Portugal Walks - www.portugalwalks.com Review

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
80% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Beauty of scenery

  • Value For Money

Guest's review of Portugal Walks - www.portugalwalks.com

★★☆☆☆

“Madeira is a spectacularly beautiful island; however,...”

Written on: 15/09/2010

Madeira is a spectacularly beautiful island; however, we went with portugalwalks.com and I can not recommend the company. On our final night we were placed in a hotel that was a dump. My son and I had separate rooms. His had an unflushed toilet and a used tampon. Need I say more? (Mine was similarly dirty.) I bought 2 rooms at a lovely nearby hotel and e-mailed portugalwalks immediately explaining the situation and saying I would like a refund for that portion of the trip. I was e-mailed back but it was not until weeks later, I was told that I needed to explain to the portugalwalks dumpy hotel why I would not stay there...no refund. So definitely go to Madeira but seek out a different company! There are other companies doing independent hiking trips in Madeira.

  • Value For Money

  • 08/10

    Date of trip

  • Invigorating

    Severity of walking

  • Self organised

    Type of trip

  • Beauty of scenery

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Portugalwalks's Comment

Written on: 05/10/2010

These clients were particularly difficult before they arrived and during the whole week.
<br/>Ask yourself - if you had a dirty room would you not complain to the hotel?
<br/>When we asked the clients if they had complained they had not - so without a complaint our hands are tied. The reason they gave for leaving is that they wanted to stay with friends at another hotel - this was a 5 star next door! Our holidays are good value but do not include 5 star hotels - that would put the price out of most peoples reach.
<br/>The hotel that they did not like is not 5 star but over the many years we have used it there have never been any complaints about being dirty - in fact quite the opposite.
<br/>These clients had another agenda and because we wouldnt comply they have become quite nasty in their review.
<br/>We stand by our product and if you wish to read reviews about our holidays please look on the Responsible Travel web site.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0