Iglu Ski www.igluski.com Reviews

★★☆☆☆
2.0
24.0% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Iglu Ski www.igluski.com - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Misleading website prices”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Peacock350 on 15/01/2024

Saw skiing holidays for discounted prices on Igluski website; when telephoned the call handler admitted prices all wrong. A waste of everyone’s time.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible service on 20k holiday spend”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tj1000000 on 07/09/2023

Poor customer service, once they grab your deposit. Don't do east they say they will in my experience. They piggy back off Inghams ski, the booking is really with inghams- I would advise go direct to Inghams. Avoid at all costs

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Iglu Ski are misleading and won't give you your...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mgtx16 on 06/02/2023

2022 /23 Ski Season – Think twice before you trust Iglu Ski with your money! The Iglu website and customer advisor on the phone heavily implied that if i stayed at the sister hotel (the annex) of the Kramerwirt, Maryhoffen i could have my meals in the main hotel. Also, that i could use the main hotel facilities for free. My friends stayed at the sister hotel last season and this was true. After paying my deposit and then 2 months later when having to pay the full holiday amount, i was told that the main hotel facilities were now available but at a charge. I asked for my deposit back but Iglu Ski said no and it was not their fault. Iglu Ski mislead myself and my friends about the use of the main hotel's facilities and only updated their website to make more accurate two weeks before final payment. I will be attaching the detail on other social media websites as customers need to see this. I will never again book with Iglu Ski. 

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ThomasFamilyskiing on 17/02/2020

We put in a complaint to Iglu due to the hotel we booked not providing any options for my husband who is vegan, despite Iglu saying that this hotel could cater for vegan requirements. The hotel tried to persuade us that carbonara was vegan. When we complained to Iglu they promised a number of times to look into it and respond but never have. Complete lack of interest in looking into our complaint.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“miss selling holidays, your contact will not match...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mooneyji268 on 03/09/2016

Beware Iglu ski are miss selling ski holidays, your written contact dies not match what you get.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Inaccurate pushy service”

★★☆☆☆

written by Treac1e on 12/07/2014

Luckily I have not booked with Iglu ski - this review is simply how I found them in my dealings with them trying to book a ski holiday. The whole experience from start to finish was disappointing and unprofessional. In total, there were 3 major errors in the provisional booking that was down to ME to pick up on otherwise they would have sold me something different to what I had originally stated I wanted:- * incorrect info re: date departing * incorrect info re: meal arrangements and * incorrect info re: departure airport. From my little internet research I ended up sounding far more knowledgeable them. I know nothing about ski holidays and they are supposed to be ski holiday "experts". There was also a huge amount of pressure on me to "book now...you must book by close of play today or else...!" I was lucky to put the brakes on and check all the holiday details first otherwise I would have ended up of pocket by paying a deposit and then needing to either amend or cancel. So beware, check-check & check again all the details beforehand.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“LEAVE WELL ALONE”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 03/04/2014

just about to leave on one of their holidays and dreading it. last email was accounts to confirm they had my money, since then nothing. leaving tomorrow for overnight stay in manchester - no idea which hotel, what flights etc etc as no emails or tickets have arrived. rang a bit late to find out why (in a panic) and got a stroppy bloke who talked utter bs about electronic systems and confirmation etc and tried to imply no tickets, boarding passes etc arriving the day before you leave is normal. LEAVE WELL ALONE !

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible service from Iglu Ski!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LillyLaw on 21/03/2014

I am still very angry with our experience of booking with Iglu ski, who really should be ashamed of themselves. We arrive in Avoriaz about 1pm on 8th of March with our children aged 6 & 8. We weren't able to book into our apartment until 4pm despite arriving in the resort at lunch time. This delay was never made clear to us on booking. When we could finally book into our accommodation, Iglu ski had reserved us a small 1 bedroom apartment which would mean our children sleeping in the living area. This was not what we booked and paid for. The children were supposed to be sleeping in bunk beds in a separate room. Pierre & Vacances (the accommodation providers) understandably said they would not do anything without official confirmation of our reservation. Iglu ski said it was nothing to do with them anymore as it was actually a Neilson holiday, and maybe we should just check into that room for the moment and unpack & settle in whilst Neilson sort it out (a response that left us gobsmacked). Neilson, when we could finally get hold of the rep, despite being shown concrete evidence of what we had booked and paid for, refused to do anything as it was booked through Iglu Ski. Finally at 7pm, after trying to sort this out for 3 hours, and incurring additional expenses of international phone calls and data roaming, when our children were extremely tired, hungry, and we still hadn't picked up our skis etc, or done our basic grocery shopping, we were forced to pay £250 for a room upgrade, in order to get the room we had already paid for. By this time we had been in the resort 6 hours. By the time we had picked up our skis, groceries etc and fed our children, they got to bed after 9pm. Far too late considering they had been up since 5am. Consequently the first day of ski school was a disaster for our 6 year old as he was so exhausted. Several days later Iglu ski did refund the money they owed us, but only following some very terse email from my husband. But the manner in which Iglu Ski & Neilson handled this complete mistake (made by them, not by us) was disgusting. We have still not had a proper apology, just a request to submit a review to their website, which I suspect will not be published. So here is my review! Don't book with Iglu Ski!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Igluski/Inghams DIY arrangement”

★☆☆☆☆

written by SeanLennon on 28/02/2014

I was enticed by a decent price £503pp for a week in Chalet Verdons in Courchevel 1850. When selecting the airport to fly from our local airport the price went up to £52 - fair enough. However, when I proceeded with the booking the price climbed to £548pp. The reason is that the flight concerned is scheduled and with Flybe. Ok, so I swallowed that but I shouldn't have to and those prices should be the headline prices, I've never taken Igluski/Inghams for being Ryanir before. I was told that I would have to pre-book skis on the flight with Flybe myself. Inconvenient to say the least. Again, I grudgingly accepted this and booked the holiday having been promised that there have never been any problems. However, this morning I have tried to book my snowboard on the flight. I was told by Flybe that they only pre-book skis, not snowboards. I would have turn to up on the day and see if my snowboard would fit, if not then it would be on the next flight. This raised the problem of what do I do if I can't get my snowboard on the flight? Well, I will either have to leave it at Exeter or I will have to wait for the next flight (the next day) to arrive at Chambrey causing extra expense and disruption to my holiday. I have voiced these opinions on the Igluski website where you are invited to leave your feedback, however, my review does not appear.  I have check the reviews pages on their site and have found it strange that, not only are there very few reviews available but non are negative about Igluski.  My questions are: 1. Why offer a price that is dressed up as the final price but is not when the booking process starts? 2. Why do customers have to finish booking their own skiing holiday by negotiating with a third party airline that was the choice of the Igluski/Inghams in the first place? 3. Why offer the facility on the website to leave feed back when only positive feed back is accepted?

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Horrific service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Charvey on 28/01/2014

We booked a double room which turned out to have two, VERY small, twin beds. When I complained I was told there were no double rooms at this hotel, a blatant lie. Our room was by far the most substandard in the hotel itself. The chalet itself was run by Ski Total, which was basic, but more or less fine. My frustration is with the horrible customer service (telling us we were being difficult). I would happily pay significantly more money to never have to deal with these guys again, it put a damper on my whole holiday.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great Service, Great Holiday”

★★★★★

written by skidudage on 02/05/2013

Booked a holiday for my partner and me to Les Deux Alpes through Philip at Iglu. Could not of wanted anything more from them, he was very knowledgeable and took me through my options like a pro and managed to get me a great price on my holiday. Had an awesome time in the chalet and will definitely be booking my holiday next year with these guys. Needed to make a couple of changes on my booking and spoke to a gentleman in customer services, really quick to do and gave me the can do attitude that I needed.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very knowledgable”

★★★★★

written by on 02/05/2013

I booked last summer for a chalet group of 16 for March 2013. I spoke to a sales agent called Scotty and couldn't have been more impressed with his depth of knowledge about all the big resorts of France and Switzerland. On his advice I booked a chalet in Val d'Isere and he guided me through the best way to take advantage of group discounts and the 2 4 1 equipment hire deal. He also advised me of all the transfer times from the airports available and I took his advice to land at Chambery which was a real pleasure. The transfer was at least an hour shorter than the usual trips I've had from Geneva. I had a late change of people coming and the customer care team made the transition seemless and smooth. I have used many travel agents for my ski bookings and this was the easiest process I have encountered so far. I'll be calling them again very soon to book for next season.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I book a ski hotel with Igluski and 10 days before I...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mat1203 on 22/01/2013

I book a ski hotel with Igluski and 10 days before I was due to fly the my Hotel in Italy was cancelled (this cancellation was due to the Hotel not Igluski) and the alternative hotel was in Austria. There is no customer care and the prices the holidays they advertise they cannot provide. I am currently intouch with trading standards and Watchdog - DO NOT USE IGLUSKI!!!!!!

Peter Iglu's Response to Mat1203's Review

Written on: 07/03/2013

Hi,

I am sorry that your holiday was subject to this change. It is never ideal when a customer's plans are altered in this way.

As you will be aware, Iglu.com are acting as a travel agent for a tour operator. In this instance, we booked the holiday with the operator and received their confirmation, which it turn was forwarded to you.

Later down the line, the operator contacted us and we had to pass on the message that unfortunately they could no longer honour the booking and we passed on the options provided to us by the operator, which represented the operator's statutory obligations.

As I made clear at the time, Iglu.com would not have been able to foresee that the operator would have been forced to take these steps and your experience would have been the same had you have booked the holiday via the operator directly or a competitor and therefore your experience was not reflective of our service.

As we work with more operators than any other independent Ski Travel Agency, we were in a position to help you and look for alternative holidays that may have met your specific requirements and taken the pain out of finding another holiday. I appreciate that you did not wish to deal with us any further.

To date, I've not heard from any of the third parties mentioned, though I remain on hand to respond where appropriate. I am also on hand to continue to assist with any ongoing concerns that you may have.

Kind regards

Peter

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Misleading prices”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 18/01/2013

I enquired about a ski holiday priced 177, sounded a great deal, strangely when I called/emailed it was no longer available! Then it was advertised at over 460 and when I enquired again to see what had changed (I was initially told there was no availability so the 177 offer was not possible any more) I was told prices change all the time and now it was 625. They would not explain why, I am in the process of making a formal complaint to the advertising standards agency. Have been fortunate enough to find great deals with other companies, sadly igluski is time wasting and not to be trusted.

Peter Iglu's Comment

Written on: 07/03/2013

Dear Customer

I am sorry that you have been left disappointed in this respect. I appreciate that I have not heard from you directly about your concerns.

You are more than welcome to contact me to discuss this matter, and I may be able to explain why you had the experience that you had.

Needless to say, we do not want customers to feel as though they are wasting their time when enquiring about a holiday and we spend a great deal of time and resources ensuring that our website is up-to-date.

I note that the matter is not subject to investigation by the ASA.

Again, you are welcome to contact me to discuss in greater depth should you so wise.

Kind regards

Peter

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Appalling Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AndrewLux on 02/03/2012

Booked with Igluski as there was a two for one lift pass offer for Saas Fee, but at the time nobody mentioned that his offer must be taken up at the time of booking. No response from customer service team for over two days and I was informed that staff training was more important than customer service (the reason why the supervisor was not available to discuss the details with me). I ski regularly, but this is a dreadful company with poorly trained staff whom I would avoid at all costs!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 18/01/2012

On Sunday 13th November I booked a ski package holiday for myself and my party. The holiday was to Les Deux Alpes with flights to Grenoble. Having been skiing before, and had lengthy transfers, we specifically wished for a holiday with a short transfer time, hence we choose, Les Deux Alpes, and a holiday with flights into Grenoble. At time of booking, our homebound flight times were confirmed, our outbound flights were not, but we were told we would be flying into Grenoble, so we went ahead and booked. The booking confirmation we received stated out outbound flight would be on February 4th from Gatwick to Grenoble. From mid-December, until mid-January, I emailed both Iglu ski and Rocket ski about the lack of details regarding our outbound flight. Members of our party needed to book railfares and airport parking both of which increase in price the nearer to departure you become. Finally, after numerous chasing emails and telephone calls, Rocket ski confirmed our flight details on Friday 13th January. They told me our flights times, route, (London Gatwick to Grenoble), and flight number. I happen to put the flight number into the BA website over the weekend and ascertain that our flight number is actually London Gatwick to Geneva. I emailed Igluski and Rocket ski to ask for confirmation regarding this. Iglu came back and told me that it was \"definitely a Grenoble flight\", they did not reply. At 1pm Monday 16th January 2012 I telephoned Rocket Ski who told me that the flight was in fact Gatwick to Geneva, and that there was \"nothing we could do\". IGLU have gone on to tell me that the transfer times from grenoble to Les2alpes, and from geneva to les2alpes are only actually 40 minutes different, this is complete rubbish. We were given misinformation and general lack of customer service from both iglu ski and rocket ski. Even after I raised the issue that I thought the flight number related to a flight from Gatwick to Geneva, I received confirmation that our flight was \"definitely to Grenoble\" from Iglu Ski this is also the case in all our flight documents. Every piece of documentation we have from booking confirmations/invoices/email queries said we are flying to Grenoble, it will mean we spend the first evening of our holiday rishing around trying to get ski/board hire sorted, lift passes etc, when we should have been arriving mid afternoon with time for some pre-dinner drinks and relax. Both rocket ski and iglu have us over a barrel in terms of their Ts and Cs which basically state they can do WHATEVER they want in terms of changing you flight, accomodation, resort etc. basically, it means you can never book anything with any certainty because they can change it and there's nothing you can do about it. We would not have booked this holiday if the flights had been advertised as going to geneva.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very happy with our experience”

★★★★☆

written by VictoriaLK on 04/01/2012

I wanted to book a ski holiday to Val d'isere for the week before Christmas. There wasn't much available, but I found a chalet hotel on Igluski's website with a great price and perfect date. We wanted to fly on Friday 16th December. We were looking approx 8 weeks before departure. I checked chalet reviews online and also those of the tour operator. They were good. I booked the chalet and couldn't have been happier with the service I received from Thomas. He was very helpful, Gave me the exact prices, including extras and ski passes. We did have to pay the entire amount almost immediately, but this was ok. I had written confirmation and receipt sent by email immediately. We stayed at the Chalet Hotel Champs Avalins in Val d'isere, travelled with Ski Total. All was good until I subsequently looked for reviews for Igluski and looked on this site. I felt sick, as we'd paid all our money. I was worried our longed for holiday could turn into a disaster. I'm glad to report I was wrong in these worries and that our e-tickets arrived in good time, our flight times were around midday each way. We were very happy with every aspect of our holiday that was dealt with by Igluski. Just putting this review here so that others don't worry like I had!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The guys at iglu helped (me and the family, 2 adults...”

★★★★★

written by on 06/04/2011

The guys at iglu helped (me and the family, 2 adults and 2 children under 6) arrange a superb ski holiday to Alp D'Huez and all at the very last minute. The holiday was superb and if it had not been for iglu we would not have been able to go. We tried other operators who were unable/willing to help us with our requirements due to the lateness of the booking. Thanks iglu, we had a great holiday that was also very good value too!

Peter Iglu's Comment

Written on: 08/04/2011

Thanks for letting us know about your time away. We're delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time on the slopes and really grateful that you have taken the opportunity to share your thoughts.
<br/>
<br/>Feel free to drop me a line to let me know who helped to find you a holiday and I'll make sure they are aware that you had great time.
<br/>
<br/>Kind regards
<br/>
<br/>Peter

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Iglu Ski Review - Warning to anyone trying to book a...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 06/02/2011

Iglu Ski Review - Warning to anyone trying to book a holiday or ski trip through them!

1: Cancellation policy is terrible.
85 Days + Loss of Deposit, 29-84 days 50% of holiday cost, 22-28 days 70% of holiday cost, 8-21 days 90% of holiday cost, 0-7 days 100% of holiday cost.
The majority of people book with a month of leaving.
So if there are any mistakes kiss 90% of your money goodbye!

2: Price Match Guarantee is rubbish.
Firstly you have to find a matching price within 2hrs of your initial booking enquiry. Good luck on if you even realise this at the time.
Even if you do ask for a match they say it has to be "brochured" for exactly the same time, date, place and tour operator - that's never going to happen!
I booked at X price and the next day the holiday was half the price on their own website. No compensation or refunds available and you can't cancel.

3: Don't forget about their booking fees and card charges that are a phenomenal rip off - I paid over £90 just to use my credit card!

4: O' and the insurance con - if you can't prove you have insurance for everything - you have to take theirs. What a joke.

5: If you get through to "sales" on the phone quickly - you will discover getting through to "customer care" takes hours because they have your money already and you ain't going to be cancelling that's for sure!

Peter Iglu's Comment

Written on: 07/02/2011

Dear Customer
<br/>
<br/>Thanks for your review. I should say that I, Peter, am available to speak to you about any aspect of your booking should you wish.
<br/>
<br/>1. The quoted cancellation terms are for those where we are acting as the tour operator. The majority of holidays that we sell we are acting as an agent and therefore the conditions of the individual tour operator prevail. These conditions would not vary no matter whether you used us to book your holiday, a competitor or the tour operator directly. The cancellation penalty is typically quite high the closer you get to the point of travel as the operator has to pay their suppliers in full for the services.
<br/>
<br/>2. The Price Guarantee is there to ensure that our customers are getting the best possible price for the same holiday at that moment in time. As you have noticed, the price of holidays can change quickly as the date of departure approaches and that operators are keen to ensure that all their available stock is sold.
<br/>
<br/>3. Iglu.com charge at most a &pound;5 per person booking fee. A 2.5% credit card fee is charged to reflect our costs for taking payment by this method. Debit cards can be used free of charge. This is in line with many of our competitors. Furthermore, we offer our customers full flexibility in this respect. Should they wish to present payment for their holiday using any other method (cash, cheque, bank transfer or debit card) we will refund the previous credit card payment in full, including the credit card charge.
<br/>
<br/>4. It's important that all of our customers have travel insurance and it's essential that our team get this message across. It protects our customers both on the slopes and against those high cancellation charges mentioned in (1). That said, we do not have a policy to hardsell insurance. We provide our customers with a link to a website to purchase their insurance should we be aware that they are still to organise this.
<br/>
<br/>5. I'm sorry that you have had trouble getting through to our Customer Care team, I appreciate that our occasional wait time (of minutes, rather than hours) can be longer than any of us would wish. We have invested in increasing the size of the team over the past few weeks. With the phone system that we have in place, we give our customers the option to select a call back.
<br/>
<br/>Thanks again for your comments. Again, please feel free to get in touch.
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>Peter
<br/>

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Every time I have called about a holiday or special...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 15/01/2011

Every time I have called about a holiday or special offer which they are offering on their web site they have not been able to provide it at the price advertised.

As far as I am able to tell they are consistently falsely advertising the price of vacations.

Peter Iglu's Comment

Written on: 07/02/2011

Thank you for your feedback.
<br/>
<br/>Our advertised prices are as per our latest update from the tour operators. We go to great lengths to ensure that our prices are accurate, but realise there are occasions when we go to check availability with the operators, prices may have changed requiring a further update on our site.
<br/>
<br/>I'm sorry for any inconvenience and we remain at your service to find that perfect trip to the slopes.
<br/>
<br/>Kind regards
<br/>
<br/>Peter

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview