Max Spielman Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Max Spielman
★★☆☆☆
2.3
34.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Max Spielman - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Max Spielman

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

“To much stock in shop no room to move if more than a...”

★★★★☆

written by on 27/07/2008

To much stock in shop no room to move if more than a couple of customers. Staff were very helpful

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I went to max spielman to buy disposable cameras for...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 31/05/2008

I went to max spielman to buy disposable cameras for my wedding. i asked the shop assistants advice on which ones to get, she handed me a pack of own with coupons for processing, happy i left (having calculated £20 for the cameras - £35 for the processing with the coupons - not bad) i then looked at the coupons when i got home and to my horror they were out of date, so i went baack and was told not to worry, the coupons had simply been short dated, the cameras were fine and my discount would be honoured.. a little edgy i left.. mid way through the wedding day i was inundated with guests telling me the camera they had wasn't working.. in all 4 out of 10 didn't work.. not winding on, flash not working etc.. so again i went down to the shop.. the manger dealt with me and she was very apologetic, gave me a full refund on the cameras and told me she's send the films for processing but would arrange a heavy deposit. In short: Development was a nightmare too and discounts weren't honoured. I was gutted and will be taking my complaint further.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

463495_S Adams 's Comment

Written on: 29/05/2009

Wow! will not be going to MS as I also am looking for Disposable Cameras for a wedding!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A week and a half ago I purchased a Pentax digital...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by on 26/02/2008

A week and a half ago I purchased a Pentax digital camera from my local Max Spielmann store. Before purchasing the product I inquired of their refund/exchange policy in which the accociate replied "Let me just ask someone else, I'm not sure". She came back to tell me that I had "28 days to return the product as long as you have all of the original packaging and the receipt". I proceeded with the transaction. Within a few camera shots around my home I became dissatisfied with the camera and decided I could get something with a better quality picture for the same price. When I went to return the camera I was greeted by the same woman who sold it to me. She asked her manager if she could return it and her manager told me that it could not be returned because there wasn't actually anything wrong with the camera. I explained to them what I had been told by the two associates who had originally sold me the camera and they still refused to return it. Tomorrow, I intend to speak with someone who is above the store manager and hopefully I will leave Max Spielmann as a satisfied customer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Got some photographs back this morning. Some prints...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/02/2008

Got some photographs back this morning. Some prints have lines down, but the general quality is poor. Under magnification, there is very coarse grain, which is not the fault of the film (Kodak) or the excellent Fuji camera, which has always given top class results before. I wonder if they're printed using some sort of computer printer instead of whatever optical process was formerly used. Cost for 36 exposure film was £6.79, which seems a bit stiff. We'll certainly never darken their door again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Seven shops in this area( Nottingham ) all with same...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by michael carey on 03/01/2008

Seven shops in this area( Nottingham ) all with same telephone number. No answer after ringing five times. Staff informed a lady her film was not there, and might ( probably ) be in Arnold. Quicker response from the Kremlin if asking for asylum status. Come on M.S. Your customers deserve better or don't you care if we go to Boots instead?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I went into my local Max Spielmann in Solihull to get...”

★★★★★

written by franky89 on 27/11/2007

I went into my local Max Spielmann in Solihull to get some prints done for my mother.

I was on my lunch break, so I wanted to get them ASAP.

I walked into the shop and it seemed very busy (it was lunch time after all), There was a queue at the counter, but a staff member came up to me and asked if they could help me. I explained that I needed my film processed ASAP, and the staff member said that they could have the film done in 20 minutes. He even offered to put the prints onto a CD for me (which was very helpful, as I found that having re-prints from a negative are more expensive).

I gave the staff member my film and went to get my lunch.

I came into the shop (which was still busy) about 15 minutes later, and I was prepared to wait as I was 5 minutes early. The staff member came up to me with my prints and showed me my prints. I didn't even need my slip of paper that I was given, as the staff member remembered my name!

I think that the service that I received from this shop is excellent. The staff were helpful an very pleasant, and the fact that my prints were ready before my collection time, was excellent! I think that it was great that the staff member remembered my name, as the service felt more personal.

The print quality from this shop was excellent, as all of my photos were really bright, and the CD has come in very useful, as I can e mail the prints to my brother in Scotland.

Thank You Max Spielmann. I will be coming back to you and sending my friends to you as well.

Well done - top notch service!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Good value and helpful staff. Quick service. Would...”

★★★★☆

written by rwalsom on 20/10/2007

Good value and helpful staff. Quick service. Would continue to use.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I received poor service and quality from Max Spielman.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by joemasters on 18/10/2007

I received poor service and quality from Max Spielman.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A friendly shop. Top quality service. I highly...”

★★★★★

written by yorkie123 on 19/04/2007

A friendly shop. Top quality service. I highly recommend Max Spielman.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I took a black & white film in to Max Spielman for...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by bluelemon on 08/07/2006

I took a black & white film in to Max Spielman for developing and they stuck it in the wrong chemicals. Then they said "sorry, do you want a free film?" Absolutely appalling customer service. My film was the second part of a university project. It was taken in the Lake District and London. A cheap free 35mm film will never compensate for that. The lack of skill and care shown is disgusting, and I will never set foot in a Max Spielman store again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“As a first time user I took in my film into Max...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by lynn parsons on 05/07/2006

As a first time user I took in my film into Max Spielman in Kirkgate, Leeds on Monday and was told I could collect on Friday. Friday - no photos, and I had to wait while they kept looking. They said they would call the lab, and asked me to return in half an hour. On my return, they had not found the photos and the lab didn't have time to search. They told me to come back the next day. On Monday I called, and still no photos. They called the lab again, and were told that they were still awaiting processing, and they told me to come back tomorrow. Not helpful, especially when I had to trail all the way to town each time during lunch break. I sent an e-mail explaining all this, and that they should take my details and let me know when the photos were ready instead of me having to call in to find out. I received no response, so I telephoned the next day and was told that the response would be within 48 hours. I called again after 48 hours, and I was told that the complaints department were still dealing with my e-mail. They confirmed that my film had been received by the lab on the Tuesday, and that my e-mail had been received, but that was all they could tell me, but a response would be made. They stated that the lab could not search for individual customers goods as they had thousands to deal with. The reason for this is that Max Spielman, Klick and Supasnaps are all the same company using the same lab. If your photos go astray they will never be found again, as they do not have the resources to search for them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stewart Family's Response to lynn parsons's Review

Written on: 10/09/2008

I agree with this review because...they lost all 20 of our video tapes as per the Stewart Family review.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Max Spielman Arnold branch in Nottingham...”

★★★★☆

written by celica on 20/05/2006

The Max Spielman Arnold branch in Nottingham processing locally in the back room. It was a pleasant experience with no problems. Good results at a fair price.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Well what can I say about Max Spielman in Shrewsbury? ...”

★★★★☆

written by 309340 on 14/11/2005

Well what can I say about Max Spielman in Shrewsbury? Very good all round! They quoted me half an hour, and they were ready when I got there at the time specified. No merging colours on the prints, and good definition.

I will be telling my friends.
Thank you

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have used a few branches of Max Spielman, and have...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by Sable on 15/10/2005

I have used a few branches of Max Spielman, and have always been unhappy with the outcome: Lines through the prints, scratches through the prints, dull colours, etc... The last time though left me with no pictures at all. I took in two films that I needed urgently (the only reason I decided to use them after previous experiences), and they developed them straight away. When I returned 20 minutes later they said they didn't know what the problem was, but the films couldn't be printed. I left the negatives, and they spoke to the technicians the following day - who again didn't know what was wrong. So I collected the negatives and took them to Boots. Within minutes the staff had worked out that the films had not been developed for long enough, and were subsequently foggy. No automatic print machines will read them. The only way I can have the pictures printed is if I pay to have them printed by hand at a specialists, then scan them and edit the colours myself digitally.

The staff did not even apologise for their mistake, and seemed unconcerned that they had lost me a good deal of money (The images were to be used for promotional purposes).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have usually found the quality of prints acceptable...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by fastx19 on 08/08/2005

I have usually found the quality of prints acceptable in the Max Spielmann Wrexham branch, but the last two sets of pictures that came back, were abysmal. They were foggy with a brown cast. I complained and was offered a reprint. These, processed by the manager himself, were subsequently just as bad. I then questioned how he thought such poor images were acceptable, whereupon he said that he and his staff did not always have time for quality control! He then offered to send the negatives away, but he did not have any thoughts as to how long this might take. I then suggested that he may wish to offer me a full refund. He then reminded me of his offer to send them away. I declined and he reluctantly gave me a refund, but on condition he keep the prints and negatives. I will not be using Max Spielmann again, and I will tell all friends and relatives of my experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I took 2 rolls of film to Max Spielmann, BIG...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by congosam on 17/06/2005

I took 2 rolls of film to Max Spielmann, BIG MISTAKE!!!

Flicking through our holiday snaps a vertical black line started to appear at the edge, as we turned through each snap the line got thicker and more central. It ended up that on several prints we had the black line with the left half being one picture and the right half being a different picture! Obviously an automated system is used to output prints and they have no quality control.

When I returned to the shop, the assistant told me there was nothing they could do about it. That is until I showed her the negatives which were fine. She disappeared to see the manager. On her return I was told they would try and put it right but that my camera is probably to blame! Do they think customers are stupid? I repeated, "the negs are fine, there is no reason why you cannot produce a print from them". Anyway, I left the negs with them (bad idea?) and now have to wait a day as they are having problems with 'the machine'.

BUT, that's not all folks! On viewing the second batch of prints from a separate roll of film, I thought 'that's a little strange, the TV seems to be in the other corner of the room and the kitchen sink appears to be mirrored as is the writing on a t shirt!'They have only gone and exposed prints to an upside down negative. The assistant was confused as to why I thought this was a problem, well would you listen to a CD end to beginning? Anyway, rather begrudgingly she took the negatives and told me they would try to put them right.

Photographs are treasured memories and should be treated with respect.

The bottom line is they do not care and have no quality control.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pinkcocopops's Response to congosam's Review

Written on: 25/08/2005

Having used max spielmann several times, i ask myself why!!! When all i get is terrible service from staff that are 'too busy' to make sure the frame i am spending good money on fits the photograph, then lose two films of photographs containing all my graduation photos and holiday photos from my summer holiday in corfu, to returning only 5-15 developed prints from a 25 picture film... this is not a one off occurence, the staff are more than unhelpful and the quality of prints (if you are lucky enough to get them) is devastatingly bad.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

223521_Noggin2K1's Response to congosam's Review

Written on: 04/01/2006

The black lines are due to a film fault, where there is a faulty dx alignment on the negatives, therefore the scanner reads them incorrectly. I would also like to make a point that scratches on the film are down to dirt getting into the camera and consequently making a scratch down the whole of the negative. In every single 'scratch on negative' case I have dealt with, I can honestly say that everytime it's been traced back to the camera, I wish people would look at the apparatus and quality of film they use before pinning the blame on the company!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toytrain's Response to congosam's Review

Written on: 04/11/2005

In reply to 'congosams' review...
<br>
<br>I'm sorry to hear of your small mishap with Max Spielmann but 'black lines' on photos is no fault of the lab assistant, sometimes scanners cannot read the start/end of frames, especially if the photos are dark. These prints can simply be re-aligned later.
<br>
<br>The mirror-images are due to human error but in the end does not result in any drastic problem, prints like this should just be taken back to the lab and the assistant informed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Every time I have had photos done by Max Spielman the...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by stephen 857 on 25/03/2005

Every time I have had photos done by Max Spielman the colours have a blue tint and are not correct, consequently I would not take my photographs to be developed there but unfortunately my daughter did and they turned out really bad, with a couple of them marked. You're better off going to Tesco or Supersnaps don't use Max Spielman.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toytrain's Response to stephen 857's Review

Written on: 04/11/2005

If you are unhappy with your prints then i'm sure the assistants would help you out rather than you running to your computer to write bad reviews about them, this seems somewhat childish to say the least.
<br>
<br>One more thing, why do you think Tesco or Supasnaps would do a better job when they all use the same lab?...which is undoubtably owned my Max Spielmann.
<br>
<br>In future maybe a few quiet words between customer and shop keeper wouldn't go amiss.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have been to a couple of Max Spielman shops and on a...”

★★☆☆☆

written by Flow on 30/11/2004

I have been to a couple of Max Spielman shops and on a vast majority of my visits I did not find the staff friendly or welcoming. I am not very happy with the quality of the prints although this may depend on many other factors. I expect their quality control is also not effective as I had a damaged print. I had to go through the hassle of taking back to the shop and going back to collet this one picture. They never even gave me any compensation for this. If anyone knows a better place, please recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mclau46's Response to Flow's Review

Written on: 02/08/2005

Max Speilman lost my photos. Staff unfriendly and don't care. I have used them for ten years but unfortunately are only as good as their last job and will now go somewhere else. I accept that mistakes will happen but it's the way it's been handled, I am unhappy.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Bazza2505 on 12th May 2018 Report this content
Do they still develop 35mm film? Also do they develop in black and white? And do they sell film in store?  My local store is Worcester.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by barbbrian on 19th May 2015 Report this content
Do they sell disposable cameras in packs of 10 and have them developed as well?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by nwhite789 on 20th April 2015 Report this content
Can you do snapshots from a DVD?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Victoria-Plumb Written on: 21/04/2015
Spielman's can - but why? Quality at MS is now quite appaling, find somewhere else.
Asked by willowb73 on 17th July 2014 Report this content
Can copies of prints be done the same day?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Victoria-Plumb Written on: 21/04/2015
Usually, but it is worth the extra time to find somewhere better.
Asked by Nikkiplatt on 3rd July 2014 Report this content
How much is it to have your photo taken, for a passport?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content hollingday Written on: 02/08/2015
too much try a photo booth or Jessops
overview