Bannatyne Health Clubs Reviews - www.bannatyne.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
15% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bannatyne Health Clubs www.bannatyne.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Bannatyne Health Clubs www.bannatyne.co.uk

Bannatyne Health Clubs www.bannatyne.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking Company To Deal With”

Written on: 11/10/2020 by nigelrodliffe (1 review written)

Disgraceful company to deal with. Club gave notice it was re-opening after COVID lockdown but with the facilities which we value as non-operational. Notice of opening was given 2 weeks prior to next direct debit so DD was cancelled, but ‘debt’ being recovered is 6 weeks of membership. Despite responding to several of their incessant emails and texts, for which the only method of contact was form filling online, none have been responded to. Now ‘debt’ has been sold to debt collection… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“He is not allowing people to cancel their memberships...”

Written on: 08/10/2020 by mrVargas1948 (1 review written)

He is not allowing people to cancel their memberships during covid, I tried every way possible, leaving me with one option and that was to cancel my direct debit. and now they are trying to charge me through bailiffs for the 2 months since they opened. I explained my situation that had to leave the city as I lost my job, I lost everything and luckily have a couch to sleep on at the minute. The place I’m living doesn’t even have one of his gyms and I hadn’t stepped inside the building… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sharp practices - beware!”

Written on: 06/09/2020 by Kathryndavies (1 review written)

I have been a member of the Bannatynes health club in York since it first opened, over 15 years ago, carrying on my membership from the old living well gym that Bannatynes took over. Owing to failing health and moving away from the immediate area I decided to cancel my membership during the COVID 19 lockdown in July. I was unable to directly e mail either the health club or the head office, and although I rang them several times no one answered the phone. I cancelled my direct debit at my bank… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“poor service”

Written on: 27/07/2020 by Keagan249 (1 review written)

Been a member for 15 years, went in today to suspend it for 6 months, on suspension you normally pay £10 retainment fee, which I’m fine with. But here’s the kicker. During lockdown, all accounts were frozen for FREE for over the past 4 months. When I went to suspend my account, they said would charge me £40 up front to suspend it, charging me the £10 a month which were free for everyone during lockdown the gym has been closed. Totally find it pathetic and disrespectful charging someone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible customer care/service. Ashford Bannatyne Spa”

Written on: 21/10/2019 by Montie01 (1 review written)

I had a spa day on Saturday 19 October at the Ashford Bannantyne Health & Spa, due to unforseen circumstances with mechanical problems with our car where by the AA had to be called out resulted in us running slightly late, the lady on reception was very unhelpful and abrubt and relayed that we could not rebook without 24 hours notice and that we would have to call head office who were closed untill Monday morning and then added that being late would eat in to our alotted time. Once we arrive… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay Away!!!”

Written on: 23/01/2019 by Kenneyam393 (1 review written)

I joined Bannatynes last year but it was not explained correctly their membership process so when I came to cancel 6months later I gave them the months notice they had requested only for them to say this was not the case and I couldn't leave. They froze my membership for 6 months so I could review then, then after two failed payments due to a bank switch error they called me to tell me they were cancelling my membership - no problem. Although now they have debt collectors chasing me for the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★☆☆

“Gym review”

Written on: 20/10/2018 by Martin465 (1 review written)

I have been a member for about 2 years. Generally it is very good. The facilities are excellent, opening hours flexible and staff very attentive and helpful. However, there are been numerous times when things are not working. The jacuzzi and the steam room and also the air conditioning in the changing rooms. It is like a sauna in the changing rooms without the temperature regulator. Also, for such a prestige club the food is terrible. I heard the young girl serving food saying " no, it is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Membership Cancellation”

Written on: 11/02/2018 by 25Head (1 review written)

I have been paying for my sons membership at Eastbourne but when he moved away to college last year I informed the club and heard nothing further until I received a letter after Xmas from Arc Europe (debt collectors) demanding £235. Rather than have any problem I paid up and was told the matter was settled and that my sons account was closed. But I have now received another demand for £147. At no time have the club written directly to my son or me but have simply instructed Arc Europe to send… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“not recommented”

Written on: 18/10/2017 by Carsonff143 (1 review written)

I was a member of that gym for nearly 3 years. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. The receptionist is disorganized. I wanted to cancel my membership because i would go for two months traveling. I was paying 60 pounds a month so I can cancel my membership easier. I sent emails and I got a reply about a week later. I called in to discuss my account and they told me its ok, sorted. A few days before my traveling I called in and they told me that they will charge me for an extra month. I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST HEALTH CENTRE EVER”

Written on: 05/10/2017 by Foxilady1947 (1 review written)

I used to belong to Nuffield in Cheam, Surrey. And NUffield was fabulous. Moved down to Kent 6 months ago, and joined this establishment. My doctor recommended I swim and do pilates to help my osteo arthritis of the spine. This was about 4 months or so ago and everything was ok. A few complaints about the condition of the jacuzzi was all. Then at the end of June I started getting vertigo attacks and doc said it was best not to swim or do pilates, as this was aggravating the condition. I rang… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bannatynes Peterborough - definitely not a spa!”

Written on: 19/08/2017 by 453Dean (1 review written)

This place is definitely not a spa. It's a gym, which happens to include a pool and treatment area. Firstly, the 'spa'', or treatment area is upstairs completely over the opposite side to the pool. We decided to visit the pool as soon as we arrived, only to be greeted by an aerobics class! Immediately after that a family swim session was in progress. The sauna, steam room and jacuzzi was always occupied by members. The treatments are average. My husband had to have a manicure as they had no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Virtual classes and don't miss your renewal or else”

Written on: 28/07/2017 by KayleighQuinlan116 (1 review written)

Missed my renewal date and am being charged full price and joining fee - a joke. Virtual classes and no one checking if people are fine inside Changing wasn't clean - they will deny it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete disrespect and disregard for members”

Written on: 01/06/2017 by Delaneye442 (1 review written)

I have been a member of Hastings club for some years and have had to make various complaints about the on going lack of facilities owing to poor maintenance and breakdowns. Sadly the staff take no action and are more content to "fob you off" with excuses. I have recently made some valid concerns around health and safety issues but the manager simply will not respond to my emails. Don't bother joining Bannatynes unless you are happy with substandard facilities, paying top notch prices and staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Bannatynes Health Club Complaint”

Written on: 22/04/2017

I have just been swimming at Bannatynes, Folkestone and have heard more complaints there than ever. Currently the club has faulty female showers, the sauna and steam room are not working and the air-conditioning in the gym upstairs has packed up. I heard a guy saying that he had complained about the state of the club to head office and was told to leave if he wasn't satisfied and that most customers returned after a while as there wasn't an alternative facility in the area! I can't believably… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The cleaner at Banatynes Dunfermline is so rude!!!”

Written on: 29/03/2017 by Shaffer372 (1 review written)

There is a cleaner at Banatynes who walks around looking miserable all of the time, and if you walk anywhere close to her whilst she is sweeping / mopping floors etc, then she tuts and sighs at you.....she's so ignorant!!! She certainly does not make you feel welcome at Banatynes Dunfermline. No sure of the name of her but she works on an evening during the week.....you'll notice her straight away as she's the miserable one!! Jeez if she could crack a smile, it might make a difference!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Look closely first and think!”

Written on: 27/10/2016 by MickyVard (1 review written)

I was sold a trial month at Banatynes Eastbourne, having discussed my health issues heavily and not really wanting to take on a full membership until I knew whether I would be able to exercise or not. I liked the idea of a Personal Trainers advise on exercise for my condition. However, that was more money and turned out not to be a bad decision. I took my medical records which were ignored and was shown exercises my Dr's strictly told me NOT to do. That was my first days experience, after that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish pool and showers”

Written on: 27/10/2016

Bannatyne at Chester -le- street the temperature of the swimming pool is always below standard making one feel like not wanting to stay in very long also if there is any repairs or other problems arise it takes the management for ever and a day to get the problem put rite, always loads of complaints but never anything done, the spa is always out of order the steam room is never rite either no steam or no menthol or smelly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Harassed to join”

Written on: 30/09/2016 by AronBuchanan1981 (1 review written)

Soooooh fed up getting texts every other day asking me to join. Have phoned 3 times now to ask them to stop. I didn't tick the boxes to be contacted yet they do it anyway… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not again”

Written on: 20/07/2016 by AaravMcClanahan (1 review written)

£40 a month to use a dirty gym when you can pay £10 for other gyms nearby. Wish I had not signed up now. Nhs discount not for casual contract they try to tie you down for at least 12months to get the discount. When you want to cancel your contract they ignore your cancellation emails, fob you off on the phone- then when you try to cancel it face to face the staff are sat in the office eating mars bars and looking at you like you are some sort of alien- cannot seem to grasp the concept that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“enjoying my time ”

Written on: 17/07/2016 by vampireje9 (1 review written)

I went to join up to the Blackpool gym as I wanted to get healthier...personally I think people are being very picky about this gym, many issues are due to their own personal annoyance at something or someone and not the fault of the gym or staff themselves. When I signed up I did it online. I was told id have an introduction, unfortunately I wasn't given this BUT as the gym is simple and well signed and the equipment is ticket science I get by perfectly fine (unsure how others have struggled)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview