MG TF 115 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
MG TF 115
★★★★☆
3.9
67.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
MG TF 115 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for MG TF 115

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Enjoyable MG TF”

★★★★☆

written by on 13/11/2013

It's a sensible fun sports car that handles really well. Mine is an 2005 115 TF with the softer suspension and glass rear window. Owned for several months and bought from a trusted MG specialist. Low mileage un-thrashed example. Classic car insurance available cost me £157. MPG returns around 30 locally, 41 on a drive. Keep a watchful eye on coolant levels and keep revs below 3000rpm until engine has reached normal op temp and oil temp has risen. Careful in the wet, rear can be tail happy. Make sure rear tyres are up to it, I recommend Toyo Proxies. Great fun to drive, 1.6 engine is fine for me with nothing to prove. Do your homework before buying, owners clubs worth checking out, MGCC and MGOC. Fun in the sun and for those crisp winter days. Make sure you keep the service schedule up to date and have it done by someone who knows theses cars inside out. Majority of head gasket failures due to poor maintenance, especially cooling system and engines driven too harshly especially when cold. Make sure all the electrics work when you view. Build quality can be iffy but improved on the later TF's. Nice looking car and economical to run.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“rubbish mg”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 03/10/2013

Nope i would recommed these cars. cheap and tacky car. always leaks in the rain way to hot in the cabin when driving very bouncy did not like the ride at all. in the cab the dash looks very cheap and just horrible head gaskets blow a lot. steering is not accourate at all electric windows fail the hood does not fit right there are many gaps they rust badly at the sills and seams and arches and wings going over road humps is a big problem. nasty and cheap car, i don,t care they are an embarresment to drive. and its like all mgs, they luck cheap to look at, and just nasty looking. there are way better cars, i think mg,s are one of the worst car out there. they are not cool they not a quality car they not robust they are not good car to be seen in its just one of those cars that should not of been. unreliable and tacky.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Teadogge's Comment

Written on: 18/09/2023

Write that again in English

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“I've owned my MG TF 115 for just over a year; I love...”

★★★★★

written by stevemc1 on 02/06/2008

I've owned my MG TF 115 for just over a year; I love it. Has never let me down. Can't think of anything better to drive on a summers day with the hood down (but then I've the hood down on nearly every dry day we get!). Great conversation piece - people consistently admire the car every time I'm out. You do need to be careful with the tail going out in the wet, but it's easy to bring back under control. Don't get one of these if your looking for a performance car - if you want a fun car to drive, this is it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bye bye boy racer at the roundabout ”

★★★★☆

written by Curly locks on 05/06/2006

Bye bye boy racer at the roundabout
Bye bye mercedes at the traffic lights
But bye bye MG TF in the car park when my beautiful car won't start after 1 week of ownership, and an 140 point service from my dealer.
However this car holds the road superbly and is real fun to drive, boot space is better than the Mazda mx5 and the car just looks fab.
On the downside the gearbox is a bit naff and can be a bit bumpy at slow speeds.
To be honest I don't really care, the MG will be a classic and I love it even if I am seen in the AA van with my sparkling MG on tow.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have owned my MG TF for about 5 months and touch...”

★★★★★

written by jackiel on 19/04/2006

I have owned my MG TF for about 5 months and touch wood it has never been back to the garage unlike my last sports car that was bought new and was in and out of the garage every other week. The ride is fantastic and in the snow and ice you can have great fun! The fuel consumption is fair and I can't wait till summer to get some proper use out of it. Would recommend this car to anyone who love a good ride.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“My wife always wanted an MG this TF was up for sale at...”

★★★☆☆

written by johnrussell on 03/10/2005

My wife always wanted an MG this TF was up for sale at a local dealer as a used car, amazingly it had less than 300 miles on the clock as it was the managers demo car. To top it various extras had been fitted including, wind break, carpets and a high spec Kenwood stereo. In addition we were offered a Hard top at trade price if we didn't mind waiting a few months as it would arrive with a another demo car. It also was in BRG and for £14750 and only 4 weeks old was a bargain, even the MG finance was better than the high street.

On the down side the build quality is atrocious, I even had to glue bits back on, The head gasket also had blown, luckily under warranty, a common problem I understand. Car rattles a lot and now the dashboard is falling apart. However she still loves it!.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have owned my MG TF for just over a year and have...”

★★★★☆

written by scubaminx on 04/05/2005

I have owned my MG TF for just over a year and have done over 10,000 miles in it. It is great. I smile everytime I get into it. I love, love, love it!!! The ride is firm a slow speeds making it quite a bumpy ride. If you put your foot down too quickly coming out of bends or roundabouts you lose the back end, but the cars fantastic looks make it a head turner. I am pleased to say my car has only been to the garage twice since I had it .... once for a puncture and the other time for a retune due to the engines intelligent system learning my careful driving until I got used to it. It's definitely a head turner when you drive on a sunny day with the top down. And with a wind stop fitted, you have not a hair out of please even at speed.

This is a great car and I would have another..... if they still made them!!

As for buying second hand.... go for one with all the extras or a special edition (that normally have al the extras)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

196260_Q69's Response to 191965_scubaminx's Review

Written on: 05/06/2005

We have had our '02 MG TF since new and done 48k miles in it. We love it! Our other car is a beautiful BMW 525i, which many car mags have described as the best all round car, but me and my wife always want the keys to the MG 'cos its more fun! Its got what we call the grin factor! and yet we can go away on a weekend to Cornwall or Scotland with enough boot space! (you can see why 48k miles is easy to do)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have had the MG TF Sports car for about a month and...”

★★★★★

written by gpeach84 on 17/03/2005

I have had the MG TF Sports car for about a month and a half, done 1000 miles in it since it was new, it has been back to the dealer about 3 times, the cabin is on the small side but who really cares? It is great fun, a lovely drive and really nippy round the corners! It has the practality of a nat but one that is still living, the boot size is therefore "ok" Is great to show up boy racers with their bang bang music with your Frank Sinatra!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I've had the MG TF Sports car for a month after owning...”

★★★★★

written by chapmandb on 23/10/2004

I've had the MG TF Sports car for a month after owning 'family' saloons all my life. The wife and I have to fight each other to drive the thing. In terms of drive, its smooth, with NO Rattles (Suggest others who have a problem get the door latch mechanism checked as I have heard this is a common rattle point and only take 5 mins to fix).

I give it full marks apart from practicality, since its difficult to get your garden rubbish in the boot (but with top down, you should get half a tree in).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview