Hi-Tec Walking Boots Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
14% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Comfort

  • Style

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Hi-Tec Walking Boots - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Hi-Tec Walking Boots

Hi-Tec Walking Boots

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“worst boots ever”

Written on: 07/10/2021 by Prater71 (1 review written)

2 different pair of boots, both lasted under 1 week before falling apart ant glue and stitching. hoeeibly, chinese made garbage.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute rubbish”

Written on: 29/08/2020 by Rob-777777777777 (1 review written)

Bought them in the Summer, as soon as the Wet Weather came I had wet Feet, now the soles ar E coming off. Dreadful quality,, so any review that tells you otherwise has been paid for. Avoid at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“walking boot fall apart after a couple of months of...”

Written on: 21/03/2019

Spoken with customer service, all polite when concern on web, in action from company, just appauling service. Sent my boots back with paperwork, they admitted lost paperwork, all information on several emails to the company, but could not be even appear bothered in reading, just an another form to fill. Very annoyed, bought a second pair in the meantime, error on mysids, only worn these 4 weeks, the same fault on the uppers as before. Hi tec are just cheap inferior products sadly, save your money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“HiTec boots are very cheap - keep your receipt ”

Written on: 28/03/2018 by Sears55 (1 review written)

My HiTec boots basically disintegrated. HiTec weren't interested and told me to go back to the shop. HiTec have no complaints procedure or quality department. They might be a bit cheaper than other brands but you get what you pay for AVOID HITEC

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★☆☆☆

“Bryce II boot”

Written on: 25/01/2018 by mok.monster (1 review written)

The uppers are reasonably comfortable but because I have a healthy, wide toe area my toes get cramped and right now I have a blister from the toenail of one toe rubbing against another. I see there is a wide foot option but was not available to me where I live. The huge downfall with Hi Tec is the outer sole, it appears to me to be more of a plastic than a rubber. The MDT technology used is about the tread of the sole rather than the material. The MDT soles are recommended for tramping and in fact MDT appears to be the only type of outer sole now available from Hi Tec. Well this tramper is not impressed. Yes there is grip on forest paths but put wet boot to dry rock and the squeak is tooth-jarring. Put wet boot to wet rock, especially if there is even the slightest algal film, and balance is undermined, there is potential for sprains, bone-breaks, or worse. The same applies to wet roots in the forest and climbing up slippery banks. I have worn out a pair of Blundstones (NZ-made) not even recommended for tramping but their grip gave me confidence when going over slippery country, and my hard-wearing crocs have fabulous grip in the wet, I have nil confidence in my Hi Tecs. I was trying to get Hi Tecs with the Vibram outer sole but Hi Tec appears to have withdrawn that option. Hi Tec website mentions the MDT technology of the soles but not the material the boots are made of, I consider that these shoddy soles may be the reason Hi Tec can keep its prices low. Hi Tec can do better than use a highly plastic rather than grippy rubber outer sole. C'mon Hi Tec make a proper tramping outer sole.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“A Disappointing Let Down - Dire Customer Service”

Written on: 24/09/2017 by Toooldforallthis (1 review written)

I bought two pairs of Altitude boots at the same time two years ago (September 2017 at the time of writing) in the UK after being a very satisfied user of Hi-Tec walking boots over the last 10 to 15 years. The last pair (leather) was used in both the UK, Europe, Australia and New Zealand and found to be very robust, comfortable and satisfactory, until they sadly wore out. One of the newly purchased pairs were left in the UK whilst the other pair was taken to Australia, where I reside, for use there. Both pairs have been used roughly the same amount (the UK pair being used no more than 4 months of the year during the Summer months) with both the care and maintenance carried out regularly and pretty much identically on both pairs over this period, ensuring the suppleness of the leather was maintained. The pair in Australia have performed as I have expected and been used to from past experiences and I have no issues with that pair at all. However, the pair in the UK have been found to be very poorly made and substandard in quality. The rubber soles on both boots were found to have parted from the leather at the toes and the two parts of the leather sole (midsole & outsole) have also found to have parted, again, on both. Whilst this is bad enough, the leather has also cracked and split at the creases near the toes on both boots and it will not be too long before holes appear. I contacted Hi-Tec for some advice and to see what they would advise regarding the substandard quality they had supplied. It came as somewhat of a shock and some disappointment to be fobbed off by the Hi-Tec rep with a very offhand response that they have just been sold to to a company in Holland. It was now their problem and not Hi-Tec UK. She had no interest in helping out nor providing any further assistance, what-so-ever. Even though the boots were bought in the UK from Hi-Tec UK, their commitment to the customer ended once they were allegedly sold to the Dutch company. My problem.....not theirs! Sadly, on the back of this atrocious customer service, I find that I would never buy any further products from Hi-Tec either now nor in the future; something I am very disappointed about given the high quality of product I have purchased in the past. In addition, I would NOT recommend Hi-Tec to anyone, either now nor in the future. All very sad and unnecessary. There is plenty of competition out there for people's hard earned money; be very careful with Hi-Tec, they're happy to take the money and then to treat the customer with total contempt when a shoddy product is supplied.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“my socks were soaking”

Written on: 06/11/2015 by Ismaelm417 (1 review written)

My wife bought a pair of hi tec walking boots about 11years ago and raved about them comfortable and dry lasted her nearly 10years Time came for some new ones so back for a pair of hi rec v lite waterproof walking boots 18months later after the garantee had run out she came home her feet soaking wet the soles of both boots had started to come away from the uppers and the leather had started to perish on the instep of the right boot After several conversations with Tog 24 where she bought them from nothing could be done because the guarantee had ran out so she has taken them to menders to see if she can salvage them Needless to say she won't be buying any more of hi tec gear

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hi-Tec Poor Quality Shoes”

Written on: 05/11/2014 by DavianMacDonald (1 review written)

I bought three pair of Hi-tec shoes this weekend(Fushion x 2 Oakhurst x1) and all three were found to be faulty and have been returned. Both pairs of Fushion had creased inner lining under the heels so was unable to walk in them at all and one shoe had a creased lining from toe to heel which rubbed the side of the foot. The Oakhurst I wore for just a few steps as it had a faulty insole that stabbed the arch of one foot. Will never buy another Hi-Tec produce after seeing these shoes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mrbig's Comment

Written on: 28/05/2015

2 years nearly since I bought a pair of 'HI-TEC' (Low quality) boots and I'm still bitter about it. It appears they are still making poor quality products and adverting them as a premium brand.

Absolute joke.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Hi-tec Condor Waterproof Hiking Walking”

Written on: 14/09/2013 by MrBig (11 reviews written)

I recently bought a pair of these Grey Hi-tec Condor "Waterproof" walking boots as they appeared to be great value at £39.99 for a size UK 15. I am not a serious hiker but I do need a warm and comfortable pair of boots to wear for dog walking. The third time I wore these boots I walked across my local nature reserve; it was not raining at the time but it had been a couple of hours previously and the grass was damp/wet. My feet got absolutely soaked after 40 mins walking. These boots were advertised as waterproof but in reality they are not even damp proof! Absolutely pathetic. Also worth noting that the seemed quite poorly constructed / flimsy and I doubt they would have lasted very long anyway. I have now returned them for a refund. My previous Columbia boots would handle a similar walk with no issues and in fact I had previously walked through quite deep puddles in those boots with no issues in the past. I didn't expect the same quality from Hi-Tec for half the price but I did expect them to be waterproof as advertised. I guess I should have know that you get what you pay for. These Hi-Tec 'waterproof walking boots' are nothing more than a fancy trainer. Such a shame because they are otherwise a nice looking boot. Avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Slippery soles”

Written on: 20/04/2013

I have had a pai r of Hi Tech lite walking boots for 3 years now, and right from the start the soles were slippery on wet rocks or concrete/asphalt etc. Thought they might improve, but are still as treacherous as ever. soles are not Vibram.Hope they have improved since. Got a pair of sandals(another brand) not long agowith Vibram soles, and grip extremely well in wet. Beware.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hi Tech Boots & Shoes”

Written on: 10/01/2013

I have now had 3 pairs of Hi Tech walking shoes & 2 pairs of boots. None have lasted very long - all have suffered from the uppers splitting &/or the stitching breaking. The consequence of this has been that each pair of shoes & boots have fallen apart in under a year - not very impressive. When used in wet weather they suffer from leaks mainly through the fabric of the uppers, but also through the soles. Having had experience of several pairs of Hi Tech shoes & boots, all of which have suffered from the same problems, I can only assume that poor quality is a common characteristic of all Hi Tech products. I would not buy Hi Tech again under any circumstances or at any price !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best boots ever!”

Written on: 13/01/2012

took these to wear on a busy weekend in Budapest and they were perfect - stylish and comfortable!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I love my Hi-Tec Altitude walking boots - always...”

Written on: 08/01/2012 by Suhanya (1 review written)

Wow! So surprised to see negative comments on Hi-Tec walking boots! I am an avid walker and look to get out into the country as much as possible (would go every weekend if I could!). I bought my first pair of Hi-Tec boots about 9 years ago. They were brilliant - comfortable, light and most importantly waterproof! They lasted for all of those 9 years, and only this year I decided to upgrade. I bought a pair of Altitude IV WPI NT Enviro boots recently and absolutely LOVE them. I knew that I wanted to buy Hi-Tec, as my old boots had served me so well. The new Altitudes have not disappointed. They are as comfortable as my old faithfuls, lightweight and of course waterproof. Now I know they are waterproof because I have given them a seriously good testing. Puddles, streams, boggy moors and of course, wet grass are all dealt with perfectly. The combination of seam-sealed upper and ion-masking waterproofing, means that my feet are always left dry, even after a long day in the Peak District in November! A good pair of walking boots should slip on like a pair of old slippers, keep your feet warm and dry in all conditions and last a long time. This has always been my experience with Hi-Tec boots, and I look forward to many more years with my new boots.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mrbig's Response to Suhanya's Review

Written on: 16/10/2013

Well this reads like you must work for Hi-Tech or be linked with them somehow.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Bought a pair of Hi-Tecs from Milletts. Extremely...”

Written on: 15/01/2011

Bought a pair of Hi-Tecs from Milletts. Extremely comfortable but my feet were soaked on first wearing. I hadn't even been through wet grass, just wet earth so they appeared to leak through the soles. Took them back and got another pair - ditto! No more Hi-Tecs for me.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ I took my first pair of hi techs back as my feet...”

Written on: 12/01/2011

I took my first pair of hi techs back as my feet were sodden after 5 minutes in damp grass. They were replaced but the same thing happened with the second pair. I was told that they are not suitable for walking on wet grass because "the sharp blades of grass cut into the boot and allow the pollution and pollen into the material which destroys the waterproofing and if I wanted to walk on grass I should wear wellingtons as other makes of boot would be exactly the same". Not true I have waterproof leather boots before. Very disappointing as they weren't cheap. If they had told me this before, obviously I wouldn't have bought them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I purchased a pair of Hi-Tec Men's Kruger II boots...”

Written on: 23/06/2010 by leslcm8 (1 review written)

I purchased a pair of Hi-Tec Men's Kruger II boots which were described on the Millets web site thus: "Nubuck and suede over a waterproof lining and moisture wicking lining means dry feet in all conditions.".

They were great in dry conditions, but absolutely useless in damp grass, leaving my feet soaking after less than five minutes. Millets' initial response was laughable. They said "...when walking, the water/dew from grass is transferred to the base of trouser legs making them damp which in turn can create wet socks as the water retained in the trouser leg is absorbed by a person's socks and can subsequently make feet feel wet - thus making it appear that the waterproof properties of the boots have failed. As such, it is possible that water entered the boot via the ankle area and not through the main body of the boot." They offered to take them back for "testing" and a possible refund.

Frankly, if my feet had been as dry as my trouser legs, I wouldn't have had a problem.

I took the boots into the Norwich branch of Millets and received much more sympathetic customer service and a full refund. The real pity is that, in every other respect, they were great boots, just not waterproof. :-(

Maybe I was just unlucky and got a dodgy pair. However, given the other comments on this site I'm suspicious of their claim to be waterproof and I am going to take it up with Trading Standards.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely hopeless - fabric might have been...”

Written on: 22/12/2009

Absolutely hopeless - fabric might have been waterproof but leaked in due to the tounge not being stiched to the uppers high enough at the sides - really comfortable otherwise -fabric now cracking(after 6 months of regular dog walking) so leaking getting worse - need a new pair now -but deffo not Hi Tec

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bought these boots, V lite Altitude Ultra. Box says...”

Written on: 09/11/2009 by Jaxon (1 review written)

Bought these boots, V lite Altitude Ultra. Box says they are "Hydrophobic" and "blasted with ion particles in a vacuum" or something along those lines. Had the shoes 6 weeks, already started leaking water in, as my job involves walking around reservoirs this is not good enough.
Once I get through Amazons maze like returns policy they are going back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Bought a pair of Women's (supposedly) Waterproof Hi...”

Written on: 24/10/2009

Bought a pair of Women's (supposedly) Waterproof Hi Tec V Lite Mid Fast Hike walking Boots. Boots were extremely comfortable. I was delighted. Then it rained. Not a downpour , just a shower. The water just came straight through the boots. My feet were soaked. I recieved a refund but was very disappointed as I really liked these boots but they're no use if they do not keep out the rain.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Purchased Hi-Tec V-Lite MT Nevis boots last week...”

Written on: 15/10/2009

Purchased Hi-Tec V-Lite MT Nevis boots last week (£76).
Did a 12 Km walk in them today mainly in drizzle and on wet grass.
Boots were comfortable but my socks were soaked through at the end of the walk.
I intend to return them to the shop as unfit for purpose.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview