Stewart Milne Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
9% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Stewart Milne - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Poor workmanship, rushed handover and unfinished business”

Written on: 07/02/2021 by tmVargas477 (1 review written)

Nice looking homes at Gadloch Green in what many feel a terrific location. A great community spirit has developed over 4 years, but so has the negative feedback for Stewart Milne homes and it's service! It seems Customer Services unable to keep up with the demand for snagging, poor garden drainage, unfinished ground works and as yet an unfinished development Jan 2021 since 2016... Surrounding developments, larger in some cases started and finished in a period shorter than that of Stewart… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Snagging ”

Written on: 29/01/2021 by 132Ballard (1 review written)

Wrea Brook Park Development, we pushed into completing on our investment property in March 20 just before COVID and before the house had been fully completed, we requested we snagged the property prior to completion and was told this is not the process and complete as agreed. Got keys and went through snagging on site with sales guy would had been great upto us taking ownership from that point on he didn’t want to know or help. Snagging list had to be done in writing and sent to them to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Over promise and under deliver”

Written on: 29/10/2020 by Allens409 (1 review written)

I would never recommend Stewart Milne to anyone. As with the other reviews your are promised a great service from sale to completion and this is simply not the case. our problems started with putting a deposit on a plot which they had already taken a deposit on the previous week and not updated their site map....this should have been a warning of things to come. Once you have moved in you will be left with lack of communication and delay after delay when it comes to sorting issues. Our 28… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Apalling Customer Service ”

Written on: 18/03/2020 by Moserpa443 (1 review written)

The level of customer service since moving in has been appalling, we have spent 9 months chasing builders around trying to get some basic snags resolved. Lack of customer service and respect from the construction management team. Constantly told what I wanted to hear but nobody stepped up and took ownership. I have been told the head of customer services has been in meetings for 9 months. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stewart Milnes Poor workmanship”

Written on: 07/03/2020 by Polcal3 (1 review written)

Brackenhill Park Development : Moved in to the property on 31/01/20 , during the visiting process and walk through the day before identified issues re the property, a continuous tapping from the extractor unit in the kitchen and a missing mirror in the bathroom, these were highlighted to site manager at the time, moved in on the date above and mirror was fitted however had a lovely silicone/ glue feature above it spread the width of the wall and my continuing tapping noise, thereafter… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“If you want to buy 2 years of problems go with Stewart...”

Written on: 04/01/2020 by Fraser122 (1 review written)

We purchased a house at the gadloch green development and have had nothing but problems from day 1. We suffered from a major gas leak (pipe not connected to cooker), shower/bath/shower screen leaking water badly for months before fixed. Your "7 day" snagging list you will be asked to do will be completed 2 years later and site managers do not help at all and offering fights to several customers. AVOID!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Abysmal!”

Written on: 12/06/2019

Moved into Countesswells Park Road in December 2017. Unfortunately still there as of June 2019. I say unfortunately, because the services are abysmal. No signs of bus services, shops or anything useful. They make you pay lots for the houses even though they are rubbish. Let's see what has happened since I have moved in... * I have been locked in the toilet for over an hour due to the poorly produced locks. * The living room/kitchen doors have been jammed. * The back garden doors have been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kbradders's Comment

Written on: 11/11/2019

Stewart Milne Homes Victims Group on facebook please join to highlight issues home owners have when buying from this company.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Aftercare Is Shocking!”

Written on: 17/01/2019 by Kathyshents (1 review written)

My main area of concern is the aftercare experienced with the snagging aspect. I have to say that I have never received such bad customer service from a company. I constantly had to chase for updates and received no response. Snagging issues logged in November and still not sorted. I have aired my views on the service and received no apology whatsoever. Even management didn't call me back as requested to air my views. I wouldn't mind if an apology was received or an explanation but my emails… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“A DREADFUL EXPERIENCE - NEVER AGAIN”

Written on: 07/10/2017 by alStewart151 (1 review written)

You'll be promised the Earth by this company, but when your cash is in their account, you'll soon realise it was ALL just sales patter. Our issues are more about the appalling customer service, rather than build quality - although quality and finish are far from perfect! Our 'luxury' home is kitted out with what I believe to be the cheapest trade range fittings you can possibly buy. If you have any major snagging issues then the onus is on you to prove the defect/mistake is not compliant… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Very very disappointed, ne shocked”

Written on: 26/04/2017 by 390Crouch (1 review written)

Moved in 3 years ago. They failed to pick up on most of our concerns. What snagging they dealt with was done very poorly and major faults were never resolved. We have a gap in the patio door you could drive a bus through - a security and heating issue. They also erected affordable housing (effectively turning the so-called premium development into an extension of the nearby council estate). In this so-called experiment in sociable living we have to deal with unacceptable noise levels at night… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Choose another builder!”

Written on: 12/03/2017 by qxEdwards370 (1 review written)

I started a part exchange process with Stewart Milne in July 2016.. The house that I was part exchanging with was in my mums name but I was renting from her. The process seemed to relatively smoothly, that is until after moving in! As a first time buyer I trusted everything the sales advisor told me, and believed that I was given all the information I needed to know.. As well as trusting the Mortgage Advisor they recommended - Aberdeen Mortgage Company. There were a few issues when I moved in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Crtmmc's Comment

Written on: 03/08/2017

The sales office should have told you about these costs but surely your own solicitor advised you about the factoring fees. Your solicitor is paid to advise you on the terms of the contract you are entering into and this must have been included in your legal obligations.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Angry1Stbuyer's Comment

Written on: 03/08/2017

Thanks for your comment.

Unfortunately for me neither the sales office nor the solicitor brought this up with me, and I had no clue (neither did my mum who was overseeing everything as it was the first time me buying a house) until I received the paperwork through the door saying I was due the Property company money for factoring.

The girl who'd actually sold me the house also no longer worked for them by the time I found out about everything and they made it obvious they basically didn't believe me!

To cut things 'short' myself, and my mum who was officially doing the part exchange as it was her property we were swapping had MULTIPLE issues with the solicitor too whereas they advised on numerous occasions she was due a refund of around £3k, when we questioned it thinking she was due nothing they insisted and refunded her. About a month or 2 later they came back and said that was a mistake and wanted the money back instantly, which wasn't feasible as she'd been kind enough to pay for many household essentials like kitchen White goods and beds.

I guess I have no luck eh?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Djross21's Comment

Written on: 13/10/2017

We also stay in a SM home, but we had a very efficient and professional sales person, surprisingly - I think we signed a contract/other document to demonstrate our awareness of the monthly fee.

I would ask a lawyer (a different one to he/she who didn't advise you in the first place) what paperwork should have been in place. You might have a case to raise a complaint.

Your comment on better quality and service from Persimmon or Barratt...I'm not so sure about that. Join the 'unhappy new home buyers' facebook group to see why I say that :)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Angry1Stbuyer's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2017

I'm pleased to hear that they're not totally unreliable to all customers! Definitely nothing given to me to sign on the factoring side of things.. I went through all of the paper I've got multiple times and there is nothing at all about factor fees. I was also told there should have been a booklet about it in my box with warranties etc. But nothing there either.

Unfortunately seeking advice from a lawyer or another solicitor just isn't feasible for me due to cost, and no guarantee it would be beneficial at all.

I've always heard good things about both builders so I'm surprised to hear that. I'll maybe have a look on that Facebook page! Thanks for mentioning!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Angry1Stbuyer's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2017

I'm pleased to hear that they're not totally unreliable to all customers! Definitely nothing given to me to sign on the factoring side of things.. I went through all of the paper I've got multiple times and there is nothing at all about factor fees. I was also told there should have been a booklet about it in my box with warranties etc. But nothing there either.

Unfortunately seeking advice from a lawyer or another solicitor just isn't feasible for me due to cost, and no guarantee it would be beneficial at all.

I've always heard good things about both builders so I'm surprised to hear that. I'll maybe have a look on that Facebook page! Thanks for mentioning!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 5 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Think very carefully”

Written on: 17/06/2016 by joWright344 (1 review written)

Tread carefully before you buy a home from these people. They promise the earth and almost always fail to deliver. Brilliant brilliant storytellers… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Love the house. 7 months in no problems.”

Written on: 21/02/2016 by MacMillan267 (1 review written)

We have had no problems with our new build. Build quality has been good, no major snags. The ones we highlighted were fixed, a couple took about 6 weeks until a workman could make it but as they were just cosmetic we weren't in a rush. Customer service were always helpful. We part exchanged and found it stress free and we were happy with the deal. I'd read some of these reviews before buying and it did nearly put me off but had to go on our experience and what we saw onsite, glad we went… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stewart Milone Homes - Arbroath”

Written on: 09/05/2015

All went well with purchase, after 28 days the snagging really started to hit and lengthen, so did the time for customer services to attempt to arrange workmen to attend, constantly chasing for the extensive list of things to be sorted, more major then minor, poor workmanship, poor quality, awful plumbing, dangerous electrics, gardens a swamp, and now neighbours and ourselves are to be decanted due to the entire ground floors being damp, 18 months old! next step they should buy the house back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“8 years here and still suffering”

Written on: 31/01/2015 by Long421 (1 review written)

We bought a Stuart Milne home in Kirkcaldy,our first new build....never again. Terrible customer service from beginning to end and as the years go by more and more things crop up.The garden was built on top of an area that they used for heay machinery so compacted there is no drainage,the front lawn was laid 4 times on top of bricks,the monoblock driveway for our cul de sac was laid 6 times incorrectly and sags,our window and doors let in cold air,patio doors let in water,when we first moved in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid Stewart Milne”

Written on: 18/12/2014 by BDevlin (1 review written)

The sales process was flawless, then we moved in and had the nightmare of their after sales service, a snagging list like a BT phone book ( I'm now fixing the issues myself ) builders who are still on the development damaging what is now "my" property and being flooded in to the bargain, Stewart Milne have washed their hands of any responsibility for my flood so here I am a week before christmas £500 worse off after replacing my carpet and flooring. Yet again I have been in contact with their… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“POOR WORKMANSHIP AND TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Written on: 11/09/2014 by AnneFitzsimmons (1 review written)

So relieved that we are not alone in our experience of poor workmanship and unprofessional customer service (especially more senior management) from Stewart Milne. 28 months in our house, having had a shower leak 15 times and Stewart Milne not able to fix it. They have now decided that they will no longer try to resolve the problem and have stated that we must now take this up with NHBC! Have also had the audacity to use the phrase "normal showering conditions", thus trying to lay the blame… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We have recently bought a new home at the Lairdsgate...”

Written on: 04/05/2014 by DarionQuinlan (1 review written)

We have recently bought a new home at the Lairdsgate development in Stewarton. We have had a pretty awful experience, house not looking like pictures in brochure, not built on time and many other issues. Customer service is non existant. Very poor show from reputedly one of our better builders.I work in a large manufacturing company and if we gave a client anything other than what was promised we would have let them down and ourselves… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant house, brilliant service”

Written on: 31/03/2014

Been in my new Stewart Milne Home for 6 weeks now. The house is fabulous. The service has been brilliant. I had no snagging items when I moved in and the few wee issues caused by settlement have been dealt with really quickly and efficiently. The company keep in touch after you move in and our site manager is always checking that we are happy with everything. The sales process was also very smooth and cannot be faulted. The house itself is very well designed and have a lovely big… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Graeme1984's Comment

Written on: 07/05/2015

Thank you Mr Milne....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Never Buy A Stewart Milne Home”

Written on: 10/01/2014 by Anon123456789123456789 (1 review written)

Kitchens that you can't have more than 10 people in or it'll cause structural damage Attics that you can't store more than a Christmas tree in, or the roof will collapse Gardens that have just had turf laid over builders rubble and cause sink holes. The poorest build quality imaginable. No soundproofing Incompetent staff Overpriced… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview