Report Abuse

Report this review to the Review Centre Team

Here at Review Centre we work hard to make sure we are the best place on the internet for honest, unbiased consumer reviews - we are grateful for your help in keeping us that way!

14110966

Why are you reporting this review?

If you represent this business why not claim your page by creating a Free Business Account where you will receive improved review monitoring functionality.


★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS!”

Written on: 09/09/2020 by Scotjakes (1 review written)

Paid a deposit for a new caravan in stock 31 March 2019. Visited showroom 2 April and purchased stays which we asked to be fitted, a hitchlock and Supaguard Protection. We were asked to supply a copy of car registration for number plate to be fitted and if we wanted tyre banding fitted. Given a collection date of 10 April. Later in the day I emailed registration document and requested tyre banding. No acknowledgement received from salesman.

10 April 2019 went to collect caravan. Caravan not ready. Tyre banding not been done, Number plate and stays not fitted.
Given acknowledgements of payment receipt, deposit receipt, BACS transfer and tyre banding ( even though it hadn’t been done) Given our tour inside and out by salesman. Unbeknown to us at the time he damaged the Dometic toilet by pulling out the cassette by brute force. Couldn’t explain motor mover as battery not connected. Salesman wrote down jobs still to be done on a scrap of paper. I queried why these weren’t put on an official form for Service Department. I also queried why there was a faded fluorescent band on the handle at front of van. Told it was because van had been PDI’d when they were quiet, ready to go out before Easter.
Salesman then signed off the van, even though we weren’t happy with this as we couldn’t take the van home. He asked us if the van was insured as it was not our responsibility. Asked him to put hitchlock on as our van parked near the gate. Given second collection date of 13th April.

13 April 2019 2nd attempt to collect van. Still not ready. Number plate and stays still not fitted. Salesman tried to put stays on himself without success. He said “Most people that buy these, fit them, themselves. Technician from workshop then fitted stays and demonstrated motor mover while salesman made up number plate. When we got the van home discovered that plastic and masking tape were still stuck on the floor, wallboard seams were all curling, sawdust and bits in all the top cupboards. There was no shelf in the oven and a scratch on the wardrobe door. Not what you would expect from a brand new van if it had been PDI’d properly. Phoned salesman and told him about issues and asked for a new shelf to be posted out ASAP as we were going away at Easter in the van.

Received an email containing a survey about Ebor’s service. Rather than post negative comments sent an email to address on their website offering them the opportunity to solve problems. Didn’t get any response.

16 April phoned salesman as shelf not yet received. He said it had been parcelled up 15 April ready for collection.

18-23 April Various issues with caravan while away. Toilet cassette broken resulting in my husband being covered in the contents. Toilet door wouldn’t close. Couldn’t use oven as no shelf.

23 April Phoned Ebor and told them about toilet and door and said that shelf still not arrived. It did arrive by courier 5.50pm that evening. Label showed collection date 17 April. Sent letter of complaint to Managing Director at Brompton on Swale. No reply or acknowledgement yet received.

24 April received email about toilet
25 April Asked to take photos of faulty door catch.
26 April Phoned Ebor re toilet and left message. No response.
27 April. Went to put new shelf in oven and discovered a rung broken. Emailed more photos to sales manager and asked to order new shelf.

2 May 2019 phoned and asked if we could have a copy of PDI report as we didn’t think it had even been done.Salesman later rang back and said they were waiting for parts.

7 May we phoned Ebor and asked when we could bring the van in to have issues sorted out. Couldn’t use van because of broken toilet as the site we visit regularly have no facilities. Said they would get back to me. No response.

8 May we visited Ebor and took back broken shelf, given a universal one as a replacement. Spoke to technician, van provisionally booked in 24th May. Told then that van had been PDI’d Jan 2029 and a final inspection was done 9 April 2029. I think whoever did the final inspection must have had their eyes shut.

12 May Emailed more photos of door, no acknowledgement received. Resent to different email address.

18 May 2019 our CRIS Registration documents arrived. Wrong surname and wrong address on documents!

19 May Sent email complaining about further poor service and mistake re CRIS documents asked for confirmation of a date to bring our van in.

20 May Phoned CRIS to get registration document changed. They said it was the salesman’s fault as they input the details online.

24 May Took van into Ebor Leisure. Asked if we could have it back for 31 May as we’d booked holiday.

27 May received message saying the whole toilet (that their salesman broke) would have to be replaced and they’d have to order another door.

28 May sent email to Service Manager responsible for 3 branches and said if the van couldn’t be fixed soon we would be returning the van as not fitted for purpose and ask for a refund. Received acknowledgement.

6 June Service Manager told us a claim had been made to have another door custom made. Posted this saga on Coachman’s Facebook page and received an immediate response. Next day I received a phone call from the MD at Coachman To say that no orders for warranty work had been received but that it could be sitting in a tray somewhere. Coachman would take the van back to the factory and sort everything out.

9 June Went to Ebor to remove our belongings from caravan before it was taken back to Coachman factory. Checked the replacement toilet that Ebor had fitted but the fascia of the was falling in and unsatisfactory. Ebor said they’d tested it and everything working fine, Wallboard strips had been replaced.Caravan was at the factory 12-19th June. Coachman fitted a 3rd toilet as they said that staff at Ebor had damaged the 2nd one putting it in.

19 June Van ready for collection from Ebor but my husband had damaged his back. Two members of staff from Ebor very kindly offered to bring our van home for us, In their own time after work. One of them became our point of contact at Ebor because everyone else appeared to ignore our calls and emails. I did email the sales manager and praise these two staff members for their help.

We continued to have issues with our van so we visited the Lawns Caravan Show at Cottingham and spoke to someone from the Escalation Department of Ebor Leisure as well as the MD from Coachman. I supplied her with the full sorry saga of Ebors poor service and she mentioned the possibility of compensation. She would look into the matter and get back in touch. No response!

It was arranged that our van would go back to the Coachman factory for a second time and on collection it was arranged that another dealership would take over dealing with our warranty issues. They have been brilliant! They couldn’t have been more helpful. We took our van there for its 1st service as we didn’t want to go back to Ebor. The manager asked us for the Service booklet so they could stamp it. He said it should be with the manual in the pack we were given when we bought the van. I looked through all our paperwork but discovered to my horror that we’d never actually been given a service booklet which is our proof of purchase, especially for the warranty work or a caravan manual. I phoned the Escalation Department at Ebor with regard to the missing document but she said because of lockdown she couldn’t get in touch with anyone. We’re now beginning to wonder if Ebor had had our van returned by another purchaser before we bought it. Surprise! Surprise! Still no response

Because of COVID 19 we haven’t used our van until a few weeks ago and discovered the faulty door that Ebor were supposed to have fixed still doesn’t shut properly when it’s hot. I’ve tried to ring the Escalations Department of Ebor again today to discuss all the issues . They are selling caravans but all their offices are closed. I’m so angry. Hence this review!

Was this review helpful? 2 0