LV= Britannia Rescue Breakdown Cover - lv.com Reviews

LV= Britannia Rescue Breakdown Cover - lv.com
★★★☆☆
3.1
51.0% of users recommend this
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
LV= Britannia Rescue Breakdown Cover - lv.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for LV= Britannia Rescue Breakdown Cover - lv.com

Latest Reviews

“Mechanic had no tools”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jimquad on 27/05/2024

Roadside “mechanic” turns up and says I have no tools and only here to recover it. He said looks like it’s the belt. I know thats a simple job and a decent roadside firm would have fixed it! Not blaming the recovery driver but Britannia should be sending out people equipped with tools!!! Cancelling the membership which I have been renewing each year!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Fast Helpful sympathetic”

★★★★★

written by Holiday2024 on 11/05/2024

Yesterday we loaded our motor home excited to go on a lovely Holiday. Almost got to our destination...… When we had an accident due to a very inconsiderate driver who just couldn't wait . the motorhome was undrivable. We called LV who put us in touch with the recovery service because it was an accident and not a break down.... WOW ..the very kind lady put everything into place for us . she arranged a low loader lorry to take the Motorhome away and explained everything to fine detail she stayed in contact throughout the rest of the day and even contacted us today to ensure we got home ok and explained the next steps ..explaining when and where our Vehicle will be brought to close to our home, I must say that is up and beyond on her days work. Her empathy was very kind, She also organised a taxi to get us home and not just a car but a carrier as our motorhome was loaded.. The driver was extremely helpful too and got us back home safely. from a horrible day to absolutely perfectly organised and a swift recovery. from the bottom of our hearts THANK YOU. And to you the public …You may say "well say that's what you pay insurance for .. But This was well worth every penny and so prompt..

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“European Breakdown Cover”

★★★★★

written by Isobel21 on 10/05/2024

Excellent European breakdown cover provided from the moment of initial contact, the car was picked up (in the Alps) and taken to a garage in France for repair - Easter Weekend! The car could not be fixed before our return (4 people) but they communicated throughout and allowed us to book transfers, taxis and flights to the UK whilst the car was bought back home the following week on the back of a trailer to a garage of our choice in Bucks. The service was excellent - I would particularly like to thank the lady in Head Office for her excellent communication and also her colleagues in France who were extremely helpful. It was a stressful situation but the Britannia team had been there before and it ran like clockwork not impacting too much on our holiday. Thank you so much and massive shout. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Unacceptable ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Yorkie1951 on 21/04/2024

I rung lv Brittany’s breakdown because my Oxford lock on my front wheel would not undo because the barrel had collapsed and they refused to come out totally refused what do we pay breakdown insurance for because when you ask questions about security I had to have one of the recommended Oxford products which failed and I am totally shocked at your response

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Unbelievably Excellent service & I was just the...”

★★★★★

written by JerryO'Connell on 19/04/2024

I was a passenger in my friends car who was driving us to my static caravan. Her car started overheating & we had to pull up, so I called my LV Britannia recovery to see if they could help & they were excellent. They answered promptly & because we were 3 ladies on our own we were put on priority. Within 2 hrs we had the car picked up & taken to a secure storage over the weekend, then onto her garage of choice afterwards and we then had a rental car delivered, exactly when we needed it, even to the caravan park so she could drive herself back home after the weekend! All completed with competent, well spoken, calm staff. Brittania breakdown were helpful & resourceful immediately and so were Enterprise the company who provided the rental car. All were so professional, particularly for the fact that this was all when I was just a passenger too! (I took out the relevant cover for this) Absolutely amazing breakdown recovery. Can't thank them all enough or recommend them enough. I will be sticking with this cover forever!

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Hobbs Revovery Service Hastings”

★★★★★

written by Doristravels on 13/04/2024

We had a fuel leek on our Fiat Ducato motorhome while traveling from isle of sheppey and Hastings . We were booked onto a motorhome site near Hastings so made it there without further dramas . I rang LV Britannia and my situation was dealt with very quick by a delightful lady who was understanding friendly and efficient. She said she would pass my details onto a local agent and while I was on the phone she advised that they had been contacted and would call be to advise on an ETA . Because of the nature of the fault she said they would send an engineer to assess the problem before initiation recovery and transport of us and the vehicle to an address of my choice . An Engineer contacted me within minutes of my call and said he would be with me within the hour to access what was needed . He arrived found the fault arranged for a new part and also that the part would be fitted the following day which was not a problem as we were due to be on the site for 2 days . The following day another engineer contacted me confirmed he had the part and would be with me within an hour & arrived promptly, fitted the new part and the problem was solved . I cannot praise Hobbs Revovery Service Hastings Enough for their professionalism and service. This definitely was an extremely positive experience, thank you LV Britannia & especially all at Hobbs Recovery Service ????

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“OUTSTANDING/SO QUICK”

★★★★★

written by Iampopsxx on 28/03/2024

I was on about to leave to go on a weekend away from home and my car wouldn't start, i was in a panic, called up and the gentleman I spoke too was so lovely (I didn't get his name) he told me someone would be at my house with 60-90 mins. Half hour later, someone had already been and my car had been started. (Flat battery) I was floored how quick it was, the day before a bank holiday weekend at 5pm! And I was at home so technically not even an emergency. Fantastic service!!

Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Amazing ”

★★★★★

written by Owen376 on 21/03/2024

Amazing breakdown cover and great response within time

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Good ”

★★★★★

written by AlexisOwens402 on 21/03/2024

This was good morning sir this is amazing product aahe sopa and helpful inbox to photography lighting sources or ho jayega sir please find the product is best for you to be happy

Was this review helpful? 0 2

“Excellent response ”

★★★★★

written by Bimps on 22/02/2024

Waiting time good and when arrived checked and explained exactly what was being done very careing and considerate felt very reasured back home safely

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolutely Brilliant Service ”

★★★★★

written by Hansen375 on 27/12/2023

My Fiesta wouldn't start on our Boxing day journey back home from my mother's LV Brittania rescue couldn't have been more helpful they answered the call promptly and had arranged rescue within minutes,rescue arrived within two hours and mechanic called during the wait to advise of time of arrival, had car up and running in minutes,a faulty starter, I can't fault their service and would highly recommend them

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Be careful: misleading documents and broken phones”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Viviant311 on 08/12/2023

Renewal process was a farce. At the end of the term they asked me to contact then to renew and took my payment details, which apparently went through, yet didn't. All correspondence is in PDF documents that are hard to open on mobile devices. The email containing the PDF doesn't tell you what is inside, it just says "policy document" attached, which you'd assume is a cover certificate. Two weeks down the line I got the document open on a PC, it actually said something else. How hard is it to change an email subject to "you have not paid"? I tried to ask for a call back, but they basically gave up and cancelled the policy, invalidating the price in the process. Phone shows some withheld numbers at times when I'd have been unable to answer the phone, can't be sure if it was them or not. Attempts to call them back from a mobile phone didn't work (the line just hangs up but it works for all other numbers) so I had to find a landline phone. Call quality truly awful. They then tried to quote me for a more expensive policy. It looks like their phone system is rubbish and communication generally is pretty poor. This doesn't bode well if you need recovery as you might find that you can't get through to them from a mobile phone, which is pretty rubbish really if you are broken down in the middle of nowhere. This might be a temporary faulty with their phone lines, but fundamentally a recovery company MUST be reachable and you need to be sure that you are actually covered. Avoid.

Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Excellent”

★★★★★

written by GustavoWoltmann76 on 05/11/2023

In just 2.5 hours from my initial call, my car was dropped off at the requested garage thanks to the outstanding service provided by Britannia Recovery. I cannot praise them enough for their excellent response, starting with the friendly and responsive young man who took my call. Being alone, I truly appreciated their constant updates and concern for my well-being, with calls every half hour. Their proactive approach made me, as a lone female, feel safe, heard, and supported. The recovery driver was efficient, friendly, and cheerful, ensuring excellent service from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Didn't even answer the phone. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by keatsgb on 02/11/2023

Called them 21:20hrs Thurs 2 November. After listening to a lengthy recorded message I was then kept on hold waiting....... and waiting...... and waiting. Gave up waiting in the end and called a garage. What if I'd been a vulnerable person or in an unlit location?? Shameful response. My policy was due for renewal next week. Fat chance. Avoid!!

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Failed at the first hurdle ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Will600000 on 01/11/2023

I recently joined LV Britannia Rescue for personal cover, attracted by their competitive pricing compared to vehicle cover options. However, my initial experience with their service left me rather frustrated. I needed to use their service for the first time on a Friday evening, and it was quite a challenge. After navigating the pre-operator key press menu, I had to endure a lengthy 45-minute wait before my call was finally answered. Once my call was picked up, a breakdown and recovery company was assigned to my call out. Fortunately, I was able to resolve the issue on my own, but when I attempted to cancel the call-out, I was informed that I would have to wait for an additional hour before my cancellation could be processed. This delay was rather inconvenient. To add to my frustration, their online "claim form" turned out to be unhelpful, and there was no obvious way to cancel the job until I received a text message indicating which company had been assigned to me. Only then could I call the assigned company directly to cancel the call-out. In summary, LV Britannia Rescue's pricing for personal cover is competitive, but my first experience with their service was marred by long wait times, cumbersome cancellation procedures, and a less-than-useful online claim form. They might want to work on improving the efficiency and customer-friendliness of their processes.

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Never turned up ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Dancingmouse on 24/10/2023

I called Britania rescue call center My battery had gone flat, they asked me if I was a vonerable person I said no. They said it will be up 2 hours ,2 hours went called them back they apologised I flet they hadn't logged my call in the first place as the call handler seemed surprised. He told me not to worry they are on the way, I ended up paying some one to come and sort it out for me .ashame they use to be good I've been with them 15 yrs plus

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Failed at the first hurdle ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 279Poole on 09/10/2023

I recently joined LV Britannia Rescue for personal cover, attracted by their competitive pricing compared to vehicle cover options. However, my initial experience with their service left me rather frustrated. I needed to use their service for the first time on a Friday evening, and it was quite a challenge. After navigating the pre-operator key press menu, I had to endure a lengthy 45-minute wait before my call was finally answered. Once my call was picked up, a breakdown and recovery company was assigned to my call out. Fortunately, I was able to resolve the issue on my own, but when I attempted to cancel the call-out, I was informed that I would have to wait for an additional hour before my cancellation could be processed. This delay was rather inconvenient. To add to my frustration, their online "claim form" turned out to be unhelpful, and there was no obvious way to cancel the job until I received a text message indicating which company had been assigned to me. Only then could I call the assigned company directly to cancel the call-out. In summary, LV Britannia Rescue's pricing for personal cover is competitive, but my first experience with their service was marred by long wait times, cumbersome cancellation procedures, and a less-than-useful online claim form. They might want to work on improving the efficiency and customer-friendliness of their processes.

Startrescue.co.ukcustomerservices's Comment

Written on: 01/11/2023

Hi, we're sorry to hear of your experience. Having reviewed your comments we understand your breakdown provider is LV Britannia Rescue, it appears you have mistakenly left a review under the Start Rescue brand, as we are unable to assist with your experience or provide guidance for another company, we have requested your review is removed. Best wishes the Start Rescue team.

Reply to this comment

Will600000's Comment

Written on: 01/11/2023

Apologies, i’ve absolutely no idea how that has happened as i’ve never heard of this company.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Excellent caring service”

★★★★★

written by Buffy44 on 27/09/2023

2.5 hours from initial call to drop off of car at requested garage. Cannot fault the service from Britannia Recovery. Excellent initial response from the young man receiving the call, friendly and responsive. I was alone and received calls from them every half hour to update and check on my welfare. Congratulations on this! As a lone female I felt safe, listened to and supported!! The recovery driver was efficient, friendly and happy. Excellent service throughout.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Refused to assist with recovery in any way.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MikeBox on 31/08/2023

I have been a Britannia Rescue member for many years and previously the service has always been good. A few weeks ago however I contacted Britannia for recovery when my car was immovable due to front wheel having fallen down into a ditch just off a track on private land in a location 40 miles from my home. Having been assisted by Britannia on a previous occasion in 2005, in similar circumstances and at the same location, I realised under the terms of my policy I would be liable for the "specialist equipment" required to tow my car out of this ditch, but fully expected to be assisted under my policy by supplying a recovery service. I explained that I realised I would be liable for the recovery costs myself but was simply told that I was not covered at all and would have to make alternative recovery arrangements myself. I asked why then was I provided with a recovery service on the previous occasion ? I was told that "there must have been a change to the terms and conditions of the policy since then". I then asked to be at least given contact details for their recovery agent so I could contact them myself but this was also refused. Looking at my policy subsequently I can see no exclusion to provide service for a breakdown on private land, only that customers would be responsible fully for the cost of any "specialist equipment" required for recovery (which I had acknowledged I was aware of and accepted) so I consider I should have been assisted under the terms of my policy - whereas I was left stranded 40 miles from home and had to take "pot luck" with a private company without any basis to know whether or not they were reputable nor if the cost I had to pay (£300) was fair or reasonable.

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Kent recovery ”

★★★★★

written by Feering6 on 22/08/2023

We had problems with our car, which we were unable to drive home. Contacted recovery centre, found operator very pleasant and helpful, we required three different recovery agents and a taxi to get us home to Essex. We were contacted regularly by the operator, who kept us informed on the progress. We are very impressed with the service we received.

Was this review helpful? 0 1

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Kevin29 on 30th September 2023 Report this content
I have arranged cover through LV - is there an app I can use or is there just the phone no?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by clairekelk on 1st May 2023 Report this content
Why has money been take from my bank and I’ve not got anything from you 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by georgebaxter876 on 28th June 2017 Report this content
What type of breakdown does it have to be so that you can take the vehicle does it have to be a certain distance away from home?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Chestrefeldian on 6th March 2016 Report this content
I have been a member of Britannia Rescue for as long as I can remember and have been happy with the service to date. I currently have European Deluxe cover and will be travelling to France in the summer. I will be towing my caravan. Could you please confirm that should I experience a vehicle breakdown say on a day off site without the caravan attached, that the caravan would be repatriated as well as the car should the car not be repairable I.e. the caravan would possibly not be attached to the towing vehicle at the time of the potential break down and the car and caravan could be a good few miles apart? The requirement to have both car and caravan recovered is of paramount importance to our family. Thank you 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview