121 Car Hire www.121carhire.com Review

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
94% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

Guest's review of 121 Car Hire www.121carhire.com

★☆☆☆☆

“I booked through 121 Car Hire, who used Car Trawler to...”

Written on: 13/01/2010

I booked through 121 Car Hire, who used Car Trawler to provide the service, who in turn booked the car through Buchbinder. I paid up front through 121 Car Hire



When I went to collect the car from the airport they would not except anything less than deposit of - get this - 2400 euros! I had already paid for the hire so they would not provide a refund.I needed to arrange an extension to my credit card which took 4 hours.



Added to this, when I got home I found that I had been charged an additional 10 Euros a day because I wanted to take the car out of the country and 3 Euros a day for winter tyres. These charges were not made clear when I took the car, in fact when I signed the agreement (in German) I asked if there were any extra charges and told there wasn't. Of course 121 Car Hire blamed Car Trawler who blamed Buchbinder who blame 121 Car Hire.



I had incorrect charges added recently when I booked through Expedia and used Hertz and I got a refund from them.



So unless you speak German, don't want to leave Austria, don't want a car with tyres and are prepared to take out a mortgage as a deposit - avoid all these three companies!

  • Value For Money

  • November 2009

    Date of hire (month/year)

  • Austria Vienna

    Country & City of hire

  • Average

    Condition of vehicle

  • Average

    Choice of vehicles

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gcornell's Comment

Written on: 05/02/2010

Since the email from CawTrawler I received a call from Carrentals. They agreed that I should not have been asked to sign a contract in German when the booking was made through an English agent, and sent a cheque for 40' as a good will gesture. They disagreed that the other charges were unfair, and that because of the way the industry works, it likely that these sort of charges would always be made.
<br/>
<br/>I'm grateful for the 40' towards the additional charges that were made, and guess I've learnt that the fine print is important to read when making car rental bookings over the internet. My advise to anyone wanting to run a business that puts its head over the parapet in this industry would be to offer an absolute guarentee that there would be not charges above the price quoted. I'd use them everytime
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0