Cottages4you Reviews - www.cottages4you.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
36% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cottages4you www.cottages4you.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★★★☆☆

“Lovely Cottage , but.....”

Written on: 21/09/2018 by vbarker57 (1 review written)

Cockleshell Cottage is very nice, well maintained, clean, but we have come back early because the weather started to change & we couldn't use the heating, there are notices telling you not to tamper with anything heat wise, but it doesn't come on at all. When we first arrived my husband noticed it had been on, but it didn't come on again all week & it got really windy & it rained so as we & the dogs got damp, no warmth made it uncomfortable… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“needs a good clean”

Written on: 30/09/2017 by AdonisRyan (1 review written)

on arrival looks clean but on closer inspection full of cobwebs spiders and blood on the mattress protector full of spiders and flies in shower en suite shower held together with scellotape… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Ewelands House, Felixkirk, Yorkshire”

Written on: 03/06/2017 by tinamga (1 review written)

The property was large and spacious and the outside areas stunning. The bed linen and bathrooms were very clean. HOWEVER, the kitchen was tired and had not been cleaned to an acceptable standard. Plates, crockery and cutlery needed washing before use and work surfaces needed wiping down. Dishwasher smelled and needed cleaning. Such a shame as a stunning location where attention to detail would have made all the difference… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“CHURCH BARN LE GRANDE,AYLESFORD VILLAGE”

Written on: 16/10/2016 by bdGoodwin43 (1 review written)

We stayed in Oct.16. Although 1st impressions look great, look deeper. Firstly, I slept in the bedroom with the chaise longue in it, and the sheets and pillows smelt unclean, with another persons smell on them, and NOT as though they had been freshly changed/laundered - YUCK. When we finally got a reply, we were directed to a chest of clean bedding, BUT there was no correct size bedding, so had to improvise using MUCH smaller bedding. Also, the bath towel left was greatly bleach… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Lovely location .Very tatty.Needs a good clean”

Written on: 01/09/2016 by genie2 (2 reviews written)

Homestead Barn,Barford St Michael(E5466). Rented this cottage 26-29 August with my 2 dogs.The owners are very friendly which is just as well as its in their garden just feet from their back door.The outlook for us wasn't great,looking straight onto an overflowing skip.The cottage is ample size for the 3 of us & the dogs.The fields at the back was great for the dogs.The cottage garden is quite sweet but the patio a bit of a hazard with massive broken slab.Also the garden isn't secure as there is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Honey suckle cottage, Watchet Somerset.”

Written on: 17/10/2015 by terry8 (1 review written)

I booked cottages 4 u for a weeks stay at honey suckle cottage watchet somerset. I arrived at the property after a 6 hours of traveling, and found i could not get the key out of the key safe, so i rang the caretaker and he told me that we had tried to contact you and let you know the cottage has been double booked.The caretaker had left messages from the time of 3.30pm but i had never pulled over from driving to check them. i was offered accommodation nearby in dulverton which would have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“riverside cottage roadwater ref 28943”

Written on: 12/06/2015 by swancentre (1 review written)

disappointed to the fact swimming pool was not likely to be in use in the near future.wash machine did not work had to ask for heating to be put on,no welcome pack and no logs as suggested in brochure.when I did complain to cottages for you, did get a rebate.But would have been nice if we got what was in brochure Shame as it was a lovely setting… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“8 Rue De Rousquebrune, Saint Martin Choquel, Northern...”

Written on: 17/05/2015 by sbarlow1 (1 review written)

Previous review stated owners speak English, this is not so, hardly any at all would only recommend going there if you like horses and speak French. It is very isolated and shops in nearest town never seemed to be open. Also it states on the Cottages 4you advert that you must pay 150 euros security deposit which is incorrect as the owner did not want this No information in English in accommodation what so ever all leaflets in French!!! Good idea to bring an English guide book with you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“The Hive, Parkdean”

Written on: 29/07/2014

Just spent a week at The Hive on the Parkdean Lodge site in Warmwell. Nice site and plenty to do in the area. However, Lodge we stayed in needs revamping. We had no electricity on arrival and could not contact the owner. Had to get maintenance out. On first viewing lodge looked great, however, parking area not clearly identified (we parked in next doors driveway and had to move when they arrived). Lots of things not checked as per the maintenance book, TV in bedroom not working, no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Tan y Bryn Cottage, Rhyd y Foel”

Written on: 15/06/2014 by Magpietwo (1 review written)

Cottages in need of t.l.c. Washing machine not working, cooker and extractor dirty so did not use. Curtains falling off hooks and blind broken. Had to do some d.i.y on towel holders and shower door handle, en suite shower tray overflowed. Lots of cobwebs and dust so left cleaner than when we arrived. Outside furniture in poor state of repair so did not use. Second TV not working. On plus side beds very comfortable and lovely views although garden could be better maintained… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Le Clos du Mai”

Written on: 09/05/2014 by Wantingtobehappy (1 review written)

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, we had told cottages4u of our arrival date and time, but the info had not been passed to the Proprieters. The actual place is very nice indeed. We did not find the proprietress at all friendly. There was no Wifi as the bill had not been paid to the provider. The lady proprietress told us each day that it would be available the next day, but after a week, it was still not available. In the evening before we departed the Proprietress came to tell us that unless… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Everyday items needed”

Written on: 14/10/2013

The cottage was clean and warm with nice bed linen. However, there were several items which should be there, but which we missed on our very first evening. Potato peeler; small sharp knife for veg; jug for gravy/custard; washing-up sponge (or dishcloth) usually found in your cottages; small tray; deep roasting tin. There was no visitors book, or details of nearby pubs and eating-out places. No leaflets about nearby attractions or places of interest to visit. No-one came to visit us… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Oxen Law Cottage Rowley Co Durham”

Written on: 07/10/2013

Beautiful conversion but fault with heating on 3rd day; downstairs bedroom freezing. owner admitted it was too cold and tried to fix but that resulted in us discovering that all heating was off when we returned on 4th day. Left message on answerphone to tell him about this but no one got back to us. We suggested some supplementary heating eg fan heaters could be supplied but they said they didn't have any. As the owners lived next door there is really no excuse for ignoring us. I think being… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“quantock lodge”

Written on: 17/09/2013

spacious house,good location.No garden funiture,no gas b b q ,large build up of ice with thick mold on back of fridge split in toilet seat no kindling or logs for fire and to top all that we had no hot water for 6 days .Our holiday was completely ruined i spent most of it driving to where i could get a phone signal and complaining to the owners and cottages 4 u .One good thing was the weather… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“great location and lovely views from cottage ,but...”

Written on: 30/07/2013

great location and lovely views from cottage ,but unfortunately not worth the money we paid.Not clean enough,very dirty bath ,dirty crokery,grubby paintwork and no cleaning items to rectify!No wardrobes or drawers upstairs,and very hot at night ,making it difficult to sleep!Unpleasant smell in kitchen(reported in visitor book in 2010!)Drive needs attention-very steep and nearly dammaged exhaust!No wecome,no information on whereabouts of everything etc… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Owner13's Comment

Written on: 15/08/2013

Very hot at night...............this was the week when temperatures reached 32 c in parts of britain - what is any owner supposed to do to counteract the odd freak hot weather we have.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Hounded by unhappy owner”

Written on: 15/01/2013 by JulesC (2 reviews written)

I booked a part week over Christmas through Cottages4you. The cottage was aesthetically/decor wise & location & cleanliness etc fine. The owner however mentioned a small leak in the heating system. We arrived to find the drip tray in our bedroom overflowing - OK it was Christmas and perhaps he hadn't been in for a while. No real issue with this. Second night our young daughter had a severely truncated bath as there was insufficient hot-water. We then woke up the on the following morning to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“When Pet Friendly is not Pet Friendly”

Written on: 12/11/2012

We booked for a Pet Friendly cottage using the search menu. When you choose your cottage there is no mention of the Pet Friendly 'do's and don'ts' on the actual booking page of each cottage, these are listed on a completely separate page tucked away under the general blurb and photos. If you are not prepared to have your dog with you 24 hours a day, every day of your holiday then these cottages are not for you! Pets are not to be left unattended at any time at the cottage. An unreasonable… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Not very impressed”

Written on: 05/11/2012 by landykizzy (1 review written)

Would like to know what we actually paid for when we booked our holiday. We paid an awful lot of money just for the shell as we were charged 48.30 euros for elec and gas for a week when we were hardly there. We weren't even shown the first meter reading. I think this is very expensive and not clearly written in the description as we are not the first to be surprised about this. When we were told when we were there they said probably between 20 - 40 euros so wasn't expecting 48.30 euros. I don't… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Wren Cottage Lyme Regis”

Written on: 14/10/2012 by jaycee16 (1 review written)

UNAWARE of awful access path to property unsuitable for elderly/infirm (deep torrential river with 15' drop to right, fast flowing stream to left, no handrails either side and, only one street light working. A real Health & Safety issue here! very steep stairs in property, minute kitchen but most of all misunderstanding about payment of heating i.e. solid fuel fire we had to buy logs for lack of communication with owner. Description of garden & photo misleading and although we were told… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Devonshire House Buxton ”

Written on: 15/03/2012 by audreytowler (1 review written)

As a guest - found the showering - bathroon - toilet facilities extremely inconvenient! The house was not a good choice for a family reunion ages from 21 to 80 - so would not recommend! Loved the Peak district - but will hope to get more and better advice as to accommodaton from company… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview