Wizzair Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Wizzair
★★☆☆☆
1.6
20.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Flight on time?

  • Customer service

  • Comfort on flight

  • Quality of Entertainment

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Wizzair - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Wizzair

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Cancellation with no explanation ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MandySurreyGB on 09/03/2023

We booked 9 flights for September in the previous October for a decent price but 4 months later the airline has announced that our flights have been cancelled, no explanation, with no option of rebooking as there is no availability for 6 weeks ahead of our departure we have had to book with another airline for nearly double the price

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Crappy company with no shame or professionalism”

★☆☆☆☆

written by emanuel123456789 on 18/01/2023

On 1 September 2022, I've booked a short trip in Europe and WizzAir had a massive delay on that flight, from around 21:00 to 15:00 the next day. Obviously we all had to be accommodated in a nearby hotel and had to pay expenses to get to and from the airport, plus other fees, and although WizzAir has recognised the issue and promised to pay within a timeframe specified by their representative (20 business days), more than 35 days have passed without a single penny received in the account. The fact that they are reluctant to give a phone number and rely on emails only, is evidence of their scheme to delay payments. I need to mention the fact that, their first reply came on 28 September which is 28 days after the flight took (or supposed to take) place. So there goes nearly 30 days into replying. All this time, €500 have been gaining interest in their account, rather than on mine. On 27 December 2022, I have received another email from another customer service member, apologising for the fact that the previous person did not actually submitted the refund. This is their email: "Thank you for contacting Wizz Air Customer Service Department. Please accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience caused by the previous agent. Regarding your request, we have checked the claim and seen that the payment was not initiated. Therefore, we had to send it once again. Please be informed that we have sent the compensation due to the delay in your flight W6 3140 BLQ-OTP on the 1st of September 2022 in the amount of 250 EUR to your bank account and 250 EUR to account and the money will be at your disposal from 14 to 20 workdays. Compensation was initiated on the 27th of December 2022. Again, please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment caused. If you have any further questions or proposals, do not hesitate to contact us. Wizz Air wishes you a lovely day. " Although I tried my best to call, email and resolve the dispute, WizzAir forces me to use the legal system to recover my money. This is outrageous and will not recommend to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“First and last time using W!ZZ- HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Verdade on 01/07/2018

We were flying from Cyprus to London. The flight was 2 hours delayed, we still came to check in at the original time. We were then informed that we had to pay 35 Euros each to check in at the desk, I was shocked, I’ve never heard anything like that!!! You are robbing your customers!!! I WILL NEVER USE THIS AIRLINE AGAIN!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“NEVER EVER AGAIN USE WIZZ..!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DestinyHarding52 on 26/09/2017

Booked a trip for 10 people to warsaw, out on the sat and back the sunday with wizz to glasgow. Got an email about a scheduled change. I thought maybe a time change but no they had change my returning airport from Glasgow to London. No reason giving just take it or leave it. Refund or accept change. There was no other flights direct from any airline for that day so we have lost our money for our hotels and our outward flight as this was with Ryanair. Disgusting that they can get away with this. Also it will take 14 days to get my refund for our flight home. Shocking service. How could anybody trust this airline to honour what you have paid for.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“They got me!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Napier317 on 07/09/2017

Of course it is what they set out to do. I travel with Ryanair and EasyJet frequently and know their tricks so I have a cabin sized bag. What I didn't realise was that Wizz would charge me £40 to bring it into the cabin. Apparently if I had paid £9 in advance I would have been ok. Interestingly, there were three pretty Canadian girls queueing beside me and because one of them had paid £9, the young man working the queue allowed the other two to bring their bags on without paying. Suspicious? Yes. It seems like an entirely arbitrary ripoff at the discretion of whoever is working. Another guy, working for Luton airport, was tasked to take the money from me. I told him that it felt like being mugged and he said he would advise anyone never to fly Wizz.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“1 Very unprofessional check-in staff. Rude,...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by McClurebe1959 on 06/06/2017

1 Very unprofessional check-in staff. Rude, dis-honest. Out-right dis-honest.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disgusting Customer Service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 479O'Keefe on 30/01/2017

I had to cancel my flight due to miscarriage, when I asked for refund I was told no!! The Customer Service quoted serval regulations including policy of cancelling flights 14 days before the travelling takes place, it didn’t matter to them that I lost my baby on the same day as I suppose to travel. Clearly I didn’t have influence on my health and reasons preventing me from travelling. Eventually as a “good will gesture” I was offered 50% of the fee to be in my Wizzair account. I don’t ever want to use them again as they an absolutely disgusting and incompetent. Just to compare I got the free refund from Ryanair for the same reasons no problem with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“In a previous review of Wizz Air I noted the ambiguity...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Frequent_Business_Flyer on 29/01/2017

In a previous review of Wizz Air I noted the ambiguity of the wording on their website. Having paid for the larger cabin bag on the way out from Gdansk to Aberdeen with no problems I expected none on my return journey as I was carrying EXACTLY THE SAME LUGGAGE! I arrived at the airport, purchased a drink a sandwich and some reading matter, to relax after working a 12 hour shift. All was well until I approached the departure gate; towards the end of the queue, as priority boarding just means you get to stand like lemmings for longer. The first sign of trouble was when I noticed the ugly, fat, inbred female? Wizz air agent at the gate reduce a young woman to tears by insisting that she empty out her luggage at the departure gate to throw things away that she clearly treasured. Mean spirited? Well two Young Polish lads offered to help the girl by carrying on some of her excess items and the evil Wizz air prostitute (who visibly seemed to enjoy the pain she was causing) on the check out gate began shouting at them telling them that this was not allowed - how ridiculous, vindictive, mean and incorrect. Then came my turn, I was confident of not having problems having pre-purchased my large cabin bag allowance and already completed the outward journey "unmolested". How wrong I was; first she ordered me to place my bag in the sizing crate, no problem, then she told me that I could not take my laptop bag on the flight as I was only allowed ONE piece of hand luggage (remember the ambiguous nature of their website; here is where the "sting" is). She ordered me to put the laptop bag inside my carrying case, this would never have worked. I started to get angry and she accused me of swearing at her (this is an underhand psychological tactic called “gaslighting”) and threatened to throw me off the flight and call the police unless I paid 55 GBP to put my cabin baggage in the hold. They are using ambiguous text to dupe their passengers into paying huge fines at the departure gate. I will not be using their airline for future business flights, I would rather use Ryan Air and arrive at my destination unmolested! AVOID AVOID AVOID!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“awful!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Combsaw210 on 06/09/2016

do not fly with Wizz Air, if things go wrong, they leave you stranded. customer service is horrendous! and its also blessed with rude cabin crews

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“EXPLOITATION”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mongie on 28/06/2016

My Partner and i flew with Wizz Air from London Luton to Budapest. Before we checked in we were offered to print our own boarding passes at the cost of £10.00 for both of us. We declined this offer. We then proceeded to check in , i was told that my cabin baggage was the correct size, but my partner's cabin baggage which was slightly larger was promptly charged another £31.50p. Our flight to and from Budapest was good. On our return to Budapest airport we were told that both our cabin baggages' were oversize and we were presented with another whopping great charge of 130 Euros, which we had to pay or leave our bags behind. Their attitude was hard and uncaring. This airline is trying to make as much money as possible through exploitation. This will get them no where. This airline needs to seriously consider it's future if it continues to take from people. This airline needs to charge people respectfully or eventually it will go bust.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“This company tries every trick to take money from...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by drmengeleas on 25/06/2016

This company tries every trick to take money from customers. Charged me 32£ for hand standard luggage,which is free in any normal airline in the world. Because they have own rules for hand luggage!!!. Thats why they are not airlline. They try to take your money all the time. So beware and try normal airlines not wizzair. Thanks

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“WORST AIRLINE EVER!!!!! AVOID”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 98Shea on 05/05/2016

I have just been in a 6 month dispute with Wizzair after they charged me £60 at Budapest airport as I(couldn't) check in online, as their system was down. I tried numerous times, but kept getting the same reply, there is a fault on the website. I have flown all over the world, so know the rules. I noticed many other people having the same problem on check in. On returning to the UK I wrote e mails to Wizzair, but they insisted their website was not faulty (A LIE) I decided to take it further, to the European Consumer Centre and others, but despite over six months of battling and letters going back and forth, the EUC said there was nothing further they could do, although they tried hard. In other words Wizzair can get away with whatever they like. I believe they put their website down deliberately so they can charge for check in again at the airports. They had tape measures out for carry on bags and seemed to be making a fortune for the slightest inch over. I will hopefully never ever have to travel with them again. There is never any sandwiches available and honestly the worst airline I have ever flown with. AVOID!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A TOTAL RIP OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by buddyann on 28/04/2016

I have just been in a 6 month dispute with Wizz Air after they charged me £60 at Budapest airport as I(couldn't) check in online, as their system was down. I tried numerous times, but kept getting the same reply, there is a fault on the website. I have flown all over the world, so know the rules. I noticed many other people having the same problem on check in. On returning to the UK I wrote e mails to Wizzair, but they insisted their website was not faulty (A LIE) I decided to take it further, to the European Consumer Centre and others, but despite over six months of battling and letters going back and forth, the EUC said there was nothing further they could do, although they tried hard. In other words Wizzair can get away with whatever they like. I believe they put their website down deliberately so they can charge for check in again at the airports. They had tape measures out for carry on bags and seemed to be making a fortune for the slightest inch over. I will hopefully never ever have to travel with them again. There is never any sandwiches available and honestly the worst airline I have ever flown with. AVOID!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Not bad ”

★★★★☆

written by Pollinezia on 27/03/2016

Well, as I see here are just a couple of people who give the rate more than 3*. In my opinion WizzAir is NORMAL air company. Maybe iI have this view because I have never used any other company. I flighted with WizzAir 2 times, each one in 2 sides and can not say something bad about the plain and service or stuff. Everithing was ok. THE PRICE WAS THE LOWEST OF ALL COMPANIES!! As for me the price was the most important condition. I am not from that people who want to drink/eat/play and everithing else in the plane! The plain is just for make a travel from one sity/country to another and Wizzair is good company to do it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Never again with Wizz air.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by yalter.anton on 19/03/2016

This was my worst experience with any airline ever. We (me my wife, two children 2 and 5 y.o. and my father 75 y.o.) arrived to the boarding gate more than 10 minutes before the departure and were informed that the gates are already closed, though boarding was actually in progress. We arrived to the airport more than an hour before the departure and they sent us to reprint the boarding pass – later saying there was no reason to do this, than found overweight in our luggage (700 gr. for a 32 kg bag). I definitely do not recommend using Wizz air. IMHO they are trying to compensate their low ticket cost by any possible means.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Eileenw259 on 07/02/2016

Booked the flight for my parents for 23rd December 2015. The flight has been cancelled because of fog so plane has landed in different town. That was a hour drive from the airport were my parents were waiting. They have offered them another date which was 27th December 2015! So no Christmas with my parents, spent £300 for the tickets for a week spending with my parents. Instead of that I should be happy with 3 days they will spend with us. Called wizzair customer service who insured me I will get my money back as I had to buy a tickets with a different airline for the following day. I spent £70 for calling wizzair customer service!!! Called them 3 times and every time they insured me money will be refunded I just need to send them a complaint letter. I spent £70 for calling wizzair customer service!!! Which I did, they replay? Unfortunately we cant give you a refund as your parents has agreed to change their flights and cost for the calls cant be refund!!! I am disgusted with the services they have provided!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Everything wrong ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 07/01/2016

I travel a lot and wizzair is always late, they are far too expensive comparing to their service, staff treat people as their are all stupid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“WizzAir are vicious charge-obsessed wolves. Don't feed...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by bnHenry73 on 01/01/2016

Flew London Luton to Warsaw in December 2015. First experience was a massive check in queue patrolled by a Wizz Air steward with a military demeanour. He was going around inspecting the size of people's cabin bags and pouncing on them saying they would have to pay more because he could see they were bigger than the regulation "extra small" luggage size. I don't know if the staff are on commission but they acted like the most unpleasant and obnoxious wolves I have ever met. While I was waiting in the queue of people who had to pay, some poor guy who had his boarding pass clearly displayed on his iPad and who had waited ages to get to the front of the queue was sent off to some other part of the airport to get his boarding pass printed (apparently having it on an iPad is not acceptable). Customers were generally treated with total disdain. I certainly won't be flying them ever again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AVOID AVOID AVOID”

★☆☆☆☆

written by nculling on 02/11/2015

AVOID AVOID AVOID! I travel a lot around Europe and generally find flying reasonable given the constraints of security etc. This airline though is a nightmare. If you want to go on a 3 hour flight on rock (and I mean ROCK) hard seats with zero leg room this is the place for you. Also, if you don't want to pay extra than its the middle seat. This lot reminded me of the bad old days of the cattle trucks of the 1970s. If after reading this you still decide to fly wizZ air then you cant say you didn't know what you were letting yourself in for. NEVER AGAIN FOR ME.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid this airlines at all means!!! Worst ever...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TerryMcCullough on 12/10/2015

Avoid this airlines at all means!!! Worst ever experience. They offer cheap tickets but you end up paying way more than expected. The web site is designed to confuse you and make sure that you misread or don't notice something and end up paying ridiculous price at the airport. Online check in is not promoted at all, there is no reminder or clear indication that you have to do it before you travel. The online registration is mentioned in a tiny print under tonne of adds which is just impossible to notice if you are using the site for the first time. Because of that my mom ended up paying crazy money for her registration at the airport. Plus to that! On their web site (I read it afterwords) it states that the airport registration costs 256 UHR but they charged her 750 UHR (price for those traveling with special sports equipment which she obviously did have). This is a pure cheating and rip off! I payed for the luggage too and guess what?! In the airport she had to pay for it again!!! Apparently it was "different type" of luggage that I payed for so they charged another 40£ for the luggage, I wonder now what was it that I payed 15£ for... These airlines are total joke! Don't be tempted by cheap ticket prices. Go for proper airlines where you know exactly what you are paying for.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview