Gold Medal Travel Group - www.goldmedal.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Gold Medal Travel Group - www.goldmedal.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“DO NOT BOOK YOUR HOLIDAY WITH THIS COMPANY. They are a...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 196Elliott on 02/03/2024

DO NOT BOOK YOUR HOLIDAY WITH THIS COMPANY. They are a total rip off, they over charge the price of the holiday sometimes as much as 3 times than if you book it direct and they do not deliver on the quality, facilities or star ratings they claim.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Quality Holiday”

★★★★★

written by mgBurnham42 on 01/07/2023

Booked in a travel agency near my home and the Tour Operator they recommended was Gold Medal. I'd never heard of them and some of the reviews were questionable but the holiday ran smoothly from start to finish and I've now booked a second holiday to Mauritius for Christmas. We stayed at Constance Belle Mare Plage which was lovely and I'd highly recommend for a retired couple seeking somehwere in the North of the Island. Price was a bit more expensive than online but the advice given was really valuable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Extremely poor service! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RaquelDoherty on 17/09/2020

Extremely poor customer service & communication. They will not let us change or amend anything on our holiday without charging us a hefty £250 admin fee! We have been completely over charged for the room we have booked as part of a package (we thought we were getting something else) and they are refusing to do anything about it. When I ask for the customer services complaints or a manager - they say ‘there isn’t one’. Shame on you Gold medal - you should be wanting to keep your customers that are willing to book holidays in these uncertain time’s - not walk all over them & charge them the earth because of a miscommunication on your behalf

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Use at your own risk”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Travelbuf on 05/06/2020

Use this operator at your own risk. My son and his girlfriend booked a round trip to USA for October. They paid over £1,400 deposit and are required to pay the balance in a weeks time. UK residents are not allowed to fly to the USA at present but they are still insisting on full payment. A refund or a credit for future use has been flatly refused and a demand for full payment or lose the deposit has been stated. From my personal experience because of the Coronavirus, airlines and hotels are being extremely understanding and tearing up their normal Terms and Conditions to assist and crediting monies back to customers or issuing credit notes. I suspect that this company is profiteering out of this unfortunate situation. It appears that this is they way they operate, I would not be surprised if the close up shop very soon.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I booked a holiday with Gold Medal through TUI and the...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DPDPDP on 30/03/2020

I booked a holiday with Gold Medal through TUI and the holiday has been cancelled due to the COVID19 Virus and they won't give me my money back. They are insisting on a voucher that must include flights with the same company. Every alternative dates they give me for next year are more expensive than the original holiday and 2,500pounds more than I can price it on my own!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Shocking customer service, no ownership of mistakes”

★☆☆☆☆

written by rosiepowell on 04/12/2019

I wouldn't even give them 1 star! Shocking!!! My parents went to a travel agent locally to book their holiday to Nashville, during the process, the travel agent contacted Gold Medal for information concerning transport to and from the hotel and the hotel was booked on the basis of this information, the information given by Gold Medal was incorrect. This error led to my parents incurring additional costs during their holiday. A complaint has been raised with Gold Medal and they are refusing to provide ME with a detailed response, refusing to own up to their mistake or rectify it. I have explained that my parents are vulnerable customers and they JUST DON'T CARE!!! So they can go about giving false information and there's no Ombudsman service in place to force them to investigate complaints properly, own up to their mistakes and rectify them and they therefore seem to to use this to just ignore issues and complaints. It's so irresponsible, customer service and basic morals is not at the heart of this company!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We booked through Thomas Cook in September 2019 to go...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 258McAllister on 22/10/2019

We booked through Thomas Cook in September 2019 to go to Heathrow from Manchester And paid in full When Thomas Cook ceased trading we rang customer service at British Airways They said we had paid in full and our seats were confirmed Today we received a letter from Goldmedal that we have to pay again We said we had paid in full and BA have confirmed our tickets We have sent copies of our Booking reference and card payment receipts as well by email and waiting for a reply Our flight is on 26th October return on 2nd November When we rang them they took 50 minutes to answer the call We are elderly and my wife is disabled We are very stressed to get a demand to pay again and so close to the day of travel

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Best holiday ever”

★★★★★

written by Dianesherlock on 02/04/2019

Booked this holiday through TUI everything went well good flights had a private transfer booked and where picked up by Dayu who went out of her way to make the holiday special!! She took us on a day trip that lasted 13 hours then had to go back to the office so very very good she has now become our friend ! We stayed in four points by Sheraton in seminyak and could not fault a thing !!! Would defo go back fantastic holiday

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“misleading”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Nichols59 on 09/05/2018

we booked with Thomas cook who booked through goldmedal via telephone we was there nearly three hours arranging this once in a lifetime trip to Australia the first week to visit relatives in Melbourne so was basic and everything was fine. the next two weeks was a two weeks holiday in Queensland we wanted all inclusive but as there was no all inclusive in Queensland we went for bed and breakfast we said it had to have a very nice room this was important for us, when we arrived we had a very basic room and very small we had to move after three days at a cost of £540 Australian dollars it was not b n b we had to walk ten mins up the road for breakfast to a café which was a limited breakfast order which we had to give a pass for, we was led to believe there was an onsite restaurant THERE WAS NOT, we wss led to believe we was on the beach there was a busy main road in front of the hotel then a childrens park then the beach. I complained whilst there and on arrival home Goldmedal offered us £140 compensation. I will never book with them again!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AVOID”

★☆☆☆☆

written by annatravellog on 04/09/2017

AVOID Following a complaint regarding a room I booked with this outfit/ company I experience what can only be described as ' relaxed attitude to customer service'. They did not find it necessary to respond until prompted. Do yourselves a favour and ... AVOID - AVOID - AVOID. I would also add, I was not able to leave no stars so I have been over generous here and given them 1. Inept and incapable

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Misleading, unprofessional,non caring.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by noGoldMedals on 13/07/2017

We booked a round the world trip via Thomas Cook who involved Gold Medal at the telephone to make the arrangements. Without exception the hotels booked were substandard,on two occasions were not as advised.They received our letter of complaint on our return in February 2017, did not acknowledge until 11.7.2017 and rather predictably denied any culpability. Their attitude displayed was could not care less. BUYER BEWARE do not allow Thomas Cook to lead you into any dealings with these guys.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Liars ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Stickberry on 01/07/2017

We wanted to book a holiday to Zanzibar but wanted extra legroom was told once we hod booked we would be able to pay and book extra legroom so went ahead with booking only later to be told we had to pay balance in full before we could get extra legroom which we did in may was then told we had wait 90 days before we fly 90 days are here only to be told it's now 30 hours before check in good luck if you book with them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Never again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 27/06/2017

Do not use this company I booked flights car hire and a night in a hotel at Atlanta through Thomas Cook with this company and on arrival at the hotel was informed that no payment had been received so I had to pay again All attempts to be reimbursed have been treated with contempt by them even closing my first complaint as "resolved" so that they get another 28 days to do nothing under the travel agents code of conduct They even had the audacity to ask for copies of my bank statement so they could check I hadn't received the money and wasn't trying it on I repeat DO NOT USE this company

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst travel customer service EVER”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Donte358 on 27/04/2017

We were making a trip from Glasgow to Calgary. Having booked our flights from Manchester to Calgary, as we could not get a direct flight from Glasgow. We had the same return flight. They changed the return flight to go from Vancouver to Manchester, with a flight from Calgary to Vancouver added in. They had a flight available from Vancouver to Glasgow, we asked if they could transfer us to that flight. Being their fault and their change one would think they try and accomodate us and change the flight direct to Glasgow ? NO they want another £400 to change the flights that THEY changed. . Absolutely ridiculous. I am now exploring to see if there si any way working with Air Transat that I can get a result. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anonymous94's Comment

Written on: 08/06/2017

Schedule changes are forced directly by the airlines, this has nothing to do with the tour operator you have booked through.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Stear clear at all costs”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 08/04/2017

Booked my honeymoon to Dubai through Thomas Cook who then arranged it all via Gold Medal. Shortly after we booked we were sent a letter from GM stating that there was construction work going on in the nearby surroundings but not on our hotel property. Talk about stating the obviously - there is always construction work going on in Dubai. I did some of my own research and to my horror, i found that the work is being carried out on the property and is having a huge impact on those staying there - a quick browse of Tripadvisor confirmed that. We felt like it might have too much of an impact on our holiday so asked Thomas Cook to elaborate on the letter - they contacted GM and they had no idea. I then spoke to Thomas Cook again and they told me to contact GM - who flat out refused to speak to me. In the end, we had no choice so we cancelled. We had paid for our flights and during the cancellation process, GM didn't want to give us any money back. My wife was in tears in the travel agent and eventually, they refunded us - minus £198.00 fee. If you book a holiday and the agent is GM I urge you not to sign. If you do sign, expect to be mislead and customer service of the very worst kind.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Stranded with a baby”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Rickijordan on 14/01/2016

I arrived in Dubai with my wife and baby to fid that our car was to be collected from a different terminal which required us to get on a shuttle bus with all of our luggage, pram and baby. Something I would have not expected to do. When we finally found the rental company "Dollar" - direction only stated it's name and the terminal (no location details)we were then told we could not take a car as we did not have a credit card. I explained that we had debit cards and cash and we were happy to pay whatever deposit they required. I also offered to get another persons card details (my mothers) if needed. They refused us a car and told us to contact Gold Medal for a full refund. Gold medal basically said they could refund us the money as e should have read the terms. We had no car, no car seat and no transport for 11 days. They have since offered to give us back £90 out of £160 which they see as a fair admin charge. They argued we should have read the terms which are note in a link on the voucher (which you can't click on when you print it out as I did)"Computer says no" is the basic response without a hint of empathy. I wouldn't use them again.... terrible service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fedupinbham's Response to Rickijordan's Review

Written on: 03/09/2016

I'm currently sueing gold medal and your holidays for disability harassment of my sister no holiday when we reached the airport and avoid gold medal holidays plz waste of money cairo hotel grand pyramids fiasco

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Room not available despite paying £4000”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 14/07/2015

Booked our honeymoon via Co-operative travel this Saturday. The advisor that dealt with us spoke to a represenatative from Gold Medal who stated the room we would be staying in, the duration of our flights and baggage allowances. We were thinking of going to Mauritus for 2 weeks on our HONEYMOON!!. We paid the company the money for our honeymoon and requested if we could have a sea view facing room, if not didn't matter, the advisor said she would request this and relayed to the Gold Medal advisor. A few days later I rang to enquire about whether our request had been granted. To our amazement....we didn't even have a room to stay at the resort we booked let alone a sea view facing room!! If we wanted to stay there we had to pay an extra £314 as the Gold Medal advisor "assumed" we were making an enquiry and didn't have the initial Deluxe Room!!! We have parted with £4000, needless to say we will be going in on Thursday for a solution to our problem. Either staying at the resort we chose and set our heart on or our money back!! Very disappointed!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Transfer experience ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Sutton491 on 23/02/2015

We booked our trip with a local travel agent they were fantastic . When we arrived in New York we had our transport vouchers ready , it took over an hour to be picked up from the airport ( after a 7 hour flight ) the driver was extremely rude he drove like a complete lunatic . He asked us to pay for the transfer we explained and showed the driver our voucher which we needed to keep for the transfer back to the airport , we explained this to him , he then asked my mother to leave the bus , because she didn't want to hand this over . Absolutely horrendous experience . I would recommend paying extra and using a taxi for your transfer .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid at all cost”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Annie08s on 18/07/2014

Booked a holiday with gold medal travel through a travel agent. At time of booking received a breakdown of cost as friend did not require flight. Upon returning from worst holiday experience we have ever had, we recieved a refund for only a fraction what we had been quoted and paid. We raised this to their customer services but was not given a reason. The reason for the refund was due to building work at a hotel which we had to move from. We had been told prior to departure that a pool was closed but this was far from the truth to the actually construction work! We were told it want a problem to move hotel and a 100% refund would be waiting upon return to uk by the rep but she was soon no where to be found and I had to do this myself whilst on holiday and pay for the other hotel ! Still waiting on explanation and full refund not to mention the additions costs I endured with calls back to UK. What was meant to be a dream holiday turned out to be the holiday from hell thanks to their lack of customer services!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“EMBARRASSING”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 20/09/2013

Booked holiday with ,gold medal through our local travel agency,5 days in vegas,this was fantastic no problem, the trouble started when we left for7 days to los angeles newport beach,the faremont hotel,firstly the shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel,we were told we needed to pay for our shuttle to the hotel from the airport we had paid cash for the whole holiday , we said we were not going to pay again for this and had to wait while it was eventuly sorted out, then, when we got to the hotel they had no booking for our room there.This hotel tried to charge us again by trying to take payment off our credit card, which which was asked for on our arrival to account for any purchases made in the hotel at the end of our stay, they tried to take payment for our room by the day,4 or 5 payments they tried to take but fortunatly, the card was block, this payment was suppoesed to have been all, paided by Gold medal travel company, but they had'nt even comfirmed the booking with the hotel.We eventuly did get this sorted, but by then were very embarressed by it all, and to be honest, insulted by this situation. And to top it all the taxi on our departure back to the airport which was also booked did not show up, at all costs don't book with this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by paddington33 on 20th January 2016 Report this content
Has anyone been on a train tour across Canada called Continental Delights with Gold Medal Travel? We are thinking on going on this trip of a lifetime, but want to make sure people have had good experiences on this holiday in the past.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Lindasutton on 14th February 2014 Report this content
Do they have hotels to stay in Pattaya, namely the dusit thani and woodlands?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview