Cottages4you Reviews - www.cottages4you.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
36% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cottages4you www.cottages4you.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★☆☆☆☆

“Deception and dishonest”

Written on: 28/06/2018

Booked a weeks walking holiday 10 months in advance and paid a low deposit of £25. Then had major spine surgery preventing me from doing much walking without assistance (12 months of physio). When we tried to cancel the booking with 8 months still to go, they refused and wanted another £145. They then requested medical certificates which would cost more than £145 to get from my consultant. They would not accept the evidence I had available which was extensive.We phoned the owner of the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“hill top cottage camelford..”

Written on: 09/11/2017 by PorterMay1948 (1 review written)

we have just returned early from this place lasted 3 nights of 7 ,,,the garden is over grown there is mold on the walls in the bedroom and the kitchen, the bathroom walls are soaking wet all day and night with condensation , we had to clean the oven before we could use it as the fire alarm went off whenever it was turned on.....And when you try to contact the owners both phones just go to answer phone.......ONE TO AVOID… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful customer service”

Written on: 28/09/2017 by starmummy123 (1 review written)

If anything goes wrong with your holiday cottages4you will claim that they are only a booking agency and you have to take any complaints up with the property owner but then they won't give you the owners details to contact them. After weeks of ringing and emailing trying to resolve the problems they finally agreed to pass on an email to the owner, again after weeks of ringing and emailing the company kept saying they had not heard back from the owner yet. Finally after our constant ringing them… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“the old stables in cranworth”

Written on: 18/03/2017

after a special birthday weekend at the old stables we had to leave a day early due to the cottage not being fit for purpose I wrote a bad review, this was later removed because the owners did not like it, the removal of the review is misleading to any future guests to make their own minds up to the suitability of this cottage and how many other times has this happened… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cold hearted & cash hungry”

Written on: 08/03/2017 by AngryandSkint (1 review written)

Booked a birthday holiday break for this month last June, but sadly & unexpectedly lost my job just in time for Christmas. First thought? - cancel March holiday, I need to feed the family and pay the mortgage before spending on a 'luxury' (basic holiday). Cottages.com insist I pay remainder of full deposit, as I'd booked under a £25 deposit promotion, but I don't have the money and hope their consciences will win through and they'll have sympathy for my plight. Outcome? County Court demand… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“MY VIEW ON COTTAGES 4 YOU”

Written on: 23/10/2016 by nanniemay (1 review written)

THE COTTAGE WE HAD IN WINCANTON WAS MORE LIKE 1 STAR AT A PUSH NEVER KNEW IF YOU WOULD GET HOT OR COLD WATER NEVER GOT TO HAVE A BATH BECAUSE OF THIS. GOT SHOWER AND STARTED HOT AND JUST WENT COLD AFTER A COUPLE OF MINUTES.ONE TIME YOU HAD HOT RADIATORS AND THEN COLD.ELECTRICITY IN WIRING MUST BE HEALTH AND SAFETY WARNING AS FUSES TRIPPING OFTEN TV WOULD GO DARK TO POINT NOT WATCHABLE AND WHEN YOU PUT LIGHTS ON THE TV WOULD COME BACK TO NORMAL. CLEANED FILTER IN CLOTHES DRIER AND WAS FULL OF… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Mulberry Cottage”

Written on: 12/08/2016 by MichealBroussard9 (1 review written)

Arrived earlier than expected to find the cottage not ready, though should have been ready by 3.00p.m. and cottages4you agreed. The cottage was empty the week before so there was no excuse. Owner nasty on the phone and café Nero Voucher does not make up for the greeting. Bath did not drain so after 3 showers the bath was like someone had had a bath. No cleaning equipment left so had to buy to keep bath clean. Took 24 hours to drain each time. No wardrobe just rail with 6 hangers for a house… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very smelly”

Written on: 06/06/2016 by Dayyx335 (1 review written)

The end terrace house was basic. Sadly it was very smelly and we could not stay there. We found a hotel and came home the next day. That was 11 hours in the car.the cottage was Ferrybridge cottage… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disappointed”

Written on: 20/05/2016 by Lorrneil (1 review written)

We booked a cottage in Anglesey beaumaris - Ty Bach and prior to us departing a review appeared saying the cottage was cold. I rang and they assurred me it was fine. On arrival it was not only cold it was dirty, damp. We reported the issues but we were informed that the owner did not agree. We had photographs of the many issues but feel that we were not taken seriously. We wrote a review about the property but it was not published so we could not inform others of the dicrepency with details… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Damp and Mould”

Written on: 20/04/2016 by Keeffish (1 review written)

Family recently stayed at 11 GURNARD PINES, Isle of Wight booked with COTTAGES 4 YOU. On arrival, we smelt a strong smell of bleach, we,hoped it was clean! We Left luggage to meet up with friends and get shopping. We returned to the strong smell of damp and on further inspection noticed damp and mould spores in the bathroom living room and one of the bedrooms. The bathroom smell of damp was so unbearable we could not even use the washing facilities. The bleach had originally masked the smell… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“take advantage of you”

Written on: 13/02/2016 by THELCDAWSONS (1 review written)

I had the Old Vicarage booked at Wetwang with cottages for you unfortunately we had to cancel with a reasonable 6 mths notice due to my granddad having altzimers, it suddenly progressed quickly so a family decision was made to use the money we would have paid to build a downstairs bathroom for him, when we cancelled we were told that non of our money would be refunded and that they wanted proof of his illness, unfortunately he died and we didn't see it fit to invite cottages for you to the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Fire alarms or lack of them!”

Written on: 06/11/2015

Cottages 4 you, failed to ensure or validate a fire risk assessment was adequate in a 10 bedroomed Manor House in Matlock Derbyshire. Property, Lea Hall, is being investigated by the Fire Service in Derbyshire for the failure of fire detection or warning systems Myself, friends, family and a dog, had to run for our lives at 6:00am in the morning from this letting. I would not recommend this company to anyone and all other survivors of this fire feel likewise. Cottages 4 you, feel it is up to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We had to cancel a holiday booked for my parents due...”

Written on: 08/10/2015 by Sutherland355 (1 review written)

We had to cancel a holiday booked for my parents due to my mothers illness getting progressively worse, she has dementia, I booked with my fathers card paying £25 deposit, but used my name and address, we gave plenty of warning of cancellation, a good reason, and enough time to rebook the cottage. But they have taken me to court for £225 and now I'm being threatened with a bailiff to try and scare me into paying it. Such threatening behaviour and a terrible way to treat people. I suggest you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Company total let down obviously do not check their...”

Written on: 22/09/2015 by Sasseychapel (1 review written)

There was no reception for a phone in this cottage and that was not mentioned in the itinerary If anyone had needed an ambulance you could forget it no lighting down to the back gate from the car narrow little path and a step halfway completely Black. No instructions for washing machine had to leave wading in it was assured someone would be round never checked up to see if anyone had been Then cottages4you has the nerve to say l should have chased them up Not only that none of the plugs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ruined our holiday. DO NOT RECOMMEND. NEVER HIRE THIS”

Written on: 27/08/2015 by AFSFAAS (1 review written)

This is hands down the WORST family trip i have ever been on in my 45 years. we had hired 2 cottages near the area, one for our family friends family and one for our family. often we went out together and they came to our cottage so we could leave together. The cottage owner who has absolutely atrocious customer service kept coming into our cottage WITHOUT KNOCKING and shouting and everything. one time she came in at 12 at night and started shouting when 2 people were asleep. furthermore, she… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Will never use cottage4you again!!;”

Written on: 24/08/2015 by Marleyl1953 (1 review written)

We rented a filthy cottage in a beautiful village. When we complained cottages4you would do nothing about it as they said cottages were not owned by them. After the poor service will never use them again. Nor will my friends… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Money-grabbing Misrepresentation”

Written on: 19/08/2015 by j-mo-scot (4 reviews written)

We arrived at our holiday destination to find that it stank. Each room had it's own peculiar but characterful smell, the worst being our bedroom which smelt so badly of damp and half a bottle of febreeze that we couldn't sleep. The kitchen, which had an ancient cooker and no food prep area, smelt of a mix of rotten veg and pig slurry, probably due to the pig just outside the window. The sitting room smelt of peat, which is no-one's fault, but they said it was a wood burning stove, not peat… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't ever make a complaint to this company-they don't...”

Written on: 06/08/2015 by Zimmermanfn1971 (1 review written)

I stayed in one of their higher standard (gold) properties and was a loyal customer since 2009. This year, July 2015, the standard of the property was extremley poor and there was a major infestation of flies, some of which were in the food cupboard, probably attributed to the large pile of rubbish bags outside the back of the property. I rang customer services to highlight the issue whilst on my holiday and then as discussed followed it up with a written complaint. Did I get an apology no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Scandalous !!!!!”

Written on: 04/08/2015 by mariatinsley (1 review written)

My parter booked a cottage for us in Cornwall for October of this year. As we later decided to get married, we changed the booking so that we could go for our honeymoon in June of next year. The original deposit was £150, and the cost to change the booking was £30, total now accruing to £180. The balance was due a few weeks prior to the departure date. In the meantime, due to unforseen circumstances, we are unable to go in June, after the wedding, so we decided to cancel the whole thing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Who writes the cottage details?”

Written on: 14/06/2015 by 27Nicholson (1 review written)

Went to one of their cottages, Mallows, Seaford. Said parking for two cars. Turned out to be on an unmade road (very unmade.) Large tree stumps, danger of falling down a steep slope. Obvious long term parking disputes with neighbours. Why were we sent into this dispute? Parking available, as stated, means parking in a drive, not in a narrow, unmade road. One car possible with difficulty, two cares not possible unless you want an argument with neighbours. Also TV on arrival didn't work. No house… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview