Ski Beat www.skibeat.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ski Beat www.skibeat.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Unreliable”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Cualann on 10/12/2022

First holiday after working a season for them and I can't believe how much of disappointment it's been. Our flight was cancelled which isn't ski beats fault but they told us they're would be a rep ready to meet us and let us know what's happening. There is no one here for us, no alternative travel arranged, no abomination and no communication. Left stranded at Manchester Airport and we'll miss a day and half of skiing maybe more! Unreliable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Appalling customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ckAlexander1952 on 14/03/2022

No refund, no communication, literally ghosted by this company. I have never seen such bad customer service. I can only assume they don’t want repeat business. Buyer beware, they do not live up up to “book with confidence”

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst customer service I've been unlucky enough to...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 14/03/2022

Ski beast's customer service is absolutely shocking. They not only refused to refund my friends and I in breach of their own terms but basically refused to answer correspondence and calls leading to a huge amount of stress and uncertainty I would strongly recommend not booking with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Ski Beat - disdainful customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KirstyMatthews on 19/01/2022

Skibeat have failed to return my holiday money for 20 days now and I’m still waiting. It’s a large sum of money, and the rest of my party have had their money returned. Over the last 20 days, I have called Skibeat numerous times, sent emails, including official complaints and not had any formal response. When I do manage to get through I am told various versions of: ‘we’re sending the money today’, it will be with you imminently, ‘the money has left our accounts so it’s no longer our problem’…yet I am still without my money and no longer have any trust in what they tell me. Repeatedly I have asked for Management to call me back to let me know that someone actually cares that they’re holding my money, or that they have received my complaints and take them seriously, but nothing. Don’t book with Skibeat, they don’t care about their customers. A real textbook case of bad customer service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No words can properly describe these jokers!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MisterC. on 15/03/2021

I don’t write reviews as a rule but I cant let this go. Could be ‘War and Peace’ but I think the other reviewers say it all. We booked a holiday through SNO (www sno.co.uk) who in turn used Ski Beat (www skibeat.co.uk). Ski Beat just refunded our cancelled holiday from last April! We booked through Sno and that caused an issue that I was very unaware of. Always shouted about the virtues of ‘Section 75’, always ensure £100 or more paid by Credit Card – but I hadn’t appreciated that by using SNO, who in turn used Ski Beat, that only the deposit could be clawed back (and that could be rejected). The problem firmly resided with Ski Beat and their unscrupulous Directors. The staff must have been in a difficult position but they needed to ensure they are clear with their communication and follow up what they gladly promise on the phone (to get rid of you); SNO have no protection in these circumstances and so I now need to ensure I book with and pay the same company I am dealing with (though SNO were ok it just adds an unnecessary risk); The Department of Transport (who oversee the Atol scheme) need to make sure that you can’t slip into the grey area where a company is – allegedly – not trading insolvent and so the Atol scheme does not kick in but also won’t refund your money (CAA are useless as no one wants to say anything without their lawyers present, DOT – who oversee the Atol scheme replied with a 2 page response saying absolutely nothing – yes we pay these people’s wages!). This is a very difficult time for everyone and one doesn’t need to be submitting court orders to get your money back for things – ours was more than small claims court level as we were booking for several families, so that made us think about the costs and implications even more. It should not be like this, happy to be ‘flexible’ but given the number of good companies that will not/have not survived this dreadful pandemic, I can’t help but think the likes of Ski Beat should not be allowed to trade certainly the Directors (listed on Companies House) should be never be allowed to hold a Directorship again. I suggest they need to re-read what Directors duties and responsibilities are, and the authorities need to enforce it! Or maybe I am wrong and we will all get a slice of the previous years when they made a profit? Lol! Anyone still waiting - I think it is a case of ‘he who shouts loudest sadly’. Good luck!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Still waiting for our refund”

★☆☆☆☆

written by McDanieloj1950 on 18/01/2021

Booked a ski holiday with friends departing April 2020. Obviously the trip could not go ahead. Still awaiting the refund to which we are legally entitled. Very upset about how the whole situation has been handled (or not) by the company. Please do not book your ski holiday with this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Poor communication ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Gary.Farhall on 07/04/2020

I had a holiday booked in March 2020. Half the resort was closed due to the Coronavirus but my holiday didn't get cancelled. One week before I was due to go all resorts closed so my holiday was inevitably going to be cancelled. Ski Beat made no contact until two weeks after and this was only to tell me they would be in contact. When they did finally contact me via email it was just a voucher for the same holiday the following year. I managed to speak to an adviser and was told he needed to speak to the correct department and would be back in contact. I've not heard anything for over a week and cant get hold of anyone via phone or email. I've since discovered on the Atol website that the voucher is valid until July so I assume I'm going to have to wait until then to continue to fight for my refund. I understand they made the decision to not refund customers to financially survive the crisis and I would have supported this. But because of the way in which Ski Beat decided to treat customers through this I won't be using them again, we are supposed to all be in this together.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Worst ski company I have ever encountered”

★☆☆☆☆

written by PeytonMiller122 on 17/03/2018

This holiday was infuriating. The staff are young and not managed, so they run riot. One of them was drunk on arrival. The food is basic and in the main bad The wine is like vinegar - as our drunken chalet host told us on the first night The chalet was absolutely filthy. I mean dust bunnies everywhere.. the dinner table was sticky.. the cutlery and glasses were grubby.. the dishwasher was broken but they were continuing to use it regardless. The bathrooms had broken tiles underfoot, no shower curtains and were grubby so as soon as you put your white bath mat down it was brown from the dirt. Our 'homemade tea' was recycled and put out two days running There was no customer care, we requested the chalet host day off restaurant booking three times and were told it was booked three times and when we went down for dinner it transpires it hadn't been booked so we had nowhere to eat. The icing on the cake... After an injury one of our party was asked if she wanted/needed assistance at the airport and we all said yes. The following morning on arrival at the airport we had nothing.. therefore our injured passenger had to sit on a baggage trolley and then a Childs pushchair to get through the airport to the plane as she was unable to walk. Having sent our complaints in, several of them were dismissed completely with no response, and others were dealt with in resort according to the company.. 'rubbish' In fact we received a response to the disabled assistance complaint in which head office told us that there manager had told us directly he was unable to arrange help at the airport blah blah blah.. which was just not true! The only complaint they seemed to care about was our drunken chalet staff on arrival. During and after this shambles of a holiday was over we requested compensation. We received a token gesture which we pushed for, however what we did pay for this holiday even after the 11% refund was still far too much! AVOID SKI BEAT LIKE THE PLAGUE! We booked through Ski Line, and hadn't even realised they were brokers and booked us with Ski Beat.. and funny enough it is damn near impossible to leave a review for Ski Beat online as they seem to have no online presence or trip advisor account. Now we know why!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Ski Beat - Chalet Sobier La Plagne France”

★★☆☆☆

written by Adolfo268 on 08/05/2017

Thanks, but no thanks the Chalet is well positioned but Ski Beat is pants when it comes to customer service and satisfaction. Ski Beat did nothing to quality control their services and simply ignored any requests for making improvements. The chalet was filthy dirty with a list of broken fixtures and fittings as long as your arm. The hot water failed twice the the power went off once. Ski Beat appeared incapable of changing a light bulb, replacing a hoover or bleaching a sink. All in it was the first and last time that I shall trust my holiday to Ski Beat. They have a lot to do just to cover the basics. Never again . . .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Good overall - Chalet Host makes or breaks the Hotel”

★★★★☆

written by on 11/04/2017

Host/Service - Ski Beat service from arrival in Lyon, coach transfers and in resort were good. Our 22 year old host made us very welcome from the minute we arrived and helped get our bags up to the Chalet. He had laid out an afternoon tea and gave us a briefing for the week ahead. Then we had ample time to unpack, get skis organised or hired and make an orientation walk around La Daille. He was happy to join in or let us amuse ourselves - he made some good recommendations for skiing, après ski and dining. Buy your own drinks or use the Honest Bar €1 for beers. You can book a masseur who visits the Chalet - very nice to have 30 minutes on your legs for €45. Food - Breakfast is flexible between 8-9am and was very good in comparison with other ski trips - starting with cereals, porridge plus we always had at least 3 hot options from bacon, egg, hash brown, mushrooms and baked beans. Afternoon Tea is laid out from about 4pm onwards with a different homemade cake each day. We elected to have dinner at around 7:30pm and on the first night we were treated to a welcome selection sparkling wine aperitif, Bruschetta and baked camembert with onion marmalade - a great ice breaker if the guests do not know each other. Dinner on the first night was Ginger Beef Casserole (veggie option Chickpea Casserole) and Apple and orange Crumble with ice cream - all washed down with unlimited white/red wine in carafes. The evening food was always good sometimes very good albeit the portions were reasonable rather than generous. All the other dinners were good with starters of Salad Savoyard, Caramelised Onion and Cherry Tomato Tarte Tatin, French Onion Soup, Courgette Crumbles followed by Mains of Tarragon Chicken, Salmon with Parsley and Parmesan Crust, Tartiflette, Pulled Spiced Pork followed by Chocolate Heaven, Sticky Toffee Pudding, Panna Cotta and. On last night it was vegetable soup with Duck Breast in Cassis sauce Mini Pavlovas and Cheese and Port. He always dined with us in the evening, got involved in the lively conversation and only left once we were fed, the wine carafes were topped up and dishes were washed or in the dish washer. On the Wednesday day off and final 4am get up he provided croissants - we chose to cook Eggs Benedict for breakfast on the Wednesday. ps: On the last day our group started to go down with what was either a tummy bug or food poisoning - it did not affect our ski holiday but did make the journey home a bit fraught as one of our group came close to being put off the flight!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No response to complaints”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 243Terry on 04/03/2017

Chalet was clean but a little tired. Good location though Food was average and my wife got food poisoning. When we escalated we were told it was Novo virus and not food poisoning despite it passing in 24 hours and my wife having a meal prepared by ski beat separate to everyone else. Staff were friendly and tried to assist as much as possible. Coach dropped us about 10 minute walk up the mountain from the Chalet so dragging bags and children isn't easy! Especially when leaving in the middle of the night in darkness. Coach transfer - we were told it was 2.5 hours but actually took 6. Not their fault but perhaps try to use airlines at airports closer by and not impacted so much by school holiday times.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No hidden extras but not quality service”

★★★☆☆

written by on 27/12/2016

48 hours before our flight was due I rang Skibeat, having heard nothing about our promised travel documents, only to find that our flights had been changed last minute. Luckily this wasn't too disruptive for us, living close to the airport, but for some it was extremely inconvenient. We were met as promised at the airport and the coach transfer was smooth and our rep friendly. Upon showing him our ski hire voucher he assured us that our skis would be delivered to the chalet. We asked him two more times to check, only for him to say, at 9pm before our first day's skiing, that they wouldn't in fact be delivered to the chalet and we'd have to get them in the morning, cutting into our first day's skiing. The chalet hosts were once again really friendly but, as the first week of their first season, a bit unsure about good restaurants to recommend, how to light the fire etc. Overall, the service was friendly and there were no hidden extras but it seemed a bit novice and lacking the personal touches that make a chalet holiday special.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid SkiBeat they miss sell and ruin your holiday!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by NorwichNigel on 08/12/2016

We purchased a ski holiday through SkiLine who then booked with SkiBeat departing 17 Dec with a 11am flight time as we live 150 miles from Gatwick and were traveling with Children, SkiBeat have now cancelled the flight put us into the very early budget flight and after numerous attempts by us and our agent to get a reply from Ski Beat, they have simply come back with tough! "read the T&C". Awful and highly inappropriate response amazing both us and our Ski Agent. We have now had to pay for hotel the night before and an extra lot of parking as the rest of our group booked through a reputable company and are still flying at 11am! I am posting this in the hope that others might not be taken in - this has cost us an additional £300 - shy away from Ski Beat they really don't care once they have your money!!. We would not have booked this holiday if we had of know we had to be at Gatwick for 4am!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Mis-sold by Ski Beat”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jules118 on 06/12/2016

Ski Beat sold us a premium rate skiing holiday departing 17 Dec based on middle of the day flight time and have now cancelled the flight put us into the early budget flight and after numerous attempts by us and our agent to get engagement from Ski Beat, they have simply come back each time with tough luck "read the T&C". Awful and highly inappropriate response amazing both us and our Ski Agent. I am posting this in the hope that others might not be taken in - this has cost us up to £640!! My advice - shy away from Ski Beat.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Norwichnigel's Response to Jules118's Review

Written on: 08/12/2016

Totally agree, we had the same problem with Ski Beat and the same response!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Norwichnigel's reply to Norwichnigel's Comment

Written on: 08/12/2016

Have now had a call and got some goodwill after posting reviews

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very rude and unhelpful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Malloy416 on 11/11/2014

Rude and unhelpful company. Definitely wouldn't recommend for other people to use.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fab first time!”

★★★★★

written by Teamkay on 08/04/2013

We have just returned from our first family skiing holiday at La Plagne. We were a party of 2 families with 5 children aged between 3-11. Right from the airport the Ski beat team were helpful and enthusiastic. Doug sorted out the lift passes and delivered them at breakfast, and the 3 hour transfer went very smoothly. Our chalet hosts were great . James and Ian made everyone very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We had amazing meals all week and competently catered for food allergies and preferences. The children loved the cake at five every day. I have requested that James Quigley and Ian Mayhew publish a Ski Beat cook book! The chalet was spacious and well thought out, ideal for a variety of ages. Oxygene who ran our ski lessons provide a fantastic service of chauffeuring the children to ski school and the youngest child to nursery. They couldn't have been more helpful and cheerful. We can't wait to book again, Le Becoin La Plagne next year ! A fabulous first family skiing holiday - thank you to everyone ( plus resort rep Kate Cohen)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor Value for the Money”

★★☆☆☆

written by Seasonedskier01 on 13/03/2013

We used Ski Beat in February 2013 for a group ski booking in a catered chalet. We paid market prices for luxury accommodation in La Rosiere. The Chalet accommodation was lovely, and suited our requirements well. However the chalet hosts were poor and the experience was disappointing for the money spent. Thankfully, we were with a great group of friends who made up for Ski Beats failings. Food was average, service and hosting below par, with a definite feeling that we were doing them a favour not the other way around. Chalet very much communal with un-introduced Ski Beat personnel coming and going at their leisure despite us booking exclusive use. Food and Drink was rationed, with not everything available on the menu offered to us. Having stayed in similar catered chalets of between 4-5 star standard this was most definitely not worth the money. It is typically 2 star standard and prices should reflect this. Otherwise avoid Ski Beat if you want to do the full catered chalet experience well, and feel like you’ve got your money’s worth.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Paris75's Response to Seasonedskier01's Review

Written on: 04/04/2013

What chalet were you in ? We have just returned from La Rosiere in Papillom 5 and I echo everything this person has said. It got to the stage where I had a stand up row with the management and couldn't believe the arrogant attitude. La Rosire itself is superb and I would return. If the chalet hosts and Ski Beat Staff had been different then it would have been a great holiday.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“My first ski holiday”

★★★★☆

written by reviewkitten on 15/01/2013

My holiday with Ski Beat was my first skiing trip and I'm glad my family booked a hosted chalet as it really made the difference whilst I learnt to ski. We stayed in Plan Peisey, Les Arcs with our chalet near to a chairlift, a handful of shops and a couple of bars. The transfer from Grenoble to the resort was longer than I had anticipated at just over 3 hours turning Saturday into one long day of travelling. Our resort rep was very friendly and, for me, a little too cheerful (when you don't travel well the last thing you need is someone asking questions and beaming at you). When we arrived at the chalet we had to take our luggage up some snow covered steps with help from our host. The chalet was lovely, the balcony faced the sun allowing us plenty of sunbathing after skiing and the rooms were comfortable although a longer bed would have been nice (even my feet stuck out of the end). The great thing about having a hosted chalet is you don't have to worry about breakfast and dinner plus no housework either! The bonus of getting cake everyday was very welcome, especially after a long day skiing. Our host, although very new and young, was great and fitted in well with our family group. One thing that Ski Beat could do would be to allow them some better equipment in the kitchens so they don't have to improvise. The weather was great whilst we were there and we only had fresh snow on the last couple of days. I would recommend booking a chalet hosted holiday with Ski Beat as the reps were friendly and helpful and the chalets are good in a pretty good location.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“SKI BEAT nb. for 12/13 season Plan Peisey”

★★★☆☆

written by on 22/09/2012

We stayed with Ski Beat in March 2012. We travelled as 3 adults, 2 x 14yrs, 1 x 12yrs and 1 x 2 yr old. The Bouc Blanc, (Plan Peisey, Les Arcs) chalet host was experienced, the chalet is lovely and in a great location with all 5 chalets around it in the same very useful '50 metres from lift' location. Chalet was clean, host was nice as were the floating staff who came to help her. The only pest about the chalet was the walk up lots of steps from the coach stop at start and finish of the holiday (which is a bit tiring at the end of a long transfer from Grenoble) but there were plenty of resort staff to help with luggage. BUT to put it in perspective... for the rest of the week it is in an awesome location for the piste bit further for the bars but there's a good restaurant a short hop away. However, my complaint (and it is a major one) were the RESORT REPS. They were a couple; they were both arrogant, above being polite or remotely friendly, very unprofessional and thought they were too good to provide any kind of service or even politeness to guests. The woman in particular was bad tempered, yelled at her staff and was generally very stressy. He was plainly arrogant and rude and thought he was God. They were British ex-chalet hosts in US/Canada but were over promoted! It struck me that the recruiter had been over-awed by their apparent outward bound experiences (they were apparently kayaking, skiing or climbing instructors in North America). - their customer service skills were severely lacking as was their management ability (their staff didn't respect them at all, as was obvious, spending quite a lot of time laughing about them & to be fair to their staff they tried to remain professional against monster odds. The reps were well out of their depth regardless of how confident they might have come across at interview. NOTE: SKI BEAT - it has put me off booking with you again - I don't want to repeat that experience when I've paid over £3000 for a holiday - you have a lot of competition in this area, you need to get it right). The paying customer requires competant staff and they weren't up to this. I was really surprised as we had travelled with Ski Beat to La Plagne 2 yrs before - where the resort reps were ex-teachers with much more to offer as they were, at least, mature. To Guests - if you are using the Plan Peisey, Les Arcs creche (those staff were awesome) the room is too small and way too difficult in the snow to reach! It's in a mad location. I've 14 years experience of ski childcare and I've never seen such a dire position for a creche. Even the old Ski Beat one in La Plagne was in a better location. HOWEVER, the childcare staff were truely great, especially given their working environment. SKI BEAT - Can you not move the creche to the new big chalet in Plan Peisey... or are you moving away from childcare? I've graded the holiday as 3 stars as the chalet was great but I'm not going with Ski Beat again if that couple still work there. There's loads of other choices out there... shop around and use trip advisor.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great location and cheap but that's about it”

★☆☆☆☆

written by chutneyfungus on 29/02/2012

We stayed at Chalet Cristal 4 in Val d'Isere in 2011. The chalet was pretty cheap, and in an excellent location; those are the plus points. But the staff weren't very impressive, relative to other chalets that I've stayed in. The food was not good at all, and nobody seemed particularly enthusiastic to be dealing with guests which is strange if that's the job that you've chosen. On the way back to the UK we discovered that Ski Beat had given everyone the wrong flight times (all other companies using the same flight had managed to get this right). This meant that we were back much later than we were expecting, and as a result missed our onward transport. Despite Ski Beat acknowledging that this was their fault, they refused to pay for the cost of changing our tickets. They're cheap, but I certainly wouldn't use them again. I recommend that you don't either.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview