Dove Summer Glow Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.0 / 5
82% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Application

  • Quality of Colour

  • Durability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Dove Summer Glow - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Dove Summer Glow

Dove Summer Glow
Dove Summer Glow
Dove Summer Glow
Dove Summer Glow

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Very happy with this product”

written by JohnDCos on 23/12/2021

This is the greatest drugstore gradual tan I've ever tried, and I've tried a lot! This produces a natural-looking, buildable tan that fades evenly and does not streak. You won't find a better deal for the money! But don't forget to wash your hands afterward.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Perfect Lotion”

written by McElroygx104 on 21/08/2020

It smells fresh, gives glossy appearance to the skin. It helps me to protect from UV rays and safe for sensitive to normal skin. Your skin will eventually absorb it after 15mins.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Diarrhoea following day every time product used ?!!!”

written by JamesonFrazier333 on 02/06/2018

Whilst I love the results from using this product I find that the following day I suffer with stomach cramps and diarrhoea. This happens after every application - has anyone else experienced this problem ?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“good on many levels.”

written by Vaughngc189 on 25/05/2018

Started using this when I kept asking people if they had been away on holiday,no, it was Dove fake tan, it was for me the most believable colour, not orange.I purchased it and found the same results with my own very fair skin. Not offended by the smell and is nice and moisturising.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“It was okay,”

written by VanMeadows460 on 05/11/2015

I brought this product as I am a very fair skinned person. I love the product as far as the end tan and no streaks, but everytime i use the product i experience a medium amount of a burning sensation for about five or so minutes. I don't know if this is just occurring with me, but i still am impressed with the outcome:)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gem12349's Comment

Written on: 26/08/2016

I noticed the same, only used a few times and it stings and burns

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Fantastic”

written by Knifes on 27/08/2015

Having read the reviews of this product I brought it yesterday.Well what can I say but this is fantastic.Having used fake tans many times but not really been happy with them I gave this a go last night.When I woke up this morning and looked in the mirror I was more than happy with the results.My skin before using this is medium in colour but not dark.I did exfoliate before using this and after only one application I was very pleased and will carry on using this.Tips.Rub in very well in circular motion.Some reviews say that it is patchy but it was ok for me maybe because I rubbed it in very well.I used the medium to dark lotion.Give it a try especially to those people who always use fake tan.This lotion was great for me even though I am a fake tan user.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Dove tan cream”

written by Gunndd243 on 22/06/2014

I use dove tan and think its good but there is a lot of waste in the bottom of the bottles thank you Toni

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Smells bad but good colour”

written by Qwertyuiopasdfghjklzxcvbnm1234567890 on 19/05/2014

I first found this tinted moisturiser to be a nice colour and left legs feeling smooth, however after a few days of using it I decided to put it on before bed so I wouldn't be sticky the next day. I could not bare lying in my bed while I smelt horrible, the smell of this product is awfully and my bed sheets stunk of it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Really good”

written by on 01/02/2014

I have been using this product for years and I am very happy with it. I am not keen on the brands that are drying on the skin and fade in patches. Dove does as it says: it moisturises the skin and fades quite evenly. I exfoliate the night before and moisturise. Apply Dove the next morning after showering and drying when there are no 'sock marks' etc on the body. If possible just wear a dressing gown for an hour to allow it to dry in. I usually reapply the 2nd and maybe 3rd morning, depending on how much colour you want. I have tried a few other products but always go back to Dove.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Winner”

written by Amandab93 on 11/12/2013

I first bought dove self tanner a couple months ago cos it was on offer at superdrug, the first time I tried it I was plesently surprise with how thick the texture was (I like them to be thick so you don't get streaks). This product does take a while to dry and can leave your skin feeling very sticky. The smell - I would probably give this product about a 4 (with 5 being the highest) I never have been keen on self tanning smells and to be honest this product isn't great for its smell but it's not vile either. It's tone - I am very fair so I purchased the light to medium and it's great on colour, doesn't leave it streaky and it has less of an orange tone like most of the other gradual self tanners do. It's very gental so if your looking to be dark just after once use then this isn't for you. Would I buy it again? Yes I would, like I said before it's a lovely product and I get lots of compliments every time I wear it. It is very natural looking.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★☆☆☆

“Fine for 1 application. BAD RASH AFTER SECOND. ”

written by Southernnorthern on 01/12/2013

As a red head, I do not tan. So gradual tanners have always been a saviour for me. I used to use the Johnson's Holiday Skin, but I developed a rash after using the bottle over a period of time. I switched to Dove recently. And I could not be more horrified. After one application, I had a slight tan. But after the second, I developed a hideous, red, bumpy rash all over my legs. I will never use this product again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Missdutch30's Response to Southernnorthern's Review

Written on: 08/08/2014

It's probably not the Dove itself but the type of DHA in it that you are allergic to in particular

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Marymurphy4's Response to Southernnorthern's Review

Written on: 16/07/2019

Me too and i was wndering if anyone 6had this reaction. Disappointed as it worked well before rash statred

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★☆☆

“Smells nice, doesnt tan too well!”

written by HayleyRedmond on 19/08/2013

This summer glow smells really nice unlike some other fake tans that can leave you smelling weird, however i don't see that much of a color change from it.. could be better but for the price its not too bad!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I love it”

written by on 03/08/2013

I love it!! It smell Nice and is easy to put on. The bad thing is that i dont get any collor

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Not too shabby!”

written by SheiDeee on 02/08/2013

I haven't been using this brand for long, but it isn't bad for a bottle of fake tan. So far so good, it hasn't left any noticeable streaks, smudges or smears although I'm not impressed with the scent that it leaves behind on your skin. I don't mind scented fake tan, but the smell of Dove was quite pungent; it's not like I can just wash the stuff off either! I'd advise those who are considering this product to use with caution, it does what it says on the tin but it can make you less attractive due to the aroma you'll be carrying...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Love it!”

written by Sabrina_x on 23/07/2013

I've been using this off and on for the past 4 years. It's the best gradual tan I have used at a reasonable price if you shop in the right place. I gave it 4 stars as it is incredibly sticky once applied and takes a long time to dry off completely. The smell is okay, nicer than others I have smelt in the past. I use medium to dark and it comes out like a lovely Golden tan like you've been abroad somewhere hot for a week or 2. However it does need a few applications as can come out streaky, the good thing is you can just go over it again and get rid of the streaks. I recommend once fully soaked into skin have a shower to wash away the excess. All in all a awesome product. Love it! I normally put it on after a shower then I will get in bed and leave over night once soaked in =)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Beautiful glow, disgusting smell!”

written by madz77 on 21/05/2013

Dove Summer Glow loses a star, simply due to its horrible stench after 15mins of applying it. I have an olive complexion and use the normal to dark colour. I apply it once or twice a day (a fair amount. Some people make the mistake of applying WAAAY too much and get streaky or patchy). This tanner gives me just what its name states: a very beautiful, golden brown Summer Glow. It doesn't give me much of a tan, but rather a very healthy, natural looking glow instead and I love it! The only times I have ever been streaky or patchy with this is when I don't exfoliate THOROGHLY beforehand, and also, once the tan starts to fade, but it can so easily be fixed. It's easily absorbed into my skin and leaves it feeling extremely soft and moisturised. I also use it ony face. Too bad about the smell though, which lasts forever! Otherwise a great gradual tanner which I use all year round :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Gradual is the perfect word”

written by on 19/05/2013

This product look ideal for me, gradual was what i wanted and i've just started using it it. I am noticing slight results however i've only used it for two days. I believe that gradual is the perfect word to describe this product, it will take a long time to achieve a tan that others will comment on and i think that exfoliating before hand (scrubbing with a sugar scrub) its probably the best thing to to to receive max potential in the colouring. I didn't like how on the package it doesn't give any sort of time scale, i have an event in a week and a bits time and i don't know whether my tan will be enough by that time. I may start using it with out scrubbing but more than once a day. me and my friend are having a competition on whether her tanning gel or my moisturiser work better than each other. hopefully this is help full.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Use this!!!:):):)”

written by on 18/05/2013

Good when I first used it I got obsessed and so every night after a shower I apply on all my body and then shower off again In the morning and it's great comes out not too orange it's just right :):)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great result, horrible smell”

written by catrianne on 27/04/2013

I've only been using this for one day, but I've seen an immediate effect. First I started to use it to cover some old acne scars, and it hasn't really worked, but as it doesn't say it'll cover scars I won't use this against the product. People have noticed my colour, and as I only chose the fair-medium shade, it isn't too obvious, just as though I've had a healthy sun tan. The only down point is the smell. Originally, I thought it was my pajamas, as I slept in the tan lotion overnight, but as I re-applied it today and, I realised it was the actual lotion itself which smelt. That is the only down side. It is a wonderful moisturizer and a great gradual self-tanner. Would defo recommend!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Margaretlopez's Response to catrianne's Review

Written on: 11/06/2013

I am new in using dove products and it has a good result so far but the smell is not horrible, I actually love the smell.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“GIVEN ME AN HORRENDOUS RASH”

written by on 16/04/2013

Loved this fake tan when I first started using it (about a month ago). I'm now on my 2nd bottle and have come out in a terrible rash, so I w'ont/c'ant use it again. There is no smell and dried very quickly on me. I would recomend this product to anyone but would suggest to test it 1st on a small area of skin. Never had a problem with other cheaper brands so will go back to Garnier. Would like to have known,or know if any one else has had this problem

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Izzyp1234's Comment

Written on: 29/05/2017

I've been using it for months however over the past few times I've used it recently I've got an itchy rash that lasts for about a week. Never had a problem with it before that!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by CRArms on 30th April 2015 Report this content
After commencing applications of Dove Summer Glow should you just bath or shower as usual or will tan wash off?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview