GB Liners Reviews - www.gbliners.com

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.7 / 5
91% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GB Liners - www.gbliners.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GB Liners - www.gbliners.com

GB Liners - www.gbliners.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
★☆☆☆☆

“Gamble Your Belongings And Pay Heavily To Do So”

Written on: 15/02/2019 by philjunderwood (1 review written)

I used GB Liners to move between the UK and Vancouver, Canada. On the way out in 2017 the price was high, but the service was good. My items were taken care of, they were packaged intelligently and securely and there were a minimal, minor number of acceptable breakages on arrival. However, on the return in 2019 things were very different. The price was extortionate. About 80% the cost of 2017 for half the volume, even though the items accounted for around 60% the volume paid for. The partner… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID”

Written on: 04/01/2019 by 84Stevens (1 review written)

AVOID AVOID AND AVOID this arrogant and ignorant company I never had to deal with a buisness that does care that little about their customers and is arrogant thinking they are the best and only company can do removals. How wrong they are. We moved multiple times across Europe ourself and our staff. After reading the reviews I thought I try them as our usual company we use is fully booked for the period we require the move of two housholds. I requested a quote for one of them and my first call… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling Service June 2017 ”

Written on: 31/07/2017 by Heather7271 (1 review written)

Absolutely appalled by the service from GB Liners (removal) Brighton today. We were told very casually by email that our booking had been cancelled even though we had signed an agreement form and sent it in on 3rd July. We are moving in three weeks time. No calls, no apology. After speaking with the manager, it's clear that we have been sidelined for financial reasons to make way for more profitable bookings. Great service GB Liners, your attitude is quite frankly a disgrace… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rbartup's Response to Heather7271's Review

Written on: 07/08/2017

I'm sorry that this person has cause to complain, and I agree we did not handle this matter impeccably which is our goal.
We quoted for the move to be done with us choosing the dates in a time range chosen by the customer. The customer then asked us to save a date, subject to confirmation, which she chose. We should have said "that's not the deal" but there should have been a clear understanding about whether we were saving the dates or we weren't. There was no such clarity and that's our fault. 3 weeks after we we were asked to save a provisional date (and more than 3 weeks before the moving date) we asked what was happening and was told the client still could not confirm the date. At that point a dispute arose about whether we had the date saved or not and really the discussion should have been about whether we could continue to hold a provisional booking when other customers could go firm on that same date. 24 hours after the dispute blew up we did offer the client dates, but she said she would prefer to use another mover now. On balance our fault, but the clients inability to confirm the date made things less straightforward.

R Bartup Managing Director

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Atrocious, rude, stinking attitude”

Written on: 18/04/2017 by Ralpha407 (1 review written)

Monday 3rd April, had to take my son to an emergency Dr’s appointment. I parked close to a car that was ready to leave a roadside space. A GB Liners man came to my car, tapped the window and told me I had to move as his lorry was coming down the road and needed access into a driveway near where I was parked. I explained that I was about to park once the lady had move, that I would literally be 2 minutes, he just said ‘WELL YOU CAN’T, SO MOVE..! I explained that she was literally pulling… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST REMOVAL COMPANY I HAVE EVER USED WHEN MOVING ”

Written on: 07/02/2017 by MrWright6197 (1 review written)

No respect for our property. They rushed the removal, not wrapping expensive oak furniture properly, so the bases got chipped etc. Had plastic containers with a handle each side. Instead of carrying them properly, they just carried them by one hand, so all of our fragile possesions tipped up inside. Items that went onto the lorrys mysteriously dissapeared! They rushed off, we didn't even get chance to check the lorries were empty. Arriving at the new house they wore no coverings for there dirty… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rbartup's Response to MrWright6197's Review

Written on: 15/02/2017

This is rather strange. We've had no direct feedback as far as I'm aware, but we did move someone by that name in 2014 and we think the feedback relates to that move. In the case of that move we went to see the customer, viewed the very minimal damage he complained of and made a cash settlement in compensation. A month or so later we were contacted to say he could not find a pressure washer. We checked with the crew, checked the warehouses and could throw no light on the matter. We reported that to him, told him that it was too late to claim (the contract allows 7 days although customers can extend to 28 days for an extra fee) and were told he would sue us, that he would involve all national newspapers, consumer programmes and his insurers. Up until this we've heard no more.
We are clearly sorry if any customer finds our service below par but we are surprised that he rates us so low and so late. I think the majority of the other reviews on this site and others do show what a good job we do on the whole.

R Bartup, Managing Director, GB Liners Ltd.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“UK to US Relocation gone wrong thanks to GBLiners”

Written on: 03/06/2016 by freecruz (1 review written)

We moved to the US 1 month ago. GBLiners seemed reputable and moved out items from our home. We paid in full for the move with the exception of duties incurred by customs. That is fair. GB Liners contracted the remaining portion of our move to an American removals company. On the 24th I received an email to say that our good had arrived at a hub 60 miles from our new home and that we would be contacted the next day to deliver. We were not contacted again until June 1. On the 1st of June they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gbliners's Response to freecruz's Review

Written on: 18/08/2016

I was sorry to hear of the problem you encountered with your recent removal to the States. It is the first I have heard of this. The e-mail you copied our sales consultant in to, sent to our agents in the States querying the storage charges, was unfortunately overlooked and not forwarded to my office. We can only find one e-mail and regrettably I don’t believe you attempted to contact my office which had been in previous correspondence with you and had sent you all the shipping documents and information.
By the time I had been made aware of this situation things had already been resolved and I am pleased to note there were no additional charges raised at all. Subsequently you have told me of another problem where the shipping line recently sent you a US$700.00 invoice for damage incurred to the actual shipping container. We have successfully negotiated with the line and a full credit has been raised.
GB Liners International Office

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Started so well”

Written on: 23/12/2015

We had a reasonable deadline and the sales person that visited our home assured no problem getting our stuff to Australia in time for birth of our child. We knew reasonably twelve weeks and could have stretched a little bit longer with customs checks. Problem is this was October now late December they not even got it on a ship and no date till sometime in January. Which given 9 weeks for ship to reach Oz and customs clearing it I imagine April I am looking at- 6 months is far too long and given… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Be Warned!”

Written on: 02/10/2015 by Philruss (1 review written)

We used GB Liners to emigrate to the USA. Goods were Lost/Stolen/damaged to our horror and upset. Our new house was damaged by the shippers they employed over here in the USA. I dealt with their MD, who was one of the most difficult men I've ever dealt with being both dismissive and superior in attitude. They self insure so be warned, they don't want to pay for anything and will look to squirm out of paying for genuine claims. Make sure you claim within the 7 day limit in writing for all goods… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Did not attend”

Written on: 24/08/2015 by onSilva245 (1 review written)

GB Liners were supposed to be coming today to give me a quote. Did not bother to turn up or to phone to let me know. I had to phone them to find out where they were. I was told they had looked in the wrong diary and had not remembered my appointment. No apology offered until I suggested it. I decided it would be very wise not to book with this company in case they forgot to look in the correct diary on the day of moving and I was left standing! Not a good way to run a business. They must… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad follow up service ”

Written on: 28/04/2015 by 1444COMMANDO (1 review written)

With 13 Moves in 14 Years I have never had so much problem in sorting out Damage that was caused to our Hand Made Bed in the move,I would most certainly not recommend GB Liners to anyone. Be CAREFUL !… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst move ever!”

Written on: 25/07/2014 by ShockedCustomer (1 review written)

GB Liners' slogan is 'best move ever' but our experience recently (June 2014 using GB Liners' Bristol Office) was quite the opposite! Particular low points have been, lots of property damage and instances of rude, unprofessional staff. Whilst the move should have been straightforward, being from one end of our village to the other, over the two day period GB Liners managed to: 1. Damage my husband's motorbike pannier, 2. Break a toilet seat, 3. Break a dustpan, 4. Fail to wrap or protect… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Robertbartup's Response to ShockedCustomer's Review

Written on: 18/08/2014

I'm sorry that she is a dis-satisfied customer. My Area manager called to see her at her insistence at 5.30pm on the day before he went on holiday as she was unable to await his return from a weeks holiday. He tells me that before he had said "hello" she told him that she had downloaded our Annual accounts and that if she didnt get the answers she wanted from him she would be taking the matter to the Board. As you may guess there are 2 sides to the story and ours is significantly different to hers.

I'm sure that people looking at this will balance the other positive reports both here and on Referenceline and conclude that we do live up to our promises.

Kind Regards
R Bartup
Managing Director
GB Liners Ltd

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Annaliisa.walden's reply to Robertbartup's Comment

Written on: 20/08/2014

Mr Bartup,

I am most surprised by your upload. Happy to upload your company's letters of apology and various letters and admissions of failings in terms of broken promises; both in handwriting and in more formal terms from your area manager.

Very disappointed that on the one hand and 'behind the scenes' you choose to apologise in full and pay for damage, but I now see you have gone 'public' with a very different tale!

There was no insistence of a meeting, your area manager proposed the date, being his last day before annual leave and both my husband and I thanked him for these efforts.

As for the apparent lack of 'hello' this is also complete nonsense, to the contrary we were courteous in inviting your operative into our home and extended the usual hospitalities of offering cups of tea etc before asking how best to proceed.

The reference to company reports was to get your details and that of the board of directors in case we failed to make progress with your area manager, the Bristol Office customer care contact having indicated that it made no difference to them where we sent our initial letter of feedback and our therefore attempting to locate details on others who might 'care'.

Can I suggest that you first contact your customer to discuss, before attempting to post unfounded and incorrect statements publicly? This would seem to be common sense and show basic courtesy. I have not heard from you until seeing this post!

Sorry to say that your attempts at 'mud slinging' towards the customer rather undermine your area manager's efforts to diffuse the situation, following in particular full admissions of failings in writing from your company and written apologies. We can upload these if you wish for all to read and they are lengthy (dealing with the issues in my original post) but we were rather hoping to move on from this whole unfortunate experience.

If you do wish to have the full facts I have a file of papers on this by now but can I ask that in the first instance you contact your area manager for GB Liners' detailed letters of apologies and emails addressing points of concern raised as these set out your company's position and directly contradict your recent post.

Yours sincerely

Baffled Customer (with whom you have reached an 'amicable' out of court settlement agreement but with whom you seem to be attempting to add insult to injury)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
overview