Fowlers Motorcycles, Bristol Reviews

★★☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
16% of users recommend this
  • How wide is the range of bikes available?

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Fowlers Motorcycles, Bristol - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Fowlers Motorcycles, Bristol

Fowlers Motorcycles, Bristol

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Fantastic sales experience Triumph tiger 800 XRt”

Written on: 01/01/2021 by andytriumph800XRt (1 review written)

I bought a triumph 800 XRt from Fowlers Motorcycles in Bristol just before Christmas. I dealt with a salesman in the Triumph department. I found him to have a nice relaxed approach yet does not lose focus on the sale or the customer experience. During the sales process he had to call me back many times to confirm details and paperwork which is normal in any sales process. The times he said he would call me he did. He also made every extra effort to get the bike ready for courier collection on… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful aftersales”

Written on: 16/12/2020 by wtMcWilliams470 (1 review written)

Awful after sales service from jobs not done correctly. I would avoid using this place at all costs! Incompetent service manager doesn’t help . Management need to stop trying to protect him and get someone that knows the business and how to look after customers so they return ! Talk to your own staff, as many agree and have told me their thoughts so if a customer knows then surely senior management know !! Terrible and dangerous work done to our bike. Avoid !… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Used bikes standards ”

Written on: 06/08/2018 by Lukaq428 (1 review written)

I purchased a 1 year old KTM 1290 x staff Bike.after only a couple of rides I decided to change oil even though it said 4 k I until service. It was like tar more like it came out of a Diesel engine. Pads on rear are shot. Tire had about two hundred miles left on it and rear disc well rusty and worn. Fowlers not interested and to be fair I should not have brought it. However I thought it would be sound given big company etc etc. Took me 3 months to get petrol cap changed and I am still waiting… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT DEAL”

Written on: 03/03/2018 by Millsiv366 (1 review written)

I had the sad misfortune to have to deal with someone from this company. Absolutely not a clue about customer service in fact down right rude! Doesn’t call you back, does nothing about your enquiry and everything was a hassle to him. I went somewhere else with my money and nothing was to much hassle. I was even huffed at on the phone by The staff.. Idiot put me on hold (so he thought) and spoke with another member of staff who said just tell them to f off. Take your money else where… Read Full Review

Lt04's Comment

Written on: 08/03/2018

I wish I'd read this review before sending my bike to Fowlers.

The service department don't seem to communicate with each other, I had a phone call to say my bike is ready to collect, and when I went to collect it they said they were still working on it and didn't know why I had received the phone call.

Where do you send your bike now?, I'd love to know as I'm definitely not using them again, they are totally useless.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Total lack of customer service !!”

Written on: 07/03/2017 by Bristolbrad4 (1 review written)

After buying a brand new motor cycle at the end of 2015 I was disappointed on collection to have found three points of damage to the supposedly brand new bike. After being promised it would be fully dealt with I did drive my bike away that day. Only one matter was ever resolved despite phone calls and calling into the garage to try and follow up! The short story if you are daft enough to buy a bike from this garage is do not take it away unless you are 100 percent happy with it. After you… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor servicing”

Written on: 16/02/2017 by JasperGunn148 (1 review written)

Bought my lovely Tiger sport here. This went fairly well, except the panniers weren't assembled properly (had to fix them myself in the end as Fowl-up failed to), and a bar end fell off after a couple of hundred miles (obviously not tightened when they installed the heated grips). Oh, and the screen was scratched (I didn't notice this at first, so let it go). First service went smoothly, apart from a missing rubber tank spacer (was there when I took it in). Failers eventually replaced it (after… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude parts service”

Written on: 27/01/2017 by Salma310 (1 review written)

Phoned on 25/01/17 to enquire about a complete rear wheel for my Guzzi Stelvio and unbelievably the first thing to come out of the young lads mouth in the parts department after my request was a lecture that I shouldn't be using a hands free Bluetooth phone whilst driving. The bare faced cheek of it! Perfectly legal and none of his business. I hung up immediately. Needless to say I will never use or recommend this shop again whilst it employs arrogant and presumptuous staff… Read Full Review

Saragubb's Comment

Written on: 14/03/2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review relating to your recent experience. To ensure the correct parts information is provided for any bike, Fowlers staff will request a full VIN number, which is usually a 17-digit number. Because this company has a duty of care to its callers, we need to have due regard to the safety of both the callers and other road users. With the length of the VIN number, if we were to ask the caller to read this out over the phone when driving or riding, it would mean taking his/her eyes off the road for an unacceptable period of time. Furthermore, should the call continue to the point of purchase, the caller would be required to supply the 16-digit number from their payment card. For reasons of safety, therefore, Fowlers has adopted a policy of requesting anyone driving to call back at a time when they are no longer in transit, even when using a legal blue tooth device. If, however, you found the manner in which this policy was explained to be arrogant, we would like to extend our sincere apologies to you. Please be assured this policy is based purely upon health and safety concerns.

Reply to this comment

Guzzistelvio's Comment

Written on: 14/03/2017

Really?....My problem is with the arrogant, rude, presumptuous staff and you pull the safety speech on me.

For the record, i know the exact part number I want because i have been trying to source it for some time and so have no need for VIN numbers and if by some miracle you had it in stock I would have paid for it there and then as I was almost home. What I won't tolerate is someone representing a company on the end of the phone dicatating what I should or should not be doing as they see fit.

Read the reviews, not a great place to shop is it...

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Parts delivery unreliable ”

Written on: 10/09/2016 by Genesis777jim (1 review written)

Shabby cheap mail delivery. No parts refunded due to break of contractors. If you are trade go elsewhere… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very dissapointing. Almost worse off”

Written on: 23/08/2016 by MelinaTemple (1 review written)

My bike was a little over due a service and had been damaged, booked in for service and repairs, took over a week to sort out. Collected bike I thought all was well, my clutch cable had been frayed, no idea how as it was'nt like this when I had taken it in, yet on the service tick off form it says all ok, clearly not. Had rear pads fitted and now when I press the rear brake they are very sticky! The brake light will stay on unless i kick up the pedal! Very poor. Will not return. Sad really as i… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ Insurance qoute”

Written on: 11/05/2016 by CristalMartin (1 review written)

Pop in there last Saturday to get a qoute on new motorbike clothing after a accident for insurance clame had to pay £5.00 for them to process and send E Mail witch would be refunded when I purched new gear 4 days later two phone calls and still no qoute looked at Honda cb500x for replacement bike don't think I'll be buying it there… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Should be called FOULERS !”

Written on: 11/07/2015 by Whitaker1992 (1 review written)

All I can say is Rubbish, gave me a trade in value for my bike and put it on paper then dropped the price by £1000 when I wanted to go ahead with the deal, said that they got the wrong model even though they confirmed the model and year of bike, then when I tried to buy the bike without the trade in they wouldn't return my calls or answer my e-mails !!! it's no wonder they get poor reviews !!! They should be called FOULers !… Read Full Review

Fowlersmotorcycles's Comment

Written on: 20/07/2015

Hi Whitaker1992,

If you could let me know some more details and I'll look in to it further.

Kind regards

Fowlers of Bristol

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Still no scooter”

Written on: 04/05/2015 by LailahHunt (1 review written)

Following on from my last review, it is now two weeks since I booked my vespa into Fowlers. Still no calls from them, I called today to be told they have nothing to tell me and someone will call me on bank holiday Monday. well watch this space! my scooter is still under warranty but I wish it actually wasn't so that I could pay someone else for decent service. never again!… Read Full Review

Fowlersmotorcycles's Comment

Written on: 09/06/2015

Hi,

Please accept our apologies for the lack of communication. Chris Wellington (Service Manager), would like to investigate your comments further. Please contact him to discuss the full details of your experience.

Regards

Fowlers of Bristol

Reply to this comment

Ronifine's Comment

Written on: 25/07/2015

He knows the details, it's now 3 months later and still no scooter!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Not very good service”

Written on: 28/04/2015 by Izzy1968 (1 review written)

had this dealer to wire my Tom Tom rider to my bike, I have a 5 month old tiger 800, yesturday I couldn't start my bike, battery completely flat, I phoned fowlers and they told me to return bike in a months time, after speaking to another triumph dealer, it loosks like sat nav has been wired up in correctly, I now have to trav over 200 miles to get repaired, will never use this dealer again & would never recommend. I am touring Scotland in 2 weeks , so I can't wait 4 weeks to take bike back to… Read Full Review

Fowlersmotorcycles's Response to Izzy1968's Review

Written on: 09/06/2015

Hi,

Fowlers are very sorry to hear about your experience.

Chris Wellington (Service Manager), would like to discuss your comments with you, this will enable him to offer you his personal apologies and also investigate your experience further.

Please contact him.

Regards

Fowlers of Bristol

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“If i'd only known!”

Written on: 24/04/2015 by ScooterMan007 (1 review written)

I purchased a Vespa GTS 125 in October 2013, within days I noticed that it would stall after a couple of miles of riding, to cut a long story short after taking it back to Fowlers on several occasions we are now in 2015 and the problem still persists! This week I booked it in 21/04/15 as there was a loud ticking noise which I thought may have been an exhaust problem, I booked it in on the day and waited for three hours for them to tell me they hadn't found the problem and I would have to leave… Read Full Review

Fowlersmotorcycles's Response to ScooterMan007's Review

Written on: 09/06/2015

Hi,

Chris Wellington (Service Manager) is currently in regular contact with this customer, whilst a warranty repair is being authorised and completed. A courtesy bike has been supplied to the customer to assist him with his commuting in the meantime.

Regards

Fowlers of Bristol

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DEFECTIVE NEW VESPA SCOOTER”

Written on: 15/04/2015 by MOGGYMORRIS (1 review written)

I brought a Brand New VESPA GTS300 yesterday afternoon (Tuesday 14th April 2015) The scooter had not been well cleaned. The salesman had to remove some type of manufacturers Wax Oil protection off the bodywork. It also had plastic film on the transmission case! The bike broke down, the same day, on my way home with; a. Excessive vibration to front wheel/ suspension and poor handling. b. Loss of power 55mpg max up hill (with a 300cc engine?!). c. A high pitch whining noise from the… Read Full Review

Fowlersmotorcycles's Response to MOGGYMORRIS's Review

Written on: 04/06/2015

Dear MoggyMorris,

Due to geographical difficulties and the time of day, we were unable to send the recovery van to you. This is why you were given the Piaggio Recovery number which was the best option available. The bike has since been collected and the matter concluded to your full satisfaction.

Regards

Fowlers of Bristol

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Yamaha XT full service”

Written on: 09/04/2015 by glados116 (1 review written)

I got my yamaha for service last september. I left it at fowlers and went for a coffee until they were done. I got a worrying phone call 30 mins later. They were talking about a fuel leak from the pump. I went back and they told me that there is a heavy fuel leak from a plastic tube, part of the tank pump. I told them that when I brought the bike there was no fuel leak so this must have happened in the shop due to soem mishandling. They made a series of excuses telling me that the leak was… Read Full Review

Fowlersmotorcycles's Response to glados116's Review

Written on: 04/06/2015

Hi Glados116,

In working on a customer machine, we always practice due diligence and extreme levels of care. Whilst we were confident at the time we did not damage the parts, as a gesture of goodwill we reached an agreement which we felt fair under the circumstances.

Regards

Fowlers of Bristol

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“vespa rust and starter problem”

Written on: 04/03/2015 by ramram292 (1 review written)

purchased new vespa px 125 in june 2013 from fowlers in bristol.from day one had problem with electric start.when button is pressed it would be hit and miss if bike would start,you press the button and nothing not even a click its as if the button is not making a contact to the starter.then you can try it several more times then all of a sudden it would start.fowlers have been unable to repair this since july 2013 its now march 2015 its been in and out of there service center over 10 time… Read Full Review

Fowlersmotorcycles's Response to ramram292's Review

Written on: 04/06/2015

Dear Ram Ram 292,

The machine has been fully repaired and the paint work rectified.
To reduce the inconvenience that the customer experienced, we supplied a courtesy bike for the duration of the repair.
To the best of our knowledge, the customer is satisfied with the repairs carried out..

Regards

Fowlers of Bristol

Reply to this comment

Ramram292's reply to Fowlersmotorcycles's Comment

Written on: 07/06/2015

paint started to show signs of rust again after 3 weeks of getting bike back from fowlers(only took 3 months to sort out)could not be bothered to phone fowlers about this as its to much of a headache.bit the bullet and sold the bike at a great loss.still waiting for a copy of the engineers report I wont hold my breath.will be getting next bike somewere else rather pay more and have good after sales service.just a note day I picked this bike up the speedo was not connected.so don't tell me fowlers that I was happy with the outcome because I WAS NOT.....

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“No deposit required”

Written on: 15/09/2014 by Kevinf470 (1 review written)

Went to buy a bike that was reduced by nearly £2000. Just about to sign on the dotted line when someone phoned and "insisted" that they should have it because they enquired first. So Fowlers agreed to sell it to him leaving me gobsmacked. Just a ploy to get me out the shop cause they priced it wrong. Wouldn't trust them an inch… Read Full Review

Fowlersmotorcycles's Response to Kevinf470's Review

Written on: 16/10/2014

Without liability

Hi,

We're very glad we managed to sort this problem out a later date and we are very happy to have had your custom on a brand new bike.

Thank you again for giving us your business and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Regards

Fowlers of Bristol

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Good Sales and Cafe - Terrible Servicing !!!”

Written on: 14/09/2014 by Keira1951 (1 review written)

I had frequented Fowlers for over 15 years and bought several machines from them. Most of the sales staff know about the bikes and they have a large selection to choose from. It serves as a good place to wander around and get a sandwich and coffee from the upstairs café. However, after my local MOT service station closed down I chose Fowlers to perform my recent MOT. After waiting a week for Fowlers to fit the MOT in, I arrived at 0900 to leave the bike with them. After an hour I was still… Read Full Review

Fowlersmotorcycles's Comment

Written on: 20/10/2014

Dear Keira1951,
We are very sorry for the experiences that you have recently had with Fowlers of Bristol. We will be investigating the issues you have highlighted and will ensure this will not happen again.
We'd like to welcome you back at any time for future work.

Regards

Fowlers of Bristol

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Fowlers motorcycles, good at selling, rubbish after sales”

Written on: 30/07/2014 by Jewel1947 (1 review written)

I recently purchased a cbr1000rr from Fowlers, it's a rare find as is in the TT legends colours and is signed, although it's 2 years old it had only covered "3" yes, three miles. So I had concerns over the usual elements of a machine that wouldn't take to well to being left idle for 2 years, I.e brakes, engine oil battery, fuel varnish etc.... I discussed this with the sales team and was reassured that everything will be looked at and the bike will be delivered in a condition relative to the… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview