Report Abuse

Report this review to the Review Centre Team

Here at Review Centre we work hard to make sure we are the best place on the internet for honest, unbiased consumer reviews - we are grateful for your help in keeping us that way!


Why are you reporting this review?

If you represent this business why not claim your page by creating a Free Business Account where you will receive improved review monitoring functionality.


Live, Awake: The Best Of Live - Released in time for...”

Written on: 10/01/2005 by Dreadlocksmile (358 reviews written)

Good Points
Includes a 19-track CD [including 1 previously unreleased track], a 22-track DVD of the group's videos and live material, a 30 minute commentary from lead singer Ed Kowalcyzk and a fold-out inlay with loads of info from and about the band.

Bad Points
How can you find a fault with such a package?

General Comments
Live, Awake: The Best Of Live - Released in time for Christmas 2004, the Pennsylvanian rock group 'Live' released their fist "Best Of" album entitled "Awake: The Best Of Live". The nineteen-track album includes tracks from all six of their previous albums and one previously unreleased track exclusive to the CD titled "We Deal In Dreams". For a limited period only, the CD was available with a bonus DVD disc that includes twenty-two music videos and an interview commentary with lead singer Ed Kowalczyk.

The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Operation Spirit (The Tyranny Of Tradition)

2. The Beauty Of Gray

3. Selling The Drama

4. I Alone

5. Lightning Crashes

6. All Over You

7. We Deal In Dreams

8. Lakini's Juice

9. Turn My Head

10. The Dolphin's Cry

11. Run To The Water

12. They Stood Up For Love [acoustic version]

13. The Distance

14. Dance With You

15. Overcome

16. Nobody Knows

17. Heaven

18. Run Away [with Shelby Lynne]

19. I Walk The Line

The DVD tracklisting is as follows:

1. Operation Spirit

2. Operation Spirit [live version]

3. Pain Lies On The Riverside

4. Pain Lies On The Riverside [live version]

5. Selling The Drama

6. I Alone

7. Lightning Crashes

8. White, Discussion

9. Lakini's Juice

10. Freaks

11. Turn My Head

12. Turn My Head [alternative version]

13. Ghost

14. The Dolphin's Cry

15. Run To The Water

16. They Stood Up For Love

17. Overcome

18. Simple Creed

19. Like A Solider

20. Heaven

21. Heaven [concept version]

22. Run Away [with Shelby Lynne]

For the price of a standard CD album you really can't complain what you get here. The bonus DVD is absolutely awesome and a must-have disc for any 'Live' fan. To have all this past material available for the first time on one disc is just incredible and worth the purchase alone. The DVD is completely region free and exempt from classification.

You also get a nice fold-out inlay that includes notes about the tracks from the band and a little group history. All in all, the album in a glorious package delivering some great material for new and old fans of the group.

Was this review helpful? 0 0