Opus Energy Electric Reviews

★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
6% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Opus Energy Electric - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Opus Energy Electric

Opus Energy Electric
Opus Energy Electric

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Deposit ”

Written on: 27/10/2022 by KhalafIsmail (1 review written)

stay away from Oups energy even if you remain without power. Rude customer service high price I spoke to them today to take my deposit back they want to keep my money by telling me some carp. they are the worse ever on the planet. don't pay any deposit as you will never get it back. guy stay away from them they tell you everything good at first when you are with them it is like hell. she didn't want to transfer me to her manager. I am taking them to court. don't pay a deposit because they will find a way to keep it for themselves my deposit is a big example. they rang me today to tell me more untruthful things and call us in 2 weeks then someone said I will be out of my office for a few days. take my experience and you don't have to through all the stress am going through.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Just had a change of name on the bill, nothing else...”

Written on: 23/08/2022 by Curtis154 (1 review written)

Just had a change of name on the bill, nothing else has changed yet Opus cancelled the good deal that was still in place for a few months and put us on a DEEMED rate, £3.00 per day standing charge and 80p per KWH. They have a premium rate number to ring them and if you try by email they take ages to get back to you and each time you have to give them all the info all over again. Not at any stage did they tell me about the rip off changes until we received a back dated bill for over £650.00. Just had a very bad conversation with a special Opus advisor, very unhelpful and told me that we have to pay the bill and the rip charges still stand.... Beware of this company, their customer service is awful!!! They are now stopping me from changing suppliers even though they have been asked by the Ombudsman, twice they have stopped it until I pay their extortionist deemed rates, beware this company!!! These companies do not realise that when this crisis is all over we will remember how we have been treated by them

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Another 1 star review for a rotten energy supplier”

Written on: 16/03/2022 by Opusarebad (1 review written)

Took over commercial property supplied by them. Rang for a quote, gave my details. As I was on their deemed rate £4 a day and 80p kwh I was keen to sort ASAP. They then decided I couldn't have rates they quoted me and offered me a different package that was 50% more. Declined and signed up with octopus, who I would give 5 stars to. Opus blocked my transfer even though I wasn't and never had been in contract with them. Have eventually left and have a bill of £77 for 25kwh of usage. I would not recommend and I pity anyone else who has the misfortune to be supplied by them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“REJECT”

Written on: 14/02/2022 by VaporTrail666 (1 review written)

Without authorisation (nor communicating with the supply authorised customer) split my residential economy 7 meters into 1x residential + 1x business: this blocks switching back to any residential supplier on 1/3 tariff. Opus due to pay legal fine but bullied Ombudsman with faked data claiming account still residential (Opus only supply business). Daily harassment refuse to go to court. AVOID! I invite/dare Opus Energy to go to court where they will pay huge fines and personal damages.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Wish i could give minus 5 stars”

Written on: 08/02/2022 by 128McKnight (1 review written)

The absolute worst energy company If you want sleepless nights, loads of headaches, loads of stress, be talked to like a idiot and totally ignored, then join their gravy train and become a customer.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst company I have ever dealt with”

Written on: 29/06/2020 by dangrant (1 review written)

The worst company I have ever dealt with. They overcharged me for 2 years and refused to resolve the matter. When they finally replaced the meter my usage went from 18kWh/day to 2kWh. Disgraceful. AVOID

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish company”

Written on: 19/05/2020 by fmMartinez304 (1 review written)

I never see like this bad company ever in my life don’t trust this company at all

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“One of Opus' agents called my company and managed to...”

Written on: 12/02/2020 by THEPUMA (1 review written)

One of Opus' agents called my company and managed to trick a subcontractor into agreeing to a contract (they say, my subcontractor refutes this so i am waiting for a recording of the call). Even though that subcontractor has no authority to enter a contract on the company's behalf (which they were fully aware of and mentioned several times on the telephone (whether they send me the full call recording including this section remains to be seen) and they are now claiming to have tied us into a multi-year exorbitantly priced gas contract which we apparently cannot get out of. I am appealing our case to the Energy Ombudsman.

Kamleshpatel's Response to THEPUMA's Review

Written on: 25/02/2020

Join us on facebook Shut down OPUS ENERGY

Reply to this comment

Thepuma's reply to Kamleshpatel's Comment

Written on: 25/02/2020

Actually, to be fair to them, they have now been pretty reasonable about this and released us from the contract. They also sent us a recording of the call which was more consistent with their version of events than our staff's, so all in all, I think in retrospect my original comments have turned out to be unfair.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor, totally unacceptable service”

Written on: 05/07/2019 by steveredshaw (2 reviews written)

Just had a debt collection letter for a bill I have not received. The invoice was on my portal, that is true, however as I have not been a customer since May, I have not logged on since making regular checks until the end of May. I have not received a final bill, despite my new company passing on my final readings to Opus. The portal email notification has not worked for over a year (yes I have reported this to Opus) so I cannot be aware of a new invoice unless I actually do log on. I have received no telephone call, email or letter to remind us to pay an overdue bill. Just a debt collection letter today. The invoice which I was able to download from my Opus customer portal is estimated up to 11/05 - our supply was switched on 14/05. I find this level of service unacceptable. We have had continuing problems with Opus and successfully took a complaint to the Ombudsman. In our experience different departments are not aware of what others have done, stated or said. We have experienced some rude, dogmatic members of Opus staff, have been wrongly referred to a debt collection agency previously and have experienced significant stress and frustration is trying to deal with Opus Energy. In my opinion they should not be allowed to operate in this inefficient, unsympathetic way.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worse company ever... Too many issues to write...”

Written on: 24/04/2019 by Johnson371 (1 review written)

Worse company ever... Too many issues to write everything!... They will try every trick in the book to take your money!You have been warned... Take a look at their facebook page and the comments on there... Disgraceful company

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely appalling. Customer service is non existent ”

Written on: 28/03/2019 by Roth203 (1 review written)

Customer service with this company is a joke. They harp on about data protection until it becomes ridiculous, yet use my name (incorrectly spelt) because they insisted the last person in the property give a name for a new tenant and set an account up without speaking to me and start billing me. Yet when I try and sort this out they can’t speak to me because of data protection. They don’t have an email addresss for the ‘account’ probably because they’ve never spoken to me’ The staff are all rude, arrogant and intimidating to the point of threatening. I believe it is the consumer’s right to choose their electricity supplier. Opus insist you must set up an account with them. Disgusting behaviour and I would urge everyone to give a very wide berth!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute joke! I am a small business, switched to opus...”

Written on: 26/01/2019 by SOTAN (1 review written)

Absolute joke! I am a small business, switched to opus due to the rates being "the best i could get". first bill £138, second bill £440, third bill £3500 (yes for one month) fourth month £1800. Absolute shambles, customer service is absolutely atrocious, patronsing and told i dont know how to run a business! within a week of issuing my 3. 5k monthly bill (unheard of) after complaining and asking for someone to come out and check my meter i was fobbed off and told i need to pay independantly for someone to check.. A week after recieving my bill and after 2-3 calls a day from them they sent me a letter saying they were cutting off my supply and even told me it would be in working hours too just to try to intimidate me a little more! it has now been passed to a debt collection agency within 1 month of me recieving the bill so i will now incure more costs from them! I would never ever reccomend this company! Stay away, oh and by the way the minimum payments they will accept is £631 a week! Absolutley impossible which i made clear i could not afford to do but was told if i dont set it up they will cut my supply anyway. you are the lowest of the low opus energy and your minions need a lesson in customer service. i will be calling ofgem first thing monday morning.

Lindyjeho's Response to SOTAN's Review

Written on: 07/02/2019

If it makes you feel better , you are not the only one . They are bunch of rude idiots on the other line . I have never ever come across such arrogant customer service ever ! I am taking them to energy ombudsman. I don’t care they cut my energy . They tried to humiliate me saying I must have money because I’m a LTD company owner . Asked for my personal bank statements! I’m a new business too! Bunch of arrogant people!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“pirates”

Written on: 01/11/2018 by Melodyw471 (1 review written)

After 60 years in business and having dealt with many energy companies, these are the very worst I have encountered. They will not accept that I have closed the account and paid their finalinvoices. I have asked for an email receipt confirming payment, which Has passed thro my bank account' but no reply. I have an email from their 'CUSTOMER CARE' confirming that the dispute I have had for 2 years, has come to closure. They now say they have discovered another account that is due. Quite unbelievable. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS UNETHICAL and UNSCRUPULESS COMPANY

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“SHAMBLES”

Written on: 17/05/2018 by kiHay423 (1 review written)

WHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESS-WHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESS WHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESSWHAT A MESS- WHAT A MESS- I HATE THSI COMPANY

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs!!! ”

Written on: 26/02/2018 by nhipham (1 review written)

Avoid at all costs! To be honest, they’re even LUCKY to have a one star only because I can’t leave anything else. Please please please avoid this company! We have signed a 3 year contract with Opus but for some reason they are constantly harassing us about renewing our contact when it has only been a year. They have been unhelpful, rude and misleading. They have lied about our energy saying we have another business in a different address where we need energy supply... sorry but since when did I have another business that I didn’t know about? This has been going on for months! It was the biggest mistake for my business to have opus energy as my supplier. They literally call you 3 times a day harassing you. They’re a c0n. They shout down the phone at you and even try to play games when you ask for their name to report them; stating your name as theirs. I am going to leave as soooooon as I possibly can because I can not stand their lack of customer service and everything else that they do. Opus energy, if you’d like to contact me then I have no doubt you’ll be calling me AGAIN because you always call disrupting our business line. Also I cannot believe how RUDE your staff are! Stating they’re going to renew my contact without MY consent. I really hope your company shut down ASAP because you’re just cons. AVOID!!!!

Jimmy7007787's Response to nhipham's Review

Written on: 22/05/2018

can u leave your contact details that i can sort out problem.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“HOUNDED by this Useless Company !”

Written on: 09/02/2018

I closed my business two and a half years ago . I rang this company on the day I left with the meter numbers and told them who was taking over the rented premises . Well now I'm being hounded by them for a final bill I've already paid by direct debit two and a half years ago !. Phoning them is a complete waste of time and MONEY. I've been told by five different people we'll sort it . After receiving three bills for different amounts . No one at this company knows what they are doing . They are a complete , incompetent joke ! Stay away from them

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do NOT use Opus Energy”

Written on: 08/12/2017 by Jayleen140 (1 review written)

Do not use Opus Energy. Their staff are really rude, helpless and hopeless. I wonder if the company has serious problems. - When your line is connected to Customer Service for Moving Out you only hear their bantering, but they do not answer your phone! I have requested the refund nearly 2 months ago and have spoken nearly 10 people, but they keep saying, 'Waiting for authorisation'. How many people do they need ? They take your money in a second, but not refund you at all. DO NOT USE Opus Energy.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Makes Mr Burns Look good”

Written on: 16/11/2017 by mitchrichardson134 (2 reviews written)

A shambles of a company, Three phone call to three different departments and still problem not sorted Told a pack of stories every time by disinterested lazy unhelpful staff who just pass the blame to the last department or call handler. So called complaints department basically tell you to take it to the ombudsman as they have to interest in helping you or indeed basic customer service skills. This company has all the ingredients to make a channel 4 sitcom Mismanagement Lazy Incompetent Staff Poor Service Lack of Humour . I wouldn't use them again if they where the last energy company left on the planet.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY AWAY FROM OPUS ENERGY!!”

Written on: 15/11/2017 by chrisshield (1 review written)

Unfortunately I have had the same experience as many of the other people on here trying to deal with this company. I set up a limited company and had a phone call from a comparison energy company implying I had to set up new utility accounts for it and that they would find me the best price, unfortunately I fell for it. Well that was just the start of the lies. The prices they have given me are ridiculously high which I found out after comparing to any other energy provider so when I called to cancel they said I was locked in to a 4 year contract, so much for a cooling off period! They have also taken over a gas supply which has nothing to do with me, so not only am i paying crazy high prices I am also paying for somebody else's gas! After all the problems I have had they sent me an email to say they were giving me £65 as compensation and that they were glad we could come to a mutual agreement. Well just for your information OPUS Energy the agreement is not mutual, I do not want the £65 and I am currently in talks with the energy ombudsman and trading standards.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Liars, Liars, Liars”

Written on: 15/11/2017 by KirstyStewartBrown (1 review written)

Anybody who recommends OPUS ENERGY please double check the information. We had just moved into new premises and required an electricity contact. I was contacted by an operative called Scot who said he worked for Scottish Power Distribution (1st Lie). He was completely independent (2nd lie) and would supply me with the best price for my area (3rd Lie). The best price given was Opus Energy and no other supplier came close with price, our current supplier SSE were coming in far more expensive (4th Lie). Scot told us we required to be in a contract immediately or we would be put onto a standby tariff by our current supplier SSE (more lies). I wanted to check out a couple of his points so I asked him for his phone number so I could call him back, he told me it would take too long and cost too much for me to call, he would call me. Having read the above reviews I became suspicious and decided to check out the prices myself. With one phone call to the energy help line I managed to get a far cheaper price from our current supplier SSE. He called me back and very politely I asked him to confirm who he worked for, that he was independent and that the best price he was offering me was OPUS ENERGY. He promptly agreed all of the above.......I told him I was recording the call..........he promptly put the phone down on me. What more can I say.........

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by H.brown on 15th February 2017 Report this content
I switched to opus in May 2016, on a 3 year contract since then my bills have increased by 150 per month. I have not increased the size of the building or added any utilities which would cause the bill to increase by such a large amount. It is a 6 room guest house. I cannot afford these increases, what can I do to switch?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Lisa352 on 9th December 2016 Report this content
How long does it take to file in a complaint and what will happen next? I'm still fuming and upset over the staff at opus credit department of the way he spoke to me I was speaking to a member of credit department at 5.45 last night. This person had me in tears over the phone his aggression was why over the top I felt intimidated and bullied into paying a bill I couldn't afford and had no money to pay.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Sandancer11 Written on: 14/12/2016
You can complain on their website. If you aren't satisfied with their response, you can go to the Ombudsman. Remember though, if it's a business contract many of the safeguards that protect domestic customers will not apply.
Asked by sweetmi1 on 18th November 2015 Report this content
I have a 3 year contract with Opus Energy for my business electricity, but they killed my business with outrageous price. I need to close my shop down immediately after suffering in their hands for 1 year. How can I get out of their grips without penalties?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content Sandancer11 Written on: 18/11/2015
I have always found them to be excellent. Why on earth did you sign up for so long if the price was so high? Call them and see if they can offer a solution. They may offer you a reduced deal if you agree to extend. And if your electricity bill is enough to shut you down, maybe self-employment just wasn't for you. Regardless of all that, the contract is with the business, so if that goes into liquidation it's null and void. Any money owing would make Opus a creditor. Unless you're a sole trader, in which case you will owe it. Even then, if you leave the premises, you will be freed from the contract.
Report this content wishywashy345 Written on: 18/08/2016
Opus energy have devastated our lives they need investigating then shutting down, they issued a false warrant on us created a bill we never owed and took our gas meter I'm fighting this company and will never give up with the illegal way they work
Report this content Lisa352 Written on: 12/12/2016
Can you tell me why my complaints aren't dealt with
See All Answers
overview