Mountfield 2200w Electric Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.3 / 5
70% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Mountfield 2200w Electric - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Mountfield 2200w Electric

Mountfield 2200w Electric
Mountfield 2200w Electric
Mountfield 2200w Electric
Mountfield 2200w Electric
Mountfield 2200w Electric

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Great product easy too use”

Written on: 26/02/2021 by BeatrizKora (5 reviews written)

Great product easy too use great for what i needed it for Compact, neat machine! Reduces garden refuse for easy disposal. Great quality shredder, shreds really well, and the chippings are easy to empty out. I recommend this shredder

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic machine had it 13years still awestruck by...”

Written on: 11/11/2020 by Wildbabe (1 review written)

Fantastic machine had it 13years still awestruck by its operation never fails does everything it says on the tin Overbalanced once (my fault)broke the casing dismantled and repaired. Lives to shred another tree!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“mountfield quiet shredder 22oow”

Written on: 04/10/2015 by oaWhite160 (1 review written)

Great machine but I would not recommend it because I can not find any spare parts, so when cutter plate is worn you have had it. Buy new one not a Mountfield.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★☆☆

“Carter”

Written on: 10/09/2014 by Camerone (1 review written)

It seems that the carter is not strong enough. A friend of mine brought his shredder to give me a hand. We discovered that the carter (where the branches are introduced) was broken just down the hole. Is it possible to repair or?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Mountfield Shredder”

Written on: 07/04/2014 by JaylinBarry97 (1 review written)

I've had the shredder for about 5 years. It lasted with average/heavy use for 4.75 years and worked quite well. However, in these heavy rains it had to be moved out of the wet and it slipped on the ground and the case was seriously broken. I taped it back together with duck tape and used it for a few more weeks. The motor has now packed up. I cannot find any spares so I think its had it. Pity!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rogerscriven's Comment

Written on: 29/03/2015

Yes it is a pity
I have one that has suffered some damage but you are welcome to it for spare parts. The cutting chamber plate is damaged.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“great machine ”

Written on: 25/08/2013

can anybody tell me where I can get a new cutting plate from in the south of England ?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A good practical workhorse.”

Written on: 09/07/2013 by selectron (1 review written)

Mountfield 2200W electric garden shredder. I bought this shredder after moving into a house in the country that came with a large garden and some woodland. That was seven years ago and I bought this shredder in a hurry because I had lots on the go at the time But I am glad that I did. In the past seven years it has been used every year to shred overgrown shrubs and branches from trees that have been cut down, it has seen so much use that I expected it to give up a long while ago but it is still going strong. I like the way it crushes the material and delivers it in small sections the make it ideal as a surface for the paths in the woodland and garden. It has done a great deal of work and the case is fine, plenty strong enough for what is required, I have read some of the other reviews and am amazed at how stupid some people can be-cutting a larger feed hole in the top!-if it will go into the hole then it will shred it. Not cutting properly- read the instructions and you will see that the mechanism can, and needs to be adjusted periodically with the allen key supplied via a hole in the side of the casing. If you want to be at all critical then it is a tad unstable to move around but fine when set up. All the critical reviews tell me that people do not read the instruction book, expect to much of the machine and are incompetent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“Excellent”

Written on: 12/03/2013

This is incredible and i love it so much. My wife uses it every weekend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I am totally addicted to my mountfield 2200w quiet...”

Written on: 24/05/2009 by ian digs veg (1 review written)

I am totally addicted to my mountfield 2200w quiet shredder, it is simple to use, quiet (obviously ) and extremely useful. Anything you can fit into the top will come out the bottom in small pieces, I use mine to shred vegetable waste, hedge/bush prunings, cardboard and anything else that can go into a compost heap. I have read some reviews that were less than complimentary but I cannot understand why!
You have to remember that it is nearly an electric motor and a cylinder with very sharp cutters on, if you try to overload it, it could block or jam, but the auto reverse function quickly and easily free's these jams.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“a lot of people seem to expect to much of this...”

Written on: 15/01/2009

a lot of people seem to expect to much of this product,I use a £450 petrol engined shredder and it to blocks with damp fine material.Its a good vale product,easy to use and reliable if not abused.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Finer stuff is a problem - one finds oneself ferreting...”

Written on: 29/12/2008 by jso1 (1 review written)

Finer stuff is a problem - one finds oneself ferreting about for coarser material to put in with it, so that the finer stuff gets dragged through too - a bit of a waste of time. The hard plastic body casing is rubbish - it is far too fragile and mine is now held together with bits of metal strap and self tappers where it has fallen over repeatedly. This brings me to my final point - the balance of the whole thing - quite simply it's rubbish: the design may mean that it is easy to wheel about but it's so unstable that it can easily tip over when being manoeuvred -causing more fractures in that fragile casing. It is also just as likely to shoot towards one when being lowered into place whacking one's ankle in the process.
A competent machine let down by a poor choice of casing material and poor balance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have had 3 machines in my time, an early not very...”

Written on: 25/06/2008

I have had 3 machines in my time, an early not very robust black and decker, a mid range garden shredder by alko and a mountfield 2200 watt. The mountfield is by far the more superior machine. Always had problems with wet, small material with every machine. The mountfield is easy to set up. Blades are easily adjustable.Reverse gearing to allow easy clearance where the other machines you need to strip down to remove blockage. The mountfield works by crushing the material not by spinning blades. At our French house we put 15ft lengths of branches (green) into the mountfield and it just kept going all day.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Most suitable for dealing with prunings from my fruit...”

Written on: 02/03/2008 by fairlawn11 (1 review written)

Most suitable for dealing with prunings from my fruit trees and various large shrubs which my old Black and Decker said You are having a joke mate and gave upin a puff of smoke. Really not suitable for wet green cuttings or general garden rubbish which should be composted anyway - a first class unit for my purpose.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Very Quiet. Eats branches quickly and chops them...”

Written on: 06/01/2008 by wookey (3 reviews written)

Very Quiet. Eats branches quickly and chops them effectively. Easy to maneuver. I borrowed this Mountfield 2200w Electric Garden Shredder from a friend after previously using an ALKO rotary shredder. I was very impressed with the way it fed branches automatically and cut them up reliably. No problems with clogging on 5-25mm cherry branches (a huge pile of them - it was a big tree). It doesn't actually shred - it chops into 30mm sections, usually with a bit of bark holding the string together. This was not quite what I was expecting, but it looks like it will make a very good mulch. One small corner of the case has broken, which is in line with other comments on the case being a bit on the brittle side for a machine likely to get bashed a bit. I was very impressed with this machine and would certainly be happy to buy one, having tried it out.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

348785_Fairlawn11's Response to wookey's Review

Written on: 02/03/2008

I agree with this review because...I own one and I find it the same as reviewed

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
☆☆☆☆☆

“I could not recommend this product to anyone.”

Written on: 10/11/2007 by FKahney (2 reviews written)

I could not recommend this product to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor reliability. Very poor after sales service. Not...”

Written on: 23/10/2007 by FKahney (2 reviews written)

Poor reliability. Very poor after sales service. Not as good as a Black & Decker shredder which is cheaper and shreds, rather than grinds like the Mountfield.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Since the top of the chute was smashed up I cut a much...”

Written on: 11/08/2007 by cushioncreeper (1 review written)

Since the top of the chute was smashed up I cut a much larger hole - OK, so I can now put my hand into the Mountfield 2200w Electric garden shredder whilst it is running, but I no longer worry about gnarled branches - I just shove everything in, and what it doesn't like, it spits back out - it easily handles branches well over 40mm!

I'm now on the third case, since the other two break too easily. I'm also on my second cutting box, as the first shattered when I adjusted the cutting head slightly too far - bad design allows this to happen. The second cutting box shattered when the machine tipped and fell back - the handle is bolted to the top of the cutting box, as the handle hit the pavement, the case cracked & the mounting box (cheap aluminium casting) simply shattered.

I was fortunate that my local dealer had a machine in bits which had a burnt out motor, so I bought it to use the case & mounting box. £50 was a bargain to get the workhorse running again (certainly much cheaper than a new machine).
That said, I wouldn't buy another - the machine blocks all too easily, the output chute is forever blocking, as is the input chute. It loves branches but hates thin stuff and leaves - but I don't want to spend forever taking the thin stuff off branches - that's what I bought a shredder for.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cushioncreeper's Response to cushioncreeper's Review

Written on: 27/09/2007

Well, three cases later, and two cutting boxes, it's finally gone & broke again. This time, the cutting box simply disintegrated after an hour's work.
<br/>I really can't be chucking another £50-odd at buying another box then spending half a day fitting it.
<br/>The handle is bolted to the top two bolts of the front plate of the cutting box - each time you tip the Mountfield 2200w Electric garden shredder to move it, you place a strain on those two bolts - especially bearing in mind how incredibly heavy the machine is.
<br/>But the box has actually shattered into half a dozen pieces with only thumb-thickness branches.
<br/>
<br/>I've now bought a Bosch quiet shredder, on special offer at a well-known DIY store for £148.
<br/>This machine is so much lighter, and even quieter. I'm looking forward to seeing what it can handle.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Bought to use in normal domestic gardening situation. ...”

Written on: 10/07/2007 by bobwoodhams (1 review written)

Bought to use in normal domestic gardening situation. Used for tree clippings and hedge trimmings. Works well and swiftly. Creates good mulch.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

348785_Fairlawn11's Response to 297520_bobwoodhams's Review

Written on: 02/03/2008

I agree with this review because...used for the job it was designed for it is an excellent unit

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I own a Bosch 2000hp which is excellent. However, when...”

Written on: 17/03/2006 by Ben9 (1 review written)

I own a Bosch 2000hp which is excellent. However, when buying a shredder for the school where I work, I was seduced by the special offer and the Mountfield name. It just doesn't do the job. It strips the foliage and has a gentle chew at the branches but does not SHRED! B+Q took it back and I will purchase another Bosch when they come in, in spite of of the price difference.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★☆

“I have for many years used an ordinary shredder and...”

Written on: 14/03/2006 by michaelpap (1 review written)

I have for many years used an ordinary shredder and have been very pleased with it but as I suffer from chest problems the dust produced by such shredders is a very big problem. You may say, use a mask, but who wants to do so when working in an open air environment in the summer or winter? The Mountfield quiet shredder gets over this.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cushioncreeper's Response to michaelpap's Review

Written on: 11/08/2007

I found this review helpful because...
<br/>I agree with the comments about the casing on the Mountfield 2200w Electric garden shredder - it is cheap. The overall weight of the machine gives it a robust feeling, but this is just a false sense of security.
<br/>A powerful workhorse let down by inferior parts.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Judith358 on 27th November 2018 Report this content
We had to remove the top cover in order to free the rotary cutter and all the electric connections came apart. We think we have pushed them back together correctly but cannot find a wiring diagram to check and the earth wire is free. Does anyone have this information so that we can check prior to use please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by allanbaskeyfied on 31st March 2014 Report this content
I have a Mountfield quiat garden shredder 2200w but have a problem at the moment as it has been standing for a long time and now will not start. How do I get into it since I have taken out all the screws I can see except the four that appear to go into the handles? I think the problem is electrical since I have cleaned out the shredding cavity and there is no blockage.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview