our family Christmas evening. Had never been to Boreham house before and looking foward to evening. When arrived no one to great us or tell us were to go Eventually found our party. No reception drink. Eventually dinner served awful couldn't eat it wine not much better. Not a experience i would like to repeat. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not good! ”

Written on: 08/12/2017 by Lraza (1 review written)

Recently went to Boreham house for a Xmas party and the food was awful, no welcome drinks, and slow on the drink. I would not recommend to anyone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL”

Written on: 08/12/2017 by Abc1234D (1 review written)

We had our Christmas meal booked here. 19 of us in total. We arrived to chaos... no reception drinks, no staff to tell us what was happening?? An hour in darkness. There was a power cut. Dinner was finally served and was inedible. We would have left early if we didn’t have transport already booked there and back. We have emailed Boreham house and there response has been terrible. An offer to return at a discount..... not likely!!! I have since found out that this venue has power cuts all… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful”

Written on: 15/07/2016 by Nicholson374 (1 review written)

I had an event at this place on the 12/07/2016 and believe me this place does not even deserve a star its awful. REALLY REALLY bad customer service made promises and took our money and did not deliver at all absolutely awful. The staff were sooooo rude one of the worst venues i have ever been to. Management were also really rude and disappeared when the food ran out. Its a shame as the venue is beautiful but the customer service is disgusting and nasty. Prices were awful too £3.50 for a piece… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Linda5556's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

This is an absolute load of nonsence we do not charge £3.50 for a piece of fruit and we are at present dealing with this review being taken down

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great”

Written on: 18/02/2016 by jrivers3 (3 reviews written)

I personally loved the look of the place. It is not glamorous but something about it I loved. The place was spacious as well… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“5* Venue 1* Service”

Written on: 05/02/2016 by RandallFallon100 (1 review written)

I have to say I cannot fault Boreham House for its looks. I love the house and the grounds. If you are looking for a beautiful location to hold your wedding, then this is a place you should visit. If however, you expect any level of service (Once your deposit is paid) then forget it. When you have your initial meeting with the team, they cannot do enough for you, nor can they be nicer to you. Once the initial deposit was paid, that will go entirely out of the window. In honesty, I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Bizarre”

Written on: 16/11/2015 by mbh1419 (1 review written)

We attended a Ball recently at the venue and whilst it is impressive when you first arrive and the house itself in lovely I found the experience rather odd. The function area is a pavilion at the back which I have to say is very nice. The problem started when i tried the red wine which had I spilt it would probably have burned a whole through the nice white linen table cloth. I decided I would have to aprroach the bar and see what they offered on the wine list. I was told there is no wine list… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Great venue, TERRIBLE management! AVOID!!”

Written on: 25/09/2015

At Boreham House “Everything is Possible”, at least until you pay the deposit!! Similar to another 1* review here, we were drawn in by the rhetoric from the person I dealt with which made out that the venue was perfect for our wedding. However soon after paying the deposit we discovered that this was not the case. Hopefully my review will help other couples to avoid making the same mistake we did by booking Boreham House for their special day as the management of the venue really did spoil… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Teresabh's Comment

Written on: 30/09/2015

Just to let everyone know who reads this comment we were blackmailed and given the choice of paying for the photographs of his Wife who is a professional Ballerina or him writing this review. We take this very very seriously as we have never ever treated any of our brides and grooms with any thing other than respect.
Everything in this comment is about trying to destroy our business this should not be allowed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mdj101's Comment

Written on: 10/11/2015

I don't think £750 for a professional, fully insured firework display is extortionate!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mdj101's Comment

Written on: 10/11/2015

I don't think £750 for a professional, fully insured firework display extortionate!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Fantastic day :)”

Written on: 22/05/2015 by reBryant177 (1 review written)

I went with my friend to her viewing as her boyfriend was away working. Before the viewing she been raving about how lovely the lady was that she had been talking to. It was a godsend for her as she was finding it all a but stressful with the pressure of trying to find a venue by herself!! Well, the drive along the lake was beautiful as were the rest of the grounds. We both said that the photos would be fab. Anyway, sorry, this is going to turn in to an essay if I'm not careful lol. We met… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Borehamhouse House made our dream come true”

Written on: 22/05/2015 by Colintr (1 review written)

We booked our wedding nearly two years ago and have had the best experience of our lives. During the build up tonier wedding we attended four events absolutely free, wine and cheese, honeymoon destinations and much more. It gave us an opportunity to meet all of the staff so that on our wedding day we felt like part of the borehamhouse family. True to word our wedding was amazing the food, staff, professionalism were second to none. When I read the reviews on this site I think I must have met a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic Day”

Written on: 20/01/2015 by Romawil (1 review written)

Wow what can I say we attended a wedding at Boreham House it truly was amazing, the ambience,the food, the staff it was perfect. We are so excited we have been to the open day and decided to book our wedding here for next year. I know a couple of people who have got married at Boreham House and have raved about it. I went onto hitched.co.uk to get the true reviews and they look gresat. I will review again after my wedding… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful School Summer Ball”

Written on: 17/07/2014 by cat92x (2 reviews written)

We had our summer ball here for our year 13 students, ultimately because the tickets worked out cheaper, IDEAL FOR A STUDENT BUDGET! however, this wasn't the case on the day. Drinks were ridiculously expensive, awful for us because our students work on a part-time job, if that! DJ was dreadful, refused to play the music if people had a glass on the dance floor, would shout at the everyone, made us feel like young children. Refused to allow our students to have one glass of wine with their… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fabulous1997's Response to cat92x's Review

Written on: 07/12/2014

We had a great ball there! Alcohol was served at the bar to those that had ID as some of our year 13's are not 18 so fair enough. They were keen to keep glasses off of the dance floor bit that's fair enough. No complaints.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Teresabh's Response to cat92x's Review

Written on: 22/05/2015

Thank you for your comments I am sorry you had some very drunk students and we refused to allow them to drink more to protect them and it was very disappointing that you did not feel the same way. Drinks are not allowed on the dance floor you should also know that this is to protect students from having an accident. We are shocked at your behaviour the students had alcohol taken from them on arrival which is to be expected. We do not really respect your view as our aim is to protect young people from being drunk and hurting theirselves clearly not yours. Your behaviour was shocking and although you are not coming back your school is

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Boreham's Response to cat92x's Review

Written on: 20/01/2015

Well what can I say it is exactly what I expected from this School they were rude, had fights, tried to bring in thier own alcohol a complete nightmare from beginning to end. They refused to take thier glasses off of the dance floor which of course as anyone knows is dangerous. The price was just £25 and soft drinks were £2.00, Spirit and mixers were just £4.00 cheaper than the local public house. We would not allow this school back again we had so many problems it was unbelievable. I have to add that all of the other schools that attneded were impeccable and we were proud to have them at Boreham House

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“I AM REALLY WORRIED HAVING READ THESE REVIEWS !! ”

Written on: 15/02/2014

i have booked a wedding here for my daughter and paid a deposit already. During our initial meeting a year ago we discussed canapés drinks and costs of reception meal etc . i was told that this would all be confirmed in writing and am still waiting . i was also told that my daughter and i would be invited to lots of events so that the we would build a strong rapport with the team, as yet nothing. i have emailed to discuss chair covers and costs (as i was informed at a wedding fair that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mumsy84's Comment

Written on: 08/07/2014

when we had our daughters wedding here, we received incorrect and conflicting advice when trying to finalise arrangements. I found the owner to be brusque to put it politely and was disappointed by her attitude considering how much this venue costs. We did manage to come to an amicable arrangement in the end and did not let this spoil our day. I hope all turns out well for you.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I was treated like royalty”

Written on: 04/02/2014

We got married at Boreham house in January at very short notice due to personal circumstances. The team were amazing the bent over backwards to help us. The food service and staff were amazing our friends are still raving about our day. I know there are some negative reviews but honestly you have to meet them all to know what I mean. Thankyou so much and I can't wai to meet up and look at the photos. We would recommend you to anyone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview