UKC University of Kent at Canterbury Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.5 / 5
50% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Accommodation

  • IT Facilities

  • Libraries

  • Nightlife

  • Societies & Clubs

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
UKC University of Kent at Canterbury - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for UKC University of Kent at Canterbury

UKC University of Kent at Canterbury

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Spent three years studying for a BSc in Computer...”

Written on: 29/03/2011

Spent three years studying for a BSc in Computer Science. There have been good and bad aspects to being at Kent, it depends who your lecturers happen to be.

One thing that does annoy me however is the way most lecturers deliver their modules. Is it really so hard to do something other than repeat what is on the powerpoint slides? Try making the subject sound interesting. I realise programming my not be the most interesting topic to talk about for 3 hours a week, but still!

On the other hand… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I studied physics. ”

Written on: 14/01/2010 by P2008 (3 reviews written)

I studied physics.

The teaching was all pretty poor. It's not compulsory to produce lecture notes, teachers can turn up with a piece of chalk if they want to, & some do. Yet lectures are still compulsory to attend.

It seems like everything got put together in the 80's, badly, & was just left for decades.

Nothing's ever changed, or if it is it's too little too late.

I spent four years doing the degree with a foundation year & ended up failing 1 module in the 2nd year. They only let you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

P2008's Response to P2008's Review

Written on: 23/10/2010

A particularly bad teacher is [name removed], if you complain to him he'll just say tough & that's life, or nothing. I told him the lessons were bad & he just said go to lessons.
<br/>
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

P2008's Response to P2008's Review

Written on: 12/03/2017

This review will be put on the Facebook ukc page & include names as you are not allowed to put names on here. This review will say [name removed] where there is supposed to be a name.

Some of the teachers didn’t speak English.

The teachers don’t like you going to their office n asking questions cos they always seem really busy, doing what I’m not sure, not making good lessons. So at the end of the lesson some teachers get mobbed n it’s hard to ask any questions. A lot of people stopped going to a lot of lessons, especially in the modules we shared with the maths students. A lot of the maths teachers are Chinese, but then so are a lot of the students so I guess that works out well.

Some teachers u cant read their writing. Some u cant hear because they either don’t talk during their lessons or the lecture theatre is too big & you’re sat right at the back. If the seats aren’t tiered you also cant see the board if there’s loads of people in front of you. [Australian teacher with glasses & black hair], the teacher representing physics in the course rep meetings, said in regards to not being able to read the teachers’ handwriting “there’s not a lot we can do about that”.

U can’t read the textbooks because there basically are no textbooks, especially in the 2nd year onwards. The ones that are recommended are really old & not matched to the modules, & read like Shakespeare so you can’t understand them.

The whole thing’s diabolical even from a customer service point of view.

They make everything as slow & unhelpful as possible. It’s depressing.

It’s like the teachers weren’t actually qualified in physics.

You’d think it would be impossible to give an hour lecture without actually teaching anything, but they did it all the time. Week after week, month after month.

The accommodation office staff are kind of well known for having no soul.

There’ll never be any evidence cos theres too much money involved. The teachers are on £40-60K a year.

In the end they just deleted my email account.

Some modules were taught by PhD students. U can imagine how much they cared & the quality of those modules.

The Medical Physics module was taught by a teacher from Canterbury hospital. He was there of his own freewill so had no need to make it a high quality module, & so it wasn’t.

I remember even in the foundation year [Senior Tutor] making a joke about how he had to sort out appeals during the summer & how 1 guy had failed after being there 4 years. It’s easy to see why.

If the teachers had lecture notes they wouldn’t give them to you. 1 reason I heard is because students don’t turn up to the lessons. But they wouldn’t need to would they? Some lecturers gave u the notes at the end of term n they were just diabolical. Barely whole sentences strung together. Not something you’d wana learn something as important as a physics degree from.

I note that what a fool 2 exclamation marks, but note that once the excitement of 2 exclamation marks wears off you realise all you’re left with is teachers that don’t speak English & teachers that cant teach.

I note that try hard lose your mind but note that that doesn’t make any sense.

I can understand the sheer amount of anger & frustration u must feel that the teachers don’t speak English, but note that it’s entirely possible that the students were a little angry & frustrated.

In one interview with [Senior Tutor], he said tough, that’s life & I don’t want to hear it all in the same interview. Then there was this part of the convo:
you don’t care about the failures of the department
I’m not going to comment on that
No I know you’re not
& I have no problem reporting you to the Dean of Science to terminate your registration
that’s nice.
Alright? Alright? Well *in a higher pitched voice smug way* if there’s nothing else you wana talk about.
Then as I left he went cheerio! In a smug smiling way. Just trying to be as much of a censored as possible.

[white optics teacher with glasses & black hair] who was my “tutor”, whatever that means, just laughed in my face about the teachers not speaking English n just said you can’t change the world n was pretty smug about the whole thing.

[name removed] was the head of department at the time he didn’t do anything about it.

[name removed] was the “Dean of science” he didn’t do anything n was a biology teacher.

It’s a horrible place with horrible people.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to P2008's Review

Written on: 13/11/2011

P2008

I am extremely surprised by your irrational comments. Even by your own admissions it appears you had no work ethic or academic commitment whatsoever. What I did glean from from your commentary is a picture of arrogance and overt self-belief in your own academic ability. To be perfectly honest, in your case I believe UKC made one overarching error and that was to let you on the course to start with. Clearly, you didn't manage the requisite A' level grades, hence your need to do an access course, but then to throw away this academic opportunity was an extremely foolish thing to do. In short you blew it and should now try hard lose your mindset that you deserve more than you got. I have sympathy for lazy students.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to P2008's Review

Written on: 11/07/2011

What a fool!

Missing 8 coursework assignments and complaining when asked to leave.

Complaining that not attending lectures is frowned upon.

Re-sitting a year, refusing to hand in coursework and still failing!

Not attending university for several weeks because you loan hadn't arrived.

Then appealing time and time again despite having absolutely no grounds for criticism...

I went to UKC and thoroughly enjoyed it. The facilities are good (all of my lectures had notes online and could be listened to via an online archive), the accommodation is good and the sports teams and social activities are great.

The teaching won't be breaking any records and Canterbury is a small city, with little in the way of entertainment. But if you didn't get in to a top university, you could do a lot worse than UKC.

Hopefully this gives a more accurate perspective!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

P2008's Response to P2008's Review

Written on: 13/11/2010

The name that was removed above is the Senior Tutor.
<br/>
<br/>It's also not compulsory for teachers to help students if you knock on their door.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

P2008's Response to P2008's Review

Written on: 29/10/2010

The uni also has a problem with teachers not speaking english, which no-one seems to give a damn about.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 6 Comments
overview