Wickes Reviews - www.wickes.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
13% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Wickes www.wickes.co.uk - Ask a question now

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Poor After Sales Team From Lowestoft ”

written by Jovany1989 on 17/01/2023

Waited 9 months for a bathroom that I had paid for, which wasn't an issue, however once the fitter started there was several issues down to the sales team at Lowestoft. 2 months later I am still waiting for a couple of items. Don't bother trying to ring the sales team as they never answer. Been into the store on occasions but felt that all I got was a salesmans banter. 15 minute drive to the store. Several mornings off work, numerous phone calls to wickes customer service, emails and texts. I'm out of pocket due to the incompetence of the sales team at Lowestoft. Would I recommend them....No!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Once you pay, you won’t get hold of them ”

written by on 19/08/2021

Started off okay but then the customer service level drops once you’ve paid them. Waiting nearly 2 months for our bathroom to be finished They don’t let you know if something is out of stock - just hope you don’t notice or ask When you try and contact them, they just don’t respond. That’s both branch and customer services They don’t manage the contractors you have to do all the leg work yourself Left with an unfinished bathroom. Would avoid them if we could choose again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Substandard bathrooms damaged my home # awful service”

written by 241Collier on 15/05/2015

I purchased equipment for the 2 bathrooms in my house - spending about £2000. Firstly, the first sink tap (a Wickes own brand mono basin mixer) broke within two months of being fitted followed shortly afterwards by the second identical tap. This was due to a design fault as the spout was not attached properly to the body. Basically, the Wickes own brand taps not fit for purpose - I meant to take the first tap back but forgot to do so and I stopped using the downstairs bathroom tap until I tried to bring it back today. In the interim, the shower cabinet could not cope with the water pressure, all the hoses broke loose showering my bathroom with water and damaging my home. I did get this item refunded when I refused to leave the showroom having wheeled the defective cabinet in to their sales office on a bank holiday- This was still a very tough negotiation but given their approach to any refund - I recommend this tactic to customers who have been sold substandard equipment. However, today, I had the worst customer service experience of my entire life when I tried to return the second tap which I still had for a refund as the tap was not fit for purpose. It was entirely clear to me that I had been ripped off and sold taps which did not meet the requirements of BS EN 200:2008 Sanitary tapware. Single taps and combination taps for water supply systems of type 1 and type 2. General technical specification. I explained to the duty manager that both taps had broken and that it could clearly be seen that the spout was not attached to the body meaning that water would spurt everywhere if you tried to use it. This manager told me he did not have budget and would have to call the manager at the Leicester branch as this was where I had purchased the product. They did not answer for 20 minutes. Then I was told that he could refuse a refund even if he wished simply on the grounds that I did not have the packaging. I explained that I wanted to speak to a store manager and was not going anywhere until I did so. They told me to come back the following day even though they were open and could clearly have refunded at the time. Then the showroom manager decided to go home insulting me and telling me that she did not have time for this, they work enough hours as it is already and I could stay all night for all she cared. I asked to speak with the store manager, the duty manager called him or her but refused to allow me to speak to them putting forward his own opinions about their one year warranty and packaging policy without even allowing me to explain my concerns. At this point, given that I have a dodgy hip and had a tumor removed by the oncology service at the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital a couple of years ago, I explained that I was going to sit down on a chair. The young manager in Loughborough, then threatened to call the Police. He did so, three very nice policemen came to the store and after a chat, I was told to leave because since the store was now closed they would have to use powers of arrest, if I refused to leave and as this was a civil and not a criminal matter they could not do anything about not even being listened to by a manager. I am absolutely appalled by the way I was treated by Wickes staff and would have thought the police had better things to do than rush out to see a a bit of a cripple on a chair with a customer service complaint. I cannot emphasise enough that my experience is Wickes are selling substandard equipment and not taking responsibility for it, then rather than listen to a polite and calm customer with a perfectly reasonable grievance they get heavy handed and call the Leicestershire Constabulary. I will never again shop here as long as there is breath in my body and I don't think anybody else should either.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Wickes Bathroom fiasco!”

written by on 25/04/2013

We had our bathroom suite redesigned and ordered were assured when it was finished we could walk in and enjoy, fuss free. THIS IS NOT THE CASE! From the start we had not toilet ordered!! The shower we wanted was not available for two months so had to choose another. The plastering was left rough and holes in the ceiling where the light fitting was replaced! When you sit on the loo you bang your knees on the heated towel rail!! and the shower screen is fixed to the bath so you cant reach the taps on the other side as it is P shaped! There is barely enough room to squeeze through the end of the bath and the sink sticking out. Its a joke!! After endless phone calls and begging a manager to come and see the issues in person we now have the fitters back after a month! and a new swing shower screen. But nobody had informed them the towel rail needed moving aggggh Such incompetance I SHALL NEVER RECCOMMEND WICKS TO ANYONE. rubbish rubbish.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Money taken twice but it takes days maybe weeks to get...”

written by on 08/05/2012

I ordered some goods over the internet. The website crashed as I was about to confirm payment. I rang them to be told they were having issues but they didnt want to take down the website. They took my details and confirmed both in writing and from Dave in Customer Services there would be no issues. I discovered when I tried to use my barclaycard they had taken the money twice. That was almost 2 weeks ago. They so far have not put the money back and it could take days for them to do so. They took the money in seconds but it takes days/weeks to get it back. They also say they will be sending me a cheque for £25 in compensation but that would take 2 to 3 weeks to get to me. DONT USE THEM. If you do pay cash. They lie, make empty promises but nothing happens.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless delivery service and even worse communication”

written by stevo2204 on 08/04/2012

I placed a large order over the phone (£1000 +) on ther afternoon of Thursday 5th April and was assured everything would be delivered the following day (specifically asked the question). I was informed someone would call from the branch before the end of the day to confirm delivery. No call came, on contacting the following day was informed bulk item (had specically discussed this at time of order and that delivery was now scheduled for Monday 9th April (Bank Holiday Monday). Changed my plans much to the annoyance of my partner who rarely gets time off and pleaded with builder to help unload on Monday with me. Here we are on Sunday and yet another message from the local branch saying out of stock at the branch and that it would be Wednesday before the order is delivered! I live in London and these people have no idea how difficult it is to get a good builder. Here I am messing the builder around again because some useless organisation can't get it's act together. Can't wait for Monday when I'm hoping Customer Services is open. I will definately be cancelling the order and reverting back to my local supplier. May be a little more expensive but they do what they say and never let me down. Lesson learn with Wickes, never ever again!! Their slick adverts certainly don't reflect what actually happens on the ground.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Basin finally arrived - nearly 4 weeks after ordering....”

written by on 04/08/2010

Basin finally arrived - nearly 4 weeks after ordering. 12pm-6pm slot monitored on website: every time the estimated arrival time approached, it changed, starting from 3:30pm. Eventually arrived at 5:40pm. No pedestal despite dimensions on website allowing for one. Phoned store, useless person on other end didn't help. Finally got through to someone on the order line who said they'd call back within 30mins. Am still waiting. Will be getting a refund.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I went to Wickes on Friday 1st May 2009, and bought...”

written by Marydee on 02/05/2009

I went to Wickes on Friday 1st May 2009, and bought one radiator, one solid Geneva solid oak door, the staff were very helpful, the young man who took for our order came out to our car and put all our goods in our car for us, that is what i call very good service, also Wickes are cheaper than B&Q, and alot cheaper than Kaybee Doors, also if you have spent over £45 they will deliver all your goods free, not a lot of shops do that , i have shopped in Wickes for years and have always found their staff very friendly and always have time to help you , and they are alot cheaper than alot of other D.I.Y stores in the Warrington area. Well done, and keep up the good work.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview