The Crop Shop, Norwich Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
33% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Crop Shop, Norwich - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Friendly service”

written by Ediths121 on 24/08/2022

I have been using crop shop for many years,normally just walk in never had a bad hair cut !I have had perms and colours always pleased with the results everyone is so lovely and friendly which is nice!The last 2weeks I have used the academy upstairs,lovely young girl lovely friendly very good at her job!Today went in and had a graduated cut by a lovely young girl with brown hair she also was lovely and again pleased with the results!The Tutor who oversees their work was also very friendly what a lovely atmosphere thank you crop shop!There was a young lad who came and said about the nice hair cut this young girl had done lovely people!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AWFUL hair stylist. ”

written by Ejwalsh on 11/07/2022

I had my hair cut today by a lady and I am mortified. She did not listen to what I asked for. Struggled to even find my partition, when I told her where it was. Was pulling my head in all directions. Left the hairdryer in one place so long had to keep moving to stop my head burning. My hair is at least 3 inches SHORTER than I wanted after explaining I've been 8 years without a hair cut because my hair didn't used to grow and I really wanted it long. When I expressed I wasn't happy and it was too short, she replied 'it's healthy' I didn't ask for healthy. I asked for a few inches off. I couldn't recommend this salon AND hairdresser less if I tried!!! AVOID IT. I'm in tears. Confirmed my fear of hairdressers once again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Regular”

written by Worthing8 on 11/05/2022

Always book with my hairdresser, have been going to her for years Always cuts my hair how I like it can honestly say I have never had a bad cut from her

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely Awful”

written by MadelynnEgan421 on 11/12/2021

The boss is the rudest person ever. was not provided with what i wanted. had to pay so much for literally no difference to my hair. DONT GO. YOU WOULDNT WANT TO RUIN YOUR DAY.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent ”

written by Jacob43 on 15/05/2021

I have been a customer at the crop shop for many years, I don't plan my haircuts, it's a "I need a cut"so, the walk in works for me. A different stylist every time, and never a bad experience. I thoroughly recommend this place, they have made the salon Covid safe, much work and expense has gone into this.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“First and last”

written by Cunningham426 on 16/12/2020

Today had highlights took hours to pull through, then about 20mins under lamp, usually takes at least 45 mins. Showed how I wanted my hair styled and after saying they were experienced she managed to cut and dry my hair into a style that had no resemblance to the pictire I had shown. Having had my hair cut into this style before I know it is not complicated. Look like iv'e had a basin cut. I understand people have to gain experience but not at full price. Will absolutely never go there again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!”

written by 1984Peacock on 12/09/2020

IF YOU WANT TO DESTROY YOUR HAIR - VISIT THE CROP SHOP! IF YOU WANT THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICES EXPERIENCE - VISIT THE CROP SHOP! I had my hair coloured here and it was bleached twice over a short period of time and paid £140 without obtaining the results I wanted and instead was left with severely damaged orange streaky hair and not the desired colour I wanted. Disgruntled, I called and requested to speak to the manager and was handed over to the colourist who did my hair - who is NOT the manager and told to visit so she could see my hair. That morning, I took two consultations at two other reputable salons in the city and they both advised me the method used was never going to work for the results I wanted - not if I wanted to be left with any hair. One of the salons took two cuttings of my hair to test. She used 3% volume silk lift product and the other strand, she used a steel toner. Both ends resulted in serious breakage and I was highly advised to be very careful what I put on my hair next. I am now petrified of correcting the sorry state of my hair as fearful of any impending further damage to it. I took my findings back to the colourist that same morning, only to be disbelieved and that it could be anything on the hair strands and did not take me seriously for one moment. I asked for a refund on just my colour - not my cut and blow dry. She told me she will speak to another manager. He came over and heard what I had to say and informed me that I will need to speak to the manager of the salon who is not in until the weekend. BUT - was told I won't get a refund as he never agrees them and like it's a waste of my time. I have NEVER received such appalling customer service from a salon before and disappointed doesn't even cut it. Excuse the bad pun. NEVER EVER shall I step foot in this place again and I am writing this as a way to warn others. I have never felt obligated to leave a review for anything before. To add the cream to the disaster cake, I spoke to someone today, the ever so NOT sympathetic and unapologetic manager of Crop Shop Norwich - who tells me he will not refund me for the shambles that is my bleach disaster and I am welcome to claim on their insurance if I can prove negligence - which, he helpfully added, in over 40 years of business - no one has ever achieved. Or, I can come in for a free conditioning treatment. I don't think so!! He also advised me NOT to colour my hair again. So I have to keep my hair orange!? His words were - 'that poor girl, standing there for hours doing your hair - we won't refund you' - as opposed to LISTENING to the customer. I DO NOT WANT to step foot in this 'salon' again - I just want my money back!! The customer service is disgusting and they should be held to account. Other salons have also told me they get many of their unhappy customers to correct their mistakes. I will be writing to their head office as well. SHAME ON THEM. TRUST me DO NOT USE THIS SALON and book into any one of many professional, reputable salons in Norwich City Centre. As a COVID19 concerned customer - I would also like to note that some staff had masks sitting under their noses - halfheartedly wearing them , breathing down on customers, or not wearing them at all. They should be shut down, or investigated!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Shrewburyshrew's Comment

Written on: 22/09/2020

how shocking

have you photos.
ask the salon you tested you hair if they would mind putting this in writing.
then take the crop shop to the small claims court

good luck !

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Waiting forever”

written by Sarah49 on 18/11/2019

Tried to get haircut today so walked into crop shop to be told there would be about an hours wait. One and a half hours later I was no where near even getting a shampoo! Staff did not appear to be in any hurry and always managed to sneak outside for a quick cigarette!! Observed several potential clients walk away, surely not good for business!! Will never go back or recommend!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worse cut ever!!”

written by ChristinaCarr490 on 25/03/2019

So I walked into crop shop on Thursday afternoon, there was no queue like normal which I though was odd as there is always a queue, well after my hair cut I can see why now! I have used Crop Shop loads of times & can honestly say I have never had a bad hair cut but this cut on Thursday is awful, my hair has not been layered like I asked & the length is awful & I was very particular when stating what I wanted the length to be!! My hair is not even, too thick as wasn’t thinned out like I asked basically cut like a basin. Awful awful, luckily my hair grows quick & I have no special occasions as there is no way I can wear my hair down as it is a total mess. Looks worse now than when I walked into Crop shops door, the worse mistake ever! Do not go there, unless you want to be very disappointed with your hair cut!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service - Never again”

written by Minaidou on 21/01/2019

Just had a the worst hair salon experience in my life. I had booked a ladies hair cut and blow with a selected stylist for the 21st Jan 19 at 18:15. They called me on the day to let me know that the stylish was not available, so I said that it is fine if another hairdresser cut my hair. On the day, the hairdresser "washed" my hair with cold water, she was really in rush that she didn't really apply the shampoo, conditioner and mask along my hair, but just on the top. The whole wash took less than 2 mins for sure. I told her that I can see that she is in rush, so she can just dry blow my hair without cutting it. She said that she is not in rush but she just don't' know how to do a good hair-wash.... and that she will be there until 19:00 The haircut was really in rush and very uneven. While she was drying my hair, she was literally pulling them and it was painful. I had to tell you to relax and don't pull that strong... It was awful i still feel pain. After she dried my hair, she didn't even showed my the result in the mirror. Returning home I have noticed that the cut is really uneven. I only asked a trim... Please note that for wash, cut and blow dry with hair dryer and hair iron, it took only 30 min. Only from this you can tell how much in rush was the appointment. I don't know the name of the hairdresser but I am definitely not going to crop shop again. I used crop shop many times in the past, and I never had high expectations because of the price. But never again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hair cut roulette !”

written by Whitehead261 on 16/11/2018

I have been to the crop shop several times as the walk in ethos works with my shift work and unorganised life ..... mostly I am happy with the results and once I have walked of there absolutely over the moon !! This time though ..... I definitely hit the wrong end of hair joy. I did not want anything major or hard work. The girl who I got seemed very uninterested in all of it. Twice I had to tell her that my hair was uneven and a mess. I showed her a picture of what I wanted which seemed to have by passed her attention span. I would of told her a third time that she was not making a good job of it but my hair was getting shorter and shorter to the point of panic. I did not want her to just keep going. I was having a full fringe cut and some shaving at the back ..... and my hair was rapidly disappearing while she tried to fix what I pointed out was a bad job so far ...... She kept holding the mirror in a funny angle so I could not really see and I had to get her to try and fix several things. In the end I paid and I left. I got home and saw exactly what a mess she had made and then paid someone near by to fix it who took pity on me and fitted me in for five minutes This place is fine if you want a basic trim the ends .... if you want something that can show that it’s a bad job then I would stay clear as you may take the gamble of hairdresser and get someone as equally uninterested and dire as I did. Will never step foot there again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“DYE DISASTER”

written by Bryant103 on 17/10/2018

WOULD GO THERE FOR A WASH AND A TRIM BUT NOT A FULL HEAD OF COLOR STAFF WHERE FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING BUT I DINT GET WHAT I ASKED FOR , TOOK IN A PICTURE OF WHAT I WANTED( A DEEP REDDISH BROWN ) AFTER ALMOST TWO HOURS IN A CHAIR AND TWO DIFFERENT DYES , I CAME OUT FEELING GOOD BUT WASN'T TO SURE WITH THE COLOR AS WAS MORE OF A HYBRID BURGUNDY ORANGE ( AS THEY DID THE HIGHLIGHT METHOD ON MY PREVIOUSLY BLEACHED HAIR ) BUT AS THE STAFF WHERE GREAT I DIDN'T WANT TO CAUSE A FUSS I WASN'T TOTALLY HAPPY BUT IT WAS OK LITTLE BRIGHT BUT WAS ADVISE I COULD DARKEN IT UP AT ANOTHER APP AND IT WOULD BLEND OVER TIME FAST FORWARD LESS THEN A WEEK AND MY HAIR HAS FADED SO DRASTICALLY IT LOOKS LIKE I HAD A SEMI PERMANENT ORANGE BASED CRAZY COLOR DYE ON AND IM GROWING IT OUT!!!! IT LOOKS AWFUL AND PATCHY IT DOESN'T JUSTIFY HOW MUCH I PAID FOR HOW LONG ITS LASTED IT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE PERMANENT , GOING TO TRY GET SOME OF MY MONEY BACK BUT IM NOT HOLDING OUT MUCH HOPE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My daughter took my poor granddaughter for her first...”

written by gobnaitleech on 24/05/2018

My daughter took my poor granddaughter for her first trim, asked for her fringe too be trimmed just above the eyebrow and they cut it just under her hair line, it looks terrible!! please everyone don't go there, they honestly don't care!Rang back when they had done this and spoke too the person I dealt with, what a joke, she didnt care at all and thought it was funny, and shes the manager!! what a joke!! one day hopefully someone will get hold of her hair and make her even more beautiful than she thinks she is!! If they actually cared it might help!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great Customer Service”

written by Norfolkbear on 20/05/2018

I walked in no one waiting asked for a trim despite staff sitting around and outside smoking was told I could wait until someone became free. Walked out and found The City Barbers in Bridwell Alley bet hair cut ever been going back since. SO THANKS FOR GREAT CUSTOMER SERVIE CROPSHOP I WILL NOT BE COMING BACK

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★☆☆☆

“Boss is an arrogant arse!!”

written by Holdenrv433 on 20/01/2018

Took my daughter in for her first haircut. It's my second experience of the arrogant excuse for a man that is the boss. Yes the place isn't the cleanest and yes the staff could appear a little more professional but with a boss like the one they have it's no wonder he has any staff! The guy who cut my daughter's hair was excellent but the whole experience was influenced by the rude and arrogant boss. He is clearly a bully as he showed up a young girl who he shouted at in front of everyone! This isn't acceptable. All he clearly cares about is raking in the money. Doubt I'll return!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I went in for my hair cut and my hair is all different...”

written by uyPerez110 on 03/01/2018

I went in for my hair cut and my hair is all different lengths when I ask for all one length. Staff are rude just sit there on their phones and not polite when doing your hair.The “hairdresser” excuse for my hair being all different lengths was because my hair is so thick such a poor excuse never going again and I also don’t recommend to anyone else

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Very happy with haircut”

written by Sunfiresimon1973 on 21/10/2017

Walked in just after 3pm today and was greeted by a lovely lady with orange coloured hair and friendly smile. She cut my hair very well, chatty and pleasant to talk to. Very happy with my haircut. Will ask for her again when I go there again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Georgia is a real asset to The Crop Shop”

written by 152Vaughn on 20/09/2017

I saw Georgia yesterday Sunday 17 Sept 2017, she is a very pleasant,confident and professional hairdresser. She gave me good advice and coloured my perfectly. Thank you so much Georgia. I would definitely recommend her to my friends.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unprofessional Salon ***RUDE***”

written by JadeH88 on 05/08/2017

Had my hair done yesterday here at crop ship (full head of colour) I normally have highlights but with my hair being so light I thought it would be easier to have the colour all over ... I wasn't asked for a patch test before or I didn't ask for a TONER to be used on my hair either. Well my hair was dyed WASHED and then a TONER used for me to sit down and realise my hair had gone a gray/green at the root I had a bright white line round the front of my face to which the rest of my hair was a different colour. The STYLIST then said she would wash my hair again and use ANOTHER TONER to which this didn't work either if anything it made it worse. I stated I still wasn't happy for the hairdresser to walk off leaving me sitting in the chair with wet hair for another STYLIST to come over and ask what it was I wanted. I told her a full head of blonde she didn't know what to do at this point so suggested I washed my hair AGAIN I said I don't see what difference washing my hair was gonna make as this wasn't going to change the colour they had done wrong. The STYLIST then walked off to get the manager who came over looked at my hair then asked me to LEAVE .... HE TOLD ME TO GET OUT!! What sort of salon services is This? I told him I wanted to pay for my hair but I wanted them to correct there mistake but he didn't want to listen he just wanted me out of his shop. I am very disappointed in the service I received from the crop shop and I am now looking into taking the matter FURTHER as I was appalled by the was I was treated for there mistake. I would advise anyone that is thinking of using this service to avoid and go else where

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“It was terrible ”

written by fpYoung67 on 08/05/2017

Been a few times due to the easy nature of not having to book ahead of time. The place is dirty. The staff are clearly untrained. The quality of the haircut is average at best. Some staff can barely speak English. However it is cheap. However I opted for a more up market firm after one Eastern European lady accused me of not paying her last time I visited. She did cut my hair previously, but that had been over 3 months ago,and I definitely paid. I asked if she had cctv so I could prove my innocent, but she just claimed I knew they didn't. I then responded why would I have the audacity to sit in the next chair to hers and return if I hadn't paid. Most people wouldn't return for fear of being recognised, and all I got was slanderous comments. I've not returned after that event. Can't justify spending any more money there. I felt sorry someone had done that too her, and she had provided a service. But to wildly accuse me is unacceptable. Don't visit this place. There's a reason why the score is so low.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview