LV= Liverpool Victoria Pet Insurance Reviews

LV= Liverpool Victoria Pet Insurance
★★★☆☆
2.7
36.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
LV= Liverpool Victoria Pet Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for LV= Liverpool Victoria Pet Insurance

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Their pet insurance is a waste of money”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Dana124 on 26/01/2024

What an absolute rip off this was! Declined my claim and then called me to say they had underwritten my policy again (after being a customer for 4 months) and went through a list of exclusions basically rendering my policy useless. The list included Brachycephalic airway issues (as my dog is a bulldog), any breathing issues, all skin, all nervous system (no idea why?) regurgitation (he was once sick!) back, spine, all 4 legs, and eyes (because once as a pupp he had an eye infection. So due to him previously having an eye infection I now couldnt claim for glaucoma for example. Absolutely ridiculous!!!!!!! They basically excluded his whole body. They were more than happy to take my policy on at the beginning though and take nearly £80 per month.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“WORST pet insurance EVER!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Reeszo54 on 26/05/2023

Please avoid l.v pet insurance. Gladly take your money but a nightmare to deal with, when you need to make a legitimate claim!! Was with them for 3 yrs but now changed, thankfully bf a big claim was submitted!!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Avoid does not cover acute suffering leading to euthanasia”

★★☆☆☆

written by Moody95 on 01/04/2023

Awful cover and experience AVOID My cat had sudden emergency overnight vet treatment, resulting in extraordinary pain and stress for cat ( saddle embolism) and need for my cat to be put down (euthanasia) LV do not cover euthanasia and only cover continued chronic suffering!!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Trying to Get Out of Paying Claim”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Malloy1962 on 31/03/2022

Just had email from LV refusing to pay claim saying that insurance was not in place. Pet had been continuously insured since 2015 until euthanised in 2022. Bank statements back this up. LV then said wouldn't pay as pet had pre-existing condition'. Rubbish. Pet had not been diagnosed until near the end. Call handlers 90% okay but as they all talk from scripts can come across with inappropiate statements. LV is part of Insurance Factory/Markerstudy Broking.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“High Cost”

★★★☆☆

written by on 21/02/2022

We have a 7yr old Cockapoo. We have never made a claim yet it goes up every year culminating in us now paying £45 a month resulting in us seriously thinking of quoting at next renew time. Our thoughts are to start banking the money saved to cover any future vet care.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Trying to get out of claim”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Avery4 on 15/09/2021

Joined Liverpool Victoria as thought they were a reputable company. Explained my pets previous history no problems Had to make a claim it’s been six months and it’s still ongoing, my vet is very patient but they are playing every insurance trick in the book to not pay out apart from rejecting the claim as they have no grounds. Rip off I will not give up! Stay clear. I only left my previous insurer due to the massive price increase wish I hadn’t now.

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Peace of mind”

★★★★★

written by Kennag489 on 14/10/2019

Took out Lifetime policy with zero voluntary excess almost 1 yr ago with £8k claim limit, due to competitive policy pricing ,Made our first ever claim due to a stomach bug with our dog resulting in him having to stay for a couple of nights at vets hence an £800 bill .Had to wait a few weeks for payment after paying vet direct however 100% of claim recd .

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Takes months”

★★☆☆☆

written by McClure265 on 14/10/2016

Really stressful experience. As a first time customer, they need to track down your pets medical history before paying you, but they don't bother. I rang up five or six times over the course of a few months, and every time they said they would get right on it. Three months later I insisted they get the medical history while I was actively on the phone to them. That's done now, but I haven't even started the actual claim process yet!! I had to borrow and nearly bankrupt my friends just to keep my cat alive these past months. Please don't use this company. I don't even know if i'll ever see the money they owe me.

Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Drive you to despair...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Brenti205 on 19/05/2016

Absolutely do NOT use this insurer. Nobody seems to know what they are doing. They sit on claims for an eternity and just when you have been assured your claim is being assessed, lo and behold you receive another text to say there is missing information. When you call to find out what the problem is, you realise you have already provided this piece of information three to four times and the person at the other end of the phone agrees when he/she reads the notes - yet they are still asking you for it!!! The company is very good at constantly apologising but they would need to given the shockingly awful customer experience they provide. As if it is not bad enough to have your pet injured or unwell, but then to be out of pocket for so long and then have to deal with them. Worst customer experience ever.....in any capacity.

Was this review helpful? 5 0

“WASTE OF SPACE. UNPROFESSIONAL .AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 29/10/2015

This company cancelled my mother in laws insurance with no reason,and did not tell her,she only found out when her dog had an accident and became paralysed, she rang needing scans and surgery for him .They promised numerous times that they may reinstate the insurance as it was their mistake and the bank confirmed the direct debit was still open they just stopped taking the monthly payments, after a week of not getting calls back or a decision when she rings daily, her dog is still laying paralysed in pain his bed and without scans and treatment will most probably have to be put to sleep at 4 years old

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Peace of mind at a reasonable price”

★★★★★

written by Bikerbob100 on 01/08/2015

I had my elderly Leonberger insured with LV. 1st - they were the only company that would insure him. 2nd - sadly I did have to claim, twice in fact, and there were absolutely no quibbles. It wasn't cheap, but then neither was his treatment so I can say in the long run it was value for money but mot importantly, peace of mind. I now have 2 puppies and I have taken out insurance with LV for both and received a significant discount for multipets plus another discount for having my car insurance with LV. I'm sure there can be difficult claims that may cause issues, but to date I have no complaints, only very positive remarks!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Waste off time”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Malone170 on 03/08/2014

Try to clam got the run around Saying not got any info Asked about a clam Would not pay out said due to illness From before that never ever clamed Steer clear off them Use tescos

Jacqueline10's Comment

Written on: 23/12/2015

Wouldn't recommend tesco it's a rip off, once your pet is over 7yrs they hammer you

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Disappointing”

★★★☆☆

written by on 21/06/2014

My dog was insured with them for 2 years. I initially chose them based on reviews and reasonable monthly cost. This was misleading as after first year premium went up, so should have gone with lifetime cover with another insurer based on 2nd years premium. Had to stay with them second year as cover was still valid for conditions I had claimed for. Only saved for one year and wasn't worth it in long run. Made 3 claims and they paid up within a couple of weeks. I was pleased with the claims service. One claim was paid direct to vet as was in region of £3k. Poor service when I rang to cancel this year due to further premium increase. It was £10 a month more than if I went to them as a new customer! Kept on hold for ages,then girl asked me if new insurers would cover pre-existing conditions, I said 'new insurers won't, but you won't either will you?' She said she couldn't comment on other insurers and lv wouldn't cover the pre-existing conditions! So the question was misleading. Kept on hold again for a good few minutes before she came back and told me she had cancelled the policy. She had a rather poor attitude for customer service staff, abrupt and verging on rude, certainly didn't have a 'here to help' attitude.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“policy not worth the paper it's written on.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Rodneyk121 on 22/04/2014

Did not pay for op on dog as he had not injured himself after I phoned LV to check he was covered. Vet said they were a nightmare to deal with.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Good for young dogs but avoid for older dogs”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jetsmum on 03/04/2014

Good insurance until you pet gets old then - policy doubles in price from 250 a year to 500 Needless to say cancelled

Jacqueline10's Response to Jetsmum's Review

Written on: 23/12/2015

Had that with tesco they more than 10 times it, was hoping this would b better been insured with them for 3 yrs now though had a couple of claims they settled no problem policy hasn't gone up that much either, and found customer service good

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“WHY SUCH A LARGE INCREASE ?”

★☆☆☆☆

written by IsaiasMalone on 15/03/2014

I took out LV premier cover in February 2013 to cover our 15 month old cat. Despite not having any claims this years renewal price was nigh on 20% higher which I thought was excessive in the current financial climate. I pointed this out to them but to no avail. To reduce the cost I decided to go with their lower level of cover. I was then shocked to find that they class this as a new policy, and as such it would be subject to the standard 14 day no cover clause. This really annoyed me so I asked to speak to a manager. I was promised a call from one within 24 hours but it never came. I E mailed a complaint asking why the premium had gone up so much and they didn`t answer that either. I am disgusted with them!.

Was this review helpful? 1 1

“LV PET INS Really Good So Far”

★★★★★

written by on 01/01/2014

I only had this insurance for a year for a very competitive price then my dog had cruciate leg injury, customer service excellent, paid out promptly for specialist surgery. My other dogs insurance hammered me after a small claim, LV say it goes on breed not claim also they compare vet bills if a vet overcharges to much they query the bill and may not pay it if all pet Insurances do this it may keep premiums down.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent Hassle Free Service ”

★★★★★

written by on 25/09/2012

I took out the basic LV 'Essential' policy for my little cross breed of unknown parentage other than 'real cute'. No history for the dog, she was originally a resuce and approx 5 years old when I inherited her following the sudden death of her owner. She's now 8 years old and over the last year has suffered from a distressing digestive complaint. Local vet investigated to best of ability and LV promptly paid for said investigations and treatment. Unfortunately the condition worsened and dog was referred for specialist treatment to the Dick Vet in Edinburgh. We went along for a scan and I was shocked when she hospitalised the same day pending further investigations. In summary both the Dick Vet and LV were fantastic. A quick phone call to LV on the day of the scan, from a rather distressed owner, was all that was required, thereafter they liaised directly with the vet. The treatment came to just over £1,000 and I paid £87. Well worth it, can't recommend them highly enough. I accept the condition won't be included in the renewed policy but one can't complain. Excellent value for money, prompt and sympathetic service, one very happy customer.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“LV Pet insurance - brilliant”

★★★★★

written by Nosilac on 10/08/2012

After having problems with our previous pet insurance, got a quote from LV and took out insurance in November 2010 for our then 8 year old labrador. June 2012 she developed what turned out to be inflammatory disease of the brain and was admitted as an emergency case to Glasgow Vet School. Her stay there + all the scans (MRI etc) and drugs along with our own vet bills and ongoing treatment with steroids have amounted to over £3000. LV have processed the claims from ourselves and the vet school with no quibbles and cheques received within 10 days of claims being received. I called them when she was admitted to keep them up to date and they couldn't have been nicer, and the call was answered swiftly. As I was going to be away, they put a note on the policy to allow both my husband and any vet involved in her care to communicate directly with them. The dog is still with us, for how long we're not sure, but LV have been incredible. Also £15 a month cheaper than our previous insurer! Can't fault them.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Iam very happy with L&V Pet insurance”

★★★★★

written by tomboy on 16/01/2012

I insured my puppy with L&V in august 2011 but sadly my little boy of 13 months became ill. He was treated by my Vet but after 3 days his condition became worse, and we was referred to the animal hospital in nemarket suffolk where he had chemo treatment for a tumour in his spinal cord after 3 days after his treatment we took him home but within a week his condition worsend and he had to be put to sleep we claimed in nov and the animal health bill of £2,600 was paid to them and this jan 2012 I was paid £300 for the price we paid for him plus £239for his treatment at my vets. So has you see i have nothing bad to say about L&V.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview