AA Breakdown Cover Reviews

★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
26% of users recommend this
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
AA Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for AA Breakdown Cover

AA Breakdown Cover
AA Breakdown Cover

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Shop around”

Written on: 14/12/2017 by EzraHarding434 (1 review written)

I was an aa member for a number of years, seven or eight and never required any assistance in this time thankfully yet each year my premium continued to rise year on year until I finally cancelled my membership. At the end they were trying to get £80 from me and now I see they are advertising for new members for £39. I'll never go back,there are cheaper ones out there and if they looked after the members they used to have perhaps they wouldn't be in the situation their in… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 14/12/2017

Hi Ezra, we're really sorry to learn that you have cancelled your membership. We send out renewals each year to all our Members with the true cost of the cover they hold. Existing memberships will also hold additional Member benefits that new customers are not entitled to. We hope that you spoke with our renewals team so that they could review this for you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Keep away this winter”

Written on: 06/12/2017 by parvezlaskar (1 review written)

Called AA for a flat battery and he just ripped off the battery and changed with a new battery. My fault was i left the car with my wife who had no idea about the car. My car batt was just 6 moth old and had 5 years warranty but the sorry sod could not see that the battery looks new and might b in warranty. Better than that he took away the old battery and when i called the customer relations there was no sorry feeling from the other side but was a big rant on how AA was right in doing all this… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to parvezlaskar's Review

Written on: 12/12/2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are extremely sorry that you are unhappy with the service you recently received from us with regard to your battery. If you haven't already, please visit www.theaa.com and you can log a formal complaint through the 'contact us' page. Once again we are sorry that the level of service we have given to you on this occasion hasn't met your expectations.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“AA No full refund given.”

Written on: 20/11/2017 by LindaM007 (1 review written)

I purchased AA cover this morning with the AA after 5 mins or so I rang back to cancel as the RAC offered me a better deal, I was 40 mins waiting on the phone to cancel only to be then told that I will not be given a full refund even tho my actual cover would not start till the 18th December and the date today is 20 November 2017 they want to take £20 from me for nothing. I am shocked at this as now lost £20 for no reason and have nothing to show for it even tho the payment is still even… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to LindaM007's Review

Written on: 20/11/2017

Hi, we're sorry to hear this and would like the opportunity to look into this for you. Could you please contact us with reference FOR134445, your 6356 Membership number and contact number. If the cover is through the bank please do not provide bank details.

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2017

You have not provided me with an email to contact you? but I have already contacted the complaints department to try to obtain a full refund but nothing as yet :(

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Lindam007's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2017

Please get in touch via the 'Contact Us' page on theaa.com so that our Customer Service team can assist.

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2017

I've already done this and still waiting and might I add to my stress of all this, they said they had refunded the amount less the fees and that is not even showing in my bank so angry right now just major stress :(

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's reply to Lindam007's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2017

I wish someone would just simply call me and sort this out I've tried to ring to speak to someone and sit on the phone for 40mins god knows how much it has cost me in calls only to listen to ROLLING DOWN THE RIVER by Tina Turner .. feeling so stressed right now, how hard is it for someone to pick up the phone and call me?

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 23/11/2017

I have again today rung the AA to see where my refund is? they are now saying they did not take the payment? They did take the payment as my bank just confirmed it was taken on Monday and also showing on my telephone banking as taken. I then rang customers relations only to be told my case has still not been allocated to anyone to deal with? It has been days all I want is to be refunded

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Lindam007's Comment

Written on: 24/11/2017

We are very sorry to hear this matter is causing you stress, we assure you our team will look into this for you. They do have 8 weeks to complete an investigation however we always intend for this to be sooner. Please allow a little time for us to look into this and contact you. Thanks.

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 24/11/2017

I appreciate your reply but that means in all honesty that I could be waiting and stressed for up to 8 weeks waiting for my money to be put back into my bank? do you think this is a fair way to treat customers? they took my money from the bank straight away and yet now I could have to wait up to 8 weeks for my money to be returned? I feel this is disgraceful and to be fair they have two weeks as if in that time they do not refund my bank will deal with it.

Reply to this comment

Lindam007's Response to LindaM007's Review

Written on: 24/11/2017

Please read this people and be aware of how they treat customers this could happen to you-.-

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 9 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“never use them”

Written on: 19/10/2017 by Abbigail416 (1 review written)

Never use the AA. I purchased the AA because my Greenflag cover (from Natwest) did not cover me for long distances.They automatically renew your subscriptions. Each time I thought, ah ok its good to have that piece of mind. However they have never NEVER Helped me. On one occasion my husband broke down in devon, they took 4 HOURS to come out. GreenFlag always within the our! On another occasion I asked them to tow my car to a garage and they refused because I was at HOME. WHAT LAME EXCUSE IS… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 20/10/2017

Hi,

We're sorry to hear you're unhappy around the service you received.
We offer a wide range of Membership services that will cover you at home, all over the UK and offers recovery to any destination of your choice.
We hope you raised your dissatisfaction at the time, and we're able to help you in the future.

Reply to this comment

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 21/10/2017

Hello, we're sorry you were left disappointed with our service and we would like to address this. Please visit theaa.com and you can log a formal complaint through the 'contact us' page. Thank you

Reply to this comment

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 21/10/2017

Hello, we're sorry you were left disappointed with our service and we would like to address this. Please visit theaa.com and you can log a formal complaint through the 'contact us' page. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“A brilliant service”

Written on: 15/10/2017 by LucaGreene497 (1 review written)

I was provided with a professional, efficient, knowledgeable and speedy service, by the AA mechanic who attended my vehicle after I broke down. I would recommend becoming a member of the AA… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2017

Hi thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We're really pleased to hear we were able to leave a good, lasting impression and hope you will feel a bit of peace of mind on the road in future.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid the AA”

Written on: 03/10/2017 by UlisesOrtega48 (1 review written)

Shame there isn't - starts I would give them that. Basically I broke down on holiday, the AA came out and the issue could not be fixed at the roadside. Ok that's fine. Anyway this is where the trouble starts. They could take me home but not via the campsite ... where all our stuff was at to be packed away. It was 6 miles away. The charged me £70 to take me that short journey, and took advantage of me while I was in a vulnerable position. The driver that turned up to take us from the… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 05/10/2017

Hello, thank you for getting in touch. If you’re entitled to a recovery because we cannot fix your car, this is to one single destination in the UK. We’re sorry you’re unhappy with this and we do hope you managed to get the car sorted.

Reply to this comment

Jnsdion's Comment

Written on: 07/10/2017

Nope this is not sorted. how did you expect me to get all my camping equipment packed away?????? The driver would not wait or take me to it. I was backed into a corner and the AA was useless in that situation

I have cancelled my membership as you have no interest in talking about it and all email correspondences from you just say that as far as you are concerned it's the end of the matter.

IT IS NOT, you basically said to me pay up or your car stays on an unsafe location (also in a bus stop)

I hope my review convinces a few people to get their membership elsewhere as I would hate for someone else to be treated this badly

Reply to this comment

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 14/10/2017

We're sorry you remain unhappy, if you haven't raised this already please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page we'll be happy to address it.

Reply to this comment

Jnsdion's Comment

Written on: 14/10/2017

I have, over and over. You just don't care and you have stopped responding.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID AVOID AVOID!!”

Written on: 11/09/2017 by 48Brewer (1 review written)

I have been a gold member with AA for 18 years and they lost a panel in my Car. I contacted them as soon as i realised the part was not put back. The department i spoke to then proceeded to tell me I was a liar as they had spoken to the member of staff who said he had put the panel back. I stressed to them that I would not lie about a small plastic panel and also informed them that their staff who came to assess the vehicle did so at night and could have left it in his vehicle. Regardless, it… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 12/09/2017

Hi, this is concerning. We hope you have spoken to our customer service team regarding your dissatisfaction. If you haven't and you would like us to address anything, then please get in touch with us via our website.

Reply to this comment

Jnsdion's Comment

Written on: 07/10/2017

Yep! The AA are useless when it comes to customer services. Happy taking your money though

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“They do not care ”

Written on: 25/08/2017 by Alex844 (2 reviews written)

8 hours to be recovered in at night in the rain Broke down on the on the m6 north bound a mile from Keel services at 10.10 pm it was raining and the motorway was unlit phoned the AA was told somebody would be with me within the hour after waiting on the bank for nearly 2 hours in bushes soaking wet and with numb feet and hands rung them again and was told somebody would be there soon I raised my voice a bit saying I wasn't happy and was told there was nothing she could do and if I didn't calm… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Alex844's Review

Written on: 07/09/2017

Hi, this is concerning. It is never our intention to leave a Member waiting. If you haven't already raised this with our customer services team please get in touch at your earliest convenience so that we can address this for you. You can get in touch via our web site 'contact us' page. We hope you're ok and look forward to hearing from you.

Reply to this comment

Alex844's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 09/09/2017

I have on Facebook and trustpilot I sent you details like on here that you asked for over 2 weeks ago and I've heard nothing if I waited 4 hours at the side of the road I should expect nothing else really

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Alex844's Comment

Written on: 09/09/2017

Hi, if you wish to chase our Facebook team they will be happy to assist with this further for you.

Reply to this comment

Jnsdion's Response to Alex844's Review

Written on: 07/10/2017

Wow so many people with "the aa don't care" can't they see a theme here? Poor customer service

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely terrible”

Written on: 18/08/2017 by Rory74 (1 review written)

Absolutely terrible!!! Ordered a recovery at 8am and at 11pm still not home!!! The worst customer service. too may sub-contractors who are doing whatever they want and keep you waiting for ours, AA customer service don't have a clue as to what is actually happening on the ground!!! Absolute joke of a company!!! That what happens when you only care about selling memberships but don't care about supplying the service!!!… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 18/08/2017

Our resources are planned to meet and exceed our member’s demands for service. When faced with unexpected workloads or factors beyond our control our call time can be affected. We're really saddened to here you are dissatisfied with our service and it is never our intention to exacerbate these situations. We do hope you raised this at the time, if not and you would like to do so, please do get in touch via our 'Contact Us' page on theaa.com Thank you.

Reply to this comment

Jnsdion's Comment

Written on: 07/10/2017

AA what's going on with your customer service?

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“AA doesn't keep you rolling !”

Written on: 24/07/2017 by SteveDerbyshire (1 review written)

Called AA after breaking down at side of A46 Lincoln. Had a caravan and a 4x4. Was in a highly dangerous position and was told would be 55 minutes to an hour wait. After about 55 minutes an AA van passed us on the opposite carriageway. After this the AA app I was using to track progress said task completed. No updates no contact until I rang them back myself. Was then informed that it had been passed onto sub contract company they use because of size of vehicle and caravan, which they had been… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to SteveDerbyshire's Review

Written on: 25/07/2017

We're sorry to learn you had cause to be unhappy with the service provided. We would like to be able to have this investigated and your concerns addressed. Please visit our website and contact one of the team through the 'Contact Us' section online where this will be picked up.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Patrol man that went the extra mile”

Written on: 21/07/2017 by 1983McCullough (1 review written)

My husband and I cannot praise and thank the AA patrol man highly enough who came to our aid just 55mins after our initial call to the AA on Saturday 15th July. He towed our Seat Leon car 60 miles at night to the dealership that had previously carried out the VW emissions scandel software fix. The roadside diagnostic check on the M5 had shown the fault to be the EGR valve 3 failure, a known issue post the software fix. It was 1.00am when we dropped the car off at the dealers forecourt and my… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 21/07/2017

Hi, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave this fantastic review of your recent breakdown. Our patrols will always try to go the extra mile and it's clear to see that this was the case for you on this occasion. It's always nice to hear from long standing members and we're so pleased to hear that the repairs have now been agreed for the car. We will do our best to locate the patrol and pass on your comments, we sure he will appreciate this as much as we did :)

Reply to this comment

Jnsdion's Comment

Written on: 07/10/2017

You were lucky, the patrol man I had couldn't wait to get away and managed to screw mr out of £70

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Fantastic service”

Written on: 19/07/2017 by 164Wren (1 review written)

Had a fantastic service after grandson's car had serious breakdown while taking me for a drive. Patrolman was extremely courteous and very reassuring . Well done again. Reason I've been a member since 1988… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shockingly incompetent joke of a "company"”

Written on: 18/07/2017 by 245Scott (1 review written)

I work for a company that sub contracts for the AA. I've been doing this for 7 years now and we work for many other companies and organisations. None of the others come close to the consistent incompetence of the wonderful AA. The adverts make me want to projectile vomit!! They get nearly everything wrong.. all the time. Giving a damn is not on their agenda, whereas bareface lying is. They rely heavily on the likes of us due to having a tiny amount of their own guys. We get paid pennies… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 19/07/2017

The AA breakdown organisation is available 24/7 365 days a year. We welcome all feedback good and bad and appreciate your comments. If there is anything further you’d like for us to address please get in touch via our website and we’ll be happy to look in to this for you.

Reply to this comment

Jnsdion's Comment

Written on: 07/10/2017

AA what's going on with your customer service?

You'd love to hear my story!!!

Reply to this comment

Vectorsum's Comment

Written on: 29/08/2017

Interesting to read input from an insider. No surprises! Today I have waded through many reviews for all of the main companies: AA,RAC, Greenflag, Autonational etc. Its clear that they are all as bad as each other, regardless of what you pay. It is also clear that none are operating the sound business structure needed to provide the prompt reliable capable service that customers have every reason to expect. Some obvious reasons are: that the call handling centres appear to be simply not up to the job; the subcontractors that they use are not being managed properly and not adequately monitored and held to account for their performance (no doubt the man feels that despite his best efforts to deliver best service its not recognised by the contracting operator). The AA and RAC have obviously sunk a long way from what they once were. Looks like a race to the bottom. I'm at a complete loss as to what to do! 20 years ago I had a rapid response excellent onward recovery, without argument, to my 200mile away destination by a subcontractor to the RAC. Chances of getting that service now ? 10% or less I reckon. BIG opportunity here for a smart highly motivated SINCERE new kid to wipe them all out by simply delivering what's expected at a fair price. So that's my view! (Aerospace Engineering Manager)

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible servive”

Written on: 09/07/2017 by Kamrona392 (1 review written)

My wife's car wouldn't start. Called the AA still not arrives after 2 hours. Told them my wife is a diabetic who needs insulin. They couldn't care less. Kept saying "we're busy" can't cancel my membership quick enough. What a ridiculous company… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 10/07/2017

This is very concerning, we would really like the opportunity to investigate the calls and service provided to your wife. If you haven't spoken to our customer services team already, please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll get this addressed as soon as possible. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“following the death of my husband I took over the...”

Written on: 08/07/2017 by MaddieMorton (1 review written)

following the death of my husband I took over the insurance and breakdown. I then decided to upgrade my breakdown. I paid £45.09 for this on top of the £39 already paid. I was promised the documents by email and post. none arrived. I phoned after about a month and after holding on and holding the lady announced that they were there in front of her and would be send immediately. I received nothing. I wrote to the customer care giving deadline of 13 July and their answer - wait for it - it… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to MaddieMorton's Review

Written on: 10/07/2017

Hi Maddie, firstly we'd like to offer our sincere condolences for your loss. We understand this must be a difficult time and we would like to help get to the bottom of the trouble you are having with your documents. Please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page or click to chat to one of our live agents who will be happy to help with your query and arrange for this to be resolved. We look forward to hearing from you and getting this sorted as quickly as possible.

Reply to this comment

Maddiemorton's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 11/07/2017

Oh, do you people listen to anything. I have telephoned 4 times. Still not recieved. I have been to customer care. Still not received. I have to wait 8 week for an answer. ALLL I WANT IS MY DOCUMENTS. PLEASE SEND ME MY DOCUMENTS. As I have said previously, you have until Friday to get them to me.

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Maddiemorton's Comment

Written on: 19/07/2017

We understand you have called several times and this is what we would like to address. Unfortunately we can't locate your details from this review or assist with the documents via this forum. We would really like to help. If you haven't received them yet please get in touch via our website. Thank you

Reply to this comment

Maddiemorton's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 19/07/2017

membership no 6356 0111 5719 3319. No, I have not received

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“mr HUI”

Written on: 30/06/2017 by KarterO'Grady145 (1 review written)

they are the best fixed my car in 30 min how cant thank you enough… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 30/06/2017

No need to thank us Mr Hui, we're just doing our job :)

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Exasperting! Frustrating! Hopeless!”

Written on: 25/06/2017 by Freefe (1 review written)

We renewed our AA membership in April, reducing the cover from which was held previously, and this has seemed to cause the Company to go into meltdown where we're concerned! Despite two very lengthy phone conversations and several emails we can't even get our documents and membership cards sent out to us. AA acknowledge our paid up membership, but as they can't seem to navigate their way to a post box, what chance have we got if we need them to come out to a breakdown? Green Flag or RAC for us… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Freefe's Review

Written on: 28/06/2017

Hello, we are sorry to hear you're unhappy and do hope that you have contacted us to address your dissatisfaction. If not, please get in touch via our website at your earliest convenience. Kind Regards, the AA.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting service ”

Written on: 16/06/2017 by Kaylynu403 (1 review written)

Broke down abroad, called breakdown number, got told I needed to be transferred through to their France dept, no issue makes sense, French dept pick up the call and just put the phone down, tried to call back, just put into a queue Manage to sort the breakdown myself When I report it on my return their response is to refund me my fee and cancel my membership An apology would have been nice … Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 17/06/2017

We're sorry to hear that you had an issue getting through to our team at the time of the breakdown and are pleased to see that you raised your concerns with the us on your return. We're sorry you feel this wasn't dealt with in the correct manner. We do hope all is ok with the vehicle again for you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“AA has great staff - fantastic service”

Written on: 10/06/2017 by KathandJimHarris (1 review written)

the chap that came to me in Wakefield & took me and my car back to Grimsby was very helpfull and organised a hire car for me out of hours so that I could continue with work the next day without delay. Then a week later I had a flat and again AA chap came and sorted it out in pouring rain. we have a family membership and when a couple of days later one of us left lights on overnight and woke to a flat battery the AA saved the day again. Thank you Harris's… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“disgraceful disrespectful annoying”

Written on: 09/06/2017 by uk30scouple (1 review written)

Waited almost 4 hours and still waiting,calling every 30 minutes to be told the recovery vehicle keeps getting delayed..The worst srrvice ever and the staff are as helpful! RAC for me in future! Choose the aa at your peril !… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to uk30scouple's Review

Written on: 12/06/2017

We're extremely sorry to hear about the delay, it is never our intention to leave a member waiting. We'll provide you with an ETA at the time however this can change and we'll notify you of this, there are many factors that can effect our time of arrival. We hope that you have been in touch with our customer services team so that they can address this, if not please feel free to contact us directly on our web site 'contact us' page. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview