Sykes Cottages Reviews - www.sykescottages.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.3 / 5
60% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sykes Cottages www.sykescottages.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

“Avoid Sykes Cottages”

Written on: 14/12/2017 by jacobnoble (1 review written)

Booked a cottage months in advance for the New Year. Party of 8. It’s now been cancelled at the last minute because the “hot water is broken”. No response about fixing the water it in the next two weeks before our booking. Also no useful response about a new property. Any new property they have found for us, we are expected to pay the difference. Which will be hundreds of pounds per couple. Useless customer service and complete lack of communication. Avoid… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poorly maintained cottages”

Written on: 23/11/2017 by Gordonk119 (1 review written)

Cottage I rented broke down. After wasting a day moving to a lower spec cottage this also had problems. Terrible handling of complaint and compensation. Never use these people… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Do Not Use!!!!!!”

Written on: 22/11/2017 by mzReece264 (1 review written)

As cottage owner I would advise that Sykes are the worst company that I have dealt with. They made a refund to a customer despite our express wishes that they not do so as the complaint was not justified. They cancelled a booking without telling us and then told the customer that it was us who had cancelled -very embarrassing when we contacted the customer to confirm the booking details. Area manager non existent We are now over £500 out of pocket and theyrefuse to listen to our complaint… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Do not use!!!”

Written on: 14/10/2017 by Ashs1234 (1 review written)

We used sykes cottages to let out 2 properties, they were good at booking them up and very happy to take people's money ,however when it came to paying us after they had taken their 44%, they have done nothing but drag their feet and mess us around, the payment is now over a week late, after over 200 phone calls and lots off empty promises by rude, careless staff, we are still no better off!!! We have pulled our 2 properties from their books and served them papers, they are in court on Monday… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“two tees”

Written on: 03/10/2017

I spent 7 nights in a Sykes Cottage in Derby shire and it was excellent. It was home from Home Excellent owner of the property Very helpful to get us round the area I will be making a return Sykes them selves i could have ask better information on the property was spot on very clean and well maintained i give my holiday 10 out of 10… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Diabolical Customer Service and Poor Quality Lets”

Written on: 25/09/2017 by Ingrampw414 (1 review written)

Avoid. Beware. This company - SYKES COTTAGES - is underhand, they lie, they are bullies, they are rude and ignorant. They do not even inspect the cottages they let. They do not care about health and safety. We stayed in a one bedroom flat with 2 children. It was described as "quirky"...obviously sales speak for cheap and nasty. Window handles were hanging off, furniture was dirty and sticky, bed was an extremely cheap metal one with cheap thin bedding - the sofa bed was dirty bedding… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Howe End Cottage”

Written on: 25/06/2017 by JaneBillington (1 review written)

Wonderful cottage a real gem. Very well equipped and so clean. A real credit to the owner. We found the owner to be very helpful and phoned to check all was ok.i would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a comfortable break in Kirkbymoorside… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Wonderful cottage”

Written on: 11/05/2017 by dbMcCallum384 (1 review written)

We have stayed in Chimney Cottage, Lingen, twice now and really feel at home there. It is a lovely, relaxing cottage in a beautiful part of the world, and we were made to feel very welcome. Would certainly recommend it to friends and family. It is certainly the best self-catering cottage we have stayed in. Cannot fault it!… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“quirky set in a delightful village”

Written on: 04/05/2017 by Lilianab452 (1 review written)

The Willows is set in a delightful village with lovely views & decent garden The holiday was for a family get together with six adults & three children eldist age five, there was ample room to accommodate us all with three large bedrooms two with both double & single beds ( youngest was in travel cot ).A good sized kitcheen diner . The Willows was ideal for young children as down stairs furnishing was far from precious . Possitives upstairs, Lovely spacious bedrooms with period furnishing &… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“hound dog”

Written on: 31/12/2016 by anitakeane (2 reviews written)

beatiful cottage nice location but certainly not pet freindly cream carpets white bed linen yes we have this at home but its different when its someone elses this was booked as xmas break only five days could not extend into new year but lived on knife edge for whole of five days in case dog got anything dirty thank god he is well behaved but this property should not be advertised as pet freindly plus you are woken at 3 every morning to the sound of a pack of dogs howling out the back every day… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Cottage owners avoid Sykes”

Written on: 20/06/2016 by JovanniTorres427 (1 review written)

We let Sykes market our holiday cottage during our first year of operation. We later realised that they have massively under-valued the property. They have failed to maximise revenue. The number of bookings has been good but that is because they are selling it SO cheap. For example, some weeks you can have our cottage for a week for the same price as a pair of tents in the local camp site! They charge a 39 pound booking fee which means that their commission including VAT is actually 33% of… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Robboh's Comment

Written on: 22/08/2016

I quite agree with this. Being new to the game and not knowing any better my wife and I used Sykes for our first year or so of operation but the tariffs they set were so low we were busy fools. I challenged them on many occasions but with no joy. One of their agents came out to visit the property while it was being refurbished and set the tariffs without coming out to visit the finished product. Yes they were successful in getting bookings but after they took their 20% + VAT commission we were only left an average of £47 per night for a house that sleeps up to eight. Because they were advertising it at such low rates we were hampered in advertising it directly on other sites. Since we left Sykes our average nightly tariff has increased threefold (less bookings but far more income!). It has taken us a while to get where we are as Sykes kept on advertising our property in direct competition with us on Trip Advisor for two years after we left them - at a much lower rate.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment

“Sharp Practice, AVOID!”

Written on: 31/03/2016 by Hickman346 (1 review written)

Firm top heavy and will take much from you. They operate a calendar system that will leave you open to be tricked by them as follows. They use "Sharp practice" and there is no leeway or dispensation: You must inform them when you have a booking not from Sykes. You suddenly receive a last minute Sykes booking on the dates you are full. You call them to say you are full. They say they will incur penalties and relocation charges. You say you told them you were booked, but if you cannot prove… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“totally agree with previous cottage owner ”

Written on: 03/07/2015 by jellybabies (1 review written)

When skyes get it wrong they get it very wrong and their claims of they never forget it is not their cottage is rubbish they make judgements and decisions about your property behind your back On glassdoor it appears they do not treat their staff any better. A great shame it could be a nice company… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bannservices's Response to jellybabies's Review

Written on: 28/10/2015

Unfortunately I let one of my properties through Hogans/Sykes. They impose low rental rates to increase their turnover and cream off 30% of what the holidaymaker actually pays. When you cancel the contract they high jack your property name any any google search of your property name will be directed to their website which will state that you are no longer renting and please look at the other properties they have on their books. I agree the ladies answering the phone are very nice but the owner/ business model is unethical.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment

“WARNING! Be careful of property description!”

Written on: 10/06/2015

The Isle of Wight property I rented ('Manana', Shanklin) was down a bumpy rutted track with a steep incline to the cottage. Whilst I was prepared to accept this, I was not impressed by the wrecked cars and other assorted junk littering the forecourt. The garage was unusable as it was full of broken kitchen fittings. The surroundings of the cottage were unswept and littered with broken garden furniture, an old and decrepit greenhouse and generally unkempt appearance - not exactly the welcome I… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Recommend only to people you hate!”

Written on: 07/05/2015 by Maldonadoko494 (1 review written)

You arrange a holiday cottage with them, then after you have paid they cancel. They do offer a replacement but nothing like the original. So you can either: * cancel, losing your holiday * pay a premium to "upgrade" * take the rubbish replacement they offer that just happens to be the same cost as your original accommodation but I suspect costs them half as much or earns them three times the commission! So in conclusion, recommend them to people you hate and watch them suffer… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“poor customer service ”

Written on: 28/04/2015

we had confusion over a booking date and basically had to leave a day early. The customer service was appalling. The woman on the phone made us feel stupid. I would never use them again… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Don't trust them - don't use them!”

Written on: 25/04/2015 by Myrickui112 (1 review written)

Booked a cottage 6 months in advance. Fully paid for it, only to be told 6 weeks before that it was "unavailable". Do be fair we were offered a couple of other places, but these were totally unsuitable, nowhere near the booked location and definitely bottom end of the market. I was left with concert tickets I couldn't use or sell, fully paid trains tickets and no where to stay! My recommendation - don't rely on, book a hotel instead… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Tried to charge double rent”

Written on: 16/10/2014 by CayleeKeegan (1 review written)

We have been trying to book a holiday house in the UK with Sykes from Australia. Our time is limited and dates fixed. The property we wanted was not available for the Fri-Sat of the week we wanted but available from the Monday. which was fine for us. So we requested 7 days Monday to Monday. The weekly price for this house is 1717. This is what they tried to charge us for 7 days and their reason "The price for Monday 22nd to Monday 29th June is: Rent: £3335.00 Booking fee: £35.00 Total cost… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wendyclink's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2014

How much did you pay? You said they tried to charge double

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tlcbd16's Comment

Written on: 28/01/2015

This is a standard policy.. why would the property owner be happy to lose a week revenue because you wanted to stay outside of their standard changeover?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments

“yr efial, harlech north wales”

Written on: 15/10/2014 by renatemaree (1 review written)

i stayed here with my family for a week in August. the house is lovely and well equipped and quite quirky. there are beautiful views of snowdonia and the beach from the back bedroom . We sat out in the evening and watched the sun setting in the distance. Beautiful. we found it was an ideal for a holiday, with plenty of easy walking only a short drive away, the beach was ideal for an evening stroll and my husband was happy because he manged to play two rounds of golf at St. david's golf club. We… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“SYKES COTTAGES SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN”

Written on: 25/09/2014 by FlackR (1 review written)

We've stayed in two of their properties. The first one was dirty and in a dangerous condition - water leaking from a bath onto electrics, the ceiling under the bath actually sagging. We reported the problems and then went back the following year as it was large enough for our family and in a good location. Nothing fixed - in fact worse - an upstairs window frame was falling out and the highchair collapsed on a 1 year old baby. We reported back and all I got was a response saying they were… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview
View holidays on Expedia