Stewart Milne Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6
14.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Stewart Milne - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Broughton Park”

★★★★★

written by Paolo56 on 04/04/2023

We bought a five bed Kingsmoor 11 in September. Although we had some snags, only to be expected with a new build, we've found the Customer Support team very supportive in dealing with the issues we've raised.The site team have also played their part in making our house purchase a pleasurable experience. Reading some of the older reviews posted, we may have thought twice about buying from this builder but they are far more responsive to our requests than the new build we bought previously.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Premium Service Without the Premium Price”

★★★★★

written by harrysmith2514 on 17/11/2022

The information provided was factual and straightforward. the agent referred was friendly and professional and did an outstanding job.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Just bought our first home and worst mistake ever!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Haydzer on 10/11/2022

My husband and I bought our first home and had nothing but issues form the get go! Followed protocol and spoke to sales advisor then the site manager to be told stewart milne hasn’t paid their bill so we weren’t getting the new external door that needed to be replaced and the shelves for our walk in wardrobe and our toilets were squint ceiling dipping and taping not done! outdoor the walls and brickwork poorly done and spacing vents not even in walls correctly,the list goes,i had needed up in hospital with the stress and currently still going through these issues and stress! Worst mistake of my life

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Really poor experience from the start”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Wilson1977 on 06/05/2022

Absolute joke of a company, we’ve had nothing but issues with the poor workmanship of the property. We’ve bought a house in East Linton on the “orchard estate” garden wasn’t finished when we moved in and took several months to rectify, taps plumbed wrongly, leaking radiators in all rooms, boundaries not to plan (which where shown at meetings and plans submitted to council) and are also on website plan, poor finish on internals, electrics connected wrongly, the list is endless. We’re still waiting on snagging 11 months after pointing some of these out. Emails are often ignored and we’re currently sending at least 1 email every week chasing them up with no response for several weeks. I would not recommend Stewart Milne and every person I have spoken to on the estate has had a similar experience if not worse. Ridiculous way to treat your customers, but I don’t think they care once they’ve got your money. I wish I had read all of the reviews beforehand, as this would have made us look elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Don't buy a new build from Stuart Milne !!!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Paulgemma1234 on 21/04/2022

Palladian Gardens Hooton. Stewart Milne Homes. Do not buy a Stuart Milne home. They say they use the best materials available, they do not everything is made from MDF including the door frames. Plastering is terrible. They used a different brick to patch all the penetration holes around waste pipes and flues. My garage mortar is pink and the mortar on the house is grey. I'm a joiner and there is not a square wall, the stair case and newl posts are all out of plumb 23mm. I have doors that close on there own because the walls are 25mm out of plumb which means the frames are the same. Over 152 snags and it could have been much more.c My drive is sinking in places and the man holes on the drive have sanck on one side. I have a gable Wall that curves inwards that is over 25mm out. I've had customer service out for Stuart Milne and they can't believe it's not been put right after 1 year same with the drive. Problem after problem. The stress is not worth the money of a new build. All of the snag work is in your time and the days you take off work you end up paying more the the house. It's a disgrace. Some of the excuses they come up with why things are not right is a joke. I had to tell them to stop with the bull $#//+. Please don't think it's just a one off every one on the east have the same problem some worse than others.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Poor workmanship, rushed handover and unfinished business”

★★☆☆☆

written by tmVargas477 on 07/02/2021

Nice looking homes at Gadloch Green in what many feel a terrific location. A great community spirit has developed over 4 years, but so has the negative feedback for Stewart Milne homes and it's service! It seems Customer Services unable to keep up with the demand for snagging, poor garden drainage, unfinished ground works and as yet an unfinished development Jan 2021 since 2016... Surrounding developments, larger in some cases started and finished in a period shorter than that of Stewart Milnes 50 home showcase! It wouldn't take much for this property developer to shape up, square up the area, but unfortunately they continue to drag there heels! Covid has played it's part in a 1 year delay, but another year could have been spent squaring up the area after the last house built! Nice homes...held back by poor sub contracted resource and services. Still, it'll be sought after housing in a great location!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Snagging ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 132Ballard on 29/01/2021

Wrea Brook Park Development, we pushed into completing on our investment property in March 20 just before COVID and before the house had been fully completed, we requested we snagged the property prior to completion and was told this is not the process and complete as agreed. Got keys and went through snagging on site with sales guy would had been great upto us taking ownership from that point on he didn’t want to know or help. Snagging list had to be done in writing and sent to them to review - 3 weeks later we heard nothing more. COVID happened and site was shut down till May, we pushed snagging again in May and got the run around till August, leaking patio doors into bedroom, walls not even painted, undercoat only on wood work, carpets and vinyl included in deal fitted appallingly in some room, bathroom furniture not fitting correctly, garden fence with a massive lean to one side. The first four weeks of ownership we couldn’t get on the drive as they had barrier over the drive due to unfinished works, security fencing had been put up over our driveway which meant we couldn’t drive on/off drive for months. Property is tenanted at the moment and tenants always reporting problems like leaking dishwasher which has not been plumbed in property, patio door in bedroom still leaking 10 months after originally reporting. Tenants, letting agents and ourselves just get run around from customer services, site and sales when reporting faults. Would never buy a new build from these clowns again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Over promise and under deliver”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Allens409 on 29/10/2020

I would never recommend Stewart Milne to anyone. As with the other reviews your are promised a great service from sale to completion and this is simply not the case. our problems started with putting a deposit on a plot which they had already taken a deposit on the previous week and not updated their site map....this should have been a warning of things to come. Once you have moved in you will be left with lack of communication and delay after delay when it comes to sorting issues. Our 28 snagging list still has outstanding issues and have been in over a year. Lack of care and respect shown by the site managers and staff. They really should remember the customer pays their wages. Their new moto should be "House for the discerning buyer who does not look to hard". Its been an eyeopener to watch the rest of the development go up and the lack of attention to detail and care taken. From expansion gaps stopping two thirds of the way up a wall to contractors hacking and slashing sections out of foundational walls with the stihl saw to run pipe work rather than getting the dimensions right first time. Seems this is the cases with all builder as they use contractors and they just wanted to get the job done and onto the next regardless of the level of workmanship.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Apalling Customer Service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Moserpa443 on 18/03/2020

The level of customer service since moving in has been appalling, we have spent 9 months chasing builders around trying to get some basic snags resolved. Lack of customer service and respect from the construction management team. Constantly told what I wanted to hear but nobody stepped up and took ownership. I have been told the head of customer services has been in meetings for 9 months.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Stewart Milnes Poor workmanship”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Polcal3 on 07/03/2020

Brackenhill Park Development : Moved in to the property on 31/01/20 , during the visiting process and walk through the day before identified issues re the property, a continuous tapping from the extractor unit in the kitchen and a missing mirror in the bathroom, these were highlighted to site manager at the time, moved in on the date above and mirror was fitted however had a lovely silicone/ glue feature above it spread the width of the wall and my continuing tapping noise, thereafter identified a lengthy list of snagging issues, ill fitting doors, damage to kitchen flooring, faulty heating, damage to sinks, sagging mono blocked driveway, wrongly designed bathroom, flooding outside property, garden both front and rear like a swamp, a gaping hole at the rear of the toilet with pipe poked through, constantly complained re issues and some where repaired, kitchen extractor fan was leaking water 2 days after moving in over cooker , and had the constant tapping noise from it, problem was identified however was told on 3 separate occasions it had been resolved, when the problem was in fact worse, eventually had to email head of customer services which resolved the issue 37 DAYS after the problem was identified, Whole experience of buying from Stewart Milne has been tainted with their workmanship and finishing nothing short of completely shocking and disgraceful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“If you want to buy 2 years of problems go with Stewart...”

★★☆☆☆

written by Fraser122 on 04/01/2020

We purchased a house at the gadloch green development and have had nothing but problems from day 1. We suffered from a major gas leak (pipe not connected to cooker), shower/bath/shower screen leaking water badly for months before fixed. Your "7 day" snagging list you will be asked to do will be completed 2 years later and site managers do not help at all and offering fights to several customers. AVOID!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Abysmal!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 12/06/2019

Moved into Countesswells Park Road in December 2017. Unfortunately still there as of June 2019. I say unfortunately, because the services are abysmal. No signs of bus services, shops or anything useful. They make you pay lots for the houses even though they are rubbish. Let's see what has happened since I have moved in... * I have been locked in the toilet for over an hour due to the poorly produced locks. * The living room/kitchen doors have been jammed. * The back garden doors have been jammed. * The curtain hangers for the kitchen have broken off. * My room has been freezing since the window does not shut properly. DO NOT MOVE INTO MY AREA! I am extremely dissatisfied, and the ONLY reason why I am still here is because I can't afford to move out! The internet and the fact that there are 2 bathrooms are literally the only things I like about the house, so when the internet breaks down, the place is a total mess!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kbradders's Comment

Written on: 11/11/2019

Stewart Milne Homes Victims Group on facebook please join to highlight issues home owners have when buying from this company.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Aftercare Is Shocking!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kathyshents on 17/01/2019

My main area of concern is the aftercare experienced with the snagging aspect. I have to say that I have never received such bad customer service from a company. I constantly had to chase for updates and received no response. Snagging issues logged in November and still not sorted. I have aired my views on the service and received no apology whatsoever. Even management didn't call me back as requested to air my views. I wouldn't mind if an apology was received or an explanation but my emails were just ignored. One of my issues is my door which twice wouldn't shut and has a gap- resembles something Stevie Wonder has completed. I have made an appointment myself for this despite it being with SM for over 2 months. Absolutley shocking.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“A DREADFUL EXPERIENCE - NEVER AGAIN”

★☆☆☆☆

written by alStewart151 on 07/10/2017

You'll be promised the Earth by this company, but when your cash is in their account, you'll soon realise it was ALL just sales patter. Our issues are more about the appalling customer service, rather than build quality - although quality and finish are far from perfect! Our 'luxury' home is kitted out with what I believe to be the cheapest trade range fittings you can possibly buy. If you have any major snagging issues then the onus is on you to prove the defect/mistake is not compliant with building regulations - this takes months/years to sort out - they'll try to wear you down by ignoring you/and or not turning up when agreed. My advice to you? Scenario 1: If you're reading this as a prospective Stewart Milne customer then walk away now - even if you've paid a deposit. Its not worth the heart ache. Scenario 2: They've got your money... it time to get everything discussed in writing - you'll need this when they continually change site managers and every single discussion has disappeared in to the ether... In my particular case the emails have been handy when instructing my solicitor to force Stewart Milne in to action. You have been warned :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 1

“Very very disappointed, ne shocked”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 390Crouch on 26/04/2017

Moved in 3 years ago. They failed to pick up on most of our concerns. What snagging they dealt with was done very poorly and major faults were never resolved. We have a gap in the patio door you could drive a bus through - a security and heating issue. They also erected affordable housing (effectively turning the so-called premium development into an extension of the nearby council estate). In this so-called experiment in sociable living we have to deal with unacceptable noise levels at night and weekends. Parking is a joke with people regularly parking on plots which belong to our property. The avenue the house is situated on is also very narrow making passing very difficult if cars are parked. Overall essentially regretting the purchase and wishing we hadn't fallen for the seductive sales patter. Would never recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Choose another builder!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by qxEdwards370 on 12/03/2017

I started a part exchange process with Stewart Milne in July 2016.. The house that I was part exchanging with was in my mums name but I was renting from her. The process seemed to relatively smoothly, that is until after moving in! As a first time buyer I trusted everything the sales advisor told me, and believed that I was given all the information I needed to know.. As well as trusting the Mortgage Advisor they recommended - Aberdeen Mortgage Company. There were a few issues when I moved in with regards to snagging.. which right enough they did get sorted out fairly quickly while I was out at work. My main point of concern was brought up about a month ago - 5 months after moving in at the start of September 2016. Turns out that there were actually factoring fee's on my property.. I was initially told that as part of factoring I'd get my front lawn cut. I was under the impression this factoring cost was included in the house cost, but in fact they were actually an extra monthly cost! So 5 months after moving in I received a letter from a property company saying that I was owe them money, back dating to September 2016... I asked them about this and they'd said that Stewart Milne had only just advised them I'd moved into the property!! I was, and still am appalled at the fact it's taken so long for them to be told by SMH. I would have taken it on the chin if it was a month after moving in, however 5 months down the line and i'm being harassed for money dating to when I first moved in. Stewart Milne Customer Services team are the worst at replying, and clearly have no care in the world for their customers once they've resided into the property! I made my initial complaint on 19th February, and after waiting and waiting for the Sales Manager to call/email me I finally spoke to her on Thursday 9th March!! It was the most pointless call ever as she's not even apologised or gone through most of the issues raised in my complaint! I was told Sales team were aware of my complaint on 21st February, and the sales manager would be in touch - 22nd February i got an email to say that actually they weren't aware as the sales manager was on holding so she'd be in touch the week commencing 27th February when she returned to the office. 1st March - still not heard anything so I emailed them... 3rd March still not heard so again I emailed. Then I finally got an email back from the lousy sales manager who said she'd phone me on Monday. Monday came and went - no call, voicemail or email so I emailed her back at the back of 9pm. That's when she finally got in touch on Thuesday 9th March. Do not trust a word this company say to you! Save a little extra money and buy with Persimmon Homes or Barrat Homes!! Much better quality and i'm pretty damn sure that the service will be of a much higher standard too!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Crtmmc's Comment

Written on: 03/08/2017

The sales office should have told you about these costs but surely your own solicitor advised you about the factoring fees. Your solicitor is paid to advise you on the terms of the contract you are entering into and this must have been included in your legal obligations.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Angry1Stbuyer's Comment

Written on: 03/08/2017

Thanks for your comment.

Unfortunately for me neither the sales office nor the solicitor brought this up with me, and I had no clue (neither did my mum who was overseeing everything as it was the first time me buying a house) until I received the paperwork through the door saying I was due the Property company money for factoring.

The girl who'd actually sold me the house also no longer worked for them by the time I found out about everything and they made it obvious they basically didn't believe me!

To cut things 'short' myself, and my mum who was officially doing the part exchange as it was her property we were swapping had MULTIPLE issues with the solicitor too whereas they advised on numerous occasions she was due a refund of around £3k, when we questioned it thinking she was due nothing they insisted and refunded her. About a month or 2 later they came back and said that was a mistake and wanted the money back instantly, which wasn't feasible as she'd been kind enough to pay for many household essentials like kitchen White goods and beds.

I guess I have no luck eh?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Djross21's Comment

Written on: 13/10/2017

We also stay in a SM home, but we had a very efficient and professional sales person, surprisingly - I think we signed a contract/other document to demonstrate our awareness of the monthly fee.

I would ask a lawyer (a different one to he/she who didn't advise you in the first place) what paperwork should have been in place. You might have a case to raise a complaint.

Your comment on better quality and service from Persimmon or Barratt...I'm not so sure about that. Join the 'unhappy new home buyers' facebook group to see why I say that :)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Angry1Stbuyer's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2017

I'm pleased to hear that they're not totally unreliable to all customers! Definitely nothing given to me to sign on the factoring side of things.. I went through all of the paper I've got multiple times and there is nothing at all about factor fees. I was also told there should have been a booklet about it in my box with warranties etc. But nothing there either.

Unfortunately seeking advice from a lawyer or another solicitor just isn't feasible for me due to cost, and no guarantee it would be beneficial at all.

I've always heard good things about both builders so I'm surprised to hear that. I'll maybe have a look on that Facebook page! Thanks for mentioning!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Angry1Stbuyer's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2017

I'm pleased to hear that they're not totally unreliable to all customers! Definitely nothing given to me to sign on the factoring side of things.. I went through all of the paper I've got multiple times and there is nothing at all about factor fees. I was also told there should have been a booklet about it in my box with warranties etc. But nothing there either.

Unfortunately seeking advice from a lawyer or another solicitor just isn't feasible for me due to cost, and no guarantee it would be beneficial at all.

I've always heard good things about both builders so I'm surprised to hear that. I'll maybe have a look on that Facebook page! Thanks for mentioning!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Think very carefully”

★☆☆☆☆

written by joWright344 on 17/06/2016

Tread carefully before you buy a home from these people. They promise the earth and almost always fail to deliver. Brilliant brilliant storytellers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Love the house. 7 months in no problems.”

★★★★★

written by MacMillan267 on 21/02/2016

We have had no problems with our new build. Build quality has been good, no major snags. The ones we highlighted were fixed, a couple took about 6 weeks until a workman could make it but as they were just cosmetic we weren't in a rush. Customer service were always helpful. We part exchanged and found it stress free and we were happy with the deal. I'd read some of these reviews before buying and it did nearly put me off but had to go on our experience and what we saw onsite, glad we went for it. Sorry to hear some have had a rubbish experience but we would recommend to a friend. (Our house was completed prior to buying, so we were able to look round it prior to purchase)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Stewart Milone Homes - Arbroath”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 09/05/2015

All went well with purchase, after 28 days the snagging really started to hit and lengthen, so did the time for customer services to attempt to arrange workmen to attend, constantly chasing for the extensive list of things to be sorted, more major then minor, poor workmanship, poor quality, awful plumbing, dangerous electrics, gardens a swamp, and now neighbours and ourselves are to be decanted due to the entire ground floors being damp, 18 months old! next step they should buy the house back, knock them down and get a proper builder to rebuild them!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“8 years here and still suffering”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Long421 on 31/01/2015

We bought a Stuart Milne home in Kirkcaldy,our first new build....never again. Terrible customer service from beginning to end and as the years go by more and more things crop up.The garden was built on top of an area that they used for heay machinery so compacted there is no drainage,the front lawn was laid 4 times on top of bricks,the monoblock driveway for our cul de sac was laid 6 times incorrectly and sags,our window and doors let in cold air,patio doors let in water,when we first moved in the patio doors were reported as huge gap and you could see daylight through the gaps,took 6 months for the joiner to secure them so we couldnt get broken into and another 2 after that to fix,had the front and back doors replaced as they turned yellow,they claimed it was because of direct sunlight,they are north facing. And finally,had to replace the shower and demolish the wall as it had not been fitted correctly and the water was running through the walls,I cannot even tell you the horrors our neighbours faced,whole exterior walls demolished,extractor fan crashed down and knocked out one man,blacony came away from then outside wal and fell into garden. Do not buy from this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview