TwinTec Water Softeners Reviews

TwinTec Water Softeners
★★★★★
4.8
98.0% of users recommend this
  • Ease of Use

  • Durability

  • Style

  • Service & Support

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
TwinTec Water Softeners - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for TwinTec Water Softeners

Latest Reviews

“Changed my life”

★★★★★

written by RuthPearson on 03/06/2024

I cannot thank Aquasoft Systems Ltd & Twintec enough for changing my hair, skin & all appliances with my new system, the difference is immediate, I must admit I was alittle bit skeptical but I was proved wrong, installed quickly, I will be recommending them to everyone who asks.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Soft water again|”

★★★★★

written by LaytonLaw on 18/02/2024

Having looked for a water softening system since we moved into our (to us) new home in July 2023 we eventually found a supplier in our area who was able to supply the non-electric domestic softener we required. We specified non-electric because of the known problem with electric softeners; during regeneration if you suffer a power failure it is possible for the system to flow to waste continuously until the power is restored, this cannot happen with non-electric water softeners. Also, we wanted a twin cylinder model meaning it can supply continuous soft water whist one vessel is being regenerated. Our system is a TwinTec unit made and supplied by Harveys Water systems. Our unit was supplied by Aquasoft Systems in Telford and was fitted in just over 2 hours by their engineer. I have no hesitation in recommending this company, their installation was neat and tidy and the results have been outstanding.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Best Decision I have made in years Wish I had done it...”

★★★★★

written by SteveGoode on 27/07/2023

What a difference this has made to my whole Water system, I was on the verge of getting a new Hot water cylinder and having it installed at a cost of £2000 as it was blocked with limescale. My taps and shower had hardly any pressure at all and my Daughters were constantly complaining. I had the TwinTec Cobalt installed and it has not only cleared my old Hot water cylinder but made my daughters very happy and given me better water pressure than before, Highly Recommended to anyone having the same problems. Do it before you encounter the same problems and end up spending more money. I was dealt with by ultimate professionals.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worked well until it stopped working”

★★☆☆☆

written by guForbes319 on 18/07/2023

As a softener it works very well. The it broke, after an initial issue it was quickly fixed but then when it reoccurred the installer didn't want to know. It was still in warranty but we were told it was the resin and this isn't covered. They offered to sell me another and when we said no there was no further communication. I would not recommend this from my experience

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Soft and easy”

★★★★★

written by HarryH52 on 16/01/2023

Fitted easily and quickly by Ramsden Softeners. My water supply is in a cupboard in the middle of the house rather than under the sink. The fitter got round the problem and made a very tidy job of it. Since being fitted 2 months ago we have noticed a difference. We used to get problems with limescale in the shower and screen. This has disappeared and the old limescale has dissolved/been easily wiped away. The washing machine filter was badly blocked we found but the softened water weakened it and I could easily clean it. I am hoping it will also add to the life of my oil fired boiler. We have had various parts replaced due to limescale build up. This should now be a thing of the past.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Water softener”

★★★★★

written by Cooleynn467 on 26/11/2022

Excellent installation, quick and easy. Fantastic that no electricity is used and looking forward to lovely soft water again. Would recommend to anyone looking to help with trying to avoid too much limescale, particularly in the area we live, which had notoriously hard water.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Tops for service”

★★★★★

written by Jolieness on 31/07/2022

Fantastic team work made getting a new water softener from UK Water Softeners, Camberley, so easy. The highly experienced fitter was personable, professional and a perfectionist, and he was backed by advice tailored to our needs. Top marks!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Quick action.”

★★★★★

written by barrytdams on 23/06/2022

We had to replace our TwinTec after 14 years of uninterrupted service. Carried out very professionally the next working day - not cheap but excellent!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent product”

★★★★★

written by on 12/03/2022

This is the second TwinTec water softener I have purchased, the first lasted 12 years never requiring any servicing, giving us constant softened water. I can thoroughly recommend Aquasoft Systems.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Replacement”

★★★★☆

written by Brennankv225 on 23/01/2022

This was a replacement unit for a 20yr old Twintec unit. Seeing the house pipework was already modified, I chose to install this myself. Installation was not difficult. However the installation instructions refer to using a commissioning tool, but this is not supplied and no mention could be found on the Internet how one could be bought or obtained. My supplier indicated the use of the tool is not vital, so this step was omitted. In these days of 'Right to Repair', installation instructions allowing DIY installation should be available, which either provide the ability to acquire the commissioning tool at a fair price (this is only a shaped plastic wheel) or that indicates that this part of the commissioning process can be omitted or alternatively what do do when the commissioningtool is not available. The unit appears to be working well.

Jennifer_Hull's Comment

Written on: 27/02/2022

Hey Brennankv225 - i managed to find one online actually when i searched on google. I got a plumber to install for me.

Reply to this comment

Mushy1964's Comment

Written on: 02/09/2023

Where can I get the commission tool from? I’ve installed the softener but it’s not working until I do two regenerations. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“An excellent investment!!”

★★★★★

written by Storkygirl63 on 11/11/2021

After struggling with persistent limescale and hard water for many years we made the decision to invest in a water softener, and it's the best decision we could have made! After a bit of research, reading reviews etc... we called Aquasoft in Donnington Wood and a man came out to do the initial survey. There was no hard sell - he was extremely informative and answered all my questions. After showing me a number of water softeners the Twin Tec was the most suited to our needs. Another man fitted it it on the 20th October - it only took a few hours and he was extremely clean and tidy. It was too big to fit under the sink, so it is in a cupboard, but all pipework/hoses are hidden behind the kickboards - this wasn't a problem at all. Since having it fitted we can't believe the difference it has made in such a small space of time. No more unbearable limescale on our chrome taps and a kettle that is sparkling with no limescale residue at all! The water tastes lovely, not chemically anymore and we only have to use a small amount of washing up liquid/shampoo/shower gel to get a real good lather - and it lasts!!! No more build up of limescale in the washing machine and dishwasher anymore either. My only regret is not doing this years ago. I would definitely recommend the Twin Tec and also Aquasoft for fitting it.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“not doing it's job”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Watchmaker9 on 14/10/2021

I have a Twintec water softener supplied by Yorks. Water Softeners. It was fitted in December 2020.It has only softened the water for a few weeks during the 10 months. It was fitted with the inlet and outlet hoses transposed, so it was working backwards! When the fitters had gone I found the drinking water tasted strongly of salt. I had to bi-pass the TwinTec until they could return to fix it. It did then work for a few weeks and then we had hard water. The engineers have been back to it about a DOZEN times. It was taken away and we had a service unit for 6 weeks, which highlighted what we were missing. It was returned 2 weeks ago but is no better. My hardness reading is 120. I checked my neighbour's untreated water, and I got the same reading, conclusion MY MACHINE IS NOT SOFTENING THE WATER AT ALL. I AM NOT MAKING ANY HEADWAY WITH YORKSHIRE WATER SOFTENERS, AND THEY HAVE JUST FAILED TO MAKE THEIR LAST APPOINTMENT. PLEASE CAN YOU INTERVENE TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“TwinTec Water Softener Installation”

★★★★★

written by JulianaMorris323 on 30/09/2021

We chose to have this water softener fitted after seeing several excellent reviews on a local neighbourhood website both of the product and the company Aquasoft Systems of Telford. On contacting the company the proprietor he made an early appointment to visit us and advise us of the advantages we would gain in having the product fitted and the positioning of the equipment which due to limited under sink space would be better placed on an exterior wall enclosed in an insulated box. We then agreed to the installation and a mutually suitable date and time was chosen. The proprietor and his colleague arrived on time, completed the installation within the timescale they had previously mentioned and did very neat job. At every stage both before the work was undertaken and during the work he gave a full explanation of all aspects of water softening and this model in particular. He was very informative and pleasant. Of course it is early days yet but already we can see the benefits of the softener.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Excellent service, perfect water”

★★★★★

written by Fraser429 on 15/08/2021

This is the second watersoftener I bought from this company. One for home and for business. Very satisfied with the product and the excellent service.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great Water Softener -Guarantee should be 10 years”

★★★★☆

written by marvellousmaud on 04/08/2021

A really great product and gives instant results, was quick to install and the person I dealt with at Aquasoft Systems was efficient, informative, honest and polite. My only beef is that this new wireless, top of the range model should come with the same 10 year guarantee as the softener, but doesn’t. It’s also a shame that only one phone or device can be registered for the softener on the App. A bit fiddly to register and we felt that it was never going to get up and running. This is a pity because it goes against the straightforward, professionalism of the fitter and the quality of the product. I hope that the curved salt blocks don’t become more expensive than the proprietary straight blocks. Very happy so far and delighted to have soft water again.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Delighted”

★★★★★

written by ChrisBuss on 27/07/2021

We recently had this installed via UK water softeners and are delighted with the results, we live in a hard water area and have noticed such a difference in the taste (for the better) and also the softness of shower water - soap lathers so much better, and we no longer get gritty deposits in the kettle, and shower nozzles. Not the cheapest but the results are better than expected and i am genuinely delighted with both the product and the Company who installed it.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fully Satisfied”

★★★★★

written by oertekun on 12/07/2021

I am fully satisfied with the Twin Tec Water Softtner and I have no hesitation in recommending it. I am also fully satisfied with the service provided bybthe London Water Company.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BRILLIANT SERVICE”

★★★★★

written by Heaven4choc on 25/06/2021

Brilliant service from customer service to installation, very professional and polite, very knowledgable, our water softener is brilliant, never to have lime scale ever again, drinking the water doesn’t seem any different, we have reduced the amount of shampoo and shower gel I would recommend Softflow Water Softener, price very reasonable

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great customer service ”

★★★★☆

written by DelvinaBardhi on 09/06/2021

Great customer service and the product itself is really good. Very low maintenance and has improved the quality of our water. We use less shampoo etc too so saves money too.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Twin Tec S4”

★★★★★

written by Binksman1 on 27/03/2021

The S4 is approximately the size of a home computer cabinet, and installation was quick an efficient- taking roughly 2 hours. Within a matter of 24 hours you really start to see the difference soft water makes, for example the teapot doesn’t stain half as bad, no unsightly water marks on the shower screen and my skin doesn’t feel as dry following a shower. This, I feel, will improve further as the hot water tank gets replenished with soft water over a few times. At this early I’ve nothing negative to say, just wished I’d have had one years ago.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Mushy1964 on 2nd September 2023 Report this content
Where can I get a commission tool from? Everything is installed and ready to go but the commissioning tool didn’t come with it. I have searched the internet for one but nothing is available, can someone advise me on what I can do. Thank you

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by shirley1820 on 23rd May 2023 Report this content
My twintec water softener keeps filling up with water and not draining away. What could be causing this?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by JohnFolkestone on 18th April 2023 Report this content
My twintec s2 softner seems to have stopped regenerating. It's not used and salt in a couple of weeks now. Is this terminal or repairable. Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Pierre76566521 on 30th September 2022 Report this content
My plumber relocated my twintec as part of a rearrangement. It seems now to be blocked complete…zero flow if not bypassed. Any thoughts?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Johnspu on 18th May 2022 Report this content
I turned my twin tec water softener taps off to change cabinets turned them all back on and it's not working. Any ideas why?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by jaysinha on 30th March 2022 Report this content
Cloudy water is coming from my taps although we always keep it full of salt. I have owned my Twintec S2 softener since 2005 and it always produced clear, softened water. We moved house two years ago and brought the softener with us. Does the machine need adjustment after the move?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by scurryalong on 9th August 2021 Report this content
The salt blocks in my TwinTec softener are lasting less than a week suddenly. Before I used to get 3-4 weeks out of a set of blocks. Why is this, and what can be done?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by KLYLE on 15th July 2021 Report this content
Can we use tablet salt in twin tec water softeners?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Dennehy on 3rd August 2020 Report this content
My twintec water system is faulty the water coming from the taps is salty. How can this be fixed?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by skyeci on 8th March 2020 Report this content
I have had an s2 since 2008. Has worked well and never had any issues. We are moving soon and I was considering getting a new softener such as the s4 and leave the old one behind given its age but what are the differences between my old s2 and the new s4? Design/size?, improved water use?? Or should I just take the s2 with me. I assume after 10 years use it's not going to be as efficient perhaps as it once was? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by CDPCarter on 24th April 2019 Report this content
Can one use a Twin Tec softener with a Worcester Bosch Greenstar central heating boiler? I read somewhere that it could damage the heat exchanger.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content John_Bgood Written on: 26/04/2019
I had a new Greenstar boiler installed last year and the installer didn't think there would be a problem. If you are worried then you should contact Worcester directly if they don't have the correct answer then no-one will. If it's a System boiler then the most important thing is to put the correct level of corrosion prevention fluid into the boiler and check it annually, which is what the service engineer should do. If it's a COMBI then the softer water might cause the heat exchanger to fail sooner, but if your water is hard then the lime-scale build-up will most likely cause the system to fail earlier than the softened water would. There is no reason why a Twintec softener should be any different to any other brand of ion-exchange softener, they all use the same technique.
Asked by Fortifyme on 25th March 2019 Report this content
My Twintec water softener has stopped working twice now in less than two years. The installer said it was due to chlorine in the water, and changed the “beads”. I read that the only way to avoid chlorine stopping your softener from working was to have a filter fitted before the mains water reached the filter. Is this correct? If so, why aren’t customers advised of this, and why do softeners not have such a filter incorporated in them.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Rachelj2660 on 13th September 2018 Report this content
I need a decent plumber who knows how to set one up for me, I’ve inherited it from a relative who has taken her new one to her new home, and donated the one installed there to me! I’m lucky as it’s only 2 years old and the owners worked abroad a lot. It has no transferred warranty or suchlike and I live in Staffordshire, the unit came originally from the Southampton/ Bournemouth area. How can I get a decent priced installer? Any ideas? Thank you for any tips.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by richchandler3 on 14th June 2018 Report this content
Why does the water taste stagnant?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content davewjwiles Written on: 15/06/2018
If your on mains water then it should not taste stagnant , why are you drinking water from your unit that's what the drinking water tap is for. I would take a sample of water before the unit and one from the unit and ask your water authority to test. If your sure it's from the unit I would by pass and call in Twin-Tec but they will charge £100+ just to have a look, I use a firm from Ipswich that only charge £39 to come and have a look. Stagnant water is not good at any time , you need to get this sorted. 
Report this content John_Bgood Written on: 15/06/2018
My water tastes perfectly good. Have yo been away for a long period of time? If so then you need to flush the system through. Run off a half a gallon of water and try again. If it still tastes stagnant then use the valves to by-pass the softener. If the water still tastes stagnant then it is a problem with your water supplier. If after bypassing the softener the water tastes good then you should contact your installer because you have a problem.
Asked by juebilly on 12th April 2018 Report this content
Could this product befitted in a caravan?/

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content davewjwiles Written on: 13/04/2018
You will need to be on mains water system and have be the right water pressure.
Asked by 1234Bob on 6th April 2018 Report this content
Can I install a watersoftener in a house with a septic tank and an effluent field?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content davewjwiles Written on: 09/04/2018
Sorry really don't know, don't see why not but I think you should put this question to Trwin Tec or and your local authority. 
Asked by johnmn on 21st February 2018 Report this content
Had TwinTec S3 installed mid Jan 2018. I topped up with 2 fresh blocks of salt after 3 weeks. We are now suffering with salt tasting water. Why?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content RealReviewer101 Written on: 06/10/2019
Normally you would not be drinking water that has passed through the softener. You need a separate drinking water tap that by-passes the softener, Your installer should have mentioned this to be honest. The softener will make the water taste slightly salty its normal behaviour and by design.
Asked by Lojong on 21st February 2018 Report this content
Hi. Back to the water softeners - its a salty business. I have a Twintec probably an S2. Over the past few months I have noticed on occasions that the water flow from both the shower, kitchen and basin taps will be lower than usual. Anglian Water have been and checked the mains pressure and flow (in excess of 25lts/min which is good). When I checked the input water flow to the Twintec the flow was also more than 25lts/min. However, the softened water flow from the kitchen tap, directly above the Twintec, was down to 10lts/min. That flow rate is what I have accepted as normal/usual at my house. When the flow drops it will be even less than 10lts/min. (The Anglian Water agent couldn't be expected to wait until the flow drops again, and he has taken the flow meter with him).  Well, that was a mouthful! What I hope to discover is what the usual, maximum reduction in flow is for a healthy Twintec, then I may be able to make some assessment as to the health of my installation. I welcome any advice related to, perhaps, similar experiences with a Twintec and/or any resolutions/remedies.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by gaenor on 6th November 2017 Report this content
How can I reduce the softness of the water - the TwinTec S3 we have inherited with this house produces very very soft water, much softer than we have ever had with previous water softeners, making showers, baths etc a hazard as they are so slippery. Is there a tester kit I can use to see if it is over softening the water?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content davewjwiles Written on: 07/11/2017
Yes you can get a test kit, if you go on line to the Trin Tec site you will find your nearest installer or suppler where you can get the test kit and the readings you should be getting. I would suggest you do this first as Twin Tec will charge you £100 + just to come out and tell you what needs doing if anything. A lot of good company,s like" Triden showers" will charge there customers £120 to come out and look at a shower but the cost will include any parts and labour that are required but not Twin Tec. That's why I would not recommend Twin Tic stopped working just a short time outside warranty. But yes you can get a test kit. Hope this helps.
Asked by Dick28 on 2nd October 2017 Report this content
Do I need a filter on the one tap for drinking water? How much are the salt tables for these machines? Thank you

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Ray4spurs Written on: 04/10/2017
1) - Filter question - I suggest not as tap water depending on the area generally has a reasonable amount of 'Hardness' which has health benefits. You could use a Jug type filter if needs be. 2) - Salt Tablet costs - 10 x packs (2 x blocks in each pack) locally ordered for £44
Asked by hardsoftwater on 22nd June 2017 Report this content
I have a Twin Tec 2 water softener. I regularly use a hardness checker kit to check the softness of the water. Using 2 different kits, 1 tablet form and the other liquid, I am repeatedly getting readings of 250+ parts per million. I have reported this to my supplier who says that reading is fine and denotes soft water. I understand from Harveys customer services that machines are set to 20 parts per million. Can you please explain therefore how my readings can be so high and yet acceptable to a company supplying your equipment?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Sarkat on 20th June 2017 Report this content
Who manufactures your S3 water softeners?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Barry47 on 28th December 2016 Report this content
The water going through our water softener continuously passes directly to the drain pipe. What should I do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content widd1 Written on: 03/01/2017
I think the water you are hearing going through is being used to regenerate the device. It’s generally a bit of a trickle. If it’s more than that get the installers back. EXPLANATION. There are two softening units in the device. When unit 1 is “clogged” the device switches to unit 2 to do the softening while unit 1 is cleaned. This is called regeneration. First unit 1 is filled with a salt (brine) solution. The brine is made by dissolving the salt blocks in the water in the base of the unit. After the brine has sat in unit 1 for a while, it will have regenerated. It is then discharged down the drain and unit 1 flushed through with clean water from unit 2 to remove all salt traces. Unit 1 will then sit waiting until for unit 2 to become “clogged” when it will then take on the process of softening whilst unit 2 is regenerated. This is very efficient as it ensures that you will always have a unit available to do the softening but generation will only take place when the unit is deemed to be “clogged”. Single unit devices usually regenerate overnight on a timed basis whether it is needed or not. They also cannot provide softened water during regeneration. Hope this makes sense.
Report this content GeoffCayman Written on: 04/01/2017
The softener will recycle every now and then depending on your water usage. During this operation water will go down the drainage pipe for 5/15 minutes. My TwinTec recycles every 2 days or so.
Asked by normcall on 11th November 2016 Report this content
We had a new one installed last week and wonder how long the blocks of salt last? The blocks have already dropped below the clear cover - seems every other day they drop down. How far do they go? Our last one (at a different area) was a Culligan and 25 kg of salt tablets lasted more than a month. The water is not as hard here, so is there an adjustment somewhere (we have no paperwork or instructions) as our water usage must be similar?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content widd1 Written on: 11/11/2016
We are in a very hard water area - Suffolk. There are 2 of us in the house (retired) and 2 blocks usually lasts 3 - 4 weeks depending on water consumption. You should replace the block when the red line on the back of the reservoir becomes visible. One block may dissolve faster than the other - but as they share the brine reservoir it does not matter. It is difficult to compare salt usage with your previous model as it used a different technology. If anything your new one should use less as it only recycles when needed. The amount of water that passes through the unit before it re-cylces is set at installation.It should be calibrated so that when the resin in one tank is “full” it switches to the other and recycles the first one. It is the frequency of the recycling that determines salt usage. I.e. in a hard water area, less water passes through the unit before a re-cycling as there is more hardness to remove. In a softer area, more water goes though before this is necessary, thus re-cycling and salt usage will be less frequent. However, the same about of salt is used at each re-cylcling regardless of the hardness in your area - it just happens less frequently in a soft water area. You cannot adjust it yourself. If you doubt the accuracy of the calibration, get the installer back.
Report this content Debonair1961 Written on: 12/11/2016
We live in Essex so water is hard we are a family of 3 our system uses 2 blocks at a time and we replace them once a month our water consumption is quite high 3 power showers a day plus at least 2 wash loads per day . plus the dishwasher going twice a day so we think once month is quite economical hope this helps
Asked by Troyhiggs7 on 24th August 2016 Report this content
How to remove encrusted salt from the tank?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content widd1 Written on: 25/08/2016
The cradle which holds the salt blocks is removable. It can be heavy if 2 large blocks of salt are in it. Remove the salt blocks from the cradle. Lift the lid to the unit and the salt cradle can be removed completely and washed and rinsed in clean non soapy water if necessary. If there is any salt residue on the wall of the salt “tank” area, I use a plastic scraper of the type designed to defrost fridges etc. This will prevent damage to the unit. The salt scrapings can be left to drop into the saline solution at the bottom where they will be dissolved and used for the next re-cycle. Put the cradle back and secure the back edge under the front of the lid. Replace salt blocks. Job done. Be careful to ensure that NO contaminants of any kind are introduced to the saline area - this might impair the ability of the resin in the softener to work. Use clean hands or wear latex gloves to ensure that you do not introduce a contaminant or infection into the unit. Treat it as though it is a food preparation area. NB After many years of use - I have never found it necessary to do this. Salty walls will not impair the operation unless they prevent the blocks dropping to the bottom of the saline unit.
Report this content Ray4spurs Written on: 26/08/2016
I didn't realise at first why the Salt blocks were sticking in position until I felt the sides of the salt chamber. I tend to clear the salt by hand every time a replacement is needed and that seems to work well. It's a bit of a manual process but it's better knowing the salt block function correctly.
Asked by Rytel on 2nd August 2016 Report this content
I have an S3 and it is making occasionally makes a buzzing noise. Can anyone give me an idea what it might be?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content widd1 Written on: 05/08/2016
OK. When is it doing that? When water is passing through or during the “re-cycle” process? First off, try to determine if this is something straightforward. Try removing the salt cover / salt basket when it is buzzing. remove the rear top cover. Try moving / holding different bits of the unit. It might just be a vibration causing something to rattle / buzz. Move it slightly. If anything simple is causing a mechanical buzz - you might find you can stop it. If it doesn’t, it might be the “propellers” in the metering device that are either catching or worn. If that is the case you will need to get professionals in. Depending on the age of the machine and the suppliers it might still be under guarantee. I think ours was for 5 years - but I’m not absolutely certain.
Asked by marypr on 25th January 2016 Report this content
I have the Twin Tec S2, I'm wondering if there is much difference with the S3? Anyone out there had both who would know if it's worth changing? Had the S2 since 2007. Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content widd1 Written on: 05/08/2016
Our previous model was not the TT2. However it did fail after 5 years. The TT3 is an improvement in many ways, but the point of having the softener is to remove hardness from the water. We knew our old unit was due for replacement as it stopped doing this. Buy a water softness testing kit - they are about £10.00 from Amazon. If it is still working - stick with it. It’s worth noting that over a period of time the resin will deteriorate and not be as efficient. However, a quality installer will be able to remedy this by changing the cogs in the meter so that it re-cycles more frequently. Downside to this is that you will use more salt. Salt is cheaper than new kit!
Asked by Alanhudecova on 16th August 2015 Report this content
If only one block is being used, does it still keep the water soft?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content Netlang Written on: 17/08/2015
You are using one block per tank so it you leave one empty the resin balls in that tank will just get scaled up. I believe the idea of the twin tanks is that you get continuous soft water even when the resin beads are being cleaned through in one tank it uses the other tank to provide you with uninterrupted softened water.
Report this content widd1 Written on: 17/08/2015
In simple terms - YES. The previous answer is partly correct. There are two resin tanks that do the softening. They do this alternatively. When one resin tank has softened enough water and can soften no more the device switches to the other resin tank. The device knows how much can be softened as there is a metering device to measure the volume of the water that has passed through the tank. Once “full” the first resin tank is then “re-generated” by soaking the resin in a brine solution whilst the second tank takes over the softening process. After soaking in brine, it is rinsed and then sits on standby until the second tank is “full” when it will switch back to the first tank. The re-generation process uses a saturated salt solution which is where the salt blocks come in. If there is only 1 salt block, it does not matter - it will still take the same amount of salt from that 1 block as it would from 2 blocks to make the brine solution up to the required strength. There is no saving to be made by running the device on one salt block. They both sit in the same reservoir and use the same volume of water and salt regardless of the number of salt blocks in the reservoir. Ergo, one block will get used up twice as quickly as two blocks. My mind wonders why you would even consider just 1 block as they are supplied in pairs. This is so that you don’t have to do the re-fill job as frequently.
Report this content Alanhudecova Written on: 17/08/2015
Hi Thank you for answering my question folks. The reason I asked this question widd1, was NOT because I only use 1 block at a time but to see if waiting until block 2, which ALWAYS diminishes at a slower rate and does not always need replacing at the same time. I want to wait till BOTH blocks have, as good as finished ,before replacing both blocks instead of only Replacing one at a time, that's all.
See All Answers
Asked by tim_powys-lybbe on 20th June 2015 Report this content
Fact: Our TwinTec water softener is in the utility room. There is also a sink in there, supplied with softened water. Fact: Occasionally over the last two years the water at that sink tastes very salty. So we have stopped using it for the dog. Fact: Earlier this year we had a leak under the floor where the pipe ran from the softener area to the sink. The pipe was perforated with lots of tiny holes. It was not cheap to have this dealt with. Fact: Also earlier this year we had the TwinTec given an overhaul and most of the operating parts and chemicals replaced. This was not cheap either. Question: Might the brine outlet pipe of the TwinTec have got blocked and caused brine flow into the pipe to the sink which then corroded that pipe to cause it to leak? If so, what should we do about this? How can we tell in the future if it gets blocked again?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content widd1 Written on: 23/06/2015
Bearing in mind the amount of remedial work you have had done and the expense involved I would suggest getting the professionals back under guarantee as there is patently something not right.
Asked by cornflakeboy on 27th October 2014 Report this content
Is this water softener safe to use for people with sensitive skin? I haven't heard any negative reports but would be interested to hear views from people with sensitive skin.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Dempster08 Written on: 28/10/2014
Yes this water softener is fine for people with sensitive skin. I have this sensitivity and since I have been using the softener the condition of my skin is much improved. No allergic reaction at all. I'm sure you will be very pleased with the results overall in your household and more importantly on your skin. I hope this helps. Dempster08
Report this content qman9000 Written on: 29/10/2014
To answer the question directly; yes the TwinTec Water Softener is safe for people with sensitive skin. Before having the Softener installed I had bad eczema that itched like mad. This condition has vastly improved since having the Water Softener. You should see an improvement within a couple of months. Enjoy.
Asked by SamAngusMonty on 4th September 2014 Report this content
Does this water softener have to be replaced after a number of years or will it last a lifetime?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content cliveg Written on: 05/09/2014
there's no power involved so should last as long as it is installed correctly, drained and not damaged
Report this content MadALane Written on: 10/09/2014
That is correct. There are no moving parts or power involved, and should last for a long time. It comes with a 10 year parts guarantee and 2 year labour guarantee. We had this for a year and half now, the difference is striking!I hope this helps.
overview