PC World www.pcworld.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
PC World www.pcworld.co.uk
★★★☆☆
3.0
54.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

Summary

Compare reviews of PC World's online store with alternative online computer shop sites to find out which is the best one. Our reviews are written by unbiased consumers making them a great source of advice.

If you prefer bricks and mortar and would like to use their high street computer shop, read our PC World reviews.


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
PC World www.pcworld.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for PC World www.pcworld.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

“Great technical help”

★★★★★

written by on 05/10/2013

The starf very plesant and very helpfull technicaly,a man who knows his job and explains very well.I hope the LG smart tv is as good.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible experience”

★★☆☆☆

written by sohal88878 on 04/10/2013

Bought a laptop and had nothing but trouble with it. After about 40 days I took it back to PC World and they didn't want to know! Avoid and buy from somewhere else for sure.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“items in sale bin but normel price”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 04/10/2013

bought a wireless mouse from the sale bit but later found it to be normal price load of rip off merchants artists avoid this company at all costs,on complaining was told it hadent been in sale bin,wont be using them again thats for sure

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Slow service, no interest in customer or sales”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Robertrh on 28/09/2013

Bought a laptop from Weymouth branch a couple of weeks back and service from the staff was absolutely terrible. I was left standing in the store whilst sales reps did their best to walk the other way and look busy. I asked to speak to the manager and he promised me someone would attend in a couple of minutes.. 20 minutes later I was finally dealt with. I was shocked that they didn't seem to want to sell anything especially as I was wishing to spend over £300.. Unbelievable. Had the laptop I wanted been available elsewhere I would have walked, instead the whole episode took over an hour. PC World sort out your staff.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Sold a second hand item”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 10/09/2013

[email protected] Assistant: 37 Mickey Model: ACER E1-571 I5 To whom it may concern. I purchased this model on the 08/09/13 in a hurry as I had conference calls to attend, at the time the assistant told me that the security label on the box had been broken as he had caught his sleeve on it. When I unboxed the laptop firstly the protected film had clearly been ripped off as there was still some left on the hinge, and the keyboard had marks on it, when I started it up it asked for a user name and password? this has never happened before as usually I would have to agree terms and conditions. My son and I tried to get this working all afternoon to no avail, hence I missed my conference calls. I took the item back to the shop the next morning and was told yes there was a problem with it, I asked if this was a display model I had and was assured it was not, and that I was sold the last one and they could not replace it. I was then told to go to Currys and pick one up from them this was the best they could do! I did which inturn made me late for work. I would like some answers as to why I was sold a second hand model at full price, please be aware that if I do not receive a reply forthwith I WILL be contacting trading standards in Plymouth and ask for a full investigation to include the stores cctv camera's to see where the assistant got this laptop from as I am sure you are aware this is an offence. I await your reply Mr J L Birkenshaw

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Take money, even when out of stock”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 19/08/2013

Ordered item on 9 August 2013. Website said in stock. Took payment and took 10 days to email to say they could not supply and would I like to purchase something else from them (yeah, right) and have refund. Enough said really. Very poor. Ratings below based on delay in customer service confirming unable to deliver, website not being accurate, and value for money is they take money and don't send any goods,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Customer service? If only they knew what it meant!”

★★☆☆☆

written by Picsi666 on 10/08/2013

I did all my product research online, made comparisons etc and went to the Swansea store in Morfa retail park after work to purchase 3520 HP printer. There were at least four sales people doing absoloutely nothing, but did they come and see if I needed help? I started to wonder if I had Harry Potter's invisibility cloak! Even when I was within just a ferw feet I was still ignored. I didn't need any help, but what if I did? I shouldn't have to chase staff around to get it. The assistant at the checkout wasn't warm or welcoming either. She got quite agitated when I asked for an item to be removed from the transaction and made me feel that she'd just like me to leave as she had something far more important to do. She also lied about what was included in the care plan. If I hadn't needed to use it that night I would have shopped around, as it was a self service transaction. I assume your staff are given targets for add ons etc, so why don't you remove them, as all it does is put staff under pressure to meet them and ignore the most important aspect of their jobs. Instead, teach them how to give amazing service and let them enjoy themselves. If they're happy, it will create an atmosphere that we, the customer, feel relaxed in. If we're getting their full attention we're more likely to buy and even upgrade. I challenge the people at the top to get off their backsides and spend at least a week on the shop floor, then you'll see where YOU are going wrong!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Refrigerator Purchase”

★★★★★

written by on 04/08/2013

Help Advice and Staff Attention Excellent. The advisor at Morfa Retail Park was cheerful and friendly and dealt with us very couteously and professionally. Thank you. This purchase was on eof three we have made in recent times at Currys, and we have been extremely satisfied on every occasion.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Waste of time!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DThorrrington on 03/08/2013

Been stood in Cardiff Newport road branch waiting to pick up at long last my laptop, I am still waiting to be served been stood here for 40 minutes no staff have approached me even though they can clearly see me! Come on PC World you make enough money employ more staff!!!! Very unhappy!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“RIP OFF AND TAKE YOUR MONEY”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 30/07/2013

i found out 'AFTERWARDS' once they have your MONEY, you are on your OWN,1 minute after buying your PRODUCT. there policy is never give ASSISTANCE, money backor anything else as there is no onelse to buy from !!!!!!!! well there IS,PLACE like john LEWIS, etc

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

D.nogan's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2013

Completely agree. Atrocious how they treat customers, I have 4 laptops insured with them on 2 separate occasions they have LOST laptops but would not admit it , they kept saying they were being seen to and was a delay, after nearly 7 weeks they admitted that they had once again " lost" our laptop and admitted it had never even left the store, we were absolutely disgusted it had only been 8 weeks earlier that they had lost the 1st one!! They were replaced upto the same value of the" lost" ones but no gestures were made in any form to try and amend the inconvenience they had caused us not once but TWICE!!! APPALLING CUSTOMER CARE!
We will NEVER purchase ANYTHING again from this company!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“took a faulty lap top in to be repaired under...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 04/07/2013

took a faulty lap top in to be repaired under insurance. Customer service was good in store and had a text to say my item was ready to pick up. However, went to the store and there was no lap top. I have called the store to receive an update and have had nothing but someone will call you back which they have not! I wouldnt mind but I have a £500 lap top in your store!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“They the best for me!”

★★★★★

written by on 01/07/2013

I like curry and pcworld beacuse they the best. You can buy cheap thing like tablet phones and anything you like! I bought a tablet for really cheap for 100pound and i found it really good and its really cool! You can find curry and pcworld in Harrow anywhere near you! I really like the shop because its big and many good thing are there! You can go anytime to the shop its open from morning to night. They allways opened! The stuffs can help you what you won to buy! I really like pcworld and curry is well!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I bought a printer from Currys.and I could not fault...”

★★★★★

written by on 25/06/2013

I bought a printer from Currys.and I could not fault the attention the staff gave me.I had a problem with it.but it was sorted out for me.and I am very satisfide with the printer.I print some really lovely photos.I have bought items in the past and would recomend Currys to anybody.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very helpful staff”

★★★★☆

written by on 15/06/2013

We were shopping for a portable hard drive. The staff showed us to the display and there was a lot of choice. The staff were very knowledgeable and gave us lots of information. So we were able to choose which item would suit us best.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Really Bad Service/ Customer Support”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 12/06/2013

I bought a Samsung Smart Tv from Currys for £900 in Jan 2013, which was having problem connecting to my network devices from starting so I waited for firmware update but even after latest firmware upgrade the problem still continues. Other than that the the tele is really slow, Smart hub don't connect, there is lag between changing channels, lag when accessing channel menu and the list goes on. When I called Samsung they send a engineer who said the main board of the tv need to change and ordered the part but I am really not happy with this repair as the tele is only 5 month old and I don't want a repaired one for the amount I paid for it. So when I contacted Curry's customer care regarding this and mentioned the SALE GOODS ACT as it not as its described at the time of sale and don't fit for purpose, the representative asked me to go to shop and speak to Manager which I did yesterday but he was not helpful at all not interested in me and keep saying its not their company policy. If its not then why the Customer Care representative asked me to speak to Manager at shop.... Do they have different policies in all stores and customer care??????? I'm going to complain this to consumer court in few days as I wrote a lettyer to them and head office... Lets see what they reply. This is not the first issue I'm having with them, had problem with them before with my laptop as well. Hope I can give them less than 1 star..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Service pretty awful so far”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 04/06/2013

Bought Samsung TV + blue-ray + sound-stream on May 6th. Total cost £1200.00. including setup price of £90.00. Original set up meant plug in TV and leave. The TV worked but nothing else did. Had further visit Saturday from engineers who didn't have a clue on connecting the system, they also left having achieved nothing. It is now Tuesday evening and we have been trying to cancel tomorrows appointment with yet another engineer who is supposedly arriving to sort out all problems. We have been hanging on the phone for 15 minutes with music ringing out of the earpiece, at we think 40p per minute,and have now had enough. After-all we are trying to save them a trip out to our home, which will be a waste of everybody's time. Will try to contact someone in the morning to cancel said visit, but not holding our breath that we will actually get to speak to somebody. We are not at all impressed with the service rendered so far. And we will be expecting a full refund of £90 + for the so called set-up fee.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“TOTALLY INCOMPETENT & FACELESS - ZERO STAR RATING”

★☆☆☆☆

written by PhilBaxter on 28/05/2013

I placed a web order for 4 x Advent PC's at £649 each. They were showing available and in stock at the time of order placement and delivery stated 2-3 working days. 12 days later still no sign of the goods when into my inbox pops a faceless e-mail stating that PC World would not be able to fulfil the order so they had unilaterally cancelled it. Utterly terrible service. What is laughable is that the PCs I ordered are still showing as available from stock, so I have reserved them for collection from my local store later today - I guess that's where the real fun will begin??

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“very poor communication between depts.”

★★★☆☆

written by l60bircnington on 24/05/2013

After ordering and paying for a laptop on the 21st may we were told that someone would ring us when the laptop was in (26th may). No phone call so i rang their collection contact number. Was told by a young man that my laptop had not been ordered (was on line for 15mins). Was further told that this was due to the order not being actioned at the store. Went back to store(broadstairs) and met by the manager who was very unhelpful and had a big attitude problem. Was told by him not to believe anything the previous chap said, then he just walked away from me. Fortunately was dealt with by a very helpful member of staff. Turns out the laptop was in the store, talk about lack of communication!!! We will not be shopping in pcworld in the future, cannot believe anything they say ,very disappointed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BRILLIANT SERVICE”

★★★★★

written by on 24/05/2013

EXCELLENT SERVICE VALUE FOR MONEY..BRILLIANT SERVESS

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Horrible Customer Service!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Disappointed_Customer_AtAllTime on 23/05/2013

Let me put it down into three points why this company is a total WASTE of your time. 1) Contact They send you a confirmation email about your product. They, a couple of days after, sent me an email saying that they tried to contact me but I did not get any calls from them at all. How to find out? You have to call the (KNOWHOW customer service line) in order to talk to them through your queries instead of receiving updates emails/messages. Lies to cover themselves! 2) Validity The reason they tried to contact me is about a product that went out of stock. OK, how is it possible to order something that is out of stock?! On their website, the product I wanted was (Available), that is how I managed to get through the order/placing process, otherwise you cannot order the product, only to find out, after few days, that the product you placed is out of stock. What a waste of time!! Literally!!! 3)Customer Service (KNOWHOW Team) Here is the fun part. I had to cancel my previous product since it is out of stock. And badly, they do not even know when they will bring more of the product (bad database system?) I will leave this to you to judge. I waited a week for another product to come in stock (also was out of stock adding another week to go waste!). I got my refund within 3 days (as they tell you which is a plus), but when I placed my order last week (from this date of post) I was sent an email to confirm my purchase (this time I made the purchase through phone call) but on the expected deliver date I received nothing. A phone call to the customer service, talking to the manager saying the same thing in the email that they have tried to contact me but I did no get anything (again) at all!. Also it turned out that my product was not even placed. Overall, with everything happened, this company is the worst I have ever seen with the worst customer service! Recommend to a friend/family? Never! Do not waste your time and money for lies to be told! I would not even give it a star at all because this is how bad it is!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview