Tesco

Tesco
★★☆☆☆
2.5
38.0% of users recommend this
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Tesco - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Tesco

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Would give zero if I could”

★☆☆☆☆

written by SavvyShopper12345 on 29/03/2024

An online delivery scheduled between 9pm and 10pm last night from Newport Road , Stafford store didn't arrive. Night before Good Friday too !! They had sent an email at 9pm saying issue with van, order cancelled, should take 3-5 days to get my money refunded. Why didn't they phone me and ask if I wished to pick up instead, no, nada, just "your order cancelled" Similar experience at Xmas too. Well Tesco.... "my account cancelled" Customer and Service are two words that shouldn't be used in the same sentence when it comes to Tesco. No email for customer care either, what an absolute joke. Are they for real ? If I'd have realised I couldn't email a big company like this, alarm bells would have rung and I wouldn't have signed up. Tesco's loss is Asda's gain. Vote with your feet. Shame for the few nice in store staff they have who do a sterling job.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Mandatory Tesco Scamcard”

★☆☆☆☆

written by beermattuk on 17/12/2023

Many of their products have what they claim is a "clubcard discount", but it's not a discount at all, because they're no cheaper than other supermarkets (often more expensive, even after their supposed "discount"). What's actually happening is the other way round - you get penalised with a fee if you don't have an account. In other words "download our scammy app and let us track you and hoard your data, otherwise many products have a ridiculously expensive fee on top of their regular price".

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent service today”

★★★★★

written by KatTescoReview on 30/09/2023

We visited Stafford Tesco Extra on the Newport Road this morning (Sat 30.9.23.) and were served at till number 19 at 9.55am by a blonde haired colleague. She mentioned she had recently moved to the store from Stone or Stone Rd branch. This till operator was absolutely perfect. She was very helpful, thoughtful, quick without rushing and refreshingly pleasant as she served us. Without asking, she very carefully folded items of clothing and handed them to us. She was quick, yet had the time to make a little pleasant conversation and she is a credit to your store. We shop at Stafford Tesco Extra weekly and this service stood out enough to warrant this feedback.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very bad experience with a women. And price mixes.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 93Monroe on 04/01/2023

Me and my friend are quite young, we went to tesco to get nail polish and there was a women opening the drawers and just staying there. She soon moved to the other side so we can back and she just saw us, and moved back. She knew what we wanted because we kept going back there. We then went on to buy some books, it said they were £1.50 on the label. We went to pay. They were £5.60.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Should be better”

★★☆☆☆

written by Gareth-Hopkinson on 31/12/2022

Even yellow sticker stuff not cheap there now, before you excuse that on current inflation; I'd sooner shop at any other supermarket from Waitrose to Liddle. What really antagonises me is why you would sabotage your own standard of customer service. You want to buy something for a quid; que up at the kiosk for ages staring at half a dozen unused self service tills, or be forced to use your a card to spend a quid.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“So long tesco”

★☆☆☆☆

written by markaylott on 22/09/2022

So , had an issue with tesco and their poor service and was told to contact customer service and given website to get details The first two e mail addresses i was given just bounced back straight away saying that they are not monitored ?? So i called the listed number , and had the normal 45 minute wait , and when the call was eventually answered the operative told me that there is no longer a functional e mail address for customer service which i found incredible , then a short while into the conversation i heard cups clinking in the background and when i asked if he was at home he said yes , not even a customer service office anymore. He then gave me an e mail address which included the words ceo which im guessing should go through to the ceo’s office or somewhere along the line , soi sent an e mail to that Over a week now and no response, and i just cant work out how big chains like this can operate without customers, as i will not use one that has no customer service , and speaking to a lot of others they are of the same opinion , Off to sainsburys or morrisons it is for me now , tesco have had my money for far too long.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fresh fish "previously frozen"”

★★★☆☆

written by Robertandrew1967 on 01/07/2022

Recently Tesco Scunthorpe have decided to re-open their wet fish stand. Not sure why they bothered. Last week I bought a whole herring, 6 sardines and 6 tiger prawns. I was astounded to find the label put on said "previously frozen not for home freezing" I then found both the herring and sardines had not been cleaned. My wife has the herring the day I bought it said it was bitter a sure sign of frozen with guts in. The next day we had the sardines, exactly the same brown and bitter. Sad. Surely the fact should be made available before you buy.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor quality vegetables OK service”

★★★☆☆

written by greengrass40 on 01/10/2021

Went to a local Tesco one of the smaller ones hoping it would be a good place for a shop. The checkout staff were OK but the queues were long and they should have opened more checkouts. Vegetables not so food and some fruit was not the freshest.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disappointed with service”

★★☆☆☆

written by nmKenny427 on 07/07/2021

Shopped at this store for many years and always found the staff helpful and friendly. Unfortunately on a recent visit found the customer service assistant ( who had never served me before ) arrogant and unhelpful.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Be Very-Careful!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 02/02/2021

Only shop with them as a last resort and for products you actually have to have. Because getting a refund from them is extremely difficult - no matter what it says on the receipt about your rights. I couldn't even get decent help from the CEO's executive complaints team. If you can - avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Donations ”

★★★★★

written by Mandarix1 on 26/11/2020

Hi I work in the community and we recently received a donation from Tesco for our coffee morning I would like to thank the community champion who dealt with us for all her help and making things so easy for us all monies raised went to charity thanks again for your donation

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Could be so much better”

★★★☆☆

written by ijCleveland304 on 29/07/2020

I visited out nearest Tesco branch at Helston yesterday and inadvertently queued in the wrong place (the queuing system has changed since my last visit just over a fortnight ago, there is no signage to indicate that a change has taken place). My mistake was pointed out to me by a member of staff in a manner that caused me embarrassment. I moved to the indicated waiting area and then watched whilst two other customers went straight to the tills without queueing and, more importantly, without any questioning by the staff. The experience was embarrassing, cost extra time, and made me ask myself why I still shop at Tesco. Over the years my experiences, in various Tesco branches, has ranged from very poor to good, but it's never been good enough for me feel I am a valued customer. I remember buying a Dvd for my daughter at Cirencester's store some years back, that came with a free toy. I asked for the free toy, the cashier was rude, I asked to see the manager who told me the the free toys had all gone and ask me to "just get on with checking out" in a most unpleasant manner. I once had to return a shower head I purchased, after just a few hours as it sprayed water out sideways, the shop assistant said "well, it was the only one we had" and then simply stared silently at me, presumably in the hope I would leave without my (legally due) refund. I had to make a fuss to get the refund on that occasion. I genuinely do understand that the function of a supermarket is to make money, rather than provide a consumer service, but nonetheless I have been left feeling, so often, that me spending my money is as much an inconvenience to Tesco as a business function. To sum up my experiences with Tesco over the years, I would have to say mostly slightly disappointing.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“never take tags off”

★★★☆☆

written by firebyrd on 16/04/2020

I no longer shop at Tesco as I am fed up with them just standing around and not taking tags off security items often they see the red warning light and simply stand there or walk past you as though you're invisible.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Virus shopping trip experrience”

★★★★★

written by TerriandAlan on 27/03/2020

My husband and I visited the Springfield Road Chelmsford store this morning. What a pleasant experience particularly in the circumstances. So well organised, shelves stocked and the staff as helpful and nice as they could be. Well done Tesco and huge thanks to the staff for keeping everything going when you must be just as worried about your own family and friends. Best wishes to you all

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very wide choices in their supermarket…”

★★★★☆

written by noahmorr18 on 10/01/2020

Very wide choices in their supermarket and i don't know with you guys but always had a good customer service from them. Reasonably price too.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Tesco Stafford”

★★☆☆☆

written by Gormag on 25/11/2019

We visited our local Stafford Tesco at 11.30am on Monday 25th November 2019. Many of the shelves were empty with no signs of them being replenished. I could not buy the large tea bags, lettuce or red peppers on my list. Many of the fresh fruit items were on the last day of their use-by date. My husband visited the toilet. One urinal was overflowing, the floor was dirty and the soap dispensers were all broken. I’ve been a loyal Tesco customer for 40 years but I’ll be at Asda next week.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Dealings with Tesco securitry and their customer services”

★★☆☆☆

written by bookdream on 13/05/2019

Here is my story of recent dealings with Tesco, via their customer services department. A couple of weeks ago I was stopped by a 3rd party security guard after leaving a Tesco in East London. I had done nothing wrong and therefore asked him his name so that I could report his over zealous action. He gave me a name - which I do not believe was his real one. Later I reported the incident to Tesco customer services because I do not believe that security guards should be operating without displaying clear ID and to try and claim some compensation, as this was the second time I had been stopped under similar circumstances by a Tesco security guard within the space of 15 months. I have not received any compensation because Tesco maintain that: a) the security guard would have been carrying his ID on him, likely on an armband; b) the security guard was within his rights to stop me. My responses to these points are: a) if he was really carrying ID why did he not simply show me it to me when I asked him his name? b) this is not true; a security guard is not a policeman, he is primarily a deterrent and can make a citizen's arrest, like anyone else, if he has reasonable grounds to suspect a crime has been committed; but is not generally allowed to detain someone, especially in a public place as I was, just to check a crime has not been committed. Tesco later admitted that the security guard had not followed the correct procedures when deciding to stop me. It seems to me that Tesco needs to review their policy on and guidelines to security guards, especially as regards clearly displaying their ID, and to apologize and compensate people, rather than give far-fetched explanations, when one of the security guards they employ - directly or indirectly - has overstepped the mark - even more so when Tesco eventually admit that the correct procedures were not followed.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“celebrating one hundred years”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 123dhills on 24/02/2019

Tesco is celebrating one hundred years, you would think they would be competent with customer service procedures. My problem and its been a problem for a while. Tesco is a disgrace when it comes to money off coupons (cut out coupons, coupons sent in the post or printed coupons from your own printer). Many a time I have been refused a coupon at Tesco, went straight to Asda and no problem. A regular customer I got tired of this behaviour so I contacted customer service with a long-winded e-mail. The reply from an adviser was that this should not have happened and she would look into it. I then had a manager contact me to say I had been given the wrong information and it was correct for my coupon to be refused. I then escalated my issue to the CEOs office only to be told that it is up to the customer to make sure the coupon is right, she also made me out to be a liar from the information in my e-mail about what I was told at the customer service desk in store. From this, I paid off my Tesco credit card and I am going more often to Asda. The only thing I will miss from Tesco is the scotch morning rolls.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“New Tesco Dark Chocolate 200g Bar”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Trudy346poppy on 01/12/2018

I always enjoyed the previous 150g Tesco dark chocolate bar and then to my horror it suddenly disappeared from the shelves only to be replaced by the new 200g bar of dark chocolate. This new chocolate tastes awful and is more like the very cheap version which Tesco’s sell. I really struggled to get through it and was glad when it was all gone! Then I tried the Co-op’s Fairtrade dark chocolate and found it was delicious! It has a wonderful flavour and I really look forward to my “four squares” a day which I have after dinner. I would recommend it to anyone! Try it, you won’t be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Foreign Body Found In Beef Burger”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 193853 on 19/11/2018

I bought Tesco Finest Beefburgers at Burnham on Sea branch. Having eaten most of my meal I thought I had broken a tooth while eating the burger. The culprit certainly was a tooth BUT NOT ONE of mine! I returned the tooth to Tesco and have since received a letter which states that the complaints team find it difficult to believe that this could have happened! They give me the sizes in mm's of the holes in the mincers and the size of the tooth also in mm's along with a money card for twenty five pounds for any upset this may have caused. Has anyone any idea how it feels to have been chewing on someone elses tooth? When I think of it I feel physically sick. After speaking on the phone to the Service Manager it is obvious that Tesco will not admit liability for the incident. Apparently to investigate further is like looking for a needle in a haystack, it has also been established that although the operatives wear overalls, gloves and wellies they are not required to wear any mask or covering over the nose or mouth. Have they never heard that coughs and sneezes spread diseases along with the odd tooth flying around from time to time! I think their relaxed attitude leaves much to be desired and is really disgraceful. The money card? I will spend it on some Christmas goodies for the food bank, at least a little good will come from this....no thanks to Tesco.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by DawnMillson on 11th August 2014 Report this content
Yesterday I visited the Tesco Extra in Salford and was charged £7.26 for loose vegetables that should have only cost £2.01. The reason for this was that the scales on the tills were weighing things heavier then there were. How do I confirm that their scales have now been calibrated?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Yangliu44 Written on: 12/08/2014
I'm afraid there is nothing you can do now. but learn from it for the next time. it's only a small mistake looking at the positive side. next time when you shop estimate each item to how much it should cost and have a rough total cost in your head. if there is a huge discrepancy, I would go and ask the customer service straight away even it turns out all accurate. not easy to do it so late when there isn't any evidence to support what you say. all the best for the future. Lil@YoungLilies from Surbiton
Report this content DawnMillson Written on: 12/08/2014
I did have proof. I took the receipt and goods to the customer services. I got a full refund and the vegetables for free. I also got a £10 voucher. I had kept a tally - that is what alerted me to the fact there was something wrong. I have contacted trading Standards and they are investigating it. I gave them all the evidence they needed.
overview