AA Breakdown Cover Reviews

★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
26% of users recommend this
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
AA Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for AA Breakdown Cover

AA Breakdown Cover
AA Breakdown Cover

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“The AA are "VERY BUSY" so go somewhere else.”

Written on: 14/08/2020 by bobjdixon (2 reviews written)

Inefficient, incompetent and full of excuses for bad performance. The AA is totally let down by their backoffice services. Whenever I have had the need to speak to them I have to listen to them tell me how “very busy” they are. It doesn’t seem to occur to them that if they are constantly busy then they need to employ more call handlers and back office staff. I recently had a back spring break in my car. I tried to log a call with them via the well promoted AA app which advised me that… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to bobjdixon's Review

Written on: 02/09/2020

Hi there, we're very sorry to hear about this. We do appreciate your patience while we're having to work differently right now, due to the on-going situation which may result in longer response times. We hope you've since been able to get everything sorted.

Reply to this comment

Bobjdixon's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 04/09/2020

And three weeks later I'm still waiting for the call from the supervisor who I was told would phone me back within 3 days.

That about sums it up.

You must be VERY BUSY

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Truly appalling service”

Written on: 31/12/2019 by MartinFa (1 review written)

Broke down on the M6 southbound on 13th Dec - managed to get the car onto the hard shoulder - lots of fault lights on the dash. We have AA Roadside cover, which should get the vehicle assessed on the roadside and/or recovered to a local garage. Called AA at about 8pm & was told someone would be with me by 9.15pm - which would have been barely acceptable. Got a text message shortly afterwards saying it was now going to be 11.15pm, followed by another a little later giving expected ETA of… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to MartinFa's Review

Written on: 08/01/2020

Hi, we're sorry to read about your experience when you were broken down. If you've not already logged your complaint please email a copy of the review to TheAA. Please include your full name, 6356 membership number, address, post code and contact number. If you're a Member through your bank please don't send any bank details over.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst breakdown service ever experienced!!!”

Written on: 21/12/2019 by keefus (12 reviews written)

Hit a pothole 15th Dec on the M6 in the roadworks northbound at J13 which blew both offside tyres. After pulling over I called the AA. Despite informing them I was on the roadworks they said they would send a patrol. Highways England actually do the recovering from this section of roadworks and they turned up after 40mins and recovered me to Keele Services. I then had to call the AA again and tell them I was being recovered to Keele Services. About 45mins after being left at Keele Services a… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to keefus's Review

Written on: 23/12/2019

Hi, we're really sorry to hear about your experience and hope that you've since raised this to be looked in to by our Customer Support team. If not, you can find the details on our web site under the 'contact us' section. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reply to this comment

Keefus's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 23/12/2019

Yes I have raised it as a complaint via your customer support team and was advised it could take 8 weeks to investigate!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“A disgracefull experience, never again.”

Written on: 16/10/2019 by Unhappyandangry555 (1 review written)

myself, family and friends will never ever use or recommend the AA again. Having been a member many years I had the rudest horrible mechanic from Stamford Linc's who caused my whole family to cancel our memberships. NEVER EVER AGAIN… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Unhappyandangry555's Review

Written on: 17/10/2019

Hi, we're sad to hear this, we hope you've raised your dissatisfaction with our Customer Care team so they can address your comments.

Reply to this comment

Unhappyandangry555's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 20/10/2019

At the time i wanted satisfaction and rang to complain about our experience, the manager we spoke with then contacted said mechanic and believed his totaly fabricated story over and above our version.
We do not just phone with a make-believe complaint for fun. and I assure you I have better things to do with my time.
I know you want to know the full story, it is just very long winded.

Reply to this comment

Unhappyandangry555's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 21/10/2019

The unjust treatment we received from the AA has really left us with a bitter taste.
I am going to tell it as it happened partly as a therapy for myself.
I am disabled and was left at the roadside with car that wouldn't run by the AA rescue service technician without him even lifting the bonnet or attempting to diagnose the problem
This is exactly how the incident took place , I had nothing to hide and nothing to gain from altering the story. While returning home one evening the car broke down 2 to ?x3 miles from home in a neighbouring village;
it was around 10pm and knowing the car was safe and we knew the rescue service would be unable to fix the car roadside, as this happened a year or so prior, I would need the AA relay to transport the car 17 miles or so to my mechanic who at that time of night was closed we decided to phone a family member to take us home and call the AA the following day.
Now this is where it gets wierd.
We called the AA at around 11:30 am and were told we'd be updated by text and the approx wait would be 2hrs we arranged a lift to car and waited till we were text to say the technician woul be half hr ish,
We set of 10 mins or so later to travel the short distance to meet the AA vehicle when we arrived he'd arrived moments before and thought it strange that I arrived in a different vehicle and were not as is the norm, waiting for him. And he said he was leaving without attending to the problem.
We immediately called the AA and asked for asstance and were told they would not attend the same job twice or the like,
I explained the story and as stated the Manager went off to consult their technician, on returning I was informed they'd decided to side with him
Case closed?? We didn't get it the car was fully covered with relay but they refused to look at it.?? ?
Baffled beyond words, left feeling hurt angry and helpless other than to arrange what turned out to be an expensive private transporter to take the car to my mechanic.
Shortly after family and several friends ditched the AA after hearing of this total injustice.
Phew!!!
Whatever happened to "The customer is always right"?
What was there to gain by us even if they had been tricked or whatever in the past by unscrupulous people using them as a cheap tow or something? That was nothing to do with our genuine call for help. And we'd been with the AA for decades.
Never ever again

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Unhappyandangry555's Comment

Written on: 25/10/2019

Hi, we understand this is frustrating, we'd advise if you remain unhappy with the outcome to continue to speak with our dedicated Customer Care team so they can address it further.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Another rubbish service”

Written on: 27/02/2019 by deecuz (1 review written)

For the second time in the last four years, unfortunately had to use the AA. This time to rectify incorrect fuelling. Charged £200 for the service, estimated 60 - 90 mins arrival. Not even close. Over 3 hours. Still, better than the 5 hours last hours last time. Membership being cancelled. Rubbish… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to deecuz's Review

Written on: 02/03/2019

We're really sorry to hear about the delay you experienced, it's never our intention to leave a Member waiting. We hop once the Fuel Assist team arrived they were able to get your car sorted for you safely and back on the road.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disinterested Customer Service”

Written on: 11/01/2019

I recently had a puncture along an isolated country lane. It took 15 minutes to speak to an operator, despite it being midday on a Wednesday and very good weather. I did not know the name of the country lane but was able to give very precise directions to my location. I also impressed upon them that I had my 88 year old mother in the car who was distressed. I was assured that someone would be with us within 40 minutes. Two further phone calls and just under 2 hours later, a breakdown van from… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 16/01/2019

We're really sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction. We aim to reach Members as quickly as possible following any call for assistance. In the majority of cases this is within 45 minutes, however on a few occasions, for various reasons, this is sometimes impossible.

In all breakdown situations we aim to provide a clear anticipated time of arrival, at the point of the breakdown being reported. This time of arrival will depend on the accuracy of the breakdown location, the availability of local patrols and the workload that we are experiencing.

We''re pleased to hear that you have already raised your concerns. Please be assured that our dedicated Customer Support team will have thoroughly investigated your complaint and provided the best outcome possible.

If you do remain unhappy please don't hesitate to contact the team directly on the details provided on your final response letter.

Once again, we're sorry we have fell to meet your expectations and do hope that you and your Mother got home safely.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“The AA really rip you off”

Written on: 27/12/2018 by Baileyu32 (1 review written)

I called the AA yesterday as I broke down 160 miles away from home. It took quite a while to eventually get through and I paid £179 for 12 months membership and call out fee. After my transaction had gone through the break down man was at my car within minutes. He said he could not repair my car. I said, "So I have paid £179 pounds for nothing." He said I would get my money back if I called them within 14 days. When I called them this morning I only received £70 back. They said the rest was… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 05/01/2019

Hello, we're sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction. It is unfortunate the Patrol was unable to fix the vehicle at the roadside. We understand how disappointing and frustrating this may have been. Our success rate in diagnosing and fixing the faults correctly on a vehicle at the roadside is normally extremely high. As you will understand, they have to work without the advantages of a well-lit, comfortable workshop, and sometimes even the simplest job can be made difficult when attempted at the side of a busy road or outside a house. If we are unable to fix the vehicle we will offer the choice of being recovered to a local garage near to where you are broken down or home address if this is closest. Once again, we're sorry that our service fell below your expectations.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful recovery service”

Written on: 14/09/2018 by Hoops123 (1 review written)

Beware of joining the AA. The service was awful for us, it took forever to get through on the phone and we learnt that in certain parts of the UK, they subcontract out the recovery vehicles. We recently broke down on the M5 near Exeter in a dangerous position. There were 4 of us including a 12 year old and my 89 year old Mother who has a heart condition. It took us 45mins to get through to the switchboard and 2 different tow trucks were used to transport us back to Bristol. We reported the… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Hoops123's Review

Written on: 17/09/2018

We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with the service provided but we are pleased to that you contacted the complaints team and hope they explained the reasons behind this.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking”

Written on: 21/08/2018 by Garbageaa (1 review written)

Absolutely shocking service from the AA! I would not recommend them to anyone and if I could leave 0 stars which they deserve i would have. I pay extra for AA garage cover and have never made a claim and they have messed me about from start to finishe Trying everything the could to not pay for the repairs it’s now two weeks without a car two weeks I’ve lost money and I’m now having to pay to cover the cost absolute waste of time I will be joining the RAC again I wouldn’t touch this… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Garbageaa's Review

Written on: 22/08/2018

Hi, we're really sorry to hear you've been left feeling dissatisfied. We hope you've raised your concerns and been in touch with our Parts and Garage team to find out more details of the progress of the claim.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful treatment. No recovery. Use a different company.”

Written on: 19/07/2018 by Brodiew341 (1 review written)

As I write it is near midnight. I'm waiting for an urgent recovery phoned in at 6.20pm. I explained clearly that my motorbike was unsafe to ride and I needed recovery. 2 hours later someone who knew nothing about bikes turned up, without a recovery van. I used my own tools and had to show him where the battery was. He couldn't even get it off its stand. Recovery was initially estimated another 2 hours later, and this was then moved to 5am the following day!! Despite calls to the AA letting… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 26/07/2018

We're really saddened to here you are dissatisfied with our service and it is never our intention to make these situations tougher than they are already. We do hope you've raised this, if not and you would like to do so, please do get in touch via our 'Contact Us' page on theaa.com Thank you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Renewal ”

Written on: 11/06/2018 by Paulbrown4 (2 reviews written)

Having had a enormous renewal quote without any claims phoned up to cancel encounted a very rude women on the phone with a take it or leave it attitude changed to Green Flag half the price and better customer service… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Paulbrown4's Review

Written on: 15/06/2018

We're sorry to learn you were left unhappy after speaking with one of the team. We always send standard renewal prices that represent the correct price for the correct level of service we provide. We do hope you will consider us for the future.

Reply to this comment

Paulbrown4's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 15/06/2018

No I won’t perhaps you should teach your customer service operatives some basic manners i also have aa car and house insurance which won’t be being renewed

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“At one time this was a great company , sadly not now.”

Written on: 10/04/2018 by Simontoo (1 review written)

Left for 3 1/2 hours beside the M11 . Was supposed to be priority , originally given an hour ETA. On the exact arrival time updated to another hour, eventually contracted out to another company No communication AT ALL just left to rot. I won't be renewing… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Simontoo's Review

Written on: 13/04/2018

We're sorry to hear that you have been dissatisfied with our service, speed in attending breakdowns is an important part of our service and we will always aim to reach members as quickly as possible following any call for assistance. again apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible is a better word”

Written on: 18/02/2018 by atMcGraw127 (1 review written)

Very unorganized service. Patrol showed up 3 hours later than given time. Recovery showed up in the wrong destination, adding additional 3 hours on top of the initial wait time. Rang up customer complaining about this issue and I was promised 20£ for compensation. Still waiting on the cheque for 2 years… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 20/02/2018

We’re sorry to hear that you have been left feeling dissatisfied and do hope that you chased up the £20 compensation with our complaints team at the time.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“1st class service”

Written on: 12/01/2018 by SerenitySparks147 (1 review written)

What a brilliant service arrived on time fixed fault at home. Quick to go and get part my car was back on the road after one hour thank you will always recommend the AA to all my family and friends… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Yeovil realdown”

Written on: 20/12/2017 by chuddie48 (2 reviews written)

Top service broke down in Yeovil Somerset van there in 15 minutes then the most knowledgeable AA man had me on my way . He was top notch polite helpful and kNew what he was doing Brilliant AA man in Somerset… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shop around”

Written on: 14/12/2017 by EzraHarding434 (1 review written)

I was an aa member for a number of years, seven or eight and never required any assistance in this time thankfully yet each year my premium continued to rise year on year until I finally cancelled my membership. At the end they were trying to get £80 from me and now I see they are advertising for new members for £39. I'll never go back,there are cheaper ones out there and if they looked after the members they used to have perhaps they wouldn't be in the situation their in… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 14/12/2017

Hi Ezra, we're really sorry to learn that you have cancelled your membership. We send out renewals each year to all our Members with the true cost of the cover they hold. Existing memberships will also hold additional Member benefits that new customers are not entitled to. We hope that you spoke with our renewals team so that they could review this for you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Keep away this winter”

Written on: 06/12/2017 by parvezlaskar (1 review written)

Called AA for a flat battery and he just ripped off the battery and changed with a new battery. My fault was i left the car with my wife who had no idea about the car. My car batt was just 6 moth old and had 5 years warranty but the sorry sod could not see that the battery looks new and might b in warranty. Better than that he took away the old battery and when i called the customer relations there was no sorry feeling from the other side but was a big rant on how AA was right in doing all this… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to parvezlaskar's Review

Written on: 12/12/2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are extremely sorry that you are unhappy with the service you recently received from us with regard to your battery. If you haven't already, please visit www.theaa.com and you can log a formal complaint through the 'contact us' page. Once again we are sorry that the level of service we have given to you on this occasion hasn't met your expectations.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“AA No full refund given.”

Written on: 20/11/2017 by LindaM007 (1 review written)

I purchased AA cover this morning with the AA after 5 mins or so I rang back to cancel as the RAC offered me a better deal, I was 40 mins waiting on the phone to cancel only to be then told that I will not be given a full refund even tho my actual cover would not start till the 18th December and the date today is 20 November 2017 they want to take £20 from me for nothing. I am shocked at this as now lost £20 for no reason and have nothing to show for it even tho the payment is still even… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to LindaM007's Review

Written on: 20/11/2017

Hi, we're sorry to hear this and would like the opportunity to look into this for you. Could you please contact us with reference FOR134445, your 6356 Membership number and contact number. If the cover is through the bank please do not provide bank details.

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2017

You have not provided me with an email to contact you? but I have already contacted the complaints department to try to obtain a full refund but nothing as yet :(

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Lindam007's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2017

Please get in touch via the 'Contact Us' page on theaa.com so that our Customer Service team can assist.

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2017

I've already done this and still waiting and might I add to my stress of all this, they said they had refunded the amount less the fees and that is not even showing in my bank so angry right now just major stress :(

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's reply to Lindam007's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2017

I wish someone would just simply call me and sort this out I've tried to ring to speak to someone and sit on the phone for 40mins god knows how much it has cost me in calls only to listen to ROLLING DOWN THE RIVER by Tina Turner .. feeling so stressed right now, how hard is it for someone to pick up the phone and call me?

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 23/11/2017

I have again today rung the AA to see where my refund is? they are now saying they did not take the payment? They did take the payment as my bank just confirmed it was taken on Monday and also showing on my telephone banking as taken. I then rang customers relations only to be told my case has still not been allocated to anyone to deal with? It has been days all I want is to be refunded

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Lindam007's Comment

Written on: 24/11/2017

We are very sorry to hear this matter is causing you stress, we assure you our team will look into this for you. They do have 8 weeks to complete an investigation however we always intend for this to be sooner. Please allow a little time for us to look into this and contact you. Thanks.

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 24/11/2017

I appreciate your reply but that means in all honesty that I could be waiting and stressed for up to 8 weeks waiting for my money to be put back into my bank? do you think this is a fair way to treat customers? they took my money from the bank straight away and yet now I could have to wait up to 8 weeks for my money to be returned? I feel this is disgraceful and to be fair they have two weeks as if in that time they do not refund my bank will deal with it.

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's Response to LindaM007's Review

Written on: 24/11/2017

Please read this people and be aware of how they treat customers this could happen to you-.-

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 9 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“never use them”

Written on: 19/10/2017 by Abbigail416 (1 review written)

Never use the AA. I purchased the AA because my Greenflag cover (from Natwest) did not cover me for long distances.They automatically renew your subscriptions. Each time I thought, ah ok its good to have that piece of mind. However they have never NEVER Helped me. On one occasion my husband broke down in devon, they took 4 HOURS to come out. GreenFlag always within the our! On another occasion I asked them to tow my car to a garage and they refused because I was at HOME. WHAT LAME EXCUSE IS… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 20/10/2017

Hi,

We're sorry to hear you're unhappy around the service you received.
We offer a wide range of Membership services that will cover you at home, all over the UK and offers recovery to any destination of your choice.
We hope you raised your dissatisfaction at the time, and we're able to help you in the future.

Reply to this comment

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 21/10/2017

Hello, we're sorry you were left disappointed with our service and we would like to address this. Please visit theaa.com and you can log a formal complaint through the 'contact us' page. Thank you

Reply to this comment

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 21/10/2017

Hello, we're sorry you were left disappointed with our service and we would like to address this. Please visit theaa.com and you can log a formal complaint through the 'contact us' page. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“A brilliant service”

Written on: 15/10/2017 by LucaGreene497 (1 review written)

I was provided with a professional, efficient, knowledgeable and speedy service, by the AA mechanic who attended my vehicle after I broke down. I would recommend becoming a member of the AA… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2017

Hi thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We're really pleased to hear we were able to leave a good, lasting impression and hope you will feel a bit of peace of mind on the road in future.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview