Sykes Cottages Reviews - www.sykescottages.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.0 / 5
49% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sykes Cottages www.sykescottages.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Poor property maintenance and dreadful customer care”

Written on: 04/11/2020 by RMThorpe (1 review written)

We love Padstow and the Camel Estuary and return to the area year after year. However, this October we were badly let down this year by Sykes Cottages and by the Owner of Mount Pleasant. We cannot recommend Mount Pleasant or Sykes Cottages. The standard of maintenance at Mount Pleasant is low. We arrived to find the cottage had no hot water. The area of damp in the boiler cupboard was evidence of a leak that has been going on a while. The first 3 days of our holiday were spent on the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We had a fantastic weeks stay at y stabl in...”

Written on: 06/10/2020 by Kjbs (1 review written)

We had a fantastic weeks stay at y stabl in fishguard,the warm and friendly welcome that we received by the owner made us feel right at home, the cottage was excellent and spacious and in a beautiful location, really looking forward to going back. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid”

Written on: 07/09/2020 by qbMcCoy322 (1 review written)

Avoid this company. They apply terms described as legally 'unfair' by the Consumer Rights Act 2015 such as charging a large deposit after a cancellation or refusing to refund a large deposit. This happened to us. They are under investigation by the Competitions and Markets Authority (CMA) for these practices… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Money grabbing during a pandemic.”

Written on: 30/07/2020 by UnitedStates (1 review written)

I had cancelled my holiday booking online 12 weeks before the start of my UK holiday (due to COVID). I received a message on their website that the booking was cancelled and I would receive an e-mail confirming that, also that no further funds were going to be taken out. They then took the funds out anyway (over $1,700). I e-mailed but only got an automated message in return stating they were very busy at the moment. Seriously? I'd give them a 0 star rating, but that wasn't an option. In the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mohomed's Response to UnitedStates's Review

Written on: 19/08/2020

Had same problem myself rubbish customer service would rate them in minus figures non existing customer service by phone or email

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely shocking customer service ”

Written on: 25/07/2020 by Braidenv228 (1 review written)

We booked a holiday in a Lake District property and when we arrived 2 weeks ago the property was dirty and in some areas unhygienic! I have spent the last 10 days trying to contact customer services, 5 emails and approx 10 calls with my being on hold for nearly 2hrson one attempt and none of these have been answered. The company are blaming Covid for being busy but they are not too busy to mind taking over £750 from me for a dirty house! Avoid this terrible company!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Abysmal”

Written on: 30/05/2020 by ChrisBalsh (1 review written)

In a word, abysmal. Having not been able to go on this holiday due to the Covid outbreak I'm still going through the ordeal of negotiating a refund with Sykes. Having requested and chased multiple times, finally threatening legal action, Sykes finally confirmed that the cottage owner was happy to refund all money he recieved, which was duly returned to me. By this time the customer service line had stopped accepting any calls from any customer. Furthermore, Sykes informed me that they would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“SYKES COTTAGES .. AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE”

Written on: 18/05/2020

SYKES COTTAGES ... NEVER NEVER NEVER AGAIN We had booked to stay at a cottage booked through Sykes for 3 weeks from 5th June. Following the Covid 19 lockdown trying to contact Sykes has been a nightmare, and I had to ask the property owner to get Sykes to phone me. This meant writing a letter to the property. The owner refused to give their details. Sykes phoned me but nothing happened and so I had to write a second letter to the property. Then Sykes phoned me again, and the rep promised to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“If you have had a booking cancelled because of COVID...”

Written on: 07/05/2020 by RHEO (1 review written)

If you have had a booking cancelled because of COVID 19 and want a refund from Sykes, the only way is to go through legal due process. Look up on line to see free legal advice and Template letters to email to Sykes Press Department. They try to confuse to deflect any attempts to get refunds but they will not go to court because they know they would lose and have to re-imburse everyone - they prefer to steer people who for all kinds of good reasons do not want to fight into taking future… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appallingly treated”

Written on: 06/05/2020 by 166Henry (1 review written)

My lovely wife had a brain haemorrhage and a stroke on 26th Feb which resulted in two life saving operations at Addenbrooke’s hospital and several weeks in an induced coma in the critical care unit. I contacted Sykes as soon as I possibly could to explain the situation and requested a refund of my weeks cottage holiday on 17th April 2020. I was advised that no refund would be offered (they contacted the cottage owner) and that the onus was on me to cancel the holiday but if the date could… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★☆☆

“PROBLEM RESOLVED”

Written on: 05/05/2020 by KevinJL (1 review written)

Like many others, I had a holiday booked with Sykes due to commence on 20 June. The balance of payment of £968 was due on 9th May. I was unable to change the date of his holiday on line (the system only allows holidays up to 14th June to be changed) and cancellation would have involved charges just short of £400. They patently cannot deliver this product under current restrictions yet still persisted in sending me reminders about final payment! After a frustrating exchange of emails I finally… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Foolish and shortsighted ”

Written on: 04/05/2020 by Crowley458 (1 review written)

Terrible company to deal with and zero customerservice. We have just lost our £200 deposit, our balance was due to be paid this week but as Sykes cannot guarantee our holiday would go ahead in June we felt that losing £200 is better than £600 for the full balance. They offer amended dates if the holiday is cancelled, these are Winter dates plus the fact my Wife is a key worker (police) and can't get or switch holidays left us high and dry. Sykes refused to budge and for just £200 have lost… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY”

Written on: 03/05/2020 by Waltonuh233 (1 review written)

Booked a holiday in Somerset in early April. Told not to travel by Sykes who now will not refund only a credit. Who would want to use a company that treats its customers with contempt and leave the cottage owners to take the flack as they blame them. Totally and utterly disgusted a company can treat owners and customers with such contempt. I hear this company is to be investigated - the directors should hold their heads in shame. I will never use again and would not advise using them even if… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely disgusting The way the have dealt with...”

Written on: 17/04/2020 by Snow323 (1 review written)

Absolutely disgusting The way the have dealt with this corona situation is outrageous. My holiday was cancelled while we were at the location by the owner BEFORE the lockdown even happened. Now they have taken 5 weeks to get back to me and are applying a "COVID19 Policy" to my booking that happened a week before this all began. Now they are saying we will only get half of the money refunded and half the money will be tied up in a voucher with a time limit! what a joke. people need their money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“First Time Booking - Never Again !!!”

Written on: 03/04/2020

Booked with Sykes Cottages for the first time (our usual "private" cottage of many years not available) for 1 week in Wales 8th January 2020 for end of June 2020. NOW COVID19 appears Insurance unavailable from Sykes / too expensive elsewhere as my wife sees a consultant every 6 months and I had a back MRI scan last year - at 75 who isn't under some sort of medical cloud ??? - never cancelled a holiday in our lives anyway - always desperate to get away ! Now Sykes say we must amend or they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sykes cottages continue to show utter contempt to...”

Written on: 02/04/2020 by 470Byrne (1 review written)

Sykes cottages continue to show utter contempt to there customers, point blankly refusing to offer refunds during the covid 19 lock down. Appears the government's travel ban, the health of the cottage owners, customers and rural local communities is of no interest to the directors of Sykes Cottages. All they are interested in is keeping your hard earned money. Yes they have offered amended dates at an inflated cost.. In some cases hundreds of pounds. No good if the cottage you had booked is now… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid like coronavirus”

Written on: 27/03/2020 by Manclee (1 review written)

Totally lost for words with the way me and my elderly family have been treated....totally understand having my dates cancelled as I was going away on the 17th of April....but the offer of changing the dates only to find out all prices doubled for later in the year after the news of the lockdown...is dam right greedy and has no moral justification...and I wonder if the person who's house it is will be happy when I take back my money in another way later in the year..... revenge will be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Marilynbushby's Response to Manclee's Review

Written on: 31/03/2020

I totally agree disgraceful conduct during this crucial time .Some ownersrefunding sykes keeping money in our accounts t.Morally wrong and greedy. I hope they get no bookings from now on . After 3 emails with no reply no one to speak to on phone what can one do to contact the. ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Judidurham's Response to Manclee's Review

Written on: 06/04/2020

It is unfair to punish the owner. Sykes are operating in a moral vacuum. They are keeping money due to owners in addition to that of guests. If they don’t pay their owners the money due, I predict there will a lot of people expecting to take holidays will not be available. The money will still be sitting with Sykes.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Shameful and disgraceful exploitation ”

Written on: 27/03/2020 by blMorgan111 (1 review written)

Profiteering from Covid-19 crisis. Utterly shameful company. Currently concentrating on generating laughable reviews rather than providing any degree whatsoever of customer service. Without doubt, the most morally corrupt, contemptible and despicable company it has ever been my misfortune to deal with. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ZERO STARS...AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

Written on: 26/03/2020 by Disappointedscot (1 review written)

I suggesy you check out hundreds of reviews on trustpilot and facebook from very disatisfied customers over their refusal to pay out refunds on bookings which have had to be cancelled because of covid 19 even when holiday home owners have agreed to refund. Disgusting practices which will not be forgotten when crisis over. Same goes for useless travel insurance from Towergate which they offer on their site. Avoid at all costs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stevenbirch123's Response to Disappointedscot's Review

Written on: 28/03/2020

We have had the same. Incredibly poor customer service at such an awful time.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling behaviour ”

Written on: 26/03/2020 by BrockWarren100 (1 review written)

Sykes Holiday Cottages and property owners are profiteering out of the desperate situation we are in due to the Coronavirus Covid-19 pandemic by not offering refunds if you do not wish to rebook. You both need to accept some responsibility, and cancel holidays booked up until at least mid June, instead we simply keep being passed back and forth between yourselves and the owner of the property, and sadly neither of you will do anything to help. The owner of the property (Capel Bach) that we have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dont trust the revues”

Written on: 29/01/2020 by AxelMeredith (1 review written)

If you must use Sykes Cottages don't trust the reviews. My husband and I posted an honest review with pictures of the misleadind descriptions of Lady Barn, Meathop in July 2019. Conveniently it never appeared on the website. It appears Sykes only publish the good reviews and not the bad ones!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
overview