Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows part 1 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
5 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows part 1 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows part 1

Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows part 1
Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows part 1
Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows part 1
Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows part 1

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“its good ”

written by Aniyay376 on 08/03/2018

its good

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows”

written by saintgileshighgate on 06/02/2013

This is the last and the better film of Harry Potter, it's highgly anticipated by all the followers like me, the first part, it can be a bit confusing because many things happen and there is no explanation, but no matter, you will understand all of the second part. It trigged my emotion when howarts was being destroyed, i think that was completed destroyed, this film is diferent from the rest, the movie has been filmed round the world, where the three friends, (Harry, Ron and Hermione) where looking for hallows to kill voldemort. The whole film is so gripping, most coments were positive, it's a real pity if you don't watch it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“harry potter and the deathly hallows part 2 DVD”

written by hermione on 18/02/2012

It is the best one of the harry potter movies and you can trust me because im the biggest harry potter fan in the world.So here goes if you have seen the deathly hallows part 1 then its all clear.If your just starting out on harry potter then buy the box set.You can get it in HMV.My favourite part was the bit when Voldemort dies and my second favourite is when they have Children!!!!!!!!!!!! your sincerly, hermione's biggest fan

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have seen all the Harry Potter films, everytime they...”

written by saintgiles on 26/07/2011

I have seen all the Harry Potter films, everytime they had big challenges. This film is so fantastic,the music and action is impressive for me. It keeps me on the edge of my seat. I can't wait to see Part2.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is the movie and book of its type! Joanne...”

written by Movie and Book Worm on 03/12/2010

This is the movie and book of its type! Joanne Kathleen Rowling had everyone captured in her magic and awesome writing skills. The plot is brilliant and the movie matched the high standards that Rowling had set for the directors, producors, actors and all involved.
Rowling wastes no time at the beginning with boring prolouges but dives in. The deaths of Hedwig and Dobby made me cry. The love between Harry and Ginny when he arrives at the Weasly's house makes me really feel the personal mood. I can feel the love between them, in such a sense.
The seven harry potter's (result of polyjuice potion) made me laugh. Especially when I thought that Daniel Radcliffe had to cross dress as Fleur. Oh, and 'holey' Fred with the loss of his ear (or was it George? I can't tell them apart).
The way the horcrux makes them act tense and, almost, aggressive towards each other made me feel gobsmacked. Rowling certainly has a bag of tricks, and my-oh-my what a bag, up her sleeve! The way Voldemort manages to break into Dumbledores tomb at the end (of part 1) and steal the Elder Wand made me feel violated for Dumbledore.
I cannot wait for Part 2 (15th July 2011)!! This is a MUST; if you haven't seen it, go now!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“There are those who would suggest that splitting the...”

written by SpeedDemon on 21/11/2010

There are those who would suggest that splitting the final instalment of JK Rowling's Harry Potter series into 2 films is a shameless attempt by Warner Brothers to extend the life of the franchise and wring more money out of it. They might even have a valid point, if it wasn't for the fact that "Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows - Part 1" is by far and away the best adaptation of a JR Rowling book to have made it onto celluloid so far.

Don't get me wrong, I'm in no way saying that the films that have gone before were bad, because they weren't, but what they were was light on what made the books so great - the fact that they were character driven. So far the films have been entertaining, action packed and all of the major character and plot elements from the books have been there. However, because of the amount of detail that has, of necessity, been cut in order to bring the running time of the films down to a shade over 2 hours they have been action driven and have linked the major plot elements of the books like a dot-to-dot picture. Yeah, at the end of the day what you get is a picture that is recognisable but, as with all dot-to-dot pictures, it lacks the subtlety and definition of the original work that it's trying to reproduce.

Finally, we have a Harry Potter film that is what the readers of the books have been waiting for 6 instalments for - namely a film that doesn't just tell the story, it tells it in much the same way that JK Rowling did. Maybe it's because the lady herself was given full co-producer status for this film (rather than being a consultant) or maybe it's that the film makers are, finally, being given the time to tell the story without having to brutally wield the pruning shears - but whatever the reason Director David Yates and Screenplay Writer Steve Kloves (both of whom are long term stalwarts of the movie franchise) have pulled off a little magic of their own by delivering a film that is every bit as good as the book (not to mention fully lives up to all the hype that's been surrounding the film since the launch was pushed back from it's originally stated summer 2010 slot).

The fact that the film makers are being given more time to tell the story could have resulted in a film that lacks pace and is slow and cumbersome but, fear not, this still clips along at a fair rate. There's no time wasting with back stories so, it must be said, if you haven't seen the earlier instalments of the Harry Potter saga (or read the books) you will really struggle to keep up with what's going on. If, on the other hand, you've read the books or watched the films and are familiar with the characters and back story then sit back and prepare yourself for a marked change in pace and style from what you've seen before. No significant time spent with Harry at the Dursley's to set the story up - no, this time we're straight into a press interview/statement with Minister for Magic Rufus Scrmigeour (ably portrayed by Bill Nighy) "These are dark times..." and then we see Harry watching the Dursley's packing up and leaving Privet Drive ("because it's no longer safe") & Hermione wiping herself from her parent's memories ready for the both of them to meet up with Ron and begin the quest left to them by Dumbledore - to find and destroy Voldemort's horcruxes.

Ralph Fiennes returns to, once again, bring Lord Voldemort spine-chillingly to life and is now out in the open, at the head of his ever increasing minions, seeking to dispose of the one thing that stands between himself and his ultimate victory (Harry Potter). The old familiars are there by his side, Timothy Spall as the snivelling and sycophantic Peter 'Wormtail' Petigrew, Alan Rickman as wholly untrustworthy double agent Severus Snape, Helena Bonham Carter as psychotic witch Bellatrix Lestrange (looking much healthier for a little time out of Azkaban prison) while her brother-in-law Lucius Malfoy (played by Jason Isaacs) looks worn, haggard, jumpy and positively terrified of The Dark Lord.

From the point of view of telling the story this is all good to see, but it's on the side of right that this film spends most of its time and this also doesn't disappoint. The Weasley family are all there, even if only briefly as the whole Fleur-Bill wedding passes pretty much in a blur (just enough time to introduce Luna Lovegood's father Xenophilus (wonderfully played by Rhys Ifans) and introduce a couple of plot threads (such as Godric's Hollow)) before the wedding is attacked by Death Eaters and the central 3 flee to begin their quest. Some of the Hogwarts alumni get a brief, almost cameo, appearance as the Hogwarts Express is stopped by Death Eaters searching for Harry & co but this is really a film about Harry, Hermione and Ron, and in so doing it's very different in feel from what's come before. Darker, yes, but also with a marked change in cinematic style with hand held cameras used fairly extensively to get us away from the whole big set static camera feel of Hogwarts and all that's come before.

All these changes leaves the film free to concentrate on what the Harry Potter books have really been about all along - the story, as told by the characters. Here for the first time in the movie franchise we really see genuine character development and growth. It could be reasonably argued that this may not have been possible before as the experience and ability of the actors concerned wouldn't have allowed it, but now things are most certainly different. Back in 'Half Blood Prince' there were signs of just how far Daniel Radcliffe (Harry Potter) and Rupert Grint (Ron Weasley) had come as actors and there were times when they came perilously close to acting Emma Watson (Hermione Granger) off the screen. I'm pleased to report that all three have blossomed even further since then with Emma turning in the real tour de force performance of the three in this particular film (in fact it's what she does when she's not taking part in the dialogue that marks how much she's grown as an actor and is most impressive - if she's ever able to shed the label of being 'the girl who played Hermione Granger' then I believe that she could well become a very well respected and highly sought after character film actress [the next Keira Knightley perhaps]).

So, without wishing to give the plot away (for those who haven't read the book already, this is a film that could have been dire. It could have degenerated to little more than a road movie. Instead however, it shines and allows the central characters to tell their own story rather than them being almost unwittingly caught up in the events that unfold around them as in some of the previous films. It features strong performances from just about every person that appears on screen (we've come to expect that from the old hands but, as previously mentioned, Rhys Ifans and Andy Linden (as Mundungus Fletcher) turn in spectacular performances, even if in only fairly minor roles). There's suspense, humour, a couple of times when you'll jump out of your seat with fright and the pain and sadness at the death of a much loved character is sensitively handled and well judged and, it goes without saying, the special effects are both spectacular and entirely believable. It's been a 12A certificate and quite deservedly so - it touches on themes that could well be upsetting or disturbing to the very young, but in a story of the fight of one youngster marked since birth to be the focal point for those willing to stands against the rising forces of darkness you have to expect some dark and disturbing themes. That said, this is still very much a family film - providing your family doesn't include very young ones.

Possibly the greatest compliment that I can give is that, despite being only half of the conclusion to JK Rowling's masterpiece, this film succeeds in managing to stand alone as a film and a story in its own right - and does so without resorting to the clich d "To be continued..." message at the end of film or, worse still, teaser clips of the next instalment. What it does is tell a story, and a complete story at that, but one that leaves you feeling "It can't just end like that" and hungry for more (safe in the knowledge that, as this is Part 1, there's got to be at least one more instalment).

The only real criticism that I can level at this film is that this is as good a film as it is largely because of taking more time (in this case even 2 films) to tell one of JK Rowling's stories - so you can't help but wonder why, oh why, they didn't do it sooner? Go out and see it now, then go and see it again and when it comes out on DVD be prepared not to go out in public for a long time - you'll have better things to do with your time (like watching this film again and again).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Annbel0610's Response to SpeedDemon's Review

Written on: 27/11/2010

I'm doing my homework and that reviews is massive to right down and i just want 2-3 sentences.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview