Smile Internet Banking www.smile.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
Smile Internet Banking www.smile.co.uk
★★☆☆☆
2.3
29.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Smile Internet Banking www.smile.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Smile Internet Banking www.smile.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Mystifying ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Gaeller on 24/04/2023

I have had a DD for repayment of a loan. In the last few months the loan company have reported that Smile have refused to pay the agreed amount "because I have cancelled the DD". This is not true and my reputation is being affected. Also my Debit Card is often refused. I have never been overdrawn and never failed to pay any amount in my lifetime - I am 82. I have banked with Co-op since age 16 when I worked for the Co-op Insurance Society. Smile was the first online bank and was a real asset. They make the claim that I have cancelled the DD yet on my account it is shown as having been paid and on what date. I really fail to understand what is going on. If they say I have cancelled the DD why can't they show me evidence. They blame it on the loan company so I am being patted back and forth between the two like a ping pong ball.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Exceptionally poor service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JMKeynes on 05/04/2022

After being with Smile Bank since its inception I have now had to give up. Trying to contact the bank via secure email or telephone gets no action after very long delays.Money transfers that used to take place within a couple of hours are now taking days, even when money is being transfered to reputable banks in my own name. Is this bank holding on to my money because its about to bust?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“The demise of Smile”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bootneck1963 on 03/11/2021

I have banked with Smile since its inception in 1999 but will be switching accounts next week due to its absolutely dreadful service. Smile can no longer do international transfers online, if you use the phone option I guarantee you will not speak to anyone for at least 45 minutes, it took me over an hour last week. Their website is riddled with out of date information and dead links, the mobile app is only suitable to check your balance and a non-international bank transfers. They have not moved with times, their digital offering looks like it did 10 years ago, they look like a bank on the way out.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Used to be good but now dreadful customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Notsmilingnow on 16/06/2017

Smile used to be an excellent bank and I've been a customer for 14 years but not only have their services deteriorated but they act as if they are no longer bothered if I'm a customer or not. Incredibly, and to both my amazement and the astonishment of others I have told, smile recently decided to cease telephone banking. This means that if you have a problem it is impossible to speak to anyone. The only way to contact is via secure messaging which takes up to 24 hours - can you imagine having a conversation where the reply doesn't come back for hours and hours? When I complained I received a letter that did not in any way address the issue stated in the complaint and then the complaint file was promptly closed. And the online link is the only avenue for complaint. When I said I'm going to leave I received a thanks for my business but no attempt to keep my business. Smile is the last thing you do with this bank.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“A very competent bank”

★★★★★

written by on 04/05/2017

We chose this bank for internet use although we both had high street bank accounts. we liked the ethics and the customer service from the word go. Over 14 years we are still pleased with the bank. Customer care efficient and helpful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 2

“Service is OK - Website is AWFUL”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Salazar390 on 19/02/2017

I have been a customer of Smile for many years now. It used to be the easiest thing to just pop online to check my current account's balance. Since the new website has been implemented it is just awful. The layout is dreadful, very confusing, too much information is required, having to use the card reader is a ball ache. I wish they could revert back to the old site. I absolutely hate it. Such a shame as I have never had any problems with the bank itself.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Smile Bank BAD ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 20/10/2016

20-10-16 1130 Smile Bank BAD Is anyone else still have their computer intact after trying to deal with Smile's "new" Website. I have felt like throwing it out the window, though I know it is the fault of Smile, not the computer. They must have had all the flunked out Geeks to do up the old one. It is impossible. I continue to read the refrain, similar to mine: "I have been with them for years..." It is supposed to be easy to switch banks, Current Accounts... but when Smile can screw things up this badly, you don't want to try anything even simple, as it will mess you up tremendously. NEVER AGAIN WITH SMILE BANK SIGNED: ML

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“How to screw up a good bank...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LincsPoacher on 13/10/2016

The old website was crude, poorly designed and not kept upto date but the new one is practically impossible to use. I have tried two PC's and both Internet Explorer and Firefox but it simply does not work due to pages hanging when logging in. How on earth did this get through beta user testing? The Co-op group has been troubled with poor senior management but the muppets who let this website have unwittingly done their best to put what was a decent bank out of business. What is most annoying is that there are clearly problems, given other reviews on the internet, but Smile has done nothing to admit the problem and contact users by email to explain what they are doing about it apart from vague references to a major downtime for planned maintenance - if that does not work I will have no option but to take my business elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible experience with Smile's new online banking”

★☆☆☆☆

written by simonturner on 01/10/2016

I've been waiting a couple of years for Smile to upgrade their very out of date online banking offering. And now they have I wished they hadn't. It's very slow, it takes ages to be able to select your pin number from the dropdowns and half the time when you log in it just takes you straight back to the first page with no explanation whatsoever where you have to enter your details all over again. (I've now given up and am writing this review instead) And once you do get in the new interface is so confusing my wife couldn't even work out how to transfer money. Added to that there is nothing like the functionality that other banks offer. I am with Smile because it's an ethical cooperative.... or was. Now it's owned by venture capitalists whose sole aim is profit there's no reason to stay, so I'm off. Bye bye Smile. Shame though as the staff in their northern call centre were always very good. It's just that I wish I didn't have to call them so often.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“OK until something goes wrong!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 34Christian on 10/09/2016

Their web site seems OK - I have been a customer for many years and things are generally OK until something goes wrong --> premium phone number to call them - I was paying 25p per minute --> waiting on the phone for 30 mins before anyone answers --> incompetent staff who stopped my card for no reason at all --> fraud team who will stop your card but not even bother to let you know. Nobody rings you back or gives up as soon as the line is engaged - they don't seem to care at all .... The only plus is they do have a high street presence so I could have gone to a co-op branch to sort things out (possibly) I'm moving to another bank!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Telephone service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 05/06/2016

Smile bank works very well UNTIL you need to speak to someone, then it is terrible. The level of service has declined progressively , I have recently had numerous " possible fraud alerts .. but it impossible to get thro to speak to someone even when they initiate the call. I plan to change banks.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Extremely poor customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DMGR on 18/02/2016

I applied for a new account which all went well until I got to the finalisation page - their website crashed before I could take a note of the application number. I contacted them to ask for confirmation of this as the number is required for checking the application progress online. They came back and advised I had to call them for security reasons. I did this, it took ages but eventually they gave me the required number. When I tried to use it, it didn't work! I therefore emailed them back to confirm, again they said I had to phone them. I've found them very slow to respond and unhelpful - considering this was the treatment for a brand new customer I advised them I would just look to close down the application. They haven't even had the courtesy to respond or let me know what has happened with my application. Extremely poor all round.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Recommended by Aunt and turned down”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 07/12/2015

I was looking for a new current bank account and my Aunt suggested Smile. I applied and asked to open a savings account and a current account. I was turned down for both! I checked my credit report. I have two credit cards with other providers and both are up to date and have never been missed. I have one hardly used store card and I work full time. I was really angry and sent a letter expressing my feelings. No reply was received. This was back in Sept 15 The same week that Smile rejected me, I went to another bank and opened a current account with an overdraft facility and they also put me in touch with their small business advisor, as I am qualifying as an image consultant in 2016 and will need a business account. All I can say is "It's YOUR loss Smile.I now actually think that you did me a favour, even though you rejected me for no good reason at all !" Never again would I apply for anything from this bank. It looks as if they really do not want new customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Declined for a savings account ?”

★☆☆☆☆

written by McManus1947 on 06/11/2015

Smile recently took four days after I had applied to them for a savings account only to decline me for the account. Never in my 56 years have I ever been declined by an financial institution for a savings account. No proper explanation from then as to why either very strange bank indeed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Service levels are getting worse and worse”

★☆☆☆☆

written by pmethven on 06/02/2015

Smile Bank used to be a really good, helpful bank with a UK phone number where you could speak to someone easily that offered reasonable interest rates and staff who seemed to really care and want to help etc. Unfortunately in recent months the following has happened: 1. An auto attendant has been added to the main phone number which has no option to speak to someone and a range of options which makes it difficult to get to what you want to do. 2. ISA interest rates are no longer competitive in anyway with other banks. 3. Current account interest rates are no longer competitive with other banks. 4. Service levels have fallen badly away, secure messages used to be responded to within a few hours, now they are taking a few days. All in all I'm quite dissapointed with Smile and as a 18 year customer of this bank will now be moving away from them with some sadness.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Wouldn't unblock my card that had been swallowed by...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/01/2015

Really awful. I had money in my bank account and had bought Duty Free on my card. Then went to draw out some Euros as going on holiday. The ATM said it was not authorised and that I should contact the card issuer. I told the ATM staff who said I should contact the bank. They said they blocked all cards as it someone had rung them to say that the card had been found. I said it was swallowed by the machine. The bank said they could not unblock. I told him but I am on a Plane and it is about to take off and I am going on holiday. I said I had the new one as that was the bent card. He said sorry all cards are blocked and nothing we can do. Absolutely disgusted with there service. No help at all. Lucky I had a credit card. Not with them as even though they charge me for a More account they say they can't give me one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent”

★★★★★

written by Buchanan9 on 03/09/2014

I have been with Smile for over 10 years and have never had a problem with them , queries have been addressed straight away in a very efficient and friendly manner .Great bank.Easy to post a cheque for paying in . On line statement whenever you want it, and can send secure messages , to which I have always got an answer straight away .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Out of date”

★★★☆☆

written by Bures on 01/09/2014

I have been with Smile now for circa 15 years and they dont seem to update their literature I mean the web site is truly boring and not very appealing The Paying in books have an awful smiling cat on the front cover, really horrendous. I have complained about these books on many occasions, but it falls on deaf ears. I dont think the Post Office paying-in envelopes have changed in 15 years ? The banking app is also not the easiest to use. On the plus side, in all the time I have been with them, no problems with banking.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Out of date”

★★★☆☆

written by Bures on 01/09/2014

I have been with Smile now for circa 15 years and they dont seem to update their literature I mean the web site is truly boring and not very appealing The Paying in books have an awful smiling cat on the front cover, really horrendous. I have complained about these books on many occasions, but it falls on deaf ears. I dont think the Post Office paying-in envelopes have changed in 15 years ? The banking app is also not the easiest to use. On the plus side, in all the time I have been with them, no problems with banking.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“RIPPED OFF DON'T USE THEM”

★☆☆☆☆

written by donnamgraham63 on 24/05/2014

They took £54 out of my account fee when I emailed them 3 times saying I don't want ot need ther service as I only wanted a quick payday loan 150 for my car, I have 'tried' phoning them but ALWAYS 14th in the que never spoke to someone and then they closed at weekends! I and others out there need to stop them as they are 'stealing' money from people who are in a tight spot and don't realise what these people are doing, contact your bank and make sure you stop the CPA (continues payments) otherwise they may just keep taking! Government ahould not allow these rip off conpanies to do this

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview