ADT Security System www.adt.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
ADT Security System www.adt.co.uk
★★☆☆☆
1.5
13.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
ADT Security System www.adt.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for ADT Security System www.adt.co.uk

Latest Reviews

“No show”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jaycee8 on 14/06/2024

Phoned to ask about service contract.. Told engineer would attend to assess alarm installed house and give price.. Did not turn up at given day and time.. Did not contact me to tell me of any delays . If this is how potential new customers are treated then good sign of service if was to sign up... Alarm bells are definitely ringing Don't think I'll bother thanks My business will go elsewhere

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Garbage ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 356Casey on 21/04/2024

Complete utter garbage of a company with non existent customer service. The staff are so rude. Total rip off monthly contract fees, there are other companies charging monthly subscriptions fees at half the price and installation costs at a quarter of the price. Their lame cctv app has not worked on android or iPhone for over a year and they refuse to make any concession with the monthly costs. Stay away from ADT and use a far more sophisticated company with good customer service. They will install the next day but you will wait for two weeks for an engineer. Last time I booked one he didn't show up for several weeks after having to rebook three times because he just didn't show up on three occasions.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“the worst uk company ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by GriffinCarpenter on 14/10/2022

my wife has wasted hours phoning adt to service our alarm/smoke alarm she paid up front and they have not turned up to three appointments -shes looking for a refund and going to a competitor-the last time we were charged twice (after she paid upfront) for a single callout with adt threatening legal action for their crooked fees-you would be better off having dummy cameras for security its cheaper and more reliable than adt

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Deplorable Service and Communication”

★☆☆☆☆

written by whNewman1973 on 31/03/2022

We have had real trouble with ADT's service as a whole in the last month. Below is a complaint sent to them which they have yet to acknowledge - I would hope they might acknowledge this here. This service is unacceptable. We were recently subject to a power surge that caused a fault in the panel, which caused it not to be able to communicate with the app or with our cameras. This occurred on 1st March 2022. We first attempted to troubleshoot this to no avail, and then called out an engineer on 4th March, who visited promptly on 7th March. He identified the problem and coordinated a solution. We were initially told that a part had been ordered, and that the bookings team would be in touch when this arrived. We received a call on 10th March at 0905 to ask us if we had availability in 30 minutes to fit the new part. This was significantly short notice that we were unable to accommodate this. We were told the bookings team would be in touch to reschedule the visit. No calls were received for 4 days. We called the ADT helpline on 14th March to follow this up, and the representative I spoke to was still under the impression that the parts were not received. They offered to book an appointment for 18th March. We received a text message on 15th March detailing that the visit would be delayed to 22nd March. Due to the discrepancy between the date on the text message (15th March – image attached) and the date previously given to me (17th March) we attempted to contact ADT. The wait times were long enough that we were unable to do so. We called the ADT helpline on 18th March to clarify. The representative we spoke to was unaware of the part having been delivered. They were also insistent that it had been rescheduled despite acknowledging the discrepancy from the text message. They then rescheduled the appointment for 24th March due to our unavailability on 22nd March. 24th March – we waited from 0830 to see when the engineer might arrive. At 1204, we called the ADT helpline and was reassured that an engineer would attend. We waited until 1730 before calling your helpline again, where we were informed by a representative that the engineer was unable to come today. At my request, the representative informed us that the system had been updated at 1232 to highlight that an engineer would not attend. No effort on the part of the engineer or bookings team was made to contact us. We were reassured that the bookings team would contact us to reschedule as soon as possible. 31st March - One week later, bookings team has not contacted and the representative has told us that again, an engineer has been booked for 1st April without any attempt to let us know or ask availability. While this panel is not communicating, we have had unexpected calls from an automated helpline, at times in the early hours of the morning. 03/03/2022 – 0801 (1 call) 08/03/2022 – 0353 (2 calls), 0439 (1 call), 0440 (1 call), 0527 (1 call) We also receive daily reminders from the app that the panel is not able to communicate. We have also received a letter to this effect despite us highlighting this. It is clear that their automated systems are dissociated from the personnel on the ground.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“the disabled and females are too stupid to question...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mao. on 29/01/2021

adt couldn't careless once they have your money. installer used worst case scenario to justify not fitting hard wired video doorbell. he thought, with me being disabled and my wife being a woman, that we wouldn't understand or question his "expert" excuse. unfortunatly for him i was an electrician so i know excactly what is involved and how to do it. it's so easy we give these jobs to trainees though the adt installer seemed like he didn't know how to do it, think he can only fit wifi versions - mount on wall and turn on. these guys are called engineers when really they just trained in-house by adt. complained to adt who just read the installers notes and claimed it was unsuitable for our door. complete bull, you can fit any bell push to any door. only thing that was unsuitable was the installers work ethic. twice i told them i was an electrian but they completely ignored this and then repeated the same excuse. now i'm being ignored.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Great Job”

★★★★★

written by JackieM892 on 14/09/2020

Great price, engineer did excellent job very quick install. He went through system set up, and how to use App. I am very pleased Thanks ADT !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ADT CCTV IS DISGRAFEFUL”

★☆☆☆☆

written by davehamilton on 15/10/2019

adt cctv charged £1436 to install the cctv system in a private house. On top of that they charged £100 for an engineer visit another visit they charged to reset the system. £223. 70 and on top of all that they charge £300 a year for a once a year visit to check the system which should have a guarantee. this company should be avoided. then in the small print it says its a 3 yr contract which the salesman convieniently failed to mention. avoid these people at all cost. when i rang to complain they refused to take my phone call. stating write an email. Well i already explained all to the plank i spoke too so i am not going to do that again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Terrible service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Halsey56 on 05/10/2019

Terrible, pay for a visit then wait in all day, nobody comes, have to chase. Would not recommend you use them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“was quoted a serive price of 55 for half and hour plus...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by rgWilkinson109 on 06/03/2019

was quoted a serive price of 55 for half and hour plus vat for a service of my smokecloack, agree to this, then fella turns up, says he was just given the adress as no job sheet, thought he was coming to fix the burglar alarm, which i told him we dont have then, he says he has no parts on him to service the machine and says he will come back next week and he will get the call out waved. comes back the following week, changes the fluid and battery of the machine, then get a bill for a wopping 1400, was only around 40 mins in total, so they are trying to charge me 1200? plus just for materials or either they gave an inaccurate service price. could of just ordered parts online and done it myself for less then 80 quid. needless to say would never use this company again, im suprised there still in business with tactics like this against all there customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“BEWARE OF CALLOUT”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Nico386 on 23/01/2019

ADT talk the talk and charge the earth if you ever need to call them out you will get a very big bill £285 plus VAT for 1 hour 16 mins to sort CCTV this is on top of our quarterly service fee. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Appalling customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 10/01/2019

I have never come across a company with such bad customer service. It is 16 months since they began installation. They have not yet managed to send me an accurate invoice. I have outstanding queries and complaints. They say they are investigating my complaints but nothing happens and my communications are ignored. I bitterly regret ever having anything to do with this dreadful company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful company, Awful customer services”

★☆☆☆☆

written by markhdaoud on 19/11/2018

Awful customer services, awful staff, awful service. they are greedy aggressive and incompetent at best. I have been a client of theirs for 5 years and today I will cancel my contract.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Avoid”

★☆☆☆☆

written by oxJohnston73 on 23/02/2018

I had ADT come out to my house, promised a quick and easy installation, so I paid a deposit, 2 weeks later no show from anyone including the sales rep. finally had the installation and it wasn't as 'smooth' as promised. I've had a few problems with the system every now and again as the system is NOT pet friendly If you opt for police response not only is this not guaranteed but 3 false alarms and the police will black list you for 1 year. they will increase your monthly payments when they feel like it and charge for you everything on top such as; services/repairs/replacements/materials/call outs. I won't be using this company again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst home security service ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 05/02/2018

They are very rude. I order something , they were able to take the money out from my account but I never seen the product. And now after almost 1 year of contract they didn't give me the money back. When I called them and ask for the money, a very rude lady from the office hang up the phone while I was talking and she wasn't able to offer me any information I required. Don't use the ADT Service, they are useless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ADT want £236 to çöme and reset an alarm after a...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Puckettuv348 on 26/10/2017

ADT want £236 to çöme and reset an alarm after a builder cut though the wire. That is £236 to come and punch a number into the control panel. This is effectively a punishment for not having a contract!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Localalarmengineer's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2018

Use a local engineer instead. Much cheaper and more reliable.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful company, charging me 383 pound to replace their...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DanielRimmer on 16/10/2017

Awful company, charging me 383 pound to replace their own faulty PIR sensor last year. Now that I am out of contract with ADT they want 248 pounds to reset the system!!!! Never again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Lock you in and don't even bother to tell you”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mfrank16 on 25/09/2017

I got ADT after my apartment was broken into and I was robbed. I had issues with the system not working because I didn't have good cell service. They finally fixed it with a cell tower hookup. I ended up moving out of my apartment and need to cancel. No one bothered to tell me up from I was signing a 3 YEAR contract with them. I had my contact emailed to me at the time and still no one bothered to inform me at the instillation process or booking the installation. I had to pay over $1000 to cancel. they're terrible at getting ahold of and terrible at trying to get refund from. I signed up for ADT and apparently am under defenders not ADT so trying to figure out who to talk to about my issues is ridiculous! DO NOT get ADT. They trap you in a contract and then don't bother to help you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“RUN FAST AWAY”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 01/09/2017

Sucked in. Can'T GET OUT FOR 3 YEARS. Avoid them like a plague. It would cost less just to have real live bandits break in. I really don't know how I got caught for 2 years; now it has gone to 3. Will I ever be free? I do not like anything about them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Dreadful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Sackville on 10/08/2017

We had an ADT alarm in our previous home (bought through an agent) and were quite content with the service. So when we moved to the West Country it was a logical choice choose them again. Sadly, this was the worst decision we could have made. The sales process was a joke. Fist no one turned up, then at a re-arranged appointment we were told we had been given incorrect information on the existing customer discounts. Then we had to wait weeks for the installation. When the guys arrived to install they had no paperwork and no clue as to where anything went. the wiring was a joke, the smoke alarm, missing. Tackling this on with the Sales office was a full time job and required a legal mind to hold them to account. Sadly I'm now in a contract for the next 3 years with this bunch. Stay clear of these muppets and be sure to read the mounds of bad reviews before placing an order. I wish I had.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“WORST SERVICE EVER - BUNCH OF RUDE STAFF”

★☆☆☆☆

written by REJ52 on 18/07/2017

3 incompetent people have lied to me. My house was burguled and NOBODY contacted me from ADT. I then called to log this with them the next day and I said why didn't it work. They said probably a fault and they can send out an engineer?!?!?! SERIOUSLY. I've just had £17k worth of goods stolen. I then did a fake test alarm myself and activated all zones and it took them 6 MINUTES 6 WHOLE minutes and 18 seconds to call me to alert that there was an intruder. The rude team leader (who obviously thinks he is a manager) then said this was acceptable. I've contacted the police, Watchdog and luckily my husbands best friend is a lawyer and I've recorded all calls for our history to prove what a shambles the company is. Not once did this fool of a team leader even apologise. Hope karma comes and bites you ADT. I know the courts will be coming after you. I hope others do too.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by rachel130887 on 12th January 2016 Report this content
I signed up to ADT home security alarm 3 days ago via phone call. They have already taken my £99 deposit. I stupidly only read the poor reviews afterwards. After reading the review's, I am considering opting out. Would this be possible at this stage of the process or would I eventually end up with debt collectors at my door and a bad credit rating?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content formotorbikes Written on: 12/01/2016
Because you signed up over the phone, you can cancel under the Consumer Contracts Regulation of 2014. You have a 14 day cooling off period, so cancel now and you should be absolutely fine. See Which regulations for more details. ADT are awful, avoid.
overview