Aviva Rescue Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Aviva Rescue
★★★☆☆
2.6
47.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

Summary

Norwich Union Direct Rescue is now known as Aviva Rescue in the UK.


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Aviva Rescue - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Aviva Rescue

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Do not use ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Phil2391 on 20/01/2024

-2 degrees and left sat in the van with no lights or heating for 18.5 hours before the the recovery come for him to tell me he's not taking me all the way home! 1.30 from home and he dropped me off 20mins from home... It's now been 23hours waiting and still no second recovery. Do not use this company every time I have rang lies.lies.lies on the time

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent Service. Highly recommend.”

★★★★★

written by MaryLaverty on 14/12/2021

Rang Aviva as elderly parents car would not start. Explained the urgency of needing their car and from start to finish of calls to both Aviva & the Call out rescue centre We were reassured. Within 20 minutes of making the first call a gentleman arrived & had the problem sorted with a smile. Thankyou very much to him for your very kind & helpful assistance. You are an Asset to Aviva rescue.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“5 Star”

★★★★★

written by skerriesgoat on 14/11/2021

phoned at 9.45 with details of problem, 10.30 a man arrived he diagnosed problem in less than a minute , did loads of checks to double check the issue,installed a new battery and did a full diagnostic check and reset everything i am delighted with the professionalism and the safe and efficient way he worked i give him and Aviva 5 out of 5

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“13hr 20m recovered 68miles”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KarleyWade69 on 08/10/2020

Total shambles to be assisted partially blocking the A143 single carriageway with car and touring caravan with terminal engine fault requiring immediate recovery back to our home address 68 miles away, where we had left 1 hour 20 minutes before. 12:31pm [lunchtime] Phoned Aviva/RAC regarding our Car (with dual mass flywheel /clutch failure) and caravan located, informed operator the vehicle and caravan was in dangerous location, we were vulnerable even stood on grass verge and that my wife has medical condition (Parkinson's). Informed we were looking possibly between 3 to 4 hours for RAC patrol, I suggested as I'm experienced they dispatch a RAC contractor with suitable recovery vehicle as it was not a roadside repair and we were at risk. 15:24 Phoned Aviva/RAC asking for update as we were very cold, no food or drink and due to the dangerous location it was not safe to enter the caravan or sit in the car. Put on hold whilst they investigated and given 20 mins eta for patrol. 16:10 RAC contractor (PJ Kerley Recovery) who arrived with a new crew cabbed recovery transporter ideal to recover both the car caravan and the two of us. He quickly identified dual mass flywheel failure and that we required recovery. He was totally professional and concerned for our safety but unable to recovery caravan due to license restriction. On his advice we managed to limp 200 metre slightly further to the side of the main A143 to the entrance of a farmers field. Recovery driver departed along with recovery vehicle. 16:42 Phoned Aviva/RAC asking what was happening, expressing that we were very cold to easterly winds and it was getting dark due to clouds. Informed two RAC patrols will be dispatched one to TOW the car and the other to TOW the caravan. 17:30 Passing local motorist concerned for our welfare and safety offered to TOW our caravan with his work van back towards Ipswich to the safety of a layby 1/2 mile away. My car had flat battery having used the hazard lights on the car & caravan for FIVE HOURS at the roadside. Passing motorist jump started car from his van. Managed to detach caravan and attach to his works van, he drove off and having used the next roundabout drove back to the layby and unattached our caravan. With no load on the clutch from the caravan managed to U-turn and limp into the layby. Now 18:00 we were SAFE, warmer as the layby was sheltered with trees. The motorist stayed with us a further 1/2 hour to ensure we were safe. We now manage to put the caravan legs down to enter the caravan to use the toilet and make a sandwich and get a cold drink from our fridge. The helpful motorist finally left us and astonished in the service we had received. 18:03 Phoned Aviva/RAC to inform them of our new location, that we are now safe and although layers of clothes slowly warming up, asked when would we get recovery and get home. Informed a RAC contractor has now be tasked to recover both the car + caravan and ourselves, but we could be waiting around 1 hour for recovery. 19:43 RAC Contractor phoned to inform he was on route to our location and wanted to confirm our location, that he was with recovery vehicle, however we would only be relayed 34 miles (68 mile to our home) towards Ipswich and dropped off for RAC to arrange onward recovery. 20:15 The helpful motorist who assisted us earlier to ensure we have gone from the layby and on our way home. He was shocked and disgusted were the 8 hours later. 20:30 RAC Contractor arrived (same contractor company PJ Kerley Recovery) with same style of recovery transporter. Totally professional service and first class vehicle loaded car onto recovery vehicle and attached caravan – We thanked Stuart the helpful motorist who assisted us, who cared for our welfare and safety. 20:38 We were finally in the warmth for the first class RAC Contractor recovery transporter, left the layby and heading towards home that was 68 miles away 8 hours 8 mins since breaking down and requesting assistance. 21:40 approx. Arrived at a Shell Service station located on the A140 near to the junction of the A14 and 5 miles west of Ipswich - No RAC vehicle or RAC Contractor waiting to take us the final 34 miles home. Car and caravan unloaded in constant heavy rain, by this time we were both very wet. The fuel station was locked, no hot drinks available due to machine problem and no access to toilets in the shop. Recovery driver from PJ Kerley was thanked and he departed onto his next recovery. 21:51 Phoned Aviva/RAC to ask what was happening as we were sat in the dark rundown service area carpark and now tired and very frustrated. Put on hold whilst they look at notes and locate what resort had been allocated to the recovery. Informed a RAC Contractor was already on-route that they should be with us within minutes. Explained I know the RAC Contractor(Edan Enterprises) were based around 70 miles away at Peterborough and shocked they are the ones allocated. 23:00 Phoned Aviva/RAC to ask where was the recovery vehicle that we are both still very wet, cold and tired. 23:44 Phoned Aviva/RAC to ask where was the recovery vehicle was as we are still abandoned in a run down service area, waiting in the dark still cold and tired. 00:07am RAC Contractor arrived unaware we were towing a caravan. He was more than willing to take both the car and caravan. He proceeded to load the vehicles in heavy rain whist we stood with a torch due to the area in darkness. 00:08am Aviva/RAC phoned to say they were now planning to dispatch a taxi - Declined as we wanted to ensure our car and caravan were loaded correctly and that we would travel in the rear of the recovery vehicle wearing our masks, plus provide directions to our home. Although the recovery transporter was a 18 plate vehicle the interior was cluttered and not particularly clean, however we just wanted to get home remove our wet clothes and go to bed. 01:50am Finally arrived home 68 miles from breakdown location to heavy constant heavy rain with no street lights to aid unloading. 02:30am Having moved the caravan and car back onto our home property by now totally soaked through eventually got into our home and lock up!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“When I report and asked for service they giave me one...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ofHaley152 on 05/09/2017

When I report and asked for service they giave me one hour time but didn't revived service then I keep calling ever hour until 4 hours , everytime they extended one hour , it's totally liers team and ripoff

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Puncture rescue in Dublin”

★★★★★

written by on 15/04/2017

I was assisted today in Blanchardstown with a puncture. Assistance was prompt, the mechanic was extremely helpful and the service couldn't have been better.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Not good service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 8Moore on 03/04/2017

At the moment im waiting for almost more than 3hours for my rescue from RAC , i phoned them so many times about my reacue because nobody is calling me to give assurance of what time they are coming it's already dark and cold here and after almost 3 hrs they will tell me that it is so busy so they will give me to a sub contractor is that great they give you no choice. I guess it's better to have an emergency small time serbice than the big company which you already paid but until now no service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Prompt,capable and pleasent”

★★★★★

written by 55Gregory on 22/01/2017

Booked a call late at night, arrived as promised, problem diagnosed, temp fix and escorted us to recommended garage. Very pleased with service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Impressed with the Persistent Technician”

★★★★★

written by on 29/11/2016

The company was very easy to deal with and arrived at the agreed time as the car was at home when it wouldn't start. Employee in Galway was determined to figure out the problem and spent an hour at it. He got it running so I could drive to the dealer myself and the car didn't have to be towed. He tidied everything up afterwards. I was sorry I had not thought to ring aviva sooner.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fantastic ”

★★★★★

written by Beebee11 on 19/08/2016

Phoned Avila at 22:30 and they said someone will be with us in an hour to an hour and a half, they came within 20 minutes, lovely polite bloke in the recovery truck, will definitely recommend, well done aviva keep up the good work

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“dishonest company, very poor service in ireland”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 04/10/2013

never turned up, lied about where they were, made me cancel private arrangements on the basis they were 5 minutes away. again never turned up within the stated times, no help, nothing but lies and excuses. staff at all levels try to cover up their lies, even copies of their internal emails stating they were covering up the lies!!!! please do not use or depend on them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Save your money. This company is a waste of space”

★☆☆☆☆

written by cmorrison07511 on 25/04/2013

I reported a breakdown to Aviva at 8.45 am, and after numerous calls and promises, their technician arrived at almost 12.30 pm in a totally unsuitable breakdown van, even although I had informed Aviva of the fault. I showed him the fault, but he persisted in changing another part, and when the vehicle started for a very short time, he was preparing to leave me stranded. Aviva had agreed to uplift a replacement part, due to the totally unacceptable wait, but the technician refused. The technician informed me a low loader would not be available any time soon, so I was forced to have family pick up the spare part and limited tools, then repair the vehicle myself in a totally unsuitable location. Aviva took my premium, did not respond in a reasonable time to my call out, their employee refused to honour an agreement made with Aviva, then tried to leave me stranded, Aviva accused me of declining the proper breakdown vehicle, I was forced to repair the vehicle myself, at considerable expense and inconvenience. One word for the RAC and Aviva. SHOCKING. Avoid like the plague. They got one star too many.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Absolutely clueless”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 01/02/2013

Coming back from Tenby to Swansea, broke down and spent hours waiting for rescue, when it finally arrived, our vehicle was rescued, and we where left stranded! Recovery Driver informed us that he had no instructions with regard to passengers! phoned Aviva and asked them what they are playing at, and we got an apology and where told that a Taxi would be along in an hour to take us home, unbelievably poor from a major corporation, and would never recommend them to anyone,did I mention their useless call centre, that don't have a geographical bone in their pathetic little bodies? I recommend you give this lot a very wide berth!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“NO STARS WOULD BE A BETTER REFLECTION ON AVIVA”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tony Palmer on 07/01/2013

My Wife and I broke down December 2nd on an Italian Motorway at 8-30 pm ! Avivas agent RAC said we had no breakdown cover and left us stuck on the side of the Motorway. Fortunately the Italien Police towed us to a service area , we would probaly have been killed as the rain and fog closed in. I do not exaggerate, we spent 5 hours in Freezing fog trying to do the repair ourself. I got covered in Diesel Fuel and finaly we got to a hotel at 1 AM with nothing to eat. I mamaged the repair the next day but missed an important meeting in Milan. Since I cam back to UK AVIVA DONT WANT TO KNOW, So I have now instituted COUNTY COURT PROCEEDINGS. SO BEWARE OF AVIVA EUROPEAN BREAKDOWN COVER ITS NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Great service”

★★★★★

written by on 10/05/2012

I had to use this service as my car would not start on the Bank Holiday Monday. I was only recently made aware of my free entitlement to it upon renewing my policy. Glad I did. I rang the free phone number which was answered straight away and told the mechanic would be with me within 90 minutes but he rang me straight away for directions and was with me and had my car started within the hour. Excellent servcie from start to finish and thanks to the mechanic Alan in Cork.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dishonestcompany's Comment

Written on: 04/10/2013

so its a third party company that should be praised!! would be worth mentioning them

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Aviva are just dire from end to end, answering calls,...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 02/04/2010

Aviva are just dire from end to end, answering calls, or rather ,not answering, paperwork, dealing with customers, its all dire.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“When my vehicle broke down, customer service did not...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 09/11/2009

When my vehicle broke down, customer service did not answer the call for about 20 minutes before the line cut out. I had to ring 3 times before somebody answered without the line being disconnected. Very poor service!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“21st October 2009 -Customer services have no knowledge...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Frank Rietz on 22/10/2009

21st October 2009 -Customer services have no knowledge of their service commitment. Told that with full UK cover Rescue, Recovery, Homestart, Onward travel I qualified for only a ten mile tow to a garage. My service garage was 15 miles away. Got their agent the RAC out anyway and they confirmed that I qualified for a tow to any garage in the UK. The incompetent Customer services agent was offering to call a garage to tow me to my garage at my expense!
Aviva website policy confirms that a tow to any UK destination was included in my policy!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Satisfied with the service I received of Norwich Union...”

★★★★☆

written by on 25/12/2007

Satisfied with the service I received of Norwich Union Direct Rescue.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview