Auto Europe Car Hire Reviews - www.auto-europe.co.uk

★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
58% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk

Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“Excellent Customer Service - Regular User”

Written on: 19/01/2016 by McCartney23 (1 review written)

I use auto-europe for more than 2 years now. It has been the best car hire website I used for years. No only that, but you get the cheapest rental prices on the market. Had to call afterhours several times, and that was not a problem. I also like the ability to change your booking (anytime) or cancel it with full refund (2 days before). It really helps knowing that you can do that for scheduling. The zero-excess or refundable excess options are quite cheap, and definitely cheaper than rental… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ Refundable Excess insurance ”

Written on: 18/01/2016 by Woodruff269 (1 review written)

Do not buy auto Europe refundable excess insurance… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 20/01/2016

Dear Client

The Refundable Excess product covers the excess, that is payable according to the basic coverage policy, and therefore, includes all the same exceptions as the policy itself.
What the policy does and does not cover can vary depending on the category of the car and the car rental company, but the most common exceptions are the underside, roof, wheels, tyres, and glass.
The whole list of exclusions is available in the Terms, Conditions & Local Fees found on our booking engine, as well as in the terms and conditions listed on your booking voucher.
For further information regarding your booking please do contact our team directly.
Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great service and value ”

Written on: 16/01/2016 by Braylonp407 (1 review written)

Great service all round.all you can expect from a car hire company… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst hire pickup I have ever had!”

Written on: 15/01/2016 by Sutherland109 (1 review written)

I had arranged to pickup the hire car up from Budjet at Berlin Schonafeld, this was changed to a different hire company and to Berlin Tegel airport after I had left home! This mess took over 2 hours to sort out on arrival in Berlin. I was also charged an additional £34. 92 to get the car to Schonafeld, the correct airport. I have since had the transfer fee refunded, but no compensation for the delay. Fortunately the film shoot we were going to in the Harz mountains was delayed due to bad… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 20/01/2016

Dear Client

We are very sorry to learn that the rental did not go as smoothly as it should have.

Without a reference number I am unable to confirm why the airport was changed, if you would like to contact our team directly this can be further investigated.

Please be assured this is not typical of the high standard Auto Europe endeavours to maintain and we do hope that you will consider us for your future travel plans.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Ripped me off”

Written on: 15/01/2016 by MarkFarnsworth (1 review written)

Firstly - booked and they could not take the payment, had to send passport and driving license, then they confirm all is ok. Got to Airport and there were two cars booked in my name. I booked with Europcar using these, Because my flights were changed and I returned the car 4 days earlier. Europcar obviously refunded the difference off the account but AutoEurope have kept it and refused to refund me. They have told me that any refunds will not be given, it is not their policy and in the… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to MarkFarnsworth's Review

Written on: 20/01/2016

Dear Client

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the service provided by Auto Europe.

Regarding the unused days, we do have it set in out terms that should a vehicle be returned earlier than booked the no refund will be provided. This is because the suppliers will still charge for the full rental duration.

Should Europcar have confirmed that in this case a refund has been made then you should contact us directly. Our team will then liaise with Europcar and ensure you receive the refund due.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“cheap because the cars you end up with are poor”

Written on: 11/01/2016 by bonefish635 (1 review written)

Booked 'Skoda Yeti' or similar from Geneva for ski trip. We take the same skis every year. Was given some small Omega Mokka or the like, which was so small inside it meant dismantling the ski bag and setting each pair of skis separately somewhere in the cabin. The pick up car park where you find out you've got a smaller car is a bus ride away from the desk where you signed for it, so you end up making do. I'll never use them again… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to bonefish635's Review

Written on: 13/01/2016

Dear Client,
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear you were supplied with a smaller car than anticipated. Please contact our customer service team to verify if you were downgraded locally. Please provide them with your voucher number and all your local rental documents.
Kind regards,
Kate
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Everything you can ask for from a car hire company.”

Written on: 08/01/2016

Great service all round.all you can expect from a car hire company… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Could not fault your staff.but for a 15 seater mini...”

Written on: 08/01/2016 by LeoMorrison420 (1 review written)

Could not fault your staff.but for a 15 seater mini bus 3 off the seat belt did not work there was nowhere to store luggage ,had to carry our luggage on the seats, when taking the cases out one off them got damaged on one off the Jagged seat belt fasteners… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“good service ”

Written on: 07/01/2016 by areti (1 review written)

Was not easy find the pick up location because is not on the same place as the drop off point.Should put up more sign at Vienna airport but in the end we managed to find it.great clean well maintained car and lovely helpful staff . definitely use them again… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great value as always”

Written on: 06/01/2016 by Happyaspie (10 reviews written)

I always compare other car-hire 'supermarkets' but I have never improved on the rates I get from Auto-Europe. Always great value. My most recent rental, arrange through them with Alamo was by far the easiest and least traumatic rental experience ever. We rented a RAV4 or equivalent. We got equivalent as you always do, so no suprise there, but the Ford Escape was a worthy vehicle and dealt with the conditions -20 deg C and snow. The rep at Alamo was excellent, named "Aspen" and I was moved… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Excellent service”

Written on: 05/01/2016

Excellent service from the staff on collection and return - both friendly and efficient. I wasn't entirely happy with the actual car I got, but I think that might have been more to do with Europcar rather than Auto Europe. I ordered a "small SUV" Skoda Yeti 4x4 (or equivalent), but got some Opel Mokka abomination which aside from driving like a bowl of porridge, is actually quite a bit smaller than what I thought I had ordered so it was like Tetris trying to get everything in with two small… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Quick, simple, competitive and thoroughly professional. ”

Written on: 05/01/2016 by Bauertg104 (1 review written)

I have used Auto Europe for renting cars for a number of years, and will continue to do so in future. They offer excellent value for money, a very simple, accurate booking processes, and first class customer service (I've only ever needed to use Customer Service outside of normal business hours, and they response has always been absolutely perfect). I have never had any issues with vehicles or billing, so - all in all - I can't recommend Auto Europe highly enough… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Car Hire - Salzburg”

Written on: 05/01/2016 by 2Loomis (1 review written)

We always used Auto Europe as we generally find tehy have the best prices. We also always try to select a Europcar as their staff are always helpful and swift. We also have a Privelege card so many of our details are already on their system. We were slightly earlier that the booked pick up time so had to wait 20 mins for the car to be valeted or were offered an upgrade ata cost - we waited!… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“US Car rental”

Written on: 05/01/2016 by ubDonnelly400 (1 review written)

We used Alamo's services in Seattle, Los Angeles ( twice )and Phoenix. Superb, service minded staff on all stations. Acceptable refuelling costs at Phoenix airport ($2,91 per Gallon compared to $2,20 on the street) All extra taxes and additional taxes are to be expected ( we are in the US ) but sometimes you wonder ... Airport Concession Fee, Tourism Fee, Sales Tax, Fuel Sales Tax… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Great car and service.”

Written on: 05/01/2016 by LucasHammond (1 review written)

Checked car over before hire, two front tyres badly worn. Car exchanged straight away and went perfectly, and suited our needs… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Would have given no stars if that was an option”

Written on: 04/01/2016 by Pidinger (1 review written)

I have booked with Auto Europe before so I should have known better, but like a fool I went for what, on the face of it was a good price, however the usual rip off practises persist, insistence on credit card in the drivers name even though hire paid with a debit card, anyway I keep a credit card just for car hire purposes, however as I don't use it much the credit limit had been reduced so it was declined, we used my wife's card but as she is not the driver we had to pay €140 surcharge for… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Response to Pidinger's Review

Written on: 06/01/2016

Dear Customer
Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that your experience with Auto Europe was not a pleasurable one.
In a bid to be as transparent as we can with the suppliers terms and conditions we do list these on the website and also on your car hire voucher.
Regarding the credit card, this ruling is made by the supplier. They do require a credit card in the name of the driver stated on the booking to hold the 'collision damage wavier' amount on. This is in case of an accident or damage to the vehicle.
.
Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Auto Europe's policies unfair and misleading”

Written on: 04/01/2016 by Adrian133 (1 review written)

Booked 1 weeks car hire from Munich airport nearly a year ago for pickup 26/12/15, Unfortunately were informed by Lufthansa that our flight time had changed on the outbound (4 hours later) - informed AE of the change and they insisted that we re-book at almost double the price (even though policy says amendments are free?). Very misleading. In theory my car is booked earlier so SHOULD BE THERE STILL WHEN I ARRIVE?? AE state this cannot be guaranteed (but hang on I paid for this 1 year… Read Full Review

Autoeuropeuk's Comment

Written on: 06/01/2016

Dear Sir
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to learn that our team could not sufficiently help with the required amendment.
We do have conditions set by our suppliers regarding amendments; there are some rulings which will allow changes to booking times at no extra cost, and in some cases the suppliers will charge the current rate from which the amendment is made. This is unfortunately something out of our control; however if the supplier has made the change for you directly then they should have done the same when the request came from Auto Europe.
I shall ensure your feedback is passed to our management team so that they can review the amendment procedure with the local supplier.
Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“US car hire ”

Written on: 04/01/2016 by Antony339 (1 review written)

Easy to book, confirmed near the date, everything supplied as labelled on the tin, good customer service from Alamo in Miami. Very happy with everything. Would definitely recommend to family and friends… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Reliable service”

Written on: 03/01/2016 by Hardingrj370 (1 review written)

I travel regularly and have nearly always used Auto Europe in Ireland, Europe and USA trips. Their prices are good and their service excellent. I take out an annual excess insurance policy which keeps costs to a minumim… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“EFFICIENT SERVICE MARRED BY EXPENSIVE REFUELLING CHARGE”

Written on: 03/01/2016 by PeterLharris (1 review written)

We booked a small SUV with Alamo from Fort Lauderdale Airport for 5 days. However, on collecting vehicle, we only had a choice of two - a higher mileage Nissan of a Jeep Compass. We chose the Jeep as it only had two thousand miles on the clock. The Alamo desk advised us that all toll charges would be automatic and debited to my charge card later - a very good idea. The Jeep was quite thirsty on fuel although as UK visitors this was offset by the lower cost of "gas". Wishing to leave… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview