Admiral Car Insurance Reviews - admiral.com

Click here if this is your business
Admiral Car Insurance Reviews - admiral.com
★★★★☆
3.6
69.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Admiral Car Insurance Reviews - admiral.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Admiral Car Insurance Reviews - admiral.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Increased Premium Despite Zero Claims and Long-Term...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MoMo24 on 26/04/2024

I am extremely dissatisfied with the recent pricing offer from Admiral Insurance. Despite being a loyal customer with no claims for a year, I expected to benefit from the accumulated no-claims bonus. However, the premium for the upcoming year was higher than the previous year's rate. I have faithfully followed the policy terms and paid my annual premium without fail. I was informed that maintaining a zero-claim record for a year would lead to a more favourable premium. To my dismay, the opposite happened. When I contacted Admeirl Insurance a month ago to inquire about this year's pricing, I was pleased to learn that I had accumulated two years of zero claims. I anticipated a lower premium as a result. However, the offer I received was even higher than last year's premium. This discrepancy is illogical and unfair. This company is taking advantage of its customers. Their actions make no sense, and I strongly advise anyone considering renewal to check other providers first. Companies offer a 50% reduction compared to what this company offered me. My advice to everyone is to check thoroughly before choosing Admiral Insurance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Buy insurance but don't claim even if you're not on...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 253MacMillan on 12/04/2024

Buy insurance but don't claim even if you're not on fault. Day time robbers these people are. If you have a dirt cheap car and don't want to claim then buy only thirdy party cheapest option that way you can avoid dealing with claims department. Also forget about getting a proof of no claim bonus when your insurance will expire as they will delay to give you proof so that you cannot switch. I would rather live without car than buying from them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No evidence required ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RichTheMighty on 10/04/2024

I scuffed someone's bumper without leaving a mark and left my details then without any evidence the third party are claiming personal injury so I have lost my no clams and had to pay hundreds of pounds why am I being punished if there is no evidence just the word of the third party

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid admiral plug and drive or any admiral blackbox...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Fridav185 on 27/03/2024

I insured my car with admiral under a plug and drive policy beginning January 2024. I have been driving for more than 2 years and have had no issues, and have had no complaints about my driving. I believe myself to be a very smooth and safe driver, never speeding etc., so I was more than happy to get a black box policy to reduce my insurance premium. This was a big mistake!! I had been insured with Admiral for a little over 2 months after I had my first driver feedback report: rated POOR. I had 5* for speeding, 3* for time of day that i drive, and 1* for smoothness! They accused me of fast acceleration and deceleration, of which i do neither. I called the company to complain and explained that I drive extremely smoothly and there was little i could do to improve my driver rating. All they said was drive better! They threatened to cancel my policy if i did not meet their standards, so i cancelled first! I was not risking having my insurance cancelled for a faulty blackbox report. They are extremely strict and expect you to accelerate 1-10pmh over a span of 5 minutes. My policy cost me a little over £1300c and after having in insured for less than 3 months, i was only refunded £809. This company is ridiculous for their blackbox policies. AVOID !!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Tried to take the royal mick out of me…”

★☆☆☆☆

written by kjb84 on 15/03/2024

Tried to take the royal mick out of me on renewal - a greater than 55% increase to my policy when the only thing that changed was me gaining an extra year's no claims. There were comparable policies online in and around the SAME cost as my current policy. While I understand the policy renewal letter is an opening "bid" in a negotiation, for them to go in at such a high increase destroyed trust. They also seemed to think they can "auto-renew" and help themselves to money in my bank. Clearly I never agreed to this and have contacted my bank to ensure they refuse any payment requests from Admiral. The behaviour of Admiral shows them to be an organisation you simply cannot trust. Do not use them at all. Ever.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“This company is a bad joke”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RyleighMedeiros on 05/03/2024

This company is a bad joke. I was involved in an accident with one of the company's customers(rear-ended), wasn't my fault and the other driver made the claim to fix my car. Since the 14th of February, they have kept telling me that they will make the payment but they refuse and they find different reasons. If a minor claim is happening like this I can't imagine for something else. I would NOT recommend anyone to deal with or take any insurance from this company. Shame on you ADMIRAL

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Ridiculous onboarding”

★☆☆☆☆

written by nmacintosh on 28/02/2024

Over three and a half hours to get a simple policy on risk. Unless you have nothing better to do with your time, avoid like the plague.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Admiral Are Incompetent ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AlunG on 10/02/2024

I has hit from behind on the M25, about 18 months ago. Despite giving Admiral all the details of the accident including the Insurance details for the other vehicle- Admiral have failed to progress the claim, an inch. It took them almost eight months to actually make contact in the initial instance, and the very little information that you get from them is just an apology that they have failed to solve the claim. Stay away from Admiral!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Hit by an Admiral cutomer”

★☆☆☆☆

written by seany_mor on 24/01/2024

I was hit by an Admiral insured driver Dec 2 . The driver ignored requests to provide details. Admiral contacted me just before I contacted the police. Eventually their repairers took my car away. After alot of messing me about my car was returned on Dec 28. Repair was not complete and was taken away again. Finally returned 4/1/2024. Paint job was a poor match. Repairers were slow and did a bad job. Complained to admiral and they rejected - said that my bumper was already the wrong colour before their repairers (Steer of Ayr) repiared it. Spare a thought for people you might hit and dont use Admiral - I wont.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Avoid”

★☆☆☆☆

written by jk111 on 16/11/2023

A postman crashed into me, all was captured on camera, and a neighbour gave his eyewitness testimony. Two years later, I'm being forced to accept a 50/50 split, despite assurances to the contrary. They lost evidence 3 times. Shocking.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“After 4 years of being with them, they want to renew...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ValentinaMG on 08/11/2023

After 4 years of being with them, they want to renew my policy by adding £400 something extra, for being a "platinum" member. Bear in mind I had no accidents. I called yesterday to renew my policy and I got a quote which I accepted. This morning I wake up to an email saying my policy renewal will be £400 extra so I call back just to be told they're sorry but that quote was actually for last year and it was a mistake. Outrageous! How is this even possible?! Thanks Admiral, I'll be moving to a new company!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst company and Terrible staff ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JayvonZimmerman410 on 28/10/2023

This has got to be the worst Insurance provider. They do not care about the customer. My car was hit by another driver - which is a non fault - admiral advised that my car would be repaired - this was sent to the repair company.. they have had the car for over 2.5 months now. I got a text from admiral two weeks ago that the part for the car was on order and that once here will be advised - I also spoke to the repairer and admiral who advised that a brand new bumper was ordered as this is what was needed for the car. So I said this is ok. I then got a text today to state that my car will be fixed by next week - so called the repairer and I was absolutely shocked to here this - they advised that admiral had called this this morning to advise to speed this process up and to not get a new bumper and to just do a temporary repairs on the bumper - I got advised by the repairer that they are doing a temporary repair as per the insurer. I advised that I was not informed of a temporary repair and that I should have been consulted as I was told on each occasion that a new bumper was being put on. I also advised that if the car was repairable then why was this not repaired instantly - the repaired advised that the car needed a new bumper and they informed the insurance of this. I called admiral up this morning and I was shocked at the level of service the customer service agents were / they were rude and they do not care about the customer. I spoke to a representative who was extremely rude and very unhelpful I am shocked at how they treat their customers it’s actually disgusting I have over 7 cars insured with them on a multi car policy and I will not be renewing with them. I was calling up as the repairer advised this was a temporary repair and they informed the insurance company who advised this is ok - I was explaining to the agent that this temporary repair is unheard of and is illegal and that the car needs to be fixed to ensure it’s a proper repair. However the agent was constantly talking above me - I asked for a manager to call me he advised that a manager would call me in 8 weeks time which is untrue again. I called again in the afternoon and spoke to a nice helpful gentlemen who advised a manager would call me on Monday now. However the issue is that my car is not repaired and is temporarily repaired and admiral are refusing to fix this which none of it was my fault. I did not want this and I will now be taking legal action. Please go elsewhere for your insurance - they do not care about the customer nor are they helpful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Do not use Admiral Insurance ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by HayleyMoore87 on 31/08/2023

Hello. I bought a car to which my ex partner got insurance with yourselves then a few days later crashed the car, was able to get claim the full amount back from you and ran off with that money. You did not check that he was NOT the registered owner!!!  I have registered this with the police to which there are charges in place where he cannot contact me and he will also be appearing in court. I have sent you proof of this, proof of my ownership of the car, proof of the sale to me, proof of MY payment for the car and proof of the car log book. This has been going on since last year!!! I received an email from yourselves on the 16/06/23 directly to myself confirming you take full responsibility for this incident and that you will compensate me. The email also confirms that I can contact you for updates. Since I’ve still not heard from you, I called today to which I was told because of data protection you cannot discuss the claim to me??? You have just absolutely contradicted the email that YOU have sent to me informing me of the above. I’m absolutely disgusted!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“5 ongoing months for car insurance claim”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Gp2079 on 04/07/2023

5 months waiting for our brand new car to be repaired. Looks like it will go on for another few months with parts again on back order. Poor courtesy cars supplied. First one arrived with no oil visible on dipstick. 2 complaints made with no progress. Looks like the only option now is the ombudsman. Please consider your needs carefully before using admiral car insurance. Very poor customer care.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AVOID AVOID AVOID”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MacGregor102 on 22/06/2023

if i could give zero stars then i would. this company offers you great prices for your insurance with theyre multi option however i have had to make a claim against my policy which has taken 3 months for them to deal with, no updates from them and when i call them they say they cant give any further info other than its being dealt with. all the time i am still paying the insurance and tax on the vehicle. all this for them to come back and reject the claim. trying to resolve this issue with them is pointless as they are unwilling to discuss in further detail and i am now having to complain to the ombudsman and also look at small claims court options at my own cost to get this sorted. absolute joke of a company. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Admiral? Pirates more like”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AdmiralAreScum on 23/04/2023

Do not take out a travel insurance policy with these charlatans or you'll regret it. I was admitted to St Luke's Medical Centre in Quezon City, the Philippines, in July suffering from dehydration and high blood pressure. In addition to charging me for medications that I was not actually prescribed, the Centre provided me with an inaccurate medical report and other documentation. For example, the Director of Emergency Care, Dr Arnel M. Tolosa, has claimed in writing that I had reported my symptoms on two occasions to the hospital - a complete and utter utrue and I can prove it. More seriously, they wrongly claimed that my condition had been caused by excessive alcohol consumption. In fact, I was stone-cold sober when I was admitted and had only imbibed a small amount of alcohol some seven hours before. The much more likely cause was food poisoning or a bad reaction to heat, which staff acknowledged to me verbally at the time. However, Admiral, being monumentally crafty, unscrupulous and money-grabbing charlatans, have taken St Luke's fabrications at face value and are refusing to pay out my insurance claim for the treatment and the changes to my travel plans it necessitated. This has cost me around £1700. While Admiral refuse to accept the obvious flaws in St Luke's documentation, I have obtained a second medical opinion that contradicts the judgements made by St Luke's staff. But of course Admiral will not accept this evidence because it would compel them to pay up what they owe me. Moreover, their organisation is riddled with incompetence from top to bottom. I have had a separate complaint upheld about being misled time and again by their phone agents. Their compensation offer? An insulting £50. I have been travelling for work and pleasure for 20 years and never have I come across a travel insurance provider this greedy, unhelpful and downright mendacious. Avoid them at all cost - or you'll find it'll cost you an awful lot.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Surprisingly bad”

★☆☆☆☆

written by M1974 on 22/03/2023

It cannot be overstated how unfit for purpose this Admiral car insurance company is. If you are looking for a company that will keep you on the road whatever happens to your vehicle, trust me, go somewhere else. They are extremely competent in taking your money for the cover, but making a claim everything suddenly becomes more complicated. A courtesy car, of course, but only when we have assigned your vehicle to a garage for repair and that garage has accepted the job. Unfortunately that process could take a very long time if they keep finding garages who cannot do the work, do not cover your area or do not cover the make of vehicle. You could be without your, paid for, courtesy car for longer than you think. They admitted to me they have no idea how long it will take them to find one of their approved garages to fix my car and don't seem to realise that might be a problem. They should have 0 stars I'm afraid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“DO NOT USE ADMIRAL”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kathw3 on 01/03/2023

DO NOT USE ADMIRAL They will not recover your car, they don’t assess your car they don’t pick it up from the garage and most of all they will not fix or pay out the car. They won’t asker the phone and the will NEVER call you back. On the 24th of October 2022 My Volvo rs had an ABS cut out and the vehicle collided with a wall. I contacted Admiral to be told they couldn’t recover the car. I had to then pay myself to have the car towed to a garage. 18 weeks later my car is still in that garage. I have called admiral, emailed admiral, left messages, stayed on hold and even had the car assessed myself to see the damage. I have no car and as of 3 weeks ago now no job as I couldn’t drive to my contracts. Now my mortgage is at risk and my house. I have tried every avenue to contact admiral but to this day my car has not been recovered or assessed by admiral. If I call them they either promise a call back which never happens or they make you stay on hold for an hour. The person after an hour then claims they have no knowledge of what stage of the process the car is in but they can get me a call back from the correct team. 5x and so far no call back. They do not ever call back and they don’t tell you what is happening with the car. 4 months. No car no courtesy car and now no job. Thank you Admiral for taking my premiums and keeping them. The best part was when they filled to arrange a company to collect the car from the garage the company was so far away they refused. When another was organised the person collecting it was threatening and totally refused to collect the car after seeing it. Admirals response? Have £50 as a cheque for this incident of threatening behaviour and near violence from them. The cheque then bounced. Awful company and the worst insurance company I have ever dealt with I have a car with them and my house. It makes no difference they don’t do anything they are supposed to. 4 months and nothing. I would still be sat on the side of the road if I hadn’t done all the work myself so far. RUN!! DON’T GO NEAR THEM!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“RUDE - WRONG - WASTE OF TIME - ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by PHILPICKLES on 29/11/2022

Cancelled a policy with them and they processed a refund. Thought that was the end of it how wrong i was, received a default on my credit file dated th 24th November 2022 from admiral, so i rang them and they stated i owed the £237.40 so i questioned the refund there words it was our mistake. So a letter arrives 29th November asking for payment this letter is the first communication with them dated the 24th November, the very day they put a default on my credit file DUE TO THERE MISTAKE BE VERY VERY CAREFUL

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“"Sprat to catch a mackerel" - Tacit Renewal”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 24/06/2022

Beware of this insurer, the only customer interest they have is in obtaining your Debit / Credit card details so that they can increase premiums and hope that you miss their increased renewal quote enabling them to implement their tacit renewal clause and take your money, if you question them about this the answer they give is that its done to protect the customer in the event that you forget to insure your vehicle, you try getting your money back!. Do not trust this company if you are a long term customer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Ciaran2612 on 2nd January 2018 Report this content
Can anyone help me please. Little black box has estimated my mileage at 5000 miles annually. However, I have drove 1,200 miles since box got installed in August. My policy is for 2000 miles. I didn't realise the miles were so low on my policy. Does anyone know how much top up miles are for per 1000 miles? Also, what happens if I go over my annual miles. From all the negative reviews I assume there will be a high cost to purchase top up miles. I appreciate any answers.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by ferno on 23rd June 2016 Report this content
What are they like when dealing with a claim specially high value sports cars?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content MikeAChap Written on: 24/06/2016
As I don't have a high value sports I can only give you my experience dealing with Admiral with a claim. They made it very easy to do everything over the phone. No long and complicated forms to fill. We've had to make three claims in the last few month. One accident and two windscreens. On each occasion Admiral where just brilliant.
Report this content Sambora79 Written on: 24/06/2016
I would debate that. For a non-fault claim I made when insured with Admiral it took 18 months to get the settlement. The value of the car was £650 so I'd recommend looking elsewhere, especially with a high value vehicle. I was left with no car seat for my at the time 1 year old daughter, her pram was trashed because it was in the boot (rear collision, no brake attempt made), the loan car was taken from me after just 4 days despite having not yet received payment for the loss of my car then they deducted £150 as compulsory excess so only actually got £500 back from the £650 I had paid 2 months prior to the accident. Their market values are a lot less than others insurers so please shop around. They may be cheaper than others but their services are slow and quite frankly amateur
Report this content Hollybugs21 Written on: 25/06/2016
As I have never made a claim cannot comment but I think I would look elsewhere for insurance especially since the value is high.
See All Answers
Asked by weecarol on 24th August 2015 Report this content
I may cancel my van insurance after four days of buying the insurance. I know I have to pay an admin fee, but would you know how much I will be refunded? I paid £155 for the year.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content jfrsr Written on: 25/08/2015
it all depends on the cancellation fee. however they should only charge you pro-rata for the time you have been insured, plus the cancellation fee. it is worth bearing in mind though that they may not refund any optional upgrades you have with your policy like breakdown cover etc. you can work it out roughly by taking the £155 premium, dividing it by 365 (giving you the daily cost of your cover = 42p (roughly)) and then times that by the number of days you have been insured - take this away from the £155 premium you originally paid, and this will give you the remaining pro-rata refund you should be due for the unused cover. hope this helps!
overview