World First Foreign Exchange Reviews - www.worldfirst.com

★★★★★
4.8 / 5
94% of users recommend this
  • Speed of service

  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
World First Foreign Exchange - www.worldfirst.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for World First Foreign Exchange - www.worldfirst.com

World First Foreign Exchange - www.worldfirst.com
World First Foreign Exchange - www.worldfirst.com
World First Foreign Exchange - www.worldfirst.com
World First Foreign Exchange - www.worldfirst.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“poor customer service”

written by on 16/01/2018

As a business we send money to different countries and in different currencies. Now and again their compliance team stops a payment to ask some questions. After answering these questions you would expect the money would be transferred straight away. But no ! It took two weeks to transfer the money, in which case I had to go ahead and send money to our suppliers through my own bank. That meant after two weeks our suppliers got the payment again through World First. Now again I have similar situation again, and this time after 20 days the money has not been paid or returned even though all questions have been answered. They have not even informed me as when the payment will be made. So for a business every day is important, and this is unacceptable. I must add that I have never had this situation while sending money through our own bank. So I would not recommend using World First for business customers.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“A very stressful experience which I will not be repeating!”

written by janewatermeyer on 27/07/2016

Because I was due to holiday in France I set up the currency exchange with my bank in Australia. Just after Brexit I called World First whilst I was still in England, and made 4 transactions. I thought the whole thing was sorted until I got a telephone call whilst I was driving in France from the World First representative telling me that the money from Australia had not arrived. The next time they called, they told me that I would have to pay £1,300 expenses as the money still had not arrived. I explained that it could take as long as 5 days. They were then asking me for a further £3000!! I had to spend many hours on my mobile making calls to Australia, and battling with bad connections and 9 hour time changes, and heaps of worry and stress. I told them I did not have a further £300 to pay them! When the money finally came into my bank, they sent their paperwork, and on their paperwork they did not even mention how they had repaid the £1,300 fine. They had just tacked it on to one of the payments. Furthermore, they did not fully explain, as by this time, the exchange rate would have been better for me, that I could cancel and start over. They just said that this would incur further fines and expenses. I thought the whole experience was very shoddy, I would definitely not use them again. I have further funds in Australia to transfer, I will find a more friendly company.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Waist of time”

written by 246Doherty on 08/11/2015

I started the registration process at 1 - clearly mentioning that I wanted to send funds to Uganda. After 4 hours of filling and sending a dozen scans I got the message that they can't send funds to Uganda ...

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE - THEY ARE A FARCE!!!!”

written by devinashah17 on 10/03/2015

I used the referral system to send a link to my friend so that we could both use World First to pay people abroad. My friend didn't use the specific link but it was clear to customer services that I had referred him. So I expected the £50 credit to my account when I carried out my transaction. They then sent me an email saying because he did not use the link as per their policy then they would not credit my account. I told them they were a farce and closed my account. Don't use them if you expect good customer services.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★★★★

“Very reliable and trustworthy”

written by AlexaHoughton320 on 05/03/2015

I was new to the online exchange. At first I did not know whether to trust and exchange however after many research through banks and directory - I made my decision to exchange with world first. The customer service excellent and they helped me through all the process swiftly. I will definitely recommend anyone that is interested in exchanging currency with them. Instant payment and instant customer service. Thank you very much Worldfirst.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great service, 10/10 would use again”

written by wolfenheimer on 01/03/2015

It took them a few days to validate my identity, then things went forward pretty fast. I ordered Euros to be sent to my German bank account from my American bank account on a Thursday. I had to do a wire transfer to World First to pay them (in USD, in my case). On Friday I received an email that they had transferred the money to my German account already and that it might take a few days for my bank to process it but I had access to my money on that same Friday. By the way, consider that your bank might charge you for the wire transfer (mine charged me $30). Overall totally satisfied, would use again! TL;DR: Identification verification might take a while, money transferred within a day from the US to Germany

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Could be better”

written by erm789 on 14/02/2015

The customer service at World Frist is excellent and the money transfer was successful eventually but it took ten days before World First credited my account with the funds sent to them and then another thirteen days before the deposit into the foreign Bank account was available. World First offers a good rate of exchange and low fees - better than other familiar names - but XE.com always has a better rate of exchange, will debit my Bank account directly, receive the funds within one day and the deposit in the foreign Bank is available within one week normally with no extra charge or fee for ACH/EFT and Draft transfer (and also has very good customer service). World First is good but not better than XE.com. Respectfully, E.R.M., W.V., U.S.A.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent First TIme Experience with World First”

written by TaraSutton on 11/01/2015

I've been using Citibank Global Transfers to transfer between my accounts in the US and UK for years, mainly due to the real-time transfer and no fee with Citigold account. The convenience of having a transfer completed in a matter of minutes is hard to beat, but the higher USD:GBP rates become noticeable with larger transfers, so I searched for alternatives and decided to try World First. Setting up a new account online was very straight forward, and they followed up within minutes of submitting my app. to confirm setup. I initiated the trade after the weekend as I wanted to see live rates (very cool feature) before locking in my trade. I wired the USD funds that day, and the GBP was in my nominated UK account the next day. They exceeded my expectations and the process was super smooth and easy, even for a first timer using their system. Happy to recommend and I will now use World FIrst for all future transfers except for those super urgent needs.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Passport required for NON-UK citizens”

written by AlainaWoodard on 18/10/2014

I'm very dissapointed. We are all in EU, and passports should be only a glimpse of the past...

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★☆☆☆

“Theres more to customer service than just replying...”

written by AshlyMcDermott on 17/10/2014

I actually didn't get to the stage of transferring funds. I got impatient with them. I registered an account on the Tuesday and I was still quarrelling about identity verification on the Friday. Part of this was my fault because I thought a letter sent to me by WF with an I.D. code would be sufficient to proceed. It wasn't. You still have to send them passport/drivers license copy. But the client services support were hard work sending me ambiguous replies to my queries, it was a joke and it drove me mad. A company should lead by taking the customer by the hand until they get what they want/need, not make 'em feel left in the dark wondering what to do next. You're the supposed experts not us! I signed up with Transferwise this afternoon (Fri) and the transaction was started in 5 minutes, and they didn't ask for any I.D either. Their website is much simpler to navigate than WF and rates are virtually identical. Transferwise was a breeze. WF did offer to beat other rates by 0.45% as a good will gesture but by that point they'd lost me. Too many blips and delays.

Alfie10's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2014

I forgot to add, when I eventually sent id they wanted more information about why I was sending money, which I had already explained at registration. At this point I was just tired of the whole process.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“UK - Australia Funds Transfer”

written by Rgcbr on 15/10/2014

Great service for quite a complex transfer. All world first staff were great but a special thanks to the Sydney team.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“First Class Service”

written by TaniyahBaker149 on 17/09/2014

Having been a client of WF for about 6yrs and have used their internet currency exchange for both GBP - NZD and recentlly NZD -GBP they make it incredibly easy and worry free we have carried out many transactions without a hitch , The staff are incredibly helpful , & professional , not once have they tried to sell us any service we havnt requested having a free exchange service was a bonus There is nothing I didnt like well done WF , more business later in the year

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great Service!”

written by Jayce1958 on 06/09/2014

Quick replies, good service, easy trade! Totally recommended! Thank you guys!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Currency Exchange and Transfer”

written by on 28/08/2014

An excellent service throughout. Competent people, speedy turn around and easy to use systems. Highly recommend.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Professional Transparent and Supportive”

written by Nicov353 on 10/08/2014

A very professional company, giving me time to discuss options and with complete transparency. Clear information given, making it easy to transfer money. The rate of exchange was held while I sorted out my side of the finance. I would use this company again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Outstanding Customer Service”

written by ktelontour on 19/05/2014

As an expat I have been using World First since 2008. Not only do I save hard cash on exchange rates but staff members are so professional,helpful and friendly to deal with. If I have a question, or send an e mail this is answered immediately. They really do make the whole process so user friendly and personal - Unlike banks!!! - I wouldn't use anyone else, and now they have waived all fees for even small amounts I use them all the time - even for my holiday money:)

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“No hassles”

written by Esmeraldaq254 on 06/05/2014

I live in Australia and was very wary about transferring funds internationally and did lots of research before using World First. They have exceeded my expectations! Everything was made very easy and my phone contacts with staff members in Sydney were professional and helpful. The rates were better than other companies and the transaction was handled speedily and efficiently. No-one in their right mind would use banks for foreign transfers considering the outrageous fees they charge. I will definitely use World First again and recommend them highly.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Quick, Easy, and Hassle Free! Perfect for a "first timer".”

written by adclem on 28/03/2014

I am typically pretty cynical and thus, hard to please. As a recently married student from the US living in the UK with financial obligations back home, I was incredibly worried about the safety of transferring money abroad, the steps involved and (of course) getting the best rate possible. I was going to "play it safe" by utilizing the bank I deal with here in the UK-but I am glad I didn't! World First made the entire process a breeze! They worked with me in getting my address verified for the online account as I didn't have the generic documents necessary (i.e. utilize bill, paper bank statement). The staff called and offered me advice when necessary. When my target rate was hit, I was notified not only by e-mail but also by a call from my account handler at World First. The transaction took place in the morning and by the next morning my funds were already available back home. World First was able to get me an about an extra 100 USD (60GBP) from the exchange in comparison to that offered by my UK bank, nd saved me the £25 fee my bank charges! Whether you are a veteran or a "first timer" like me looking to transfer money abroad, World First is the way to go! I cannot heap enough praise upon this company.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great company, to change pounds to dollars”

written by on 24/02/2014

used them recently to change money from the UK into dollars best rate by far i have ever had no charges and very helpful. if you ever need to change money you should check this company out. I will be using them again

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Cannot recommend WF highly enough!”

written by CHC-pr on 17/01/2014

I was a little concerned about using WF to be honest, 45,000 AUD may not be a lot to some, but it is to me. Bank costs just made it too expensive to bring these funds to the UK, and I wanted to lock in an exchange rate as I can only see the GBPAUD rate going one way trendwise at the moment - the fundamentals AND the charts are saying the same thing really, so I looked for alternatives to the standard Bank route. I did my due diligence, I checked with the FSA website to confirm WF's license was genuine, hunted out reviews and even checked their complaints history with the FSA. Still I was a bit nervous. It was not helping that both my wife and my mother (who was sorting out the Aust end for me as I live in the UK now) were saying we should just go with the Bank and be 'safe'. It didn't go well when the Australian Bank end didn't put a critical ref code on the transaction and so the payment was 'lost' when it got to WF (as I was warned it would be if this code was not on and as the bank teller was told at the time ...). That this was over the Christmas period didn't help either. And my wife in particular getting worried about it all and saying we should have just gone with the bank was not helpful either ... To say WF were brilliant at getting it all sorted would be to understate how good they were. As you can imagine given the voices of concern around me, I was doubly anxious to have it sorted ... losing the money would have been bad enough, having both my mother and wife saying 'I told you so' for the next 10 years would have been unbearable! Just to be clear, WF knew none of this - so their efforts was their standard service from my perspective. Once it was identified that the critical ref was missing, it was all sorted within 24 hours. The problems were not of WF's making, but they did get it sorted. And for the record, a much smaller transaction was done via the banks on the same day. The difference in the GBPAUD rate alone was almost 0.1 to the good for me to say nothing of the charges! Will I use them again - you bet! I am VERY pleased with what was a professional, highly cost beneficial and pleasant service in the face of problems NOT of WF's making but which THEY helped sort and did NOT seek to profit from. What else can you ask for?

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview