Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
69% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

The Da Vinci Code is the critically acclaimed book written by Dan Brown. This religous themed thriller follows Professor Robert Langdon as he is implicated in a complex murder and subsequent manhunt. This New York Time Number One Best Selling Novel has proved to be both a commercial and critical hit and has been one of the most talked about books in recent years.

If you have read The Da Vinci Code then why not join the debate and send us your review? Do you think Dan Brown's classic is worthy of all the accolades? Or are you of a differing opinion? Whatever your views, Review Centre wants to hear from you, so post a review and give us your verdict.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code

Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code
Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code
Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code
Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“There is a simple way to assess this book. Obtain a...”

written by Yuri Velasquez on 07/10/2008

There is a simple way to assess this book. Obtain a copy of Holy Blood, Holy Grail -by Michael Baigent, Richard Leigh, and Henry Lincoln. Written in 1982, now recently updated. It goes it to the subject at a far deeper level, although obviously not a novel. Whether or not the whole thing is a scam I really couldn't say. Interesting read all the same. A few years back I was in contact with someone who claimed to be in the 'Priory of Sion'. There might be something to it? Back to Dan Brown's book. Read both books and decide for yourself where the story came from? I have always thought that the person on Jesus's right in the painting The Last Supper a woman, much to the chagrain of art experts. Oh Michaelangelo liked painting androginous youths.
All I can add further is - Et in Arcadia Ego........

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“Appallingly badly written. He uses convoluted...”

written by nedbrab on 16/09/2008

Appallingly badly written. He uses convoluted conversations, that no experts would really have, to get his ideas across. Ridiculous twaddle.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“A very uninteresting read. There was no interest in...”

written by on 10/07/2008

A very uninteresting read. There was no interest in telling the story and i found this book extremely boring and unfabricated. On the whole, think Dan Brown should be taken off our shelves!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Good book still reading it though”

written by on 15/04/2008

Good book still reading it though

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I generally enjoyed the book. i had read it without...”

written by zoodemon on 18/10/2007

I generally enjoyed the book. i had read it without any preconceptions and found i settled into it easily. His characters are not the deepest, but they are only there as subplot, as the appeal of the book comes from stories of religious heritage, mysterious society's and our fascination with spirit belief. If you need your books to be anything more than stocking fillers then this book will leave you rather unfulfilled.

The story has good pace, teasing you with dark locations and then tearing you away to the temporary sanctuary of the next dark corner. In many ways i liked the short chapters switching between characters and scenes, but it also dilutes the plot of the book, more so later on in the book when the characters seem less real.

I think the main problem with the book is the author's failure to maintain character structure. Having the grail plot told through a jumble of characters works until the plot is needed to come out. When it finally arrives, he's still bound to tell it through his characters, his chosen method. However with the plot being centre stage, the characters have to step back into scenery. This creates a false character effect when compared throughout book, as in some real and some not. Unfortunately I think this detracts from the book's final appeal, as the story loses some of it's integrity when the author gives up on his characters.

still worth a read and highly recommended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Da Vinci Code is a fantastic book. Shorter...”

written by melinak on 03/09/2007

The Da Vinci Code is a fantastic book. Shorter Chapters, genius twists, I felt I could really get into the characters minds.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Intellectually stimulating, very inspirational read....”

written by lynnieloo on 07/08/2007

Intellectually stimulating, very inspirational read. Dan Brown is an absolute genius!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I thoroughly enjoyed the book. However, I read this...”

written by jackie120 on 14/06/2007

I thoroughly enjoyed the book. However, I read this before Angels & Demons and found that it was much better. I've heard others say that they liked A & D more, especially those that read that one first.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I thoroughly enjoyed The Da Vinci Code! I read it long...”

written by emza2511 on 28/12/2006

I thoroughly enjoyed The Da Vinci Code! I read it long after the hype had died down, thinking that it couldn't possibly be as good as everyone had made out. However, it surpassed every expectation I had of it! It was truly captivating! I couldn't put it down! Admittedly, at first it was rather difficult to follow (with many sentences in French), but I think this added to the authenticity of the book!

Also, I had seen the film before I read the book, and the book I'm afraid is 110% better without a doubt!

A really enjoyable read!! I'd definitely recommend it to others, and I will be having a look at Dan Brown's other work!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I thought this book was absolutely superb! My husband...”

written by FraggleSue on 27/11/2006

I thought this book was absolutely superb! My husband read it and told me it was great and tried to tell me what it was about - it sounded boring! Any description or explanation anyone tries to give of this book just won't do it justice!
The book is very cleverly written, with each character given such depth and importance along the way but the plot flows brilliantly and is very easy to read. The wonderful thing about books is that if they are well written, you can imagine everything so vividly, and this is one of those books. I couldn't put it down and read it within 2 days.
Whether or not people choose to believe the religious concepts and twists in this novel, either way it is a fascinating read in my opinion.
I would also like to add, please don't judge this book on the film - I loved the book but was very disappointed with the film as large parts were either missed out or skimmed over!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I started to read Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code, and...”

written by mozymo on 21/08/2006

I started to read Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code, and after a short while I abandoned it to the coffee table where it sat until it got the better of me, and I decided I would give it another try. I did, and it sat once again on the coffee table for another week or so. After speaking to an author friend who said he just couldn't get to grips with the book, I thought I wasn't so dim after all, and I gave it another once-over. I felt I knew Robert Langdon, the main character, and although the story is extremely far-fetched to the point where surely Dan Brown's days must be at least 116 hours long, instead of the 24 in my day (because I would be in a bed on the intensive care ward if I had an hour in the day of Robert Langdon), the story ran along at a worthy Gold medal position. So much so, I was reading just as fast!! I did eventually finish the book and poo-pooed much of it, but it was brilliantly written with great emphasis on Mr Brown's facts throughout, and having been, seen and stood next to the La Pyramide Inversee some years ago, I can't help wondering...if? But the main reason I wanted to finish The Da Vinci Code was to find out if Robert Langdon's Walt Disney Mickey Mouse watch survived another adventure, and I still didn't find out!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“What i love about this book,is the use of baffling...”

written by polkadots on 01/08/2006

What i love about this book,is the use of baffling codes,it really is pure genius. The depth of the story unfolds closer to the end of the book as characters are clearly not how they appear. Unlike Angels & Demons [also by dan brown] characters are explained in much more depth, this makes the story compelling and at times shocking. A reader with a wider knowledge of Da vinci's work may find the story, easier to digest. But still, a gripping read.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code, all very fun and a lot...”

written by degbert on 10/07/2006

Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code, all very fun and a lot of the depiction of scenes and events are quite believeable. The two main characters are just about brought off the page in terms of the depth, but Fache rather steals the show as the most plausible and with whom I had most empathy. Without giving anything away, characters introduced later in the book are far more 2 dimensional and the whole thing tails off as a realistic story later because of it.

But that's not my main issue... which is why is Brown so convinced he has to signpost what we are meant to feel by putting statements in italics? Perhaps it was the publishers or his editor or the mailboy; but whoever it was it gets right on my nerves - do you not trust my intellect and think that I cannot figure the gravity of the statement for myself? Do you think you have to prescribe what I should be thinking at the end of each paragraph? How old do you expect your readers to be.

The rest of it is a nice romp, very readable and certainly a book you can zip through quickly enough, but I found it a little of an insult to my intelligence that someone felt it necessary to tell me what to think every 2 minutes. Still, now I know, right?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code the most overrated book...”

written by jsarcadia on 18/06/2006

Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code the most overrated book of all time. A completely predictable, formulaic murder mystery. The religious "revelations" are nothing new; particularly to anyone with a modicum of historical awareness. I cannot believe the hype that surrounds this book. The hype is extraordinary; the book is just plain ordinary.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“I thought Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code was a good...”

written by MHatton on 31/05/2006

I thought Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code was a good read, obviously with a book so hyped up as this the mind boggles on what to expect.
It opens up the mind to other possibilities about religion and Jesus Christ's heritage and offers a delicious twist to an ancient tale.
The main thing to remember is that this is fiction and if you disengage the brain it is a good interesting read.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I can't believe that people are actually able to write...”

written by sugarluva on 04/04/2006

I can't believe that people are actually able to write bad reviews about Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code. It has to be one of the best I've ever read. I must admit it wasn't the most challenging book to read but as for suspense and twists within the storyline it was amazing. I loved this book and really could not put it down. I have also recommended it to lots of people since and everyone has agread with me.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown is perhaps the worst I...”

written by brisinghamen on 13/02/2006

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown is perhaps the worst I have ever had the misfortune to read. Having heard the hype I was very disappointed to find out that this is all there is to this book...hype. The characters are supposed to be experts in the field of cryptography etc, but cannot work out the most basic cloth-eared cryptic clues. I mean, a five letter word that has to do with Sir Isaac Newton? Give me a break! Written by an author who knows nothing. Add to this that it has been written in an appalling style. Don't waste your time!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Theoxymoron's Response to brisinghamen's Review

Written on: 11/05/2006

Some intellectual points, perhaps? Why didn't you like it? I've seen your like before, someone who writes a horrible review for a book, using negative comments to shroud their obviously lacking knowledge of said topic. It's obviously difficult to solve riddles to one of the most influential and revered relics in history, while being chased by authorities, and at gunpoint. You obviously haven't considered this very much.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nedbrab's Response to brisinghamen's Review

Written on: 23/09/2008

I agree with this review because... the book is appallingly badly written and anyone who thinks it great can't have read many books by great authors.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Matty233's Response to brisinghamen's Review

Written on: 06/07/2006

Please... we have a right to criticize... it's the internet! And just FYI, this book used no imagination or intelligence whatsoever. Some of the puzzles (and I'm stretching here) were a little intelligent, but the majority of this book was utter tripe. Dan Brown writes like a sixth grader, that's all there is to it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lewist's Response to brisinghamen's Review

Written on: 29/05/2006

It was a good read on a long haul flight with a stopover. It's not literature but if it gives people pleasure, who are we to criticise? There are better books, better thrillers even. Try Christopher Brookmyre!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Theoxymoron's Response to brisinghamen's Review

Written on: 12/05/2006

Why did it take you less than two seconds to solve them? Because the book did it for you. You yourself said that you're no cryptography expert, so how would you know whether it's hard or not? His wife is an art historian, and I think his, along with several professional historians' research, is more credible than some random reviewer on a public website. Please; do not state your opinions as a fact, and give some good points instead of just 'None at all'.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Brisinghamen's Response to brisinghamen's Review

Written on: 11/05/2006

OK, here are some points. Dan Brown can't write. If you had read anything by any other thriller writer then you would know that. Robert Ludlum, Hammond Innes and Alastiar MacLean blow him away on their worst day. And these guys are as formulaic as anyone.
Point 2 would be that anyone who knows anything about Leonardo Da Vinci, knows that he wrote backwards to hide his work. This was his method of Cryptography. These guys are supposed to be EXPERTS AT CRYPTOGRAPHY.... and it takes them more than 2 seconds to work it out? Like I say, give me a break!
The clues about Newton and Alexander Pope took me again, about 2 seconds to work out. Why? Because I am reasonably well educated.
However, I AM NOT AN EXPERT AT CRYPTOGRAPHY. It should have taken them a nano second!
That do you? Unless you believe that all this Holy Grail stuff is REAL! In which case, Lord help you!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 6 Comments
★★★★★

“Got Dan Brown The Da Vinci Code under the audio book...”

written by etuk on 31/10/2005

Got Dan Brown The Da Vinci Code under the audio book exchange at the motorway services. I seen loads of reviews in the media and I'm still undecided about it's accuracy. It's very believable because of the track record of the Catholic Church and all it's secrecy but maybe a little OTT on the conspiracy theory front. I'm inclined to believe a lot of it could be true but I'm not a fully signed up member.
However - whether you believe the story or not it's still damn good if you accept it as fiction. We listened to the CD over a couple of 5 hour trips and it was great in that it kept our interest and kept me awake towards the end of the journey. Had it not finished 10 miles from home we'd have sat in the car, or driven around the village or taken the CD indoors to hear the end!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“Browm treats his readers as if we were complete...”

written by david england on 30/09/2005

Browm treats his readers as if we were complete idiots, no development of characters, suspense? What suspense. Too predictable, staggering and lurching from one location to another like a drunk in a foggy night. Pathetic. The Da Vinci Code is a complete waste of money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“If there would be one word to describe the Da Vinci...”

written by DanteMinos on 29/09/2005

If there would be one word to describe the Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown, it would definitely be: AWESOME! It was amazing how everything untied itself page after page. I tried to predict what happened, however, the ending was very unexpected. The only problem possibly, is that the ending needs a bit of fixing. I have read many books in my time, but this one just blows it all away! If you enjoy history and all about religion, this is definitely a book for you! I loved that it explained everything. It explained how the Bible was rewritten, and it explained how the new groups were formed, such as Opus Diei. Just an overall good book. Unique is all I have to say, and the work of a great mind!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview