HP Pavilion DV6000 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
43% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Screen Quality

  • Battery Life

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
HP Pavilion DV6000 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for HP Pavilion DV6000

HP Pavilion DV6000
HP Pavilion DV6000
HP Pavilion DV6000
HP Pavilion DV6000

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“I had one of these but i wasn't very pleased with its...”

written by DJ_Stuart on 18/03/2014

I had one of these but i wasn't very pleased with its performance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“HP IS GARBAGE AND THIS DV6000 IS GARBAGE”

written by on 06/01/2014

Since I have owned the computer it has had a never ending list of issues. After reading online I guess my issue of not being able to turn the wifi on is a common problem (light stays orange). Also I have had the battery issue as we'll not being able to hold a charge. I had every common issue with this thing. My advice do not buy anything HP.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dont even think about it!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

written by Farginsneekyicehole on 10/02/2012

This laptop should be given a government health warning with the guarantee!! After about an hour or so the touch pad is untouchable! so much heat you need to turn it off for fear of it bursting into flames!(slightly OTT) but if you have one you no what I mean. I unplugged it one day and took it out backdoor and dropped a slab on it. NVIDIA GRAPHICS AND AMD NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I purchased the dv6000 AMD Turion64x2 in December...”

written by isthisthingon on 07/05/2011

I purchased the dv6000 AMD Turion64x2 in December 2006. I can honestly say that this has been a truly oustanding notebook! While I wasn't sold on AMD processors in 2006, I'm now sold on them. I rarely ran into any major issues(replacing motherboard, etc.)so I can not relate to the frustration of those who had trouble from the start. I think that in many cases the base model of any notebook has fewer problems. The computer was used on a daily basis from December 2006-April 2011. I downloaded/added many applications over the years. No issues. I did however run out of memory at times(no fault of the dv6000). It only had 2GB of memory. In April 2011, I finally had a couple of keys "pop off".. Despite being able to easily snap them into place, I decided to put the dv6000 "out to pasture".. I immediately replaced it with an HPdv7-4278nr AMD Vision. The new notebook has big shoes to fill...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Had to replace the motherboard twice. ”

written by Mark989 on 03/04/2011

Had to replace the motherboard twice.
HP Service Center in Sao Paulo, Brazil took 4.5 months to make one repair.
WLAN card replaced.
I never use this compu. without a cooling base.

My other HP (TX1000) has been a nightmare and is now not working again after major repairs. Not worth throwing good money after bad anymore. Worst experience of my computing life.

US Federal Class -action lawsuit in force. HP knows of this lawsuit but has not contacted the registered owners of their faulty machines to inform them of the ability to resolve their problems brought about by HP selling a poorly designed machine (excessive heat) machine.
Many HP laptops affected, I own two of them.
I will try to never buy HP again.

http://fairnvidiasettlement.com/#comment-696

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO'NT BUY A H.P. The now famous motherboard and...”

written by BUZZ13EE on 25/12/2010

DO'NT BUY A H.P. The now famous motherboard and nvidia8600m gs graphic card overheating and £400 repair bill....YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bought 2.5 years ago and it hasn't failed me once -...”

written by on 09/12/2010

Bought 2.5 years ago and it hasn't failed me once - first laptop I have owned, and really very pleased indeed with it. It came with Vista which puts off many people, but once again, have had no trouble with that either - must be the only person in the world who doesn't complain about Vista !!
If I had to criticise anything, one or two of the keys have lost their lettering which isn't a problem for me anyway as I am a touch-typist.
I shall be sorry when it eventually comes to the end of its lifespan !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Within the first month of owning this laptop I had to...”

written by on 06/12/2010

Within the first month of owning this laptop I had to replace the MOTHERBOARD. Over the course of the three years of having this computer, I have had to replace the BATTERY twice and the HARD DRIVE once. The SOUND has broken three times so I can't listen to music. Piece of * computer that gives me a headache. DON'T BUY.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have had this laptop for just over two years now and...”

written by on 18/09/2010

I have had this laptop for just over two years now and I can honestly say it is one of the best I have had! It has never let me down and the features are fantastic - wireless is great! It looks really nice too! The battery life isn't fantastic - when fully charged I get around about 1 hour 15mins depending on what I am doing but tha's on the original 2 yr old battery.

Overall, very pleased with my puchase and would recommend it to a friend!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY THIS LAPTOP!! I started developing a boot...”

written by on 31/08/2010

DO NOT BUY THIS LAPTOP!! I started developing a boot up problem creating an 8 split screen. After doing some reasearch it turns out it is a design fault in all the HP Pavillions causing the motherboard and graphic card to overheat! While it worked like a dream for a year and a half, this problem can not be fixed cheaply!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“i thought that it is the favorite laptop in the worls...”

written by foda jo go on 17/08/2010

i thought that it is the favorite laptop in the worls and it has very veryyy lot of options i think that i wish that this laptop is mine i like it very mush and it is the favorite laptop in the world

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Aftldn;er my daughter used her DV6000 for four months,...”

written by on 17/08/2010

Aftldn;er my daughter used her DV6000 for four months, it could't boot anymore. HP service replaced the motherboard after months of arguments and struggle and it broke down again after a few weeks use. HP service claimed it was again a motherboard problem and the hard disk was gone and asked for 260 bucks for replacements. I took the laptop to a repair shop and they any dreplaced a part on the motherboard using a rework station and showed me more than half a dozen DV6000's in the shop repaired with the same problem. They told me to sell the laptop while it still worked, and I am glad I did. I got an ASUS with twin hard disks and had no problems since while DV6000 users I know had all kinds of troubles. The worst laptop of personal computing ever, without any doubts is Hewlett Packard DV6000 series.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Having owned this laptop for a while now, I can say...”

written by KPinAD on 30/07/2010

Having owned this laptop for a while now, I can say that it has never let me down. At work the other staff in the office are always having problems and complaining about 'freezing' and suchlike. I just sit there looking smug as mine just happily does what I ask it. I hope I haven't tempted fate!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Have owned this laptop for nearly a year now. Screen...”

written by on 23/07/2010

Have owned this laptop for nearly a year now. Screen is great but not in a sunny environment. All other features work well. Wireless is one of the best I've come across however for the price and spec, I would have expected it to be bluetooth enabled.

Only major issue is the battery, I use 4-5 year old laptops at work, sameish spec, are in constant use AND are still on their original battery and will last about 1-2 hours. With this I'm lucky if it lasts 45 minutes.

All in all a great laptop except the battery life could be better.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“THe HP dv6 laptop developed a start up fault after 18...”

written by on 10/07/2010

THe HP dv6 laptop developed a start up fault after 18 months which is a nightmare. I bought HP because I thought I would be buying reliability. I would buy a Toshiba or Asus next time about £200 cheaper and just as good. I have had both previously and they lasted years.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I would definately recommend this laptop to anybody....”

written by on 13/06/2010

I would definately recommend this laptop to anybody. It looks amazing, nice widescreen. Some great features such as remote control, built in webcam. I've never had any problems with the wireless which hasn't been related to my router. Battery life could be longer, and I agree that the QuickPlay controls are super sensitive, but I don't see these as real problems. Have had one major problem with the BIOS, apart form that, an amazing laptop in my opinion, one of the best I have ever used. Very highly recommended!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE PLEASE, Mine was returned...”

written by on 07/06/2010

DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE PLEASE, Mine was returned three times due to overheating issues causing the Wirless card to not work, now I have the dreaded 'will not boot up' issue everyone who has one of these is aware of caused by overheating of the GPU video card Im told.
Put in 'HP Pavillion dv6000 wont boot up' (or another model number) on google then follw the posts to see how bad these things are.
P.S. If you have a problem I suggest you dont accept a repair from HP and instead take your retailer to the small claims court as these are not fit for purpose, after all would you expect to throw away something costing this much after a couple of years?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“i brought it about 5 months and im very happy works...”

written by Marcosilva on 24/04/2010

i brought it about 5 months and im very happy works perfectly good camera perfect forp lay games

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Alright, this laptop is an epic fail like someone...”

written by on 21/02/2010

Alright, this laptop is an epic fail like someone mentioned here.
Those few lucky who bought this laptop after the bugs and errors were fixed (finally) are very lucky to own it. It's a really nice laptop.. BUT...
HP hadnt spent more time building it and doing it the right way. The first time it broke down was 13 month after being bought, so i was very lucky to be paying for the repairs out of my own pocket as it had only 12 months warranty.
Even then over those 12 months the on/off switch was broken. Also the battery holded only for a couple of minutes (Now it actually holds 13-14 seconds average LOL).. After the first repair, which was damn expensive (actually more expensive than the minimal sallary people get here, so you can see my anger) it broke down again after 12 months. Then i went to private people who instead of changing the mainboard do some kind of repair for 1/3 of the professional repair price. Does the same thing those idiots did. Anyway. Also had problems with the monitor, and still experiencing, don't know how long this laptop will hold, so backed up all the data, just sitting on it while it dies. Spent so much god damn money on it... Why didin't i choose the car :/

If HP would start doing quality work, then this would be an awesome machine. But... They seriously need to change their view at clients and their merchandise

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling Service! ”

written by on 03/02/2010

Appalling Service!
HP have a policy of outsourcing many of their after sales services to 3rd parties, and do not monitor or control them. Result - your problem gets handed off to people who couldn't care less. HP will not intervene, there is no escalation and I was even told by them to take my after sales promotion problem to Trading Standards!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview