EDF Energy Electricity Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
8% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

EDF Energy was formerly know as London Energy, Seeboard Energy and SWEB. They are now one of the largest private UK supplier of energy. We now want to know what you think, how do you rate them? Write a review and let the world know how EDF are as an energy supplier. Do you agree with the recent 22% and 17% increase in Gas and Electricity respectively EDF proposed? Why not voice your opinion in our forums?
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
EDF Energy Electricity - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for EDF Energy Electricity

EDF Energy Electricity

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Inaccurate ESTIMATED gas Bill demand”

written by Strodeandco on 02/12/2021

This company sends bills based on completely guessed numbers. Is impossible to make direct contact with them. There telephone system keeps you holding for 2 hours, their automated customer care system simply does not work, their texting facilities also fails. Yet their computerised. Billing system continues to spurt out totally incorrect demands. You cannot contact the by email to sort things out. If you do eventually get through, you will be connected to an off shore call centre, who quite simply do not have a clue, so you are back to square one. It's quite obvious that this company relies on customer inertia, that is to say customers attempts to rectify bills are faced with contact and communication obstacles so much so that they give up trying and simply pay their bills. I have a bill of 109.73, which should be 37 pounds. I have tried everything to get this sorted out but am getting no where. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Covid - EDF's excuse for chaos”

written by on 05/05/2021

May 2021. Having wasted a lot of my time on trying to get satisfaction from EDF, I intend to be as brief as possible here. They give you a 'Smart Meter'. It doesn't work. They give you a bill in July 2020 showing that the gas meter is stuck at ###. You phone and tell them it isn't working. They say they understand the situation perfectly and apologise. They say they are struggling due to Covid but will fix it and there's no need for you to do anything else. They send you a letter saying they're experiencing difficulties reading your meter (wow!!): please send readings. You do that. All it shows is that the gas meter is still stuck at ###. You check the meter and it is indeed stuck at ###. They reduce your Direct Debit as if you're not using any gas. A good recipe for further chaos. The next bill the exact same things happen again! The next bill the exact same things happen again!! You get fed up and raise a complaint. The meter starts working again. They contact you saying that they have dealt fully with your complaint and ask for you to close it. You say to yourself, "That's a bit premature." You wish to find out how they are going to deal with your gas usage since the meter stuck at 520. You also want to know what the Direct Debit amount should be since you haven't paid for gas since July 2020. You try phoning. Impossible. You send them a text (as invited) on +447481338540. You wait with baited breath. Do you have any confidence in EDF? NONE. Do you wait for the next instalment of chaos? YES.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID EDF BAD SERVICE OVERALL”

written by beHartley122 on 22/12/2020

Charged extra fees unnecessarily, bills sent at random times, bad customer service rude and hangs up the call.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“absolutely scandalous company”

written by nick.fitz on 13/11/2020

On January of this year i had a Smart meter installed,this was supposed to be a PAYG meter,but instead,a smart credit meter was installed,their mistake,i asked if it was ok to pay my bills online and put money into the online account to pay my bills,they said fine. now,they estimated my first bill,which was a couple of months,because of "teething issues" their end collecting the readings,so i called and asked them,as this is an estimate,for my peace of mind,that i am not going to suddenly get a higher bill sometime later in the future,i was assured,no that would not be the case. so,fast forward to now,since the install in January i have had plenty of problems with EDF,having to constantly chase them up because the bills have not been generated on time,when they should be each month,or because they have not been getting a signal from the Smart meter,you would have thought they wouls survey areas first,but i guess they are trying to push out smart meters,but still all along the bills that i have got,i have paid on time.two months ago i did not get my bill,expected on 13th as usual,so yet again i contacted them,and eventually they told me that the meter that was installed,was not commissioned,even though i have previously been told it had been,and their details were wrong,so now,what they have done,is wrote off many of my previous bills,and also conveniently removed them online so that i can not view them,and decided to re tally it all up from January,and instead of me having a bill of around £150 as expected for the two months,i now have a bill of £369 because they lied to me about my meter being commissioned and estimated bills not being re calculated because they could not get a reading,costing me more. i am housebound with mental health issues and this is causing me a lot of distress knowing that i have to all of a sudden find an extra £200 or more because of THEIR mistakes and handling of my bills.if you do not want to be put in this situation,i would suggest you avoid EDF like the plague.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unprofessional and Insensitive ”

written by AdonisYork462 on 31/08/2019

No one seems to know what there doing very casual about leaving customers with defrosting fridge and no electric for the whole day. i wouldn't recommend to an enemy either, Poor customer service, lack important details when instructing how to top up. They also gave me incorrect information on where to obtain a key then sent me on a wild goose-chase after consulting their computer records that bares no resemblance to the real world. I found them to be unprofessional inconsiderate and there is no accountability for their mistakes and certainly no consequences for their mistakes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“service and breakdown of bills”

written by TnJacobs on 17/07/2019

You asked above if I would recommend them to a friend, I wouldn't recommend them to an enemy I paid them money I didn't think I owed and then asked for a breakdown to see if it was correct, they refuse to give me a breakdown or even a bill but then gave my details to a debt company saying I owe them money They would send me three enact replica letters all posted on the same day and all asking for information I have already given them numerous times and did I see them advertising as green or conscious of the environment? Don't touch then

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Extortion”

written by carlellis on 18/06/2019

After witnessing the gas and electricity bill increase from approximately £60 to £90 then again to £125 per month within 1 year I quickly changed providers. EDF were contacted to query the final charge of over £220 and to explain the reason for leaving. The customer service responded with "You're on a standard variable tariff due to your contracting expiring, which is why the pricing has increased. Because we have followed procedure there is nothing that we can do." A few points to consider from the response: - The term "variable" means dramatically increase only. - "following procedure" means that on the right-hand-side of the letters received from EDF, there is a box that states you're on a variable tariff, which somewhat resembles small print with the size of the font. As an example of customer service and a non-extortion event a letter from SKY will be used. "We're writing to you to explain that your contract is coming towards an end on X date. Your services will continue, however at a non contract cost of £39 per month. However if you renew the current contract your discount will continue at £27 per month." The letter from SKY is clear, concise and also provide the exact details required, which were followed. From this experience I will never use EDF again and will be more cautious of other companies that could use the same swindling technique.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“unpaid refund”

written by wippet on 02/05/2019

This company is atrocious. They make it quite clear they will pursue businesses and private customers mercilessly for unpaid bills. However if they owe money all polite requests for refunds ,they ignore .The arrogance towards customers surprises me in that I wonder they have any at all.I feel that their billing system is poor, shambolic and not fit for purpose . More recent complaints point to system is in place that it makes it stressful to exit from EDF. These people will be running a power station !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★☆☆☆

“Hard Sales Company”

written by LiviaDonovan162 on 13/03/2019

This just a quick advise to anyone thinking about joining EDF Energy, please be aware their customer service is very poor without adequate support. They don't listen to customer and like to impose their will on you without any consideration. I spoke to few of their employee over the phone and couldn't get a coherent response regarding the information that I want. Your bill will always increase anytime you submit a reading even after you have follow all their advice on reduce consumption. I have Economic system and still face bills increase, please compare the tariff before taking up any contract because even when they said its the cheapest, this is never the case.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dingding1's Comment

Written on: 03/02/2020

Oh dear. They don't appear to have changed. I switched after being called by another company and thought EDF would be larger and more reputable than the one I was being pushed to. The transfer was smooth enough, but 1 month and 1 day after completion the cold calls have started. Pushing Smart Meters and incorrectly telling me that if I did not install one my tariff would be switched to 'standard rate' and that my grace period had expired (there is none).
The Regulator requires energy companies to promote smart meters, and this is turned into hard targets for unscupulous cold calling teams that hassle and lie to you. After 20 years with SSE, and no such hassle, except for paying too much, I might be switching back and pay for peace and quiet.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Me and my three year old with no gas/electric for...”

written by dolarerin on 01/08/2018

Me and my son have had no gas/electric for three days now. we have waited for and emergency engineer who ended up not showing. customer service are rude and have no compassion. going to try and get different company. would never recommend this company and hope nobody has to go through what I've gone through with them They have sent me on a run around for about three days now with getting a electric key, gas card, and just having electric in my property.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don’t bother ”

written by 271Rose on 22/01/2018

Totally useless company who promise stuff but it doesn’t happen. Don’t even bother going with this company they don’t even reply to complaints.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete and utter rubbish”

written by IngridManning442 on 29/12/2017

If I could give less than one star I would. Shockingly bad company, claiming they're doing me a favor by billing me when we had closed our account with them. DO NOT USE this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst experience”

written by on 22/12/2017

I had such a bad experience with edf. Standards tariff rates are disgusting.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“bullies and incompetents ”

written by dbThornton308 on 30/11/2017

EDF are bullies who send out brutes to frighten vulnerable individuals. I have missed one payment due to illness, despite of writing a letter offering an explanation and apologizing and equally reassuring them that i would make up for the missed payment, EDF has still sent out three men to my home to intimidate me. Their behavior is indescribable. This event has left me feeling violated and humiliated And equally intimidated and shocked as i make regular payments, except for one, an explanation was offered and have not missed any more payments. My past experience with EDF is not great but what has happened recently is impossible to ignore.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible in every way”

written by on 28/11/2017

I joined EDF as they are a large company and I thought I would be looked after. They didn’t return my calls or emails and the further I went up the chain the less they cared. I had joined with them on a fixed term and now I am stuck with them and their higher prices. I was told I could leave (without asking) but I would have to pay a penalty for both! Horrible company, worst energy company I have ever been with.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Refunds not forthcoming”

written by PaytonGill466 on 06/08/2017

Had no problems when they were my supplier but changed for a cheaper deal. Two months later despite calls and a letter, they still owe me money and keep apologising for the delay but give no reasons. I have got to now chase MY MONEY with the help of C A B. I am appalled that they can do this. Switchover should be simple. They owe me over £100. I wonder if they would be so lax if I owed them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“EDF completely rubbish ”

written by Richardw291 on 24/05/2017

Very unsatisfactory customer service. Hopeless is probably a good word. Three weeks to try and get an appointment to get meter moved from back of house to side. Staff clearly don't understand what needs to happen. To contact EDF extremely difficult if you don't fit into a box that needs to be ticked. No clear phone numbers or contact details. They kept giving me a number for SSE!! The message on which said if it was to do with a meter contact your supplier. I did and they still kept giving me the number for SSE. Live chat cuts off if you take too long to type. Just tried to change my tariff and needed to ask a question as the instruction was not producing, on my screen, what was predicted. Again hopeless. So I emailed and the response was that it was being dealt with on live chat. I don't have time to spend hours on this. It should be much simpler and staff should be better informed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Smacked me with a wholly unreasonable bill”

written by Danieli1960 on 26/04/2017

Smacked me with a wholly unreasonable bill when I sold my house which made no sense either. Apparently I used the same amount of energy in 3 months as I did over 6 months the previous two years. Just can't trust them. Will not use again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“they put the phone down”

written by shockingshocking on 30/03/2017

ring there number to give a reading 45 mins got a answer said hello they put the phone down on me rang again the same happen 25 mins wait still waiting now anther call this time i will finish with them shocking

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Good customer services, average value for money.”

written by Whitakerwn337 on 18/03/2017

I'd been with 'SWEB' until the French company 'edf' took them over many years ago. I was always concerned about their nuclear power stations and the recent rise in my tariff was the final straw! So I left them three weeks ago for 'Green Energy UK' which is more environmentally sound and offers cheaper tariffs. Pros: Good customer telephone service and few errors Cons: Nuclear energy is expensive compared to fossil fuels and despite it's so called green credentials remains dirty and potentially very dangerous. Watch out Hinkley Point C and Sizewell B!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview