BBC iPlayer - www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer

Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
BBC iPlayer - www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for BBC iPlayer - www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Awful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Cliffordeg312 on 08/02/2024

Just awful. Slow to react to input, little options to get what you want. Record your programs and watch at your leisure.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Buffering”

★★★★☆

written by Strangerthings on 07/02/2024

My bbciplayer buffers every now and again, although the wifi is excellent. Any ideas why?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Never had a problem... Until now”

★★★★☆

written by PostModernJunk on 04/01/2024

Iplayer. A great service to watch all your favorite BBC shows. Ive been using it for 7 years and haven't had anything bad happen. Until yesterday. I got a new phone. Granted, it was £50 off of Amazon, but that shouldn't really affect my issue. I get my new phone in the post, set it up, and download Iplayer. I go to sign in, enter my details, and there is my issue. 404 page no found. So I close the page and guess what, I need to sign in again, 404 page not found. So instead of watching '2 pints of lager and a packet of crisps' I'm sat on the train for 3 hours making music. This is something I enjoy doing, but not for 3 hours by myself on a train. (I make music on BandLab, not carrying instruments with me). Thanks

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Much better now ”

★★★★★

written by Aaravs442 on 17/04/2023

The BBC iPlayer has got much better of late I enjoy the fact that you have auto description on it’s just a shame I can’t put subtitles and auto descriptions on at the same time which I can do on my ordinary TV so come on iPlayer pull your finger out. I’m enjoying a murder mystery on iPlayer, though the main characters have been wokeeristed in that people of colour are everywhere, even in pre-war London when the Windrush hadn’t even docked. But if you can put that fact aside, and ignore it, the programs are enjoyable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Dreadful, dreadful....dreadful!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 437Wooten on 09/05/2017

I do use catch up sometimes, when I've forgotten to record something, or missed it.I'venever had problems with anyoftheservices,other than BBC iplayer. Buffer really should be its official nam...at least it would let th hapless viewer know what's in store. It's just taken us almost 35 minutes longer than the actual programme length to watch it. The frequent (incessant) buffeting not only dampens the tension, but also kills an otherwise excellent drama stone dead. I have no such problems with ITVhub, or any other service, and our broadband/router aren't the problem either. It's purely the BBC layer....and for this I pay my license (sigh)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful awful awful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 28/06/2015

I am amazed this clunky, dogs dinner of a service was ever allowed. I use it on TV and find it unbelievably slow to access a programme. When trying to fast forward you can't see where you are so have to guess when to stop. I HATE it. Is this really the best the BBC can come up with?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Useless IPlayer”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 19/10/2013

I have downloaded the first episode of Pain, Pus and Poison. This can be watched without downloading but you only see a third of the screen. Just tried to play the first episode only to be told that there is no media player on earth that can play. Windows Media cannot play: MPC cannot play. So what program can play it?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Why can the BBC not provide a download service that works?”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/07/2013

When it works, the iPlayer is OK (perhaps no better than that. The problem is that about once a month it loses all downloaded programmes and refuses to download any more until I have uninstalled and re-installed it. According to the iPlayer website it seems to be caused by Adobe Air updates, so as they know this, why on earth do they not come up with a work-around. As a licence payer, I am annoyed that the corporation make it difficult for me to watch content that I have paid for. I would recommend that everyone avoids this service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Lost downloads monthly”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ewan535 on 13/05/2013

I have an iphone, use iplayer daily on train. At least once a month all my downloads disappear. There is no fix and no bbc support. Just delete app and download programmes again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BBC I Player”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/02/2013

Not a player. I have compared/used your competiors. I would have thought you had done the same.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Useless customre service”

★★☆☆☆

written by arum_lily on 19/08/2012

On a regular basis I have to contact iPlayer as programmes have no download option. I`m used to that inefficiency but now iPlayer has lost all of my downloads & I am unable to download any programmes so it`s now totally useless. I have wasted hours trying to get it to work. Eventually at the bottom of so-called help page I found what sounded like the solution to my problem dated 24.7.12. Unfortunately their solution doesn`t work, it`s supposed to be a patch for those who have this problem but there is no patch anymore. I just hope they manage to fox this problem before my downloaded programmes have expired Their emails in reply to problems come from an address that can`t receive emails so they give you a very long reference number if you need to reply. With the problem I have it`s not as simple as a programme that won`t download, it`s very complicated for them to explain - if they understand what they`re doing. It`s great WHEN it works but not when it loses your downloads.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Arum_Lily's Response to arum_lily's Review

Written on: 25/08/2012

To add to my previous review...
It`s now 25/8/12 & the `support` team still haven`t fixed the problem. They`ve directed me to instructions for finding the iplayer log. Totally useless instructions. I have to send them my log files. Go into Windows Explorer, select Tools - there is no Tools option just 4 libraries. I eventually found something in their instructions that I had to tick a box `show hidden files`. Then I had to try to find the log files. I found files in MY Documents library but not log files. I told them on their restrictive webform that the log files were no longer there because I tuned off iplayer when it wouldn`t work. It took them 2 days to come back & say they must be there. I just want to download & watch programmes not waste hours going through files on my laptop. I seem to be doing their job. THERE IS NO WORKING CUSTOMER SUPPORT. Be very, very careful when downloading programmes as you could lose them, you`ve downloaded serials or series you are stuck. I wish I could change my rating from 2 stars to none. If anyone can help me I.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Inconvenient streaming only.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BambooAsh on 22/03/2012

I used to love being able to download the program I wanted to catch up on and watch it on the way to work on my Nokia. Now, on an Android HTC phone, that isn't possible. Data streaming on 3G is not possible as the service is sketchy at best, and extremely expensive. I was looking forward to doing the same on my tablet, which only has WiFi. When I first bought my tablet last year, player wouldn't work on it. Now I can only stream the programs at home. What's the point? I have a big screen tv to watch these on without using up my bandwidth. Back to print to fill up time on train. Go Kindle!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BBC IPLayer”

★★★★☆

written by pam.pindar on 07/03/2012

Watched it for the very first time last week using my lap top to catch up on Inside Men. Great picture, good reception and I did not experience any difficulty with the picture or sound quality. Think it is great and will definitely use again..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Just awful -Very disappointing ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by SamJ81 on 12/07/2011

Attempted on a number of occasions to watch programmes on my iPad, but they either fail to load or stop constantly and then restart from the beginning. Come on BBC try and get this working

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Simply doesn't work!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tiddlywink on 24/06/2011

lots of hype and no doubt lots of money went into this app but the fact is, it simply doesn't work. Have tried using it on iPad over my home broadband, in an assortment of hotels through their (paid for) wifi and via BT open zone. The app either fails to load the content of stumbles every few seconds making the programme impossible to view. Very disappointing, all I can say is I'm glad it didn't pay for this app but annoyed I've paid on more than one occasion for wifi access purely to use this without success. I won't get caught again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BBC iPlayer does not recognise that JavaScript is...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by aress95 on 21/03/2011

BBC iPlayer does not recognise that JavaScript is enabled and will not play programs. They say there is an error in JavaScript but seem unable or unwilling to correct it.
Th concept is praiseworthy but the actual operation is abysmal, and the help system is labyrinthian and frustrating,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very disappointed when I could not see Monday night's...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 29/12/2010

Very disappointed when I could not see Monday night's Question Of Sport.If it is being repeated, when & where?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great.... but only when it works ... absolutely...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 22/10/2010

Great.... but only when it works ... absolutely infuriating stress generating "thing" with the most useless help centre ever.

T.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have been using iPlayer for over a year to download...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by adethebuilder on 29/09/2010

I have been using iPlayer for over a year to download TV programs which I then watch on my Sony MP3 player when I am (frequently) overseas. I have just upgraded my laptop to a Sony VAIO running Windows 7. The iPlayer will no longer work. It says I need to upgrade my Windows Media Player before I can download. When I follow the link to the Microsoft site to do the update it says the component cannot be updated! I have searched all the Blogs' etc and tried installing & uninstalling etc (I am very computer literate). I eventually emailed the BBC & their reply simply gave me some links to help articles all of which took me to the BBC site with a "Woops there is a problem" reply because the link no longer existed!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Thanks to the BBC i player I never have to miss an...”

★★★★★

written by on 18/08/2010

Thanks to the BBC i player I never have to miss an episode of Casualty or Holby City. Being a Mum I cannot always sit down to watch a programme at a set time and the BBC i player gives me this opportunity to catch up when I want to. You can stop and start the programme should you get any interruptions during the programme. You can adjust the volume and have a full screen view of the programme if you wish. I am sure there are many programmes I could watch if I were more of a tv fan. It is a great site and I would highly recommend. My kids also use the site to catch up on programmes they have missed. If you don't wish to use on your computer you can also download it onoto the wii.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview